Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
Connect ID #
772 918 288 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

For select 1981-89 Ford-built vehicles

MFR # 72-5510

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

For select 1981-89 Ford-built vehicles

MFR # 72-5510

17 reviews
View this product

Bad connection!

Anthony from Phoenix, AZ on 1/27/2022

2003 GMC Sonoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointed in this product. While it promises to save you time with "no cutting of wires," that's exactly what I had to do. The contacts inside the plastic connector are loose, a problem I've had with other Metra harness products. The wires seem to have too much play and pull out from the bottom of the connector. The speakers cut out, and only when you push and hold the wires inside the connector do you get a decent connection. I ended up throwing these away and crimping the wires. You definitely do not want to spend time disassembling your speaker setup later on when this harness doesn't make the proper connection.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/1/2022
Anthony, we're sorry you had issues with your harness. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or send out a replacement within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best way to connect to the original harness, but watch the connection

Crutchfield customer from Portage, MI on 1/22/2022

1988 Ford Bronco

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On some speakers you will need to adjust these to make a good contact. They don't always make good contact out of the bag. That being said, if you don't want to alter the stock connectors this is the way to do it. A lot of classic and collector cars are messed up by people cutting off connectors so I do recommend using them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They fit but..

Crutchfield customer from Bishopville, SC on 8/24/2021

1986 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker harnesses adapters fit but have poor connection. Looking inside the terminals are not very secure in the socket. Because of this I lose connection sometimes when I hit a rough patch in the road. I will be removing them and wiring to straight to the head unit when I go to install my bass blockers.

Pros: They fit.

Cons: Loose terminals causing poor connection with the factory wiring.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice add on

Crutchfield customer from Hanover, MA on 5/16/2021

1987 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very convenient and time saving!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Point Pleasant, WV on 1/24/2021

1988 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugged right in. Sure saved a lot of time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I will buy them now on

Crutchfield customer from Capitan, NM on 10/24/2020

1987 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thay are awesome and working good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Loose

Crutchfield customer from North Pole, AK on 5/31/2020

1982 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connection points to factory harness were sloppy and loose. Wouldn't hold together/clip tight even after trying to bend points to create tension. Threw out and ran all new wiring

Pros:

Cons: Not quite right

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Milltown, NJ on 1/15/2020

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connector sent does not match my in car jack. It states for 82~89 Ford. When ordered I asked for 89 Lincoln Town Car. Had to cut and splice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Heinz from Jericho, NY on 8/16/2018

1988 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must have purchase IF you want to use the existing factory wiring.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Fallston, MD on 6/11/2018

1987 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As always, Crutchfield delivers great quality installation products. Makes for a wonderful install, takes the guess work out of it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Bellefontaine, OH on 4/15/2018

1989 Lincoln Town Car

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great adapters except with older Fords you will want to put a cable tie around them as they don't securely click and will eventually separate.

Pros: Exact fit

Cons: Needs a cable tie around it to keep connection secure. ( Not a bad idea anyway on audio adapters)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 5/30/2017

1986 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be good if i didnt have to run new wires

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 12/27/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it was a direct exchange to my existing speakers for my 86 ford bronco and that is what i requested. unplugged ford connectors installed these to new speakers and plugged in to existing ford connectors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 72-5510 Speaker Harness

Shawn from Bonney Lake, WA on 10/23/2016

1984 Ford F Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They matched up just fine however they are cheaply made and one of them had a bad contact and would cause the speaker to cutout.

Pros:

Cons: Cheaply made Plugs to the speaker were over crimped and would not slide on the speaker blades

Crutchfield response on 10/25/2016
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support team reached out to Shawn and sent out a replacement free of charge. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Useless wiring adapter - contacts do not work with existing socket

3rd-mustanger from Leland, NC on 4/6/2016

1988 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Useless adapter that does no make contact with socket on wiring harness.

Pros: None

Cons: Everything is wrong and product is useless

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker Harness

Steve P from Las Vegas, NV on 10/21/2015

1984 Ford Bronco II

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness is of good quality, connections are firm. It works well!

Pros: Good quality, and supplied at no cost.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Harness

Ed H from Wisconsin on 7/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes the install easy

Pros: Clean factory look

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound