Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
425 206 151 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
425 206 151 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Install 6-1/2" or 6-3/4" speakers in select 2005-2014 Subaru Legacy and Outback vehicles

MFR # 82-8900

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Install 6-1/2" or 6-3/4" speakers in select 2005-2014 Subaru Legacy and Outback vehicles

MFR # 82-8900

24 reviews
View this product

Easy install.

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, NE on 10/9/2019

2012 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been installing my own sound systems for over 50 years. With the current products available from Crutchfield it is easier than ever to have a professional looking and great sounding system at a reasonable price.

Pros: Everything fits like original equipment

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/24/2019

2008 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just ok have to modify to use with the speakers they came with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Fit

Crutchfield customer from Scarsdale, NY on 8/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great to mount some new 3-way speakers in my 2004 Subaru forester

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Johns Island, SC on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Holes line up. Works as advertised. Had to bend up speaker terminals slightly to fit inside hole of 07 Forester.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Moravia, NY on 6/16/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They fit and worked out well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made installation easy!

John from Portland, OR on 6/2/2019

2007 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made for a perfect installation of my infinity kappa 62ix coaxials into my 2007 Subaru Forester

Pros: Great fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 4/27/2019

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit perfectly into my daughters car, saved me alot of time doing so.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Diagrams needed

Crutchfield customer from Florissant, CO on 4/22/2019

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't come with any instructions or diagrams

Pros: Heavy duty plastic

Cons: Lack of diagrams & instructions makes installation a bit frustrating. Nothing shows how to align speaker bracket & there's no cutout for the speaker wire, so it gets pinched between the bracket & the door.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must Buy!

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/3/2019

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installing the speakers a breeze!

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits 2015-18 Foresters

Lee from Atlanta, GA on 2/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After a few weeks of searching I finally found the perfect product for my rear doors. I have a 2018 Subaru Forester XT Touring, on hear and everywhere else there is no product that works for this location. Perfect fit.

Pros: It fits.

Cons: Not recommended.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 1/15/2019

2012 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit once I realized the holes aren't symmetrical.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fir

Crutchfield customer from Centralia, MO on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros: Fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, SC on 12/20/2018

2008 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect. Works exactly how I needed them to work. Makes the installation much easier (and better).

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 12/1/2018

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! In the back of my subaru outback 2011 I had to crack off the inner ring but they worked fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits car slots, not speaker

Sid from West Palm Beach, FL on 12/1/2018

2007 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As a universal adaptor, it works. It has the correct outside diameter and slots that match the screw holes in the car. The 6 1/2" speaker I used is slightly oversized compared to the factory fittment but Crutchfield indicates good fit. The factory housing this replaces was angled to point towards the listener - this does not. The bracket has tabs that allow it to work with 5 1/2" speakers so those get snapped off. The 8 holes around the perimeter have molded tubes so the provided screws will bite into and hold. These holes were not outboard enough for my speakers, so the speaker baskets needed to be slotted about .200" each hole. This plastic is soft enough to be easy to use so screw torque is light - started pulling though the plastic at about 10 inch-pounds. Supplied screws are long so they have to be trimmed to get the bracket to fit flat against the door panel. So, a little disappointed in the soft material, neutral angle, and mounting holes - but it did allow me to install my speakers using this as a base and modifying the speakers instead of creating a proper bracket from scratch.

Pros: Universal

Cons: Requires modifications to speaker basket Not angled like factory fittment Soft material can't take much screw torque

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Chris from Mount Orab, OH on 9/17/2018

2008 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

prefect fit and very easy to install

Pros: easy instal

Cons: non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

todd from Westport, MA on 9/10/2018

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly! thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from De Graff, OH on 9/3/2018

2013 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I believe these would've worked with most 6.5" speakers (they fit my mtx terminator 653s, but were not for them) but they were sent to adapt Rockford Fosgate R165x3, which Crutchfield listed as fitting like they're 6.75" so I had to cut off the normal tabs on the inside and screw new holes into the outer ring. So they worked for me with a bit of modification.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

works well with some modifications

Sean from Arlington, VA on 8/6/2018

2009 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked well in 2009 Outback. holes lined up with the door mounting holes. as far as mounting the speakers onto these adaptor rings and with most rings I would ignore the holes that some with these and instead line up the speaker so that you can fit the speed clips, install them, and screw into them instead. once you have a good orientation for the speaker and the clips are all snapped on go ahead and predrill small holes through the clips and screw in the speakers. those metal speed clips are going to hold better. the screws that come with new speakers are generally too long so either pick up some shorter screws or dremel off the ends of the screws to the whole assembly can sit flush with the door. finally drill a hole in the top side of the bracket so you can route the wire. the factory plug on the front doors is on the interior side of the door. this bracket does not have that hole predrilled. and don't forget your foam gaskets

Pros: lines up perfectly with factory door holes requiring no drilling on door proper depth to mate with door and give rear clearance

Cons: missing side hole for running speaker wire to the inside of the door

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Chase from Harbor Springs, MI on 7/4/2018

2006 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect although screws provided with kicker speakers didnt thread into the four holes very well at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Speaker adapters

Robert from Pine Hill, NJ on 6/24/2018

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit my 2010 Subaru Outback like Crutchfield said, Metra's website said it didn't. Needed to snap off all the mounts inside the main assembly which took a minute to figure out. Feels like decent material that will hold up. Now the down side, the mounting holes required some strange angles since they didn't line up with the holes in my Focal speakers very well. Also the website (Crutchfield and Metra) mentions it comes with 8 screws, the bag did not list them on the contents and it didn't come with them, so I had to use the Focal screws which were too long for this adapter, so the hang out of the bottom, but mounted my speakers at least. I would've simply gone to buy more appropriate screws if my car hadn't already been disassembled when I realized this. Other than this they do what their job is.

Pros: - Solid material - Fits as advertised

Cons: - No screws included - Holes misaligned for my speakers

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Accessories

Clifford from San Tan Valley, AZ on 3/2/2018

2007 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

jUST PERFECT

Pros: The best fitting product

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Jeff from Martinez, CA on 11/5/2017

2013 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speaker brackets worked great in my 13' Subaru Legacy. They gave my kicker speakers the mounting surface they needed plus the door panels still fit perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8900 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Galax, VA on 10/30/2017

2011 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

work very well thank

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP