Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
Connect ID #
225 277 584 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Fits select 1998-2002 Dodge Ram trucks — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-6551

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Fits select 1998-2002 Dodge Ram trucks — double-DIN radios (Black)

MFR # 95-6551

11 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Belen, NM on 3/15/2021

2000 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy it

Crutchfield customer from Walnut, IL on 3/10/2021

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked great to add a double din head unit to my 2nd gen Dodge. It comes with a ring you set on the dash bezel so you can mark it for what you need to cut out, and a trim ring that goes in that hole for a nice finished look. I'm really happy with this kit.

Pros: Good directions, Looks great

Cons: Involves cutting inner dash for fitment.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent, except for ....

Crutchfield customer from Clanton, AL on 1/18/2021

2002 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit worked well for my Dodge Ram 2500. Would have given it a 5 star rating except that the instructions are incomplete for my truck. Instructed to remove only bottom of compartment. However, you will need to remove the upper part as well to install a double din radio. Overall, I am very satisfied with the kit and the tech service. See photo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 11/15/2020

1999 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Be VERY careful.

Phil from HOUSTON, TX on 4/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes some adjusting, but gives a decent overall finished look. Mounting tabs that anchor radio to dash are fragile. Be VERY careful or the tabs will break as mine did rendering it a loose fit.

Pros: Good overall look.

Cons: FRAGILE mounting locations.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 3/6/2020

1999 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The face plate modification is perfect. The mounting brackets are flimsy and not designed for the Sony VAX-AX1000 unit. I had to drill 2 additional holes to tilt the unit approx 3 degrees down to ensure a proper fit.

Pros: Vehicle modifications were good.

Cons: Not well designed for the Sony VAX-AX1000 units

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth, NJ on 11/16/2019

2000 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions showed trimming the bottom of the radio opening but I had to trim the top in order to get the radio to fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great kit, worked great

Austin from EDMONDS, WA on 10/31/2019

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent installation kit for my Kenwood DMX7706S in my 2001 Dodge Ram 2500. The mounting brackets are very flexible and strong (which is a huge plus), though this kit does not come with screws, your head unit does.

Pros: Cutting template Strong/flexible plastic

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fine enough. Be ready to cut your dash!

Claire from Portland, OR on 6/25/2019

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does an okay enough job, though I struggled to get the right mounting depth/height on my new head unit to fit perfectly with the trim piece. Making cuts to both the trim bezel and the sub-bezel was a little stressful, even though I'm generally comfortable with a rotary tool. The fit and finish isn't incredible, but it gets the job done to give you a larger screen. The way the trim piece fits forces my head unit back in the dash, which makes the volume knob a little harder to get to. I may end up cutting it to allow the unit to come further forward at the risk of needing to buy another. I did this specifically to be able to add a backup camera to my truck.

Pros: Allows double-DIN unit

Cons: Cuts were challenging, not the nicest fit and finish

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

double DIN radio in my favorite Ram body

Crutchfield customer from Conway, AR on 6/22/2019

2000 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally a clean way to install a double DIN radio in a second gen Ram. The trim fits a little loose so I glued it in place once I was happy with the fit. Be prepared to take your time in trimming your dash. An airsaw or Dremel type tool is invaluable in trimming the dash. I gave it 5 stars because it awesome that Metra knows that people love second gen Ram trucks.

Pros: Good fit with some work.

Cons: Trim fits a bit loose but is easily remedied with some plastic cement once you are happy with the placement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-6551 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Delco, NC on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP