Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-98 Land Rover vehicles

MFR # 70-9400

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Connect a new car stereo in select 1993-98 Land Rover vehicles

MFR # 70-9400

16 reviews
View this product

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Gaige from Lehi, UT on 9/11/2018

1994 Land Rover County

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great! I ran a new ground to eliminate the engine noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Hawkinsville, GA on 4/2/2018

1997 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness worked great. It helps to run a new ground wire. The factory ground was weak and caused some engine noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Richard from Los Gatos, CA on 12/10/2017

1993 Land Rover County

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness worked correctly and had a convenient mapping of color codes on the package. The only downside is that the connectors a huge with mostly unused pins. I couldn't fit the head unit back in with both of them in place. Since I was replacing the amp I only needed one of them and removing it solved my problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 6/19/2017

1996 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good product. needs longer wires to mount sl4 outside the box

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy, for the very first time

Corndog from Colfax, CA on 5/12/2017

1997 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is adequate for what was needed to install a BOSS head unit in my 1997 Land Rover Discovery. The wiring harness worked fine it was my first time installing any type of stereo in any of my vehicles. I ran the pre-amp RCA's because these cars have a factory amp installed for the speakers in the doors and rear/front pillars and also another in the cargo door. For that reason be sure to connect the blue wire to power the amp. Be aware that regardless to what head unit you use get a filter or you will have a lot of motor interference through your speakers.

Pros: Worked

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 2/19/2017

1993 Land Rover County LWB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The best item for a radio install! Fit my 1993 Range Rover perfectly! Didn't have to cut any factory wires, and maintained full functionality of the factory controls!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Useless

Crutchfield customer from Kensington, MD on 8/23/2016

1994 Land Rover County LWB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't give it zero stars but I would if I could. Wired wrong for the system. If you have 91-4 Classic it won't fit. Each channel needs its own black ground wire. This has one ground but it doesn't go to anything on the harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/24/2016
This customer contacted one of our Customer Support team members, Megan, and was issued a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to use

Phill b from asheville, NC on 2/14/2016

1997 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness works great no issues. With a 97 Land Rover discovery 1. You don't need the radio attachment as there is no place for that in this model truck.

Pros: It works

Cons: More instructions on which connection from the D1 is applicable. (There is an identical connection that controls the extra receiver buttons beside steering wheel)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fine for the Money

Scooter from Truckee, CA on 10/23/2015

1998 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to replace the OEM head unit in my 98 Land Rover Discovery. Plug and play was simple enough, but it took a few calls to Crutchfield (wow, they're good!) to get a few dead end wires buttoned up. I'm still dealing with a mildly annoying alternator whine, but have confidence that with the help of Crutchfield support I'll get it figured out sooner or later. If there was a higher end product for a bit more I would have shelled out for it, and I MAY have had fewer issues with the install.

Pros: Price

Cons: Installation (on my vehicle at least) took a few tweaks to the harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great product

trey from Vernon fl on 6/10/2015

1995 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to hook up. Took me 10 minutes. Great price also

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Land Rover

sTeVo from Lihue, Hawaii on 5/19/2014

1996 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Works excellent

Pros: Works great

Cons: Nothing bad

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great solution

Becki from Buffalo, NY on 4/23/2014

1996 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to upgrade the receiver in my 1996 Land Rover Discovery. Very easy to install. Excellent instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 70-9400 Receiver Wiring Harness

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, MT on 4/9/2013

1993 Land Rover County LWB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple answer to install.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: Not scosches fault, but the vehicle is a bugger to fit all the wire and connector in behind the deck. If your really gonna consider reinstalling factory deck it's perfect. If your not, hardwire and save the headaches of fitting the bundle behind deck.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness incorrectly wired

Ryan S from San Francisco, CA on 12/29/2012

1998 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Generally easy to install - however, the harness is incorrectly wired and the provided speaker grounds cause buzzing. I had to call Crutchfield support (they were great by the way) to correct the problem - which involved rewiring the harness to connect an additional lead from the ground.

Pros: All the wires are there, instructions

Cons: Bulky harnesses, incorrect wiring, didn't fit in my dash with the stereo and original harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Jeff B from Edmonton, AB on 8/25/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No issues here, soldered up the wires to the harness on the new Alpine deck, had to cut off the RCA plugs and solder the speaker wires together, but that was easy. Plugged it in, everything works! 04 Land Rover Discovery

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Rover Speaker wire harness problems

Jared from SLC, UT on 10/26/2010

1997 Land Rover Discovery

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Harness came with a single common ground wire for all channels, and that wire was lined up opposite an empty slot on the factory side. I moved the ground to match the factory ground, but the Kenwood receiver wouldn't accept a common ground. Ended up wiring to RCA plugs and using the front and rear RCA outputs connected to the harness with the adjusted ground, then plugging into the factory harness.... but had to use ground loop isolators on both outputs. Sounds great now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP