Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new double-DIN car stereo in a 2004-08 Mazda RX-8 (Gloss Black)

MFR # 95-7510HG

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new double-DIN car stereo in a 2004-08 Mazda RX-8 (Gloss Black)

MFR # 95-7510HG

48 reviews
View this product

My RX8 is modern now!

Crutchfield customer from Hesperia, CA on 2/10/2021

2006 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit right in with my 06 Rx8. Lot of information on what to do and which wires go to what. The module is a little bigger than it needs to be but i made it fit by cutting some plastic behind the radio. Cool this kit lets you edit the text on the display. I even vinyl wrapped the face plate to personalize it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bajadero, PR on 10/15/2020

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Make my car look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Scott from Soddy Daisy, TN on 11/12/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit fits well. Looks awesome. But you'll need to go to utube to watch an installer do it. Instructions are a little kryptic and you have to search for the diagrams. Instead of making a direct jumper for the dash panel, they force you to dissemble the whole factory unit for one wire harness. And the brain is HUGE. So the installers in the videos cut a bunch of plastic out to fit it.

Pros: Fit an finish. Looks excellent!

Cons: Excessive size to the brain. Use of factory display harness creates excessive wire.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Kit - well worth the money!

Crutchfield customer from East Hartford, CT on 11/6/2019

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed HUNDREDS of car stereos over the years. By far, this is one of THE BEST KITS around! Somewhat complicated to install, but that is due to limitations within the vehicle itself - instructions were very clear, and a call to the tech support line resolved an issue I had quickly. Staff was knowledgeable, patient, friendly, and helpful. The kit finish matches my interior PERFECTLY, and the unit looks great in the car!

Pros: Great fit and finish, looks great, complete kit to retain original display for HVAC/clock/outside temp

Cons: Somewhat complicated to install, instructions clear for the most part, but still had to call tech support due to minor issue with wiring instructions. Resolved quickly by tech support agent

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Garbage

David from Tijeras NM on 8/28/2019

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolute garbage, no a/c , no display. Mind you this is an 05 rx8 install. 3rd attempt. Crutchfield gets 5 stars for trying to help with this piece of junk. They have great customer service but this should be taken out of the line. Metra sucks for rx8 . Factory unit works great. Metra is a 3 time loser.

Pros: Nice face plate

Cons: Interface box is HUGE, and does not work with rx8 display or HVAV

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lakeport, CA on 5/24/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit and easy to install. Had it all done within an hour but I already had experience taking apart the radio. I bought the glossy kit since it matches the other OEM stuff in the car

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/20/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit, finish matches existing. no problems with integration of display screen, hazard lights or heating/cooling controls

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 3/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine didn't come with instructions. Easy enough to deal with. Not all wires are labeled, making install a bit of a trial and error affair. A little back and forth with crutchfield and it turns out out the have the pinouts and 5 minutes on the phone could have saved hours.

Pros: Works exactly as advertised.

Cons: Only kit out there and it isn't cheap. Not all connected toons clearly labeled.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Glenwood Spgs, CO on 1/22/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was a huge upgrade from the oem radio in the RX8. It was a fairly straight forward install but I was a pain to tuck the like box module behind the heater control unit. Would recommend to any other RX8 owner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Anchorage, AK on 9/25/2018

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It came with very detailed instructions. Im happy with crutchfield because i know they have good up to date products

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 9/19/2018

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness/dash kit installation was somewhat confusing, but worked well with my 2004 RX8. The harness and black box have to be strategically placed before tucking the wires and placing the unit in; it's a very tight fit. Overall, it's definitely a good product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OEM look and feel

Crutchfield customer from Belle Plaine, KS on 9/3/2018

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used in a Mazda RX-8, worked perfectly and as advertised.

Pros: Keeps the factory look.

Cons: A little hard to fit everything into a small opening.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Wayne, IN on 8/3/2018

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had to cut this product so a 2 Din which is supposed to fit would be able to be used in this, and on top of that the wires are crossed so nothing worked. All in all honesty horrible product don't buy it, waste of my money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/6/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the dash adapter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect look

Jared from Mandan, ND on 6/10/2018

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Highly recommend if you have an RX8

Pros: Looks great and works perfectly.

Cons: Axxess box was a little big and hard to tuck, best spot to hide it is back towards the glove compartment.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Tony from Edwardsville, PA on 5/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item is no less than BRILLIANTLY designed. Every possible wiring connection is provided. Outer shell cosmetics and fit are flawless. Reprogramming of dash display using the AC controls is ingenious. When I first bought the kit I thought the price was a bit insane for just a sheet of plastic... little did I know. When I was done installing, I was so positively impressed, I'd gladly have paid double. Nowhere but Crutchfield.

Pros: All Pros

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Shannon from Fort Wayne, IN on 5/7/2018

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a very nice looking and nice working setup. The instructions to take the dash a part was good put there was no instructions for the installation or wiring. The wire connectors for the fan and temperature controls kept falling out and wouldn't lock in. Crutchfield has great customer service and after I called about the connector issues they promptly sent me new ones, unfortunately they were not much better. The customer service is great, the product for the most part is good, just need better instructions and better quality wire connectors.

Pros: Looks great!

Cons: Installation instructions and wire harnessss.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ocoee, FL on 4/1/2018

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks and works awesome!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Metra kit isn't cheap, but it's the only way to go...

John from Jackson, NJ on 2/17/2018

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I avoided the Metra kit for my 2004 RX-8 for a long time because of the price, but once I realized that half the electronics of the car ran through the factory radio I realized why the kit was so pricey. Without the custom interface and cables that come with the kit you are wasting your time trying to get an aftermarket radio to function with out losing your heat, A/C and Hazard flasher as well as the information display. This kit is engineered to deal with all the changes and works great. I still dropped a star for being expensive, but other than that it's the only real solution you should consider...

Pros: Engineered with every wire providing the proper function. You can customize the display with your name. Heat & A/C work perfectly as well as hazards....

Cons: Just a bit on the expensive side...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 12/17/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great looking , plugs do not stay in on the control box . And glitches when lights are on

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

PAOLO from West Covina, CA on 12/10/2017

2007 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fitment on my 07 Rx8. I chose the gloss black to match the accents of the car and it looks great. Having to be able to add a personalized text is a good touch. Overall I am very satisfied with this purchase. Highly recommended to people who are thinking about upgrading their stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Noe from Midland, TX on 10/22/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really good and easy to install be your self

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Converts custom radio face to after market DDIN great!

DaShawn from Cleveland, OH on 9/14/2017

2008 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product does exactly as I would expect it allows me to put a after market DDIN in my Mazda RX-8. I took it to an audio installation shop to be put in but it came with instructions and looks great. You wouldn't be able to tell that it didn't come custom with the car. I ordered the product next day air and it arrived on time for the installation appointment I made. I was completely happy with my purchase.

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510

Patrick from Reading,Pa on 8/22/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the conversion of the radio For the RX8 super easy better then stock!

Pros: Made the conversion super easy!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Jonah from North Las Vegas, NV on 7/11/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit. Beautifully replaces the one stereo.

Pros: Great fit and finish.

Cons: Requires system reset to get all functions to work correctly, a/c and dash display, etc...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit, everything you need!

Kenny from Lexington, KY on 5/16/2017

2007 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and came with all necessary parts. I only wish that the interface box was much slimmer/smaller as it was a very tough fit in the RX8. Also, there are too many wiring harnesses to attach to the interface, so behind the radio gets pretty jam packed. However, everything worked as expected so it was pretty easy to install.

Pros: Came with all parts for my car worked hassle-free instructions were mostly spot on

Cons: interface box is too big too many wiring harnesses to try to stuff behind radio

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Yuma, AZ on 4/24/2017

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great instructions and came with everything I needed to install my head unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/9/2017

2006 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast shipping product works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clean kit, looks and functions like stock

Crutchfield customer from Bellbrook, OH on 2/20/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit fits very well, and the microcontroller box interfaces perfectly with the climate control system and stock LCD in the dash. The wiring to the radio is well labeled; however, some of the wiring is reused on the interface to the controller box. The reused wires have labels like "left speaker +" which are meaningless. The instructions explain the wiring for that connector via colors, but it is a subtle point and left me confused at first. The instructions should be more clear, or other wiring should be used. Also, it would be helpful to expand the radio install instructions to clarify that the dash vents must be removed to allow the radio to be mounted under their mount tabs. Still, it is a great kit, and I'd buy it again or recommend it to a friend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what you need.

Riley from Oklahoma City, Ok on 2/16/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely exactly what I was hoping to get. Easy instillation (I'm not a beginner though) only issue was I couldn't find a spot to place the converter box but I managed to find a little hole for it. Great product. Fast shipping, best price too. Love it.

Pros: Perfect fit, easy instructions, works perfectly.

Cons: Hard to find a place to put the converter box. Put it behind the AC controls and run wires through the back to it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Kit. Just suck it up and get it.

Jose from Fife, Wa on 2/9/2017

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Suggestion. Don't try to avoid buying by getting one from eBay or something just spend the money. It's worth it. You'll save yourself so much trouble and you'll definitely need everything in here. It fits great. Gives you a cool a little feature where you can change your name on the top display. It's great. Just buy it. Just make sure your button click in and out easily or else it'll be a pain but that's cause I'm picky. It's not that bad.

Pros: Fits great. Headache free.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good kit

Donald from Havelock, NC on 3/30/2016

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good kit, lots of wires and lots of screws but that's to be expected for a kit that gives me HVAC with my new head unit. fit and finish is great and everything works like it's supposed to.

Pros: looks good and works without messing up.

Cons: just takes a long time to change everything over from the old faceplate to the new one.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product and fit perfectly!

Mitch.w from Buffalo ny on 10/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. Great instructions. Prompt delivery and customer service

Pros: Direct fit and easy install

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome kit with one drawback

Michael T from Florida on 8/11/2015

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2004 Mazda RX-8. I went with the Gloss finish since the original radio was gloss. I was worried about the finish not looking factory but when I opened it up I couldn't tell the difference. The finish was a high Gloss, no defects and looked just like the factory finish. All the connector and control box that came with it hooked up with no issues. Plugged all the connectors in and the radio worked and still had the factory digital display at the top of the dash. The only complaint I have is with the wire harness adapter. It didn't come with pins to match to the factory radio steering wheel controls. Even if a car doesn't have that option installed I would have assumed the wiring harness adapter should have the pins to accommodate steering wheel controls. Since they were not there I had to fabricate two pins and wires and inserted them into the harness. That way I didn't have to splice into the factory wires. It worked and I'm very happy with the install.

Pros: Great finish and quality of the product. It's not flimsy and fits perfectly into the dash with no modifications needed.

Cons: Wiring harness didn't have pins for steering wheel control

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

review

jeff from laurel md on 3/28/2015

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit was to small and the stereo would not fit, thankfully I work for an auto body repair facility where I was able to sand it down to fit and then repaint the kit.

Pros: None

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, La on 3/10/2015

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered for RX-8. First interface did not work - temp and fan control did not work. Second one worked but had difficulty fitting system in dash behind radio. Wire harness could be just 1-2 inches longer and it would have been much easier. Install instructions are not clear. Had to make several calls to Crutchfield for assistance which they were helpful. Tried to get help from Metra but they were not helpful

Pros: Works as advertised

Cons: Not best design- read reviews of product on Internet. Several people report problems with interface. Poor install instructions with product Wire harness to short - provide a longer harness and allow installer to shorten to their desire

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works as adverised.

Eric J. from Graniteville, SC on 8/16/2014

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit is well made and looks great installed. Works like it is advertised to work! Only problems encountered were inadequate instructions and the fact that there are a LOT of wires to fit back into the dash! The inadequate instructions had me stymied, but Cecil in tech support came to the rescue. When I called and posed my problem, he researched it and called me back AND emailed me pictures to highlight what he explained. Worked as he explained it. This is Crutchfields absolute strength!

Pros: Looks good Allows use of heat and A/C Customizable

Cons: Instructions left some to be desired. Did not explain actual mounting of unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Juda882006 from Decatur, TX on 4/26/2014

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a little trouble getting the wiring harness to fit behind the radio and eventually placed it in a compartment below the radio. This does not have anything to do with the product itself... which does what it is supposed to. Just take the time to keep your work neat and complete all proper connections. I also had some trouble with the first axxess box that I received but Crutchfield made this right by sending another... free of charge. I am extremely happy with the flat black dash panel, the wiring harness, and the service I received from Crutchfield.

Pros: Service was awesome. Product does what it says. My aftermarket stereo makes factory Bose speakers sound amazing. The flat black dash panel replacement looks way better than the factory gloss panel.

Cons: Too small of a compartment for wiring harness and Axxess box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

superb customer service

Dennis from Lake Mary Florida on 11/4/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

when I first received the product I experience a little bit of difficulty. then I called the customer service and I must say Crutchfield is among one of the best companies for customer service

Pros: great product great price great customer service

Cons: absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra RX8 dash kit

Terry ttg from Eugene, OR on 7/14/2013

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews knowing this was the only choice out there. I purchased the matte kit, it wasn't a perfect match to the factory abs but a 8.5 of 10 , it didn't look like a cheap add on like some other vehicle kits do. Installation was pretty straight forward and the instructions were thorough. Others have stated there's a lot of wire to cram in there and there is with the interface, I found the pocket right behind the glove box accommodated all of it nicely. The end result was a double din factory look and the custom dash text was a plus. Gr8 product.

Pros: Factory look. Detailed instructions. Custom text. Fit and finish

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the sleek look

Dre101 from Texas on 6/23/2013

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the sleek look it offers my RX8, not to mention the functionality and how it looks seamless in my car. One can hardly tell this is an aftermarket item as it looks that clean.

Pros: Great glossy/classy look.

Cons: May have to have it professionally cut to fit certain aftermarket stereo systems. Certainly something to consider when purchasing this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks very much like OEM

JustMe from Columbus, OH on 5/23/2013

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very awesome for a complicated dash. With medium experience you can easily put this in and it looks very much OEM. Very clean product. I preferred the matte finish over the gloss.

Pros: Everything.

Cons: Instructions are missing a few details, but not very difficult to figure out what you have to do.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Jim from Mich. on 8/3/2012

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product worked perfect in my RX8. At first it looks a little intimidating, but once you get started is goes in nice. Some reviews say the extra wiring makes it tight. Just tuck the adapter box in the opening next to the glove box. & their is plenty of space.

Pros: Lets you finally upgrade you system!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-7510 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, sc on 6/18/2012

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look, easy installation!

Pros: Perfect fit, classy gloss look, metra kit works with bose system, extra long wires, keeps temp, time, customize name on dash.

Cons: It can be a tight fit behind the dash with all the wires. Will need extra product for steering wheel control.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Could Be Better, but not bad.

RobertH from Gillette,WY on 5/17/2012

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, to make evrything fit, neat, perfect, professional, it was a bit on the difficult side. to figure out how to run all the wiring from a double din stereo with all the features/wires and strip the oem stereo down to the circut board to get all the original climate controlls and hazard light button installed into new dash kit and then find a place to store the interface and tuck wiring for all that........... It was a true challenge. But i do love a challenge, and i do have alot of install experince. So, to the pros, have fun, i did. To the DIY beginner or little experienced, i do not recomend this challenge.

Pros: Installed firm, tight, clean. Love the display controller on the OEM display above stereo, personalizing txt.

Cons: Instructions are not so clear(but good enough). The finish was "orange peel" looking, if you want it perfect, you'll have to sand and paint again. Came with bracket screws but would not fit my stereo, good thing i have a stash. Somehow someone should make the climate control connectors impossible to mess up.I think they all had extension cords, one of them could have been a different size or shape to make install flaweless.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

double din dash kit

albert from fort leavenworth,ks on 5/13/2012

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the product came in on time with all the needed hardware it was a easy install easy to follow directions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stay away

shaun from Jackson, ms on 7/21/2010

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

when i first recieved my kit, i was very excited. i went out and installed it as soon as i got back from the mission i was on. first off let me say the access box is extremely cheap looking and feeling and then come to find out is a commonly malfunctioning piece. the A/c and heater controls were jacked. i caled metra, who not only were not helpful but had me on hold for thirty minutes. just to tell me that they knew about the problem. and there was no solution. thankfully crutchfield was MUCH more helpful and sent me out a new kit. i'm instaling it today so lets see if IT works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 8 found this helpful

Metra RX8 Ad

Dustin from Orlando, FL on 4/23/2010

2005 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, this is a pretty good kit. The Axxess adapter retains the use of the stock LCD display above the radio and allows you to program the middle text to whatever you like. My only complaints are: With a double-DIN radio, there is not much space behind the radio for the adapter and wires, so tucking them was a bit difficult. This is the glossy kit, which matches the stock radio bezel look, but the finish is less than perfect - it appears to be painted and has the 'orange peel' effect, which means it needs to be wet-sanded and buffed. It does look better than many other aftermarket kits, but still looks very aftermarket. I imagine the matte kit probably has a better finish to it. The fitment is not perfect. There is a small gap at the top above the hazard light and the rear window defrost button sticks a bit because the hole for it is a little off. This could probably be corrected by shaving a little bit of plastic off with a hobby knife, but for a kit at this price, I expect the bezel to fit just as well or better than the stock radio bezel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great But Lacks...

B-Rob from Orange County, CA on 10/5/2009

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So first off this product includes everything you need to install into the factory rx8 radio din. the kit includes the adapter that plugs into the stock wires which allows the user to customize the display, for example, mine says b-robs rx8 instead of mazda rx8.i have a video on you tube that shows what i mean. the only flaw with this is that the kit comes with extremely short wires and hiding the adapter is nearly impossible with the limited space. Other than that this kit is perfect. Looks Great=)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

TOP