Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
199 187 741 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
199 187 741 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-2004 Volvo vehicles

MFR # 70-9220

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-2004 Volvo vehicles

MFR # 70-9220

45 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Voorhees, NJ on 2/24/2019

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

one of the easiest installs i have ever done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Matthew from Marshall, MI on 3/11/2018

1998 Volvo S90

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy match up to new radio.

Pros: fit perfectly and wire colors match perfectly

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have!

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 2/25/2018

1995 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for 1995 Volvo 940, made install simple.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Phoenixville, PA on 11/5/2017

1998 Volvo S70 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect! Diagram was spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

volvo wiring harness

carlton from suffolk va on 6/13/2017

2003 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple to put together and its quick installations

Pros: Using a wiring harness is your best option

Cons: Buying those incomplete harnesses from auto parts stores is a waste of time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lewistown, pa on 4/18/2017

1998 Volvo S70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick and easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy install - no stress wiring.

andrew from Santa Barbara, CA on 2/17/2017

1995 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super helpful. Most importantly, this harness was the correct one for the car and the wiring guide was very clear. It made installation a breeze.

Pros: Simple and easy to install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Free with purchase

Crutchfield customer from Winnetka, CA on 1/22/2017

2000 Volvo S40

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product made installation a breeze. perfect fit

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made the install easy and professional - and it was free!

Dan from Severna Park, MD on 12/31/2016

1998 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say? It was a perfect fit, and it worked! Was even better that it was included with the stereo at no extra charge! Made the installation easy and professional. Wire labeling was a little confusing, but taking the time to study the included wiring diagram helped. The diagram could have been better written though, and if it was in color... that would have made it super easy. Also, the wires on these stereo harnesses are very small, so it would be helpful to let people know what size connectors you'll need to have to finish the installation. Fortunately I already had enough connectors in the right size.

Pros: - Perfect fit for my car's harness. - Easy installation. - Lets you easily remove and reconnect the stereo when needed. - Harness allows you to finish the wiring job to the stereo inside the comfort of your home workshop / kitchen table, etc., instead of being hunched over inside the vehicle.

Cons: - Wiring diagram not the best. Would be even better if it was in color (even if online). - Would be nice if it had better labeling for the wires. - Would be helpful to let you know upfront what size wire connectors you'll need.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Half of what I need

Anthony from Fayetteville, NC on 10/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not the entire set of harnesses necessary for a Volvo 850 Platinum Edition or R Edition with the Premium 815 newer models use the 816 160 Watt sound system. It does not contain a DIN connector if you want to retain the car's original amplifier.

Pros: Great start.

Cons: Can't complete the installation without the DIN connector, had to go to another source for that, but was also given misinformation by Crutchfield that nothing existed to use the factory amplifier with the DIN connection when there is.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saved a whole lot of aggravation

Rosanne from Carmel, CA on 8/22/2016

1998 Volvo S70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This wiring adapter made my life painless when installing a new radio in an old car. I didn't need all the connections, but it did have additional ones for steering wheel controls if available. It fit the old wiring system seamlessly and I used Crutchfield's posi-products wire connectors so no soldering was required. Crutchfield's wiring diagram helped as this was the first time I've ever done this kind of install. But since the wires are color coded to match, now I could do it without the diagram.

Pros: Easy to use. Fits perfectly to install new technology into an older vehicle.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Erik from Issaquah, WA on 5/16/2016

1995 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This came free with the kenwood stereo I ordered. It made the install quite a bit easier and quicker. So far great sound so no complaints there.

Pros: -free (for me) - easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Georgia on 12/13/2015

1994 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it fit my Volvo perfectly and all the radio functions/speakers work. Not much else can be said.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Harness

Dave B from Pennsylvania on 3/27/2015

1995 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a terrifically easy harness to work with. It took me about 30 minute to connect and install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

bmahan from Massachusetts on 3/3/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exact fit to install my new head unit into my car. Connected it to the head unit's harness and was plug n play. Just that easy.

Pros: Super simple plug n play

Cons: Nothing to report

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

97 Volvo 850 wagon

Kevin from Orlando on 7/26/2014

1997 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic product, it makes installation so simple, quick and easy.

Pros: fast, easy, no cutting up the vehicle wiring.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

wire hareness

BillP from Salem, VA on 7/5/2014

1998 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and works great. Helped make for an easy instalation. Crutchfield is great for making the whole process easy.

Pros: Smooth, easy setup.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Fit for 1994 Volvo 850 Turbo Wagon

IanW from Houston, TX on 6/18/2014

1994 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All eight speakers (four sets of two) work fine in my 1994 Volvo 850 Turbo wagon. The plugs were properly molded to tightly fit the factory harness. One did not lock into place - a firm tug would unplug it - but it fit tightly enough that it should remain connected. (The same thing happened with both Metra plugs for my 1994 Miata, so I arranged a secure marriage using zip ties.)

Pros: Tight fit

Cons: One plug wouldn't lock into place

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Replacing old car radio

Joe from Sunnyvale,CA on 6/10/2014

1995 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Easy to connect to the old harness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy

Dan from Florida on 5/26/2014

1996 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use, of course you have to solder but I hope that's expected.

Pros: works

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

exactly what I needed

JdoubleDdot from Long Island NY on 3/12/2014

1998 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Is what it claims to be

Pros: fit my volvo like a glove

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

WIRE HARNESS

Lou from United States on 2/9/2014

1998 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WHAT CAN I SAY? IT WORKS PERFECT !

Pros: BEATS GUESSING WHICH WIRES GO WHERE

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

wiring harness

gbrooke from visalia, ca on 1/25/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it fit!!!

Pros: it fit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

Max from Oak Park, IL on 7/19/2013

1995 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to install a radio in my Volvo 850. Just a tip: if you have POWERED ANTENNA, you need to hook the blue antenna wire to the blue with white stripe wire. I believe the label is power cont. Can't remember exactly cause its been a couple weeks but its definitely the blue to the blue and white wire.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

compatible

Crutchfield customer from martinsville, va on 7/6/2013

1996 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Compatible and plugs right in

Pros: Compatible and plugs into specification

Cons: Wiring is of low quality

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made install easy.

apltech from Cedar Park, TX on 6/29/2013

1994 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made my install a snap, no connectors supplied

Pros: Made my stereo install very easy.

Cons: no supplied connectors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

1996 Volvo 850 R Aftermarket Radio Harness

Jaysen T from Sacramento on 5/11/2013

1996 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WONDERBAR!

Pros: works

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Correct harness for CR-915 radio

DaveS from Point Roberts, WA on 3/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Correctly fits Volvos that had the CR-915 radio (shown on front), including the 1995 940 and 1995 850, but not earlier 940s. Note that this harness will put the dash speakers in parallel with the front door speakers, which is correct for a standard 4-speaker radio (the 6-speaker CR-915 had separate dash speaker outputs). Antenna motor output is the Blue wire (pin 3), which must be connected for a wagon as it powers the signal amplifier for the FM antenna in the left rear quarter window. The Orange wire (pin 10) is from the dash light dimmer rheostat(+) and connects to the radio dimmer lighting. If the radio dimmer circuitry needs a day/night (on/off) input then rather than connecting to the Orange wire, you will need a direct splice to the Yellow-White wire (pin 5) in the vehicle harness which comes from the park lights.

Pros: Direct fit for CR-915 vehicle harness

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 70-9220 Receiver Wiring Harness

jlonashy from Nashville, TN on 2/18/2013

1997 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my Volvo 850. Easy breezy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfectly

Rubew from New jersey on 12/31/2012

2004 Volvo C70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfectvfit

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy as pie

Bob from lancaster pa on 5/8/2012

1999 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were super easy. Got to teach my nine yearold some soldering. We were done in less than 30 minutes.

Pros: Works. Fits. No problems. Looks professional.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

super simple

OddGerard from Warwick, RI on 2/11/2012

1996 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't get any easier. Match the color coded wires and their function per the instruction sheet.

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Check your plugs FIRST

Crutchfield customer from Connecticut on 2/6/2012

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good overall quality, BUT this what the Crutchfield site said fit my '94 Volvo 940T with 6 speakers. It did not. Check your plugs first before ordering if you have one behind the receiver and one near the steering column (connected to a factory amplifier), and they are matching flat wide plugs, you need item 120701121. That harness has MUCH longer wire leads as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

cool

jason from reno nv on 1/25/2012

1998 Volvo S70 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very east to use, just connect and go

Pros: easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

made life easier

jason from bozeman, mt on 8/27/2011

1995 Volvo 850

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

these made life easier all the way but i must say i would get the wire twists from crutchfield as well as they make wiring simple

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

a Nice Plus

Scottnarli from Arlington, Massachusetts on 7/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So nice to have this feature included at no extra charge. It eliminated the guesswork and troubleshooting of the possibly faulty existing wires. My Volvo is always just a little different, but one call to the customer service answered my questions and ensured proper installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beware - This is wrong harness for a 94 940 with CR-814

Paul from Vermont on 4/17/2011

1994 Volvo 940

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness was completely wrong for the OEM radio/amp setup in my 1994 940. The CR-814 and amp had a single 14-pin connector, not the dual connector setup this harness came with. Completely useless to me and ended up making up my own harness based on information online. My advice to anybody considering this is to pull the radio first and make sure this harness will fit. Particularly disappointing in that Crutchfield site did not offer any alternative harnesses for the car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Its a wiring harness, thats true

CaseyH from Littleton, CO on 10/13/2010

1997 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. The front tweeters are bridged off of the front LR which is cool i guess. I don't think the wires were pre-stripped though. Not a big deal, but this is a review. Its free so, I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works 80%

Matt H from East Tennessee on 9/13/2010

1997 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unlike all of the other Volvo owners. I have a Volvo 850 turbo,and I got the right harness, but my rear door speakers do not work since I installed this. So for now I go without some speakers, but I will have to go get the problem fixed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect

remark90 from Los Alamos New Mexico on 1/27/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield sent this harness with my head unit and just like all the other products from them it is perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2000 Volvo S70

Joey from Wickatunk, NJ on 5/17/2009

2000 Volvo S70 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for my 2000 S70. Easy to install. Even better if heat shrink tubes can be included.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Volvo 1998 V70XC install

Paul from Germantown Hills, IL on 3/4/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a color by number installation. Couldn't be easier. Use crimp caps for connections it goes quick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Volvo Wire Harness-V70

Jim from Chicago, IL on 2/9/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The wire harness worked as promised!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The right one.

angusperformance from Seattle, WA on 2/2/2009

1996 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The right harness for the right car. Be sure take a few minutes to look at your current setup before you order just to confirm you are getting the right thing. For some reason Volvo used two different style harnesses. I got the wrong one first time around. No problem though, Crutchfield fixed rushed the correct one out to me. Install was super fast and I wonder why anyone goes to a pro to get this easy stuff done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to use but strange results

Ted from Memphis, TN on 1/30/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The replacement harness was extremly easy to install. However, getting the power antenna to work was an issue. We finally got it to work but with a strange side effect. If you begin with the new stereo off, the car off and the antenna down, once you start the car, everything is normal. But, once the stereo is turned on and antenna goes up, it will not retract when the stereo is turned off as the factory unit did. Until the car is shut off, the antenna is stays up. If you want it to stay down when starting the car, you must be sure to turn the stereo off before shutting the car off. Mainly a nusiance at the car wash. Go figure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP