Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Install 6-1/2" or 6-3/4" speakers in select 2006-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # 82-8901

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Install 6-1/2" or 6-3/4" speakers in select 2006-up Subaru vehicles

MFR # 82-8901

28 reviews
View this product

Does not fit, brackets are for passenger side only

Chris from Dublin on 10/17/2019

2019 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

DO NOT BUY! These will not fit your Subaru WRX or STI. They are passenger side only. Googled searched around and it turns out this issue is common with this bracket. Its from a manufacturer that either is to cheap to make a mirror mold, or is too incompetent. Terrible design. If you get them with your kit for free great, but do not waste your money on them.

Pros: None, these are cheap plastic garbage that isnt even worth $1 USD. Glad they came free with speakers but feel like its a waste of good plastic. These are cheap, flimsy and only fit the passenger side of the MY15+ STI and WRX. I refuse to drill into my door to mount a cheap adapter for speakers.

Cons: Everything. These are absolute garbage. as in the "pros" they only fit passenger side. If you mount on driver side you have a mis-aligned speaker which sounds horrible. Plastic is very cheap and flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Fairbank, PA on 9/18/2019

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked perfectly on the front speakers of my 14 crosstrek no issues what so ever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Fairless Hills, PA on 8/29/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First time installing new door speakers. They work, but like others have posted, they result in the driver door speaker being pointed towards the pedals instead of the driver. Had to cut a groove to get the speaker harness through, and did not know the interior screw holes needed to be broken in order to fit the 6 3/4" speakers (I'm new to this, had to call to find out as it was not anywhere on the packaging).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Sharpsburg, GA on 8/5/2019

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works but not perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

only works on passenger side

John from Roanoke, VA on 6/26/2019

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit the brackets are identical, so they only work on the passenger side door. You will need to drill a new mounting hole in the drivers door.

Pros:

Cons: does not fit as advertised

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great adapter to allow for installation in factory locations

Crutchfield customer from Baldwinsville, NY on 4/28/2019

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and multiple holes to allow alignment and different speaker hole locations

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit speakers

Crutchfield customer from Madison, NC on 3/26/2019

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit focal speakers. Had to cut off inner mounting tabs

Pros: Worked perfectly with factory mounting holes

Cons: Did not fit speakers. Had to cut off inside mounting tabs to fit focal speakers

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Confusing bracket, because the taper is wrong for the left side door

David S. from Pearland, TX on 1/29/2019

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They need improvement. One was fine for the front right side (driver) other, front left was not reversed for that side so I had to drill a hole for the 3rd screw. The factory speakers with the built in brackets are marked L and R and for good reason these Metra are both the same, for the right side. The way the factory speakers are set up (because their bracket is not flat on the speaker mount face) the speakers point up slightly and toward the back of the car. So one bracket you have to rotate to be correct then there is no mounting screw hole for bracket screw tab.

Pros: Got by with drilling only one hole.

Cons: Need a closer look at the factory angled setup. Put a hole on the O.D. to feed the wire through.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Rifle, CO on 12/31/2018

2008 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Ray from Uncasville, CT on 8/31/2018

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mounting bracket for 2017 Subaru Wrx. Lined up perfect for stock fit but shallow holes in the mount required drilling 3 holes in each door. Was easy to install

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Drilling required

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Meyersdale, PA on 7/31/2018

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adapter rings were both made for passenger side so only two screws line up on the driver side resulting in drilling a hole in my 2017 wrx. Wasn't excited about that!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not for 2009 Fozzy

Tyrone from Allentown, PA on 5/13/2018

2009 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit the 2009 Subaru Forester. As mentioned before, the holes do not line up, the angle is off, and they are not mirrored L/R. That said, I installed them to close the air gap between the upgraded speakers and the door. Was able to re-clip the panel to the door afterward and the sound is fine. You could probably go naked on the Forester, but there would be a space between the door installation and the panel.

Pros: Mounts well to speaker.

Cons: Mounts poorly to door.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Josh from Chesterfield, MO on 5/3/2018

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These brackets were a big help. I used them in my 2018 WRX for the front doors. The brackets lined up perfectly with my speakers and door screw holes, no drilling! My only complaint is since they are the copies of each other, one points the speaker toward the passenger and the other points he speaker towards the foot pedals instead of the driver.

Pros: Fits the door screw holes and speaker mount holes perfectly. Fits the screw holes one way for easy install.

Cons: Only fits the Raised part of the bracket points the speakers. Fits the screw holes one way, so no flexibility with pointing speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfect

Jon from Kingsport, TN on 5/2/2018

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put these on a 2015 Subaru STI with the Harman Kardon system and they worked perfect. I was kinda weary as I saw a lot of reviews saying that they weren't "mirrored" and the holes didn't line up, but everything lined up like it was supposed to. I tapped off the speaker outputs from the head unit and ran them to a Rockford R150X2 and ran new speaker wire to Rockford P1675's. The sound difference is incredible. The speakers however were a little deep on the shallowest part of the adapter. As you see from the pictures, one side is raised up more than the other so that the speaker angles up. Its hard to explain but the back of the speaker hit the metal on the door panel where the adapter is the shallowest. I had foam tape that I planned on putting in between the speaker and the adapter anyway, so it raised it enough to where the speaker wasn't touching the metal door panel. No complaints here, exactly what I needed, and theres no way you're getting a speaker mounted without a custom adapter plate or one of these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Greencastle, PA on 4/30/2018

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit, made the install very easy!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 4/26/2018

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great! No issues, good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thanks Crutchfield!

Matthew from Hudson, FL on 3/28/2018

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were included with my speaker purchase. Made fitting the speakers in the door super easy.

Pros: Included with my speaker purchase.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

These are not the brackets you are looking for...

Chris from Panama City, FL on 3/26/2018

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not even close to fitting my 2011 Subaru Forester - almost on the passenger side... but not close enough. They are not mirrored parts. I've had great luck with Crutchfield's mounting hardware in years past. To Crutchfield's credit - they sent me a second pair - I thought I had to have gotten a bad set with two right side brackets. This one is just not designed properly by the manufacturer -- who is not Crutchfield. That said... its easy to cut up the plastic spider's of the factory speakers to create a perfect pair of mounting brackets which bolt right in. The photo shows the factory driver from the driver's door with one of the brackets (both of the brackets are identical). In the photo the mounting holes are lined up in the orientation needed to match the holes in the door panel of the car - the profile is not even in the ball park.

Pros:

Cons: just don't fit. Not well designed, not mirrored profiles.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Dave from Phoenix, AZ on 2/11/2018

2012 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Improved sound 100 % over stock speaker

Pros: Clarity

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Subarus SAP

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth City, NC on 2/6/2018

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works with some adjustments

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wrong fit

Brett from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 1/21/2018

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not right for 2010 Subaru Forester. They sent me 2 of these and 2 of a different brand. These 2 required customization and were more difficult to utilize, in the front door the ring was causing the speaker to make contact with the door frame, which was a headache to trouble shoot.

Pros:

Cons: Not the right fit and the holes that the speakers are supposed to drill into, don't work effectively.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 1/16/2018

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well but only 2 of the 3 holes lined up with the existing mounting location.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 82-8901 Speaker Mounting Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Newberg, OR on 1/10/2018

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They worked pretty good, but did not fit the speaker well. I had to drill my own holes into it to get them to fit. After that they were all right. There is a large gap between the bracket and the door though which makes the speakers a little less responsive

Pros: Pretty easy to use

Cons: Gap between door. Had to drill holes.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does Not Fit

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 1/8/2018

2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2014 Subaru Crosstrek. Will not fit drivers door. Passenger door fits fine and angles up towards passenger seat. Driver door requires drilling a new mounting until hole to align with the lower right mounting tab due to the rings not being a mirror image set. What a waste of money. Crutchfield has similar reviews here and continues to sell the product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Works for Subaru Crosstrek with modification

Joe from ELIZABETHTOWN, KY on 1/1/2018

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the brackets to use in my 2016 Subaru Crosstrek after reading a Crutchfield walk-through that made it seem easy. Speakers purchased: Rockford Fosgate P1675-S Punch Series speakers. The bracket was recommended and indicated that it will not require drilling, however this was not accurate. If using this particular 6 3/4" speaker you have two options: 1. Use a dremel to clear out the inner diameter tabs to allow full speaker rotation for hole match up OR 2. Drill your own custom holes for the speaker. I chose to drill my own custom holes because I did not have access to a dremel at the time. Other speakers may fit differently based on their build, I only had access to the Rockfords. That being said the bracket did end up useful as the speakers I purchased would not fit in the factory cut out had I chosen to ditch the bracket. The bracket seems durable and thick enough not to vibrate though I heavily recommend sound deadening material between the door to bracket and bracket to speaker. Future consumers: The bracket will only fit on one way so keep rotating it if it does not appear to line up with the factory holes at first. Star loss is due to unexpected modification in my scenario.

Pros: -Can be modified to your needs -Seems durable (doesn't seem brittle like I expected a plastic mount to be) -Has only one way to mount which does simplify installation between L/R

Cons: -Had to modify a bracket that was implied to drop in hassle free

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not Mirrored parts, will NOT fit ANY vehicle

Crutchfield customer from CO on 12/29/2017

2011 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not even close to fitting my 2011 Subaru Impreza. They are the exact same item which makes it impossible to mount in a car that needs a left and right mirrored part (literally every car on the road needs mirrored parts for each side)

Pros: Free

Cons: Doesn't fit

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Terrible Fit

Adrian from Miami, FL on 12/27/2017

2008 Subaru Impreza WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This didn't work well for me. The mounting points for the car worked, but the mounting points for the speakers didn't. It came as a kit with the Rockford Fosgate Prime R1675X2 speakers and none of the mounting holes lined up with the speaker. It required a lot of modification to fit. Crutchfield installation instructions stated no drill necessary but one was needed. This made the installation very frustrating because I chose to do the front speakers only because I didn't have a drill.

Pros: Strong plastic Able to be drilled without breaking apart Fit the vehicle mounting points

Cons: Didn't fit the speakers paired with it Crutchfield supplied installation instructions didn't help Required significant modification to work

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not for Subaru WRX.

Ryan from Cortland, OH on 9/4/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with 2017 WRX as advertised. Worthless product. Will be heading out to find proper adapter.

Pros: None

Cons: Does not work as advertised.

Crutchfield response on 9/5/2017
Ryan contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the bracket installed and working! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP