Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain your factory climate controls in a 2005-up Avalon

MFR # 70-8215

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Allows you to connect a new car stereo and retain your factory climate controls in a 2005-up Avalon

MFR # 70-8215

13 reviews
View this product

08 Avalon Non JBL

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, DE on 3/28/2021

2008 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had no issues at all to speak of. This harness had plenty of length to run it where I wanted and still had some extra to spare. Wiring and operation was perfect afterwards.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, GA on 2/17/2021

2006 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value and speed of installation enhancement when combined with Crutchfield's ReadyHarness option

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 1/7/2021

2008 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. made relocating Head unit to Trunk and all new stereo connections a breeze. By the way, I ran the cable down the left side under the foot step covers on the drivers side and behind the back seat right into a trunk opening.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Spend the extra to have it done for you

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 10/29/2020

2007 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made it easier to get done quick

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 10/29/2019

2006 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, price is generous and affordable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness 2007 Toyota avalón

Crutchfield customer from Delano, CA on 4/8/2019

2007 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Súper easy to install I like it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gain and lose

Crutchfield customer from Mililani, HI on 3/24/2019

2005 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does what it's suppose too. Allows the display to be shown on your blue screen up top. Only reason I gave it 3 stars is that is if you want to use your buttons on your steering wheel it's not gonna work correctly. Had the local stereo shop try two different steering wheel control modules and it'll work only on a couple buttons. Not too bad if could have retained vol up and down but with both instances was a vol up only. Andbuttons didn't match either. Vol up was a track down button and mode was a vol button etc. harness was long enough to relocate stock stereo in the trunk. If I wanted to have steering button to function correctly with the stock stereo relocated, I would lose the blue screen again. I'm still trying to see if there are other options to keep the steering wheel buttons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Stuart from Dallas, TX on 7/23/2018

2008 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness for the stereo worked perfect. There are 2 issues with this install on my 2007 Toyota Avalon (non-JBL system). Firstly, to keep the center info display, the factory radio has to be relocated to the trunk. Crutchfield supplied the harness for that. The issue is that they tell you that the harness #5 doesn't need to be connected. That is the TX-/TX+ signal from the factory radio. The instructions for the relocation harness are vague regarding which how it should be connected to the factory harnesses. So that to say, the display did not come up. Called the tech and after several discussions, he surmised the resistor in the Metra harness supplied by Crutchfield had a bad resistor. The lead was bent 90 degrees and had very thin shrink tube. I reinstalled the stereo and waited for the replacement harness. When it arrived, I replaced the "bad" one. Display still did not come up. Called the tech back, and after working through it, he told me to use the harness from the Metra for the ASWC-1 and how to spliced into the factory harness. Also told me to connect factory harness into the harness #5. After doing that, bingo.

Pros: Easy connection to the new stereo. Retains factory display. Length was more than ample.

Cons: Instructions for relocation of factory radio and connections to the factory harness need to be clarified.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 6/7/2018

2007 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for install! Information center up and running with aftermarket stereo...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great kit, but instructions could be better

Stone from Birmingham, AL on 4/22/2017

2005 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

PLEASE READ FOR THOSE TAKING THIS TO A SHOP TO INSTALL: Toyota, for whatever reason, has hooked up their climate control/information display to the factory radio. This means that while your climate control will still work if you do not use this kit, you will not be able to physically see the temperature setting for the car. So you CANNOT get rid of your factory stereo if you wish to continue using the climate control/information display. This kit enables you to relocate the factory stereo elsewhere in the car so that you can continue to power your display with the new stereo system you have installed. I believe most people have theirs relocated to a spot in the trunk. I was able to relocate mine to underneath the passengers seat (it does not interfere with any seat travel). I give this kit 4 stars because the instructions were not exactly clear and the shop I took it to did not understand what the purpose of these wires were when I first took the car to them. They thought the wires were for a JBL system amp, but my Avalon did not have a JBL system. When I picked up my car the first time, I noticed the climate control display was not working and realized what the problem was. So, if you are taking your car to a shop to install the radio PLEASE EXPLAIN TO THEM what these wires are for because the instructions are not exactly the best. I would also recommend making sure you turn off your radio so it doesn't keep displaying it on the display.

Pros: Allows full control of factory climate control/info display Enough length to relocate it anywhere in vehicle

Cons: Instructions could be made more clear

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Works fine

Tim from North Carolina on 1/19/2016

2005 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just as described, run the harness to the trunk, keep the display

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Made install a breeze

Ryan E from California on 12/6/2015

2006 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was made easy with this kit. Installed a pioneer stereo into a 2006 Toyota Avalon. Plenty of wire to hide stereo in trunk to retain stock climate display.

Pros: Well made, good length, good connections.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-8215 Receiver Wiring Harness

Billy C from knoxville,Tn on 5/18/2011

2007 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Price was excellant (free with reciever ). Need instructions for adding accessories like the ASWC.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

TOP