Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Fits select 1995-2010 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-5817

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Fits select 1995-2010 Ford, Lincoln, Mercury, and Mazda vehicles — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-5817

360 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

David from Las Vegas, NV on 1/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this dash kit to install a double din sized head unit into my Mercury Marauder. I did not like the scary instructions which said it was a permanent install. So, I opted to file down the clips on both sides of the plastic trim. Now, with patience I can remove the head unit and don't need to remove the dashboard of the car. When installed, the head unit looks great and doesn't move around.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Robert from Umatilla, FL on 12/29/2022

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit, easy to find at Crutchfield and shipping fast as always!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Matt from Monroeville, PA on 12/21/2022

2005 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Horrible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/26/2022
Mat, we're sorry you're disappointed with your dash kit. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Bruce from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/18/2022

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Gene Arthur from Gulf Breeze, FL on 11/10/2022

2006 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and effective; works just as claimed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finally got the radio in!

Jim from Texas on 11/10/2022

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2000 F250 SD originally had a single DIN radio. Replaced some time ago with a CD player. Replaced this time with a Kenwood DDX5707S. I read about the dash modifications and was ready to do some cutting. I got everything cut, wired, routed, dash removed and replaced, and the radio wouldn't go in. Somewhere between 1/2 in and 3/4" sticking out. No click. Checked to see if the wire bundle was causing problems. Rearranged the wires. Tried all the dimensions and it seemed there was enough room. After reading more and only finding one guy that said his wouldn't go in either - he got it in after more cutting and said there was interference on the sides. Went back and looked and didn't see anything at first. Drum roll. I checked the clearance for the tabs, about 3/16 in, seemed like the truck dash had about the same clearance. Then I noticed the tabs were rigid, no give, at least not on the ones I had, and the dash panel where they snap was rigid too. So, I cut the sides on the dash opening from the bottom and top to make them more flexible. Picture below is before I cut them loose. And it worked!

Pros: I found that the screws provided with the radio worked fine in attaching the side plates.

Cons: Inflexible tabs means more cutting to free up the sides of the opening.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Lane from Fayetteville, NC on 11/6/2022

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit, amazing precision with no mods.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

David from Hagerstown, MD on 11/4/2022

2000 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It did the job, but only one illustration and no details. We cut off too much on the sides, but we feel that ended up being an advantage. put a wood screw in each side to keep the radio from being pushed in too far, but can quickly be pulled out with two small screwdivers.

Pros: Was much easier than trying to use the mounting provided by Kenwood

Cons: The single illustration was of almost no use.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Max from Gilcrest, CO on 10/22/2022

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were perfect. However the directions sucked. Both the directions that came with this kit and especially the ones that were put together by Crutchfield. To say they were lacking is an understatement. The directions for what exactly to remove from the dash bezel were pathetic. In all of the papers that were sent, more information would have been better that less. Or none. Seems like y'all were trying to cover your ass. However, I called your hot line and spoke with Derrick from Virginia. He was fantastic. Told me what to cut and even sent me a pic. The man of the day. I am super happy with the product. I really love Crutchfield. That spells quality to me. Always has. Thanks. I will be recommending y'all to friends and family. Work on the directions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Frank from Saint Louis , MO on 9/12/2022

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not clear on how to mount side panels. Left side partially blocks volume knob. Had to cut about 1/4" of dash, not the 1/16 noted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Richard from Monroe, NC on 8/18/2022

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits like it should after a little mod to the opening

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works but...

Nicholas from MILWAUKEE, WI on 8/17/2022

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was included for free with the headunit I purchased. Directions were simple and it installed quite easily. The issue is that when installed into the dash of my 2000 Ford Ranger the screen is recessed to the point where I had to bend my head over to see the "Home" button in the top left of the screen or to see my current speed while using Waze. I included the final installation as a comparison photo. The second photo is of another dash kit that was not ordered through Crutchfield as they told me this was the only compatible kit for my car. This isn't at all a ding against Crutchfield. Customer service was 10/10 and they even sent me a second Dash Kit to modify to see if I could get it to fit better.

Pros: -Easy install -Does what it is supposed to -Crutchfield customer service

Cons: -Poor visibility on certain areas of the screen due to how recessed the kit leaves the headunit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Bryan from White Plains, NY on 7/29/2022

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits my Ranger well. It does sit very far in to the dash but it doesn't look bad.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

did the trick!

Ethan from STERLING, VA on 7/26/2022

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

the kit works well, however basically no instructions BUT its pretty obvious how it works, if your DIY enough to mod your dash and are installing a radio you'll figure it out. I didn't need the bottom trim piece since my radio was a tight fit in my 02 ranger. but that will depend on your radio's size. the plastic is fine, but I wish it was metal, overall the kit works, it looks decent enough in the truck and was a direct fit onto the radio I purchased.

Pros: works

Cons: plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Don from Middletown, MD on 7/18/2022

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit, easy to install, works as advertised

Pros: fit, price

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read directions thoroughly.

Ryan from Ridgefield, WA on 7/7/2022

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Free dash mount kit works great as long as you read directions thoroughly.

Pros: I read the directions before install.

Cons: If you don't read the directions then throw them away and wing it with screws and glue and popsicle sticks.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Jessie from Warrior, AL on 5/31/2022

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The vehicle specific instructions left a little to be desired for my truck. I was able to figure it out without any issues though. Had everything I needed to complete the install of a new receiver into my truck. Overall it fit easily and the finish is acceptable, but the contours or the side pieces do not match the contours of the dash in the corners real well. The straight portion matches up great, but all four corners are just a little off. Most people would probably never notice the corners being slightly different, but if you pay attention to the details of the fit and finish you will notice it being slightly off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Sean from Chula Vista, CA on 5/18/2022

2000 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor fit

Greg from Greer, SC on 4/20/2022

1999 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used this kit to install the Boss BE7ACP-C Package in my 99 Ranger XLT 2dr Extended cab. This kit unfortunately makes the head unit sit to far in the bezel. When using Android Auto you can't see the time and weather with how far in it sits. I wish there were more options other than Metra as there quality control is garbage. 3 head units I've installed now and each Metra kit has had some type of flaw that could've been easily corrected. I gave 3 stars as it did the job but very poorly.

Pros: Cheap in price

Cons: Recedes to far in cutting off top of screen from view.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Edward from Claremont, NH on 3/23/2022

2005 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly. Not much else to say. Usual excellent Crutchfield service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garbage if used in a Ford Ranger

Loren from San Diego, CA on 3/5/2022

2000 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is a joke. When installed it puts the screen of the stereo like 2" back from the being flush with the dash bezel. So the stereo sits sunken in. Problems that can create: 1) If you have a volume knob near the side you won't be able to grab it as normal 2) It makes seeing your screen more difficult Please Crutchfield do not recommend this with a Ford Ranger. I called your customer service and your tech was well aware of the issue. Said there was no fix. Thanks a lot??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/8/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Loren to follow-up. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good dash kit.

Christopher from Nashville, TN on 1/20/2022

1999 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my dash, the instructions could have been a bit more clear on what you have to trim on your dash to make this fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

This kit fits well

Don from LEAGUE CITY, TX on 1/11/2022

2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit worked well, however the product information was wrong about the modifications needed. The product information included a photograph with an arrow pointing to a metal brace inside the dash. It says that metal brace needs to be cut from the dash substructure. No modification of that brace was required. What did need to be modified was the dash panel that the radio slides through. The hard plastic needed to be trimmed away. The instructions suggested using a Dremel tool. We started with the Dremel, but the hard plastic was taking a long time with the Dremel. We opted to cut away the plastic backing on the dash panel by heating a carpet knife with a propane torch. That made the process very simple as the hot knife just cut through the extra plastic like it was butter. Then, we snapped the new radio into the larger hole with the dash kit. It looks great, and we are happy with the kit.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

David from Lakeside, CA on 1/10/2022

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Could only use two of the screw holes on each side because of the size of the screw heads and nearness of the holes that lined up. It works well enough but would have been nice if it lined up a bit better or the screw heads were sized better. Again, however, it totally worked for my 2001 Ford F250

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Novice beware

Crutchfield customer from Grass Valley, CA on 1/3/2022

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you're a novice installer, these will look great, but do require cutting plastic dash bezel to fit. Also, be absolutely all your wiring is correct, complete and functional prior to pushing and snapping the unit in place, otherwise you will have to pull your whole dash bezel off to access. It would be much better if there was a simple removal system. What do you do if your fuse blows on the back of the unit???

Pros: Looks good when installed and is secure

Cons: You only get one shot to get it right because this system doesn't allow removal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Pitkin, LA on 12/30/2021

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install.

Pros: Looks factory.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clarita, CA on 12/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice job on this kit! Fits perfectly! Made the install a breeze! Easy to install the Alpine head unit with this kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

'03 Ford Escape adapter

Crutchfield customer from Rocklin, CA on 11/23/2021

2003 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

does not work as sent for '03 Ford Escape. I heavily modified it (cut it) to work.

Pros: appreciate efforts to help do-it-yourselfers. Worked great on first project with a Toyota. Did not work well for '03 Ford Escape

Cons: Does not work in an un-altered way for double DIN Boss unit in '03 Ford Escape (not plug and play)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Warren, MI on 11/19/2021

2010 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made installing my Sony very easy. Fits like a glove.

Pros: Cheap price and works great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit - Not a Good Fit for Ford Windstar

Crutchfield customer from New Jersey on 11/13/2021

2002 Ford Windstar

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit is not a good fit for the Ford Windstar. My vehicle is a 2002. As another reviewer pointed out, the Metra kit mounts the radio too far back in the dash. It makes accessing the dial controls on the side of the radio very awkward, and it just doesn't look nice. Since this kit cannot be removed once installed without removing the dash, it is very inconvenient that at least for the Ford Windstar, the radio will block the top two dashboard installation screws. So if you already re-installed the dash and then snap the radio in with this kit, you can no longer unscrew the top two dashboard screws. (Luckily I realized this before it was too late.) I wish Crutchfield offered some better alternatives for my vehicle. I'm leaving 3 stars since the kit itself is not bad... it's just a bad match to the Ford Windstar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Phillip from DOVER, DE on 11/10/2021

2004 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to follow directions, perfect installed once followed. Who could ask for more? Excellent product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, AL on 10/27/2021

2001 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit was easy to install and dressed up the opening in the dash. I am pleased with the final result. It looks like an OEM installation. The instructions were easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Alpena, MI on 10/4/2021

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

worked very well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Monument, CO on 9/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very limited instructions and the one picture was almost illegible. Had to modify things even more to get this kit to "work". Still not real happy with it. Expected a LOT more from something from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2021
We're sorry you're disappointed with your kit. If you'd like our help, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NC on 9/1/2021

2000 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LOOKS GOOD

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, IN on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does what it should. Makes my installation of BOSS 6.7 inch double din unit [to replace stock unit] look professional.

Pros: Works as it should. Good build and look.

Cons: If you keep the sides as shipped and install it thusly, removing it will be a pain -if you ever have a reason to.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Pittsford, MI on 7/29/2021

2007 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The side mounts had to be heavily modified to fit my 2007 Ford e350.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 7/11/2021

2002 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was worried about instruction that future removal would be very hard but installed without screwing to radio and no problems, secure fit, and no problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Jurupa Valley, CA on 7/4/2021

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Tim from BROWNWOOD, TX on 6/16/2021

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2004 F350 and the fit was perfect. You have to trim a small piece out but it's worth it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not so good product from a good company

Douglas from Hutto, TX on 6/6/2021

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It came with my purchase but I didn't use it. It sets the radio too far back into the dash and the head unit I bought has controls on the left side of the screen. I used the PAC/AI kit instead and was very happy with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Templeton, CA on 6/4/2021

1996 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit into the dash is soso. Looks to be protruding from the dash a few mm's. OK for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Liberty Lake, WA on 5/18/2021

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. My only gripe is that if I ever want to remove this I will need to reach behind the dash to get the screws out. It does warn that you will not be able to remove it though.

Pros: Fits as advertised

Cons: Will be a pain in the a** if I ever need to remove it

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, IN on 4/24/2021

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit makes the aftermarket radio look like it came from the factory. There is some work involved reworking the dash opening, but the fit is perfect once that's completed.

Pros: Great fit, looks factory

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 4/4/2021

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked fine, installation picture could have been better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Haltom City, TX on 3/30/2021

2008 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit is good, however the the instructions for it totally suck.....I had to remove ring around radio and instruction are very bleak on info.....a first grader could have done better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Metropolis, IL on 3/2/2021

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great for my install. The trim pieces made it look factory considering I had to trim to fit the double din.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Newton, KS on 3/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must Have Free With Purchase/Def click you want it

Crutchfield customer from Boonville, MO on 2/28/2021

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This made the Job easier you have the option how back to put into dash. I slid it back about a 1/2 inch to help with sun glare. It works great.

Pros: Simple to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Seffner, FL on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for double din conversion.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

Crutchfield customer from Albany, LA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple does what its supposed to only reason didnt give it 5 stars was because once you install it you have to remove the entire dash to pull the radio if you ever have to but it does say that in the instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Seminole, FL on 2/14/2021

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit made it super simple to instill my double din radio. It looks very stylish!

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mesa, AZ on 2/9/2021

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clean install. Horizontal bar not really necessary for my pioneer receiver. Nice to have just incase

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick and easy

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, OH on 2/6/2021

2003 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unexpectedly awesome. I have been installing these "modified fit" head units for years but this really takes the guess work out and leaves you with a nice clean fit and finish. It's still not custom fit and finish but it makes the installation easy.

Pros: Easy to install and use.

Cons: 1. Needs more screws included to allow 4 on each side to make it very secure. 2. Difficult to remove after snapping in place. You better have bought all of the accessories and have them installed before you finish the installation.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Strange Design

John from Bellevue, WA on 1/27/2021

2001 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For some reason, this kit places the receiver recessed back into the dashboard instead of up flush with it. This not only looks bad, but it makes certain designs of equipment difficult to operate. I threw this away and bought the AI kit - fits perfectly and completely flush where I want it. Dear Crutchfield, please replace this kit with the AI kit, or at least give the customer a choice between the two. Also, I was "given" this plus several other small items for "free" with my order. But I didn't need or want any of these items. I'd like to see Crutchfield give the customer the option of either accepting these free items or reducing the amount due on their order by the value of these items. Giving away small items the customer doesn't want or can't use just feels like a cheap gimmick to me - leaves me with a poor impression of the underlying Crutchfield business model.

Pros: Free

Cons: Strange design that recesses the receiver.. why?

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Required cutting of radio slot

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 1/19/2021

2011 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Required dash modification in my 2011 crown vic. Had to cut away the original top and bottom radio backstops and trim the sides.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 1/17/2021

2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros: Simple to use

Cons: I had no complaints

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mountainburg, AR on 12/30/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit, while at first glance seems a bit underwhelming, makes for an OEM looking install. And to me, that's the whole idea of using it. Installation was easy enough. Overall, I'm pleased with this.

Pros: Looks very good.

Cons: Had trouble getting the little "bar" at the bottom to fit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cocoa, FL on 12/28/2020

1998 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2004 Ford Ranger had to hack and hack to get this to work, seems like there should be something that is a better fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Stella, MO on 12/25/2020

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Eduardo from WOODBRIDGE, VA on 12/14/2020

2002 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash Kit fits perfectly, on a 2002 Ford Econoline. Plug in and play. Don't need anything else.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Yankton , SD on 12/13/2020

2004 Mercury Grand Marquis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple to use, read the directions carefully. WIsh there was an additional tool to remove after installation, if necessary. The directions say the dash must be removed if the head unit ever needs to be pulled again. That is a really big and quite expensive job in most vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Terre Haute, IN on 12/10/2020

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

awesome overall, easy kit to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks good

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 11/23/2020

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My radio required that I open up the top a little to make room for it. Once I did that, however, this dash kit made it look like the radio came with the car. It is completely seamless. The only downside is that you need to make sure you have all of the accessories or upgrades you want when you install your new radio as once this dash kit latches, that's it, you have to remove the dash to get the radio out.

Pros: Very nice appearance.

Cons: No instructions so you have to figure out how best to locate screws. Once it is installed, that's it, you aren't getting it out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kyle, TX on 10/25/2020

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product used it for a Ford ranger but still works like a charm

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 10/17/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made the stereo look like it came stock

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Brandon from WILSON, OK on 10/13/2020

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simply review Crutchfield rocks!!! Product was free they automatically add the product for you don't have to hunt it down. And the product was easy to install and looks great with the radio and dash.

Pros: Easy installation and nice finished look

Cons: No cons!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Double din install bracket for 2004 Ford ranger

Crutchfield customer from Takoma Park, MD on 9/29/2020

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall the brackets for my 2004 ford ranger fit in well. I had the shave off the bottom plastic lip for my dash opening for my new double din unit to fit in place

Pros:

Cons: The instructions were small. I had a hard time figuring out how that this bracket was meant to snap into place on the dashboard frame, which I also had shaved off. It would be helpful to have a small video on the website next to the product to show people how this all comes together.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not fit

Crutchfield customer from Santa Cruz, NM on 9/28/2020

2000 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not work with my 2000 F350 Super Duty Powerstroke diesel. The stereo is not secured in the dash at the moment as a result.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/6/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Unremovable dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Severna Park, MD on 9/20/2020

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Make sure you every possible cable installed because it can't be removed. Required dash trimming for my vehicle, but that's the vehicle manufacturers fault.

Pros:

Cons: Unremovable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 9/20/2020

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great. Fits well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Eh

Crutchfield customer from Huntertown, IN on 8/27/2020

2005 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It does hold the double din securely and does the job but the only available mounting position caused the screen to be recessed about an inch and a half into the dash. I poorly designed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It worked perfectly.

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 8/4/2020

2010 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It worked perfectly (Ford Ranger), I have to make modifications to the dash panel by using a Dremel tool.

Pros: Good quality

Cons: Hard to install for someone inexperienced.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Midland, TX on 7/15/2020

2003 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Helps secure deck in dash trimming is necessary on 03 f-350

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Howell, MI on 7/14/2020

2003 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very simple install looks great

Pros: Sleek and perfect fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

metra dash kit, convert 96 Explorer to a double din size display

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 7/6/2020

1996 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am absolutely thrilled to get rid of the old aftermarket adapter that had the ugly slot in it and to get a double din size touch screen so thank you , thank you, thank you for making this. I am so much more happy with my dash than I used to be. I will say it is a good bit of work to cut the factory trim plate as needed but it is worth it. I'll give two SLIGHT (and what I consider only CONSTRUCTIVE) criticisms. 1. If they could possibly provide a plastic or paper template to mark where to trim the factory plate, it would save a lot of time. You are afraid to cut too much so you get close and keep taking a little off and try again (rinse and repeat.) 2. At least on my head unit, after installation the head unit sits further back in the console than what most people would like. This may be caused by my head unit or it may be the kit.

Pros: Getting a modern double din display is a huge improvement in appearance over my previous single din sized unit and ugly trim plate adapter. The cost is very reasonable.

Cons: It is more work than it seems like it should be and you need a dremmel or similar (which I did have.) It is probably the fault of the vehicle trim plate and stereo size but there is a lot of space there. It is hard to believe you have to do all of this to get a decent size display in a slot as big as the one available in the dash.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Angier, NC on 7/4/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked like a champ.

Pros: Made the install look factory.

Cons: Need better instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 7/1/2020

2004 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well, could be stronger plastic. Good fitment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Valley Center, CA on 6/29/2020

1999 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit is wonderful. Snapped right into my 1999 F-350 and I didn't have to remove the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kernersville, NC on 6/11/2020

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio in the morning on spring break that we purchased but his dash kit just does not line up right and leaves gaps

Pros: Fits on the radio

Cons: Does not align up correctly in the dash

Crutchfield response on 6/15/2020
We're sorry you're disappointed with your kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

L.C.

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 6/2/2020

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

made the install so easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 6/1/2020

2004 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good product that got messed up by poor instructions. The instructions state: "Cut all obstructions from the radio opening." When the requirement is to cut the obstruction from the top and bottom leaving the sides alone. this error was fixed and I actually liked the location better that where it would have been using the original side flanges, a little closer to the front of the cavity.

Pros: Quality parts that fit well and look good.

Cons: Mean what you say or say what you mean. I expect instructions to be concise especially when I haven't done and install like this before.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Salem, VA on 5/25/2020

2002 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

made My install a breeze!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dekalb, IL on 5/25/2020

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not the best dash kit

Pros: It holds the radio

Cons: Not the best fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 5/17/2020

2006 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Holes don't line up toget more than 1 hole screwed in

Pros:

Cons: Not designed well

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carteret, NJ on 5/13/2020

2005 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Strong hold

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bussey, IA on 4/28/2020

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cant beat a free install kit when you buy a radio, no complaints!

Pros: Fits great, free with purchase of radio!

Cons: None that I can find!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 4/25/2020

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions could be better, and the locking clips a little larger, but this is a great solution for installing a radio in a Ford Ranger.

Pros: Pug and play, installs just like the factory system.

Cons: Short clips to hold the radio to the bezel

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I felt like a pro stereo installer!

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 4/22/2020

2006 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's so easy when you have ALL the parts you need to install! No wasting time looking for parts AND the experts tell you what you need to install on your own unique vehicle so YOU KNOW IT IS GOING TO FIT!! I was quoted $250 to install, why, it only took 30 minuted for me with all parts at hand, going to buy new speakers with the money I saved!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A better dash installation kit must exist!

Crutchfield customer from Leverett, MA on 4/20/2020

2007 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've have used installation kits from Crutchfield in the past and been impressed, but I was very disappointed with this kit. This was used to "install" a double DIN unit into the dash of a Ford E-350 (and is used for other similar Fords). It requires you to cut away portions of the dash at the top and bottom of the opening which is a delicate operation. I used a rotary tool to do so and can't see how you could do it any other way without damaging the dash. The plastic pieces from the Metra kit screw into the sides of the stereo and then you snap it into the dash. The installation is not elegant; there is a small plastic strip that snaps in to fill a gap left at the bottom, but there is still a gap at the top of the hole and the large black plastic pieces of the kit on the sides look awkward- definitely not a factory-installed look! Most importantly, the kit warns that once the new stereo is installed you won't be able to remove it without dis-assembling the dash. I learned that indeed this is true, as the stereo I purchased stopped working after two hours, thus I had to remove it to return it. Disassembly of the dash to simply remove a stereo is a real pain and a pretty "old school" way to replace a car stereo. There has to be a better kit that would allow installation and removal without going through so much bother.

Pros: none

Cons: Does not look like a seamless factory installation. To remove the stereo you have to disassemble the dash!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Davenport, WA on 4/19/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit on the radio, but a little light in the instructions. By trial and error, not wanting to take too much material out of the dash slot, I got a hole big enough to fit the radio in, albeit tightly. The radio snapped into place and looks like it should, but it fit so tightly I don't know how I will get it out again if I need to.

Pros: Perfect fit for my radio, lots of holes and slots to attach to just about any other radio I can imagine. Side latches to retain the radio in place when properly installed.

Cons: Could use better instructions regarding necessary clearance for installation.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Port Charlotte, FL on 4/13/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2001 F250. Definitely have to file/grind off the top and bottom lip of the sub dash opening to make the radio fit. Also take out the two screws at the top of the sub dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must be something better

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, CO on 3/16/2020

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Doesn't really work in my Ranger. You have to cut the factory lip out of the dash panel and then there is nothing with this mount to keep it from sliding into the dash or back out. I had to use screws to anchor it and it doesn't look very nice.

Pros: Better than nothing

Cons: Don't really work. Screw holes are slotted and mount slides forward when trying to tighten. Poor design. Too universal

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple install with kit

Crutchfield customer from Albany, OR on 3/15/2020

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This made for a simple install when moving a double din unit from one vehicle to another. It looks good in the dash

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Richmond Hill, GA on 2/17/2020

2000 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as designed. Replacing the old radio with a new one required some modification of the dash. The design works but it requires some work and time to get it installed.

Pros: Works as design

Cons: The description of the making the dash opening larger could be a bit better. The illustration was not very good on the packaging.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mount Holly, NC on 2/16/2020

2010 Ford F-650

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect Easy to install

Pros: Made install easy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Keaau, HI on 2/4/2020

2001 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple and well thought out. Mounts after market audio securely in your car. End result looks like factory installation.

Pros: Professional looking solid installation mount.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Buellton, CA on 1/11/2020

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This could have been designed much better than it is. I have had fit problems with other Metra product's before but the way this one works is poor. One problem is once the receiver is popped in, that is it. It can not be removed without removing the entire panel assembly. That is not so bad. What is bad, is that the receiver drops back into the dash too deep, making it very difficult to use the volume wheel. (See pictures.) To help deal with this problem, I velcroed a remote control to my center console and I operate volume from that.

Pros: Very good price

Cons: Not well designed

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Eric from Roswell , GA on 1/8/2020

1995 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not much to say. It does the job!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quick n easy

Crutchfield customer from North Yarmouth, ME on 1/5/2020

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use. Self explanatory. Locks the stereo to the front, removable dash bezel so stereo comes out when you pop the front bezel off. Works really great on the early Ford Escape.

Pros: Locks in tight, perfect fit

Cons: Not enough screws. Went to hardware store.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Vernon, AL on 1/2/2020

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked as expected

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ford f250 challenge

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, OH on 12/28/2019

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was a tough install in my f250, but with the guidance Crutchfield techs, worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed this with a Sony XAV-AX5000 in my 2005 Ford Ranger. This installation is not for the faint of heart since oyu need to trim the dash with a Dremel or similar tool. I shaved the radio dash gradually and finished with a perfect fit with the Metra Kit.

Pros: Convert Radio to 2 Din

Cons: Must trim plastic from OEM Dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Seymour, TN on 12/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No instructions came with kit. It did work but I had to modify it by cutting part of each side off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works exactly as described

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, MO on 11/18/2019

2007 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This worked perfectly on my 2007 Ford Escape. It was easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

looks factory

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Rapids, IA on 11/18/2019

2007 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great kit that looks factory in my 07 escape, you need to make sure you can remove the dash panel without needing to unscrew items from behind the radio before final installation as once the radio is in you are not removing it without removing the entire dash panel. Not a big deal if you think ahead. Loses a star though because with all the space they cover on the sides it would have been plausible to include some release mechanism so that dash removal is not necessary for radio removal.

Pros: great looks

Cons: engineers needed to make some sort of latching mechanism to remove radio as entire dash removal seems a bit lazy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Proceed with caution.

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Ranch, CA on 11/17/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Simple kit. But instruction isn't clear on what to cut for install. It didn't take too much to figure it out so I still thought it was a great kit.

Pros: Cleans up install very well. Giving the radio a finished edge.

Cons: Poor install instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Moyock, NC on 11/13/2019

2004 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to put a double din in a Ford E series Van!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Steens, MS on 10/30/2019

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for my 2002 Ford Ranger. I used it on a double DIN Kenwood!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 10/28/2019

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great. Trimming of dash required. Instructions state that the receiver must come out with dash if take it apart in the future

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Unionville, VA on 10/15/2019

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work perfect always shoise you products the always work nice instruction thanks Cruthfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Farmington, UT on 10/6/2019

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfect in a 2000 Ford super duty. I was a little apprehensive about having to trim part of the dash, but it was a piece of cake. Works perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cedar Park, TX on 9/26/2019

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy installation

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MI on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used this kit to install a new system in my 2011 Crown Victoria. It fit perfectly and positioned the head unit correctly. Easy to use.

Pros: Fit new unit perfectly Secures head unit in-dash, no rattles or squeaks.

Cons: No screws to attach to head unit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

No complaints here!

Crutchfield customer from Lake City, MN on 9/15/2019

2003 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In place of the sleeve which came with my unit - this made it a breeze to install!

Pros: Ease of use.

Cons: The screws included with my stereo are difficult to use at best.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Courtland, VA on 9/8/2019

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit required extensive trimming and cutting of the kit itself to fit factory dash, even after following installation instructions for trimming dash opening.

Pros: Works with modifications.

Cons: Not nearly a direct fit for 2002 Ford F250 dash.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have parts

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 9/3/2019

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These parts finished off the installation for a professional look.

Pros: Look great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Guest from Nellysford, VA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It does a reasonably good job of adapting the radio to fit the enclosure. One fix is needed, the plastic sides where the multi-fit holes are located is too soft. When tightening the screws to a secure level the plastic holes deform. This can yield an angled fit on the radio. The trim "bar" works great to finish off the opening. For the Sony radio with a volume knob the curved sides are very close to the volume knob, making it a bit difficult to grab what is a small knob.

Pros:

Cons: Making the side plates from metal would be an improvement.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A Little Confusing

Crutchfield customer from Palm Bay, FL on 8/15/2019

2008 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Finishes the dash off great. Looks like a factory install. Instructions could have been a bit better. Took me a while to realize that the bezel that came on the new receiver needed to be removed in order for the rails to seat properly against the unit. Once I got over that hurdle the install went much smoother.

Pros: Great fit

Cons: Unclear instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very good and solid, but needs the right size hole.

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 8/5/2019

1998 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was a little hesitant to think this would give me a really solid mounting, but it fit into the dash very solidly. I did have to cut my '98 Ford Ranger dash hole a little, and since I could cut it precisely that helped a lot. If you have a good hole, it will fit solidly. I give one star off for not having countersunk screws. The pan head screws were a pain to fit as we slid the unit into the dash. It barely cleared, and since the holes in the plastic were designed for countersunk screws, it would have been much better to have them. Maybe the screws were from the stereo instead of this kit. not sure.

Pros: Solid if the hole is cut right

Cons: Pan head screws (maybe this was the stereo's fault) didn't fit as well as countersunk screws would have

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Oroville, WA on 7/30/2019

2001 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 7/23/2019

2001 Mazda B Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product worked flawlessly once I got the dash modified properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 7/21/2019

2000 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's not the right fit for a 2000 F350 crew cab. To wide so the unit wouldn't slide in all the way with it on. I will have to modify the thickness on each side to see if that will even work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fit!

Crutchfield customer from Rathdrum, ID on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used this to put a Kenwood stereo in a '99 Super Duty and I was a little dubious of how this was going to look but it looks like it came with the truck! Very happy with the look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong kit

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 7/6/2019

1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit sent will not work period, made my own.

Pros: None

Cons: Wrong kit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not A Good Fit

Crutchfield customer from Rosamond, CA on 6/27/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this kit dosent fit a 2003 f250 i had to modify it a lot to make part of it to work, not recommended

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good solution to a problem.

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 6/26/2019

2007 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These were a bit confusing, but some trial and error got them to work. Overall very pleased with the results.

Pros: Good fit and finish.

Cons: Directions are not very clear.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 6/20/2019

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok fit to openings to 2003 Ford Ranger Edge trim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Marengo, IL on 6/7/2019

2007 Ford Crown Victoria

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bottom piece doesn't fit, side brackets work okay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the kit!

Crutchfield customer from Swiftwater, PA on 5/19/2019

2003 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the second kit I bought over the years. It is simple to install and ot gives a great appearance! It's a great price, great fit and it give a double din unit a great appearance.

Pros: Easy installation, gives a professional install look as if it is a part of the radio bezel, great price if bought by itself, even better when its included with a stereo purchase!

Cons: No cons about this kit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Indian Head, MD on 5/6/2019

1999 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hopewell Jct, NY on 4/11/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great to install the JVC touchscreen unit on my 2001 Ford Explorer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Harrisburg, PA on 3/31/2019

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed my radio with ease giving the instructions a once over that where included with my purchase along with the necessary tools thanks to crutchfield I would purchase from them again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kapaa, HI on 3/20/2019

2001 Ford Explorer Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions could've been more descriptive. Figured it out.

Pros: Tight fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, KY on 3/20/2019

2004 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very basic but it works the only issue is you cannot take it out once it's in the dash because Ford Excursion/f250 dash was not built for a true double din.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 3/19/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2003 Ford F-250 Crew Cab 4x4. The kit was easy to install but in the installation instructions there is a warning that once it is installed and it cannot be removed without removal of the dashboard. Strangely my unit is installed in the dash as far as it will go but it has not locked in place I can still remove it.

Pros: Fairly flimsy plastic

Cons: Did not lock into my dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple

Jeff from Cleveland, MO on 3/17/2019

2007 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product does what it needs to do, but I don't like the fact that it inserts the radio about 3/4 of an inch.

Pros: Ease of installation

Cons: Don't like the radio inset, that it produced.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

couldn't be easier

mitchell l from Lebanon, OH on 3/12/2019

2011 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

it was exactly what I expected it was a perfect fit and easy to install

Pros: easy installation

Cons: Not very easy to remove

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean install appearance.

James from New Tripoli, PA on 3/7/2019

2002 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit well, holds the receiver securely, clean appearance when installed. The single downside, for my Ford Ranger application was not having an easy release mechanism. I had forgot to connect the microphone to the receiver and had to remove lower dash trim pieces to get behind the receiver.

Pros: Very easy to install. Clean fit. Nice trim appearance.

Cons: Needs a way to release the installed receiver.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Double din kit

Dan from Neah Bay, WA on 3/3/2019

2003 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When I received this kit I was unsure of how it would look in the dash. I couldn't see how it would possibly look good. It was extremely easy to install. The two flat pieces attach to the side of the receiver with screws, and then the entire stereo is fit into the dash opening. It clicked into place and fits well and is completely sturdy! It looks great, and is bulletproof!

Pros: Price Ease of use Appearance Function

Cons: Better instructions, and show a picture of what this looks like installed!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Charles from Post Falls, ID on 2/27/2019

2007 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and gives the install a professional look. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the kit is made in such a way that the stereo can't be easily removed once it clicks into place. I feel like the manufacturer could have come up with some way to make the stereo removable. Tip: For cutting away the extra plastic material around the factory dash opening, I used an oscillating multi-tool rather than a rotary Dremel. I found the tool at Walmart for only $18 and was able to get the cuts made in just a few minutes.

Pros: Perfect fit, looks professional

Cons: Once the stereo is installed, it can't be removed without taking apart the entire dash.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

It works

justincrediable from Corpus Christi, TX on 2/25/2019

1998 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It worked

Pros: yep way pro

Cons: nope no cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Foley, AL on 2/25/2019

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit my 2003 Ford F-250 XLT perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Clint from Centerville, TN on 2/19/2019

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product. Easy to install. This kit actually "snaps" into the dash panel locking the radio in. Looks like factory if done right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Provides a great finish for a double DIN install, highly recommended

Mark from Howard, KS on 1/24/2019

2000 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have used one before on my F-350 and really liked the outcome as that stereo used buttons for controls. For this install the only downside at all was the stereo uses a volume knob, which sits extremely close to the curved part of the plastic on the left. Can still roll the volume knob from the top, bottom, and right side but cannot grasp the knob with thumb and fingers like one would normally do. Minor inconvenience that doesn't really take away from the clean install this provides. If I had any complaints about the kit at all it would be that the plastic deforms easily when tightening the screws into the stereo. It is still sturdy but if there were a way to add a little robustness to the screw holes that would make the kit 100%. Contrary to what is stated, you can actually put your factory radio back in after modifying your dash but you will be able to see the gaps above and below the unit if you look for them. Someone had previously modified the dash in my Excursion and I didn't notice until I removed the factory radio.

Pros: Looks great installed Very easy to attach to stereo and slide into dash

Cons: Could be a little more robust around screw holes Stereos with a volume knob could find slight interference with the curved part of the plastic Dash modification is required but simple tools like an aggressive file can easily open up the dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage , AK on 1/16/2019

2002 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just right fit. Good supplemental instructions from Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Towson, MD on 1/9/2019

2002 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield directions state you need to trim the mount point on the dashboard. This is a gross understatement - and part of an overall set of vague instructions without any pictures (they provide generic, non-descriptive cartoons). We needed to grind away from top and bottom to make a complete rectangular opening without the extra plastic that comes with the original 2002 ford escape radio. We got it half in and then it got stuck. Tech support was useless and said I'd need to take apart the entire front dashboard. It was an infuriating phone call. I eventually got the front media panel off and strong-armed the radio affixed to this back out of the dash. I then ground away the rest of the plastic from the opening (not trim or file - I needed a grinding point to do the job) and it went in. The final install looks horrible and they only give 1 decorative strip. I will have to contact Crutchfield to get another strip - one for the top and one for the bottom. I don't recommend using this harness. It took over 4 hours of personal labor to get installed and I still need to mount the decorative strips.

Pros: It eventually may hold your radio snug.

Cons: Directions and tech support were useless and extremely misleading.

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope they give us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spicewood, TX on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks like it came from the factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Harker Heights, TX on 12/30/2018

2005 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ok but could be better

John from La Crosse, WI on 12/16/2018

2009 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A bit on the crude side.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Not enough adjustment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, TN on 12/10/2018

1999 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works great, fit how it was supposed to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Zillah, WA on 12/9/2018

2003 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First well and makes the installation look almost factory.

Pros: Fit well

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit, easy install

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 11/28/2018

2002 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've used a few Metra kits before and this was by far the simplest to install. Less pieces and modification for it to work. Took a little bit of cutting but fit great the first time. Its recessed the right amount, and not sticking out like some others.

Pros: Perfect fit, snapped in really easily. Looks awesome, better than stock.

Cons: Cutting was tedious, but not all that bad

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

David from Willard, MO on 10/15/2018

2005 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Made the install easy

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Daniel from Tucson, AZ on 10/13/2018

1999 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfect in my 99 f350.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-5817 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Moro, IL on 10/11/2018

2004 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product was as described. Good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

P