Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
Connect ID #
623 120 322 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8214G Dash Kit

Fits 2005-11 Toyota Tacoma — double-DIN radios (Gray)

MFR # 95-8214TG

Metra 95-8214G Dash Kit

Metra 95-8214G Dash Kit

Fits 2005-11 Toyota Tacoma — double-DIN radios (Gray)

MFR # 95-8214TG

381 reviews
View this product

Thomas from Mystic, CT on 1/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trim kit

Crutchfield customer from COTUIT, MA on 1/11/2023

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything was great except the small trim piece that goes around the radio. It is curved and wont fit flush against the radio. I did the trimming others have suggested it may need and after two hours of that, it still fits bad...

Pros: The color was a match and everything but the small trim piece fit great

Cons: The small trim piece around the radio requires a LOT of cutting and sanding.

Crutchfield response on 1/16/2023
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Caleb from Baton Rouge, LA on 1/10/2023

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Somewhat of a mismatch with the color of a 2006 dash, which is slightly darker. Texture is spot on. Plastic is a little cheap. There were several portions of the openings that were not exact/had thin irregular knife edges that came off the mold badly. I had to file them down to fit the trim pieces together with no gapping.

Pros: Good stock appearance.

Cons: Required some tidying up of mold imperfections.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Franklin from Hudson, NC on 1/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

vary cheap made plastic but it works for now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Samuel from Preston, MD on 1/4/2023

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works fine in terms of mounting the system. However it was somewhat difficult to put the supports together as it wasn't aligned right. Additionally because the supports are plastic, the stereo moves around within the Mount leaving weird gaps and making me worry about the ability of the supports to hold the stereo over the lifetime of the system. It should not move with slight pressure on the stereo. Additionally the stereo is indented due to the design which is annoying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/9/2023
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Kali, reached out to Samuel to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Casey from Dardanelle, AR on 1/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation. Minor mod for my hazard button but quick slight shave and it worked perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needs adjustment

Ramil from Keaau, HI on 12/28/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the second one I've gotten for a Tacoma from here. The fit and finish is just ok. I've had to trim the opening to the hazard button on both since it wouldn't sit in the opening right. The opening sits a little high and a little crooked. I thought it was just a fluke but it was the same on both. The first one was silver and this latest one is black. Other than that it fits pretty well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read the directions.

Michael from Amelia, OH on 12/16/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great and once you read the directions installs easily.

Pros:

Cons: I had to do some minor filling around the 4 way switch to get it to fit properly. No big deal at all.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mr J from Jonesboro, AR on 12/13/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit was easy to use and gave a professional looking factory fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vito from Peckville, PA on 10/24/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Metra kit is a piece of junk, the plastic brackets are very flimsy, and does not fit well, it's a cheap piece of junk!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Luci from Meridian, ID on 10/23/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit fits terrible around the flasher and clock section. I was really hoping it would fit better like the original one I had. Really disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/25/2022
Luci, we're sorry you're disappointed with your mounting kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good trim kit

Philip from Mountainair, NM on 9/29/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good looking trim kit

Pros: Over all, made for a clean finish to the install

Cons: Needed to file and sand some of the plastic openings. Plastic mount should be metal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Johnnie from Wilseyville, CA on 9/8/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It was exactly what I ordered. Shipping was great. Packaging was right on. Will install in a few weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Richard from Waring, TX on 9/5/2022

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bracing does not allow unit to sit flush with face plate without tedious modifications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ronny from Annapolis, MD on 8/21/2022

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit fit perfectly in my unit with no problems. Looks exactly like the original factory finish.

Pros: Great fit with room to adjust if needed. Cost effective.

Cons: Thin plastic, have to be really careful, could easily break or Crack if over tightened.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Paul from St Thomas, VI on 8/21/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect to complete your radio upgrade 2010 Toyota Tacoma

Pros:

Cons: Modification to space reserved for hazards buttons for clean fit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Colin from Loveland, CO on 8/7/2022

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit right in . Looks awesome. Great factory look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Would have paid 5x the price for 2x the quality

Ian from Huntingtn Bch, CA on 8/3/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great from 10 feet away. As far as I know, there aren't a lot of options out there and this dash kit had the textured surface like the original. Unfortunately, the fit and finish are bad, especially the openings around the clock. And, the emergency flasher button doesn't line up well in the opening. It will have to do, but I would have paid Metra a lot more to give a better quality product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty Jank

Konrad from Rancho Cordova, CA on 7/27/2022

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not fit well. Very flimsy. I replaced with the Scosche.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Cheap

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jason from Copper Center, AK on 7/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit. Matches perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Joe from West Barnstable, MA on 7/12/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very cheaply made

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/13/2022
Joe, we're sorry you're disappointed with your dash kit. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Dash Kit

Phillip from Benton, MS on 6/28/2022

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product fit great and looks nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product that needs some design adjustments

Marco from Thermal , CA on 6/9/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install but hazard light switch doesn't not fit correctly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/14/2022
Marco, we're sorry you're having issues with your dash kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Terry from Brevard, NC on 5/26/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits, matches my OEM dash, inexpensive. Exactly the right product for my 2nd Gen Tacoma! And of course, Crutchfieild steered me right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plastic vs Metal

Phillip from Chandler, AZ on 5/23/2022

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit as good as OEM except the mounting tabs are plastic vs the metal ones that are OEM

Pros: Easy install, Looks Like OEM

Cons: Plastic mounting tabs

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor instructions and poor fit

james from LARGO, FL on 5/5/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I spent a lot of time trying to get this dash kit lined up just right. The side brackets supplied are a joke. There are 20 holes to choose from on each side but only 6 screws total and no indication of where they might go. After installing the new touchscreen stereo to these brackets, and installing in dash, the radio was too far back in the hole to attach the final trim piece. I had to make my own shims for this dash kit to make it fit right.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: Needed homemade shims to fit right

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not bad

Robert from Oviedo, FL on 5/3/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Matches my OEM dashboard. Doesn't want to fully seat in the mounting points. Plastic brackets have some play once the stereo is mounted in them. Doesn't quite fit the aftermarket double-din unit I purchased. Had to cover some gaps with electrical tape as I put in the unit. These gaps were less than 1-2mm, but I noticed them.

Pros: Matches dash easyish install

Cons: Not perfect fit in dash or around stereo

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jeremy from Taylorsville, NC on 4/22/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits very good & maintains the factory look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Arthur from Colt, AR on 4/10/2022

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Did not get all the parts to it very dissatisfied..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/12/2022
Arthur contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thomas from Clemson, SC on 3/15/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, but alignment could be better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not fitting my 2006 Tacoma

James from Glendale, AZ on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Will not fit my Dash and the Boss Radio. Either top or bottom catches but not both. I have to use Gaffers Tape to secure in dash.

Pros: Looking nice.

Cons: Will not snap in place !

Crutchfield response on 3/9/2022
James contacted our Tech Support team and they sent out a different kit right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

Steve from Burke, VA on 2/28/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was easy. Pieces fit perfectly in my truck! Very happy with this dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bert from Austin, TX on 2/15/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

paint matched my 05 Tacoma but fasteners that fasten to the car are not that strong and it does not fit flush in one corner. Overall I'm happy with the product but it's not perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Casey from Kemp, TX on 2/8/2022

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This faceplate leaves something to be desired. I couldn't get it to secure together properly after completing install. The head unit kept bouncing around running down rough roads. I finally gave up and put a screw in it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

robert from Barnegat, NJ on 1/10/2022

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect dash kit .easy install..factory look!

Pros:

Cons: Easier to use dash clips from factory radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Downey, CA on 11/30/2021

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice, like the texture

Pros: Quality plastic, nice look. Good contrast to the interior of the tacoma

Cons: Doesn't come with factory clips

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Celina, TX on 11/8/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to intall and good matching with the car existing texture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Glen Burnie, MD on 10/28/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks just like factory install....

Pros: Awesome looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks good. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Go Metra

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 10/10/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit made everything go very smooth, definitely for recommendation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 10/4/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a nice kit that bolts right in to the dash. Makes the job easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Somerset, MA on 9/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was perfect for what I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Didn't fit the stereo

Crutchfield customer from PORTLAND, OR on 9/26/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The side brackets and screws don't line up with the head unit. It cannot be assembled.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/1/2021
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his kit installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 9/20/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks better than factory trim

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 9/16/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Trim kit is perfect. Easy install and looks better than factory trim!

Pros: Looks great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits almost perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Grapevine, TX on 9/13/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield sent this when I ordered a radio for my 2009 tacoma. The finish looks great and matches with the stock black interior. However, it doesn't exactly line up with the stock panels at the top, maybe a millimeter or two off. It isn't noticeable unless you have a discerning eye. Other than that everything looks and feels great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

LOW quality or low quality control.

Sean from Lake Arrowhead, CA on 9/7/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1) I shouldn't need to pull out a dremel and carve it up to make it (hazard button) fit! 2) Bracket fit and overall quality very flimsy. 3) Why is the single most frustrating part in the process (locating six invisible clips) barely documented at all? A 2nd gen Tacoma is not some random "outlier". Saying simply "unclip and remove", instead of "locate the six hidden clips" tells me the install doc was written by someone who did this 100 times. Please, re-write the docs from the POV of someone who never did it. That is literally the only person who needs/reads them!

Pros: Finish does match the interior nicely

Cons: Substandard QC. Didn't fit at all without modifiction. Poor documentation.

Crutchfield response on 9/8/2021
Sean, we're sorry had problems with your kit installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Old Town, ME on 9/5/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great and looks amazing! What else do you want from this kit?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Pearl City, HI on 9/1/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great kit, easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Glen Burnie, MD on 8/5/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my Tacoma

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 7/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit my 2007 Tacoma perfectly and complimented the Sony AX5000 to look professional. I wish the mounting brackets where made of metal but it's solid enough as is.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the smooth fit promished by Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 7/13/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, this kit isn't terrible but the install was not smooth either. The head unit mounting bracket holes did not line up on the head unit at all. I had to drill 6 out of 8 holes to get it to work and the screws were way to short and I had to counter sink them to get them to catch in the holes. Once that was accomplished I struggled to get the trim plate to line up with the head unit and eventually had to settle with with the trim not being symmetrical around my emergency light button. The biggest issue I had is the mounting brackets are recessed way to much. So much with this instal that I have a hard time turning the volume knob because the trim is so close to it. There should be different recess length options so one can how far in or out the unit sits for easy of use.

Pros: Decent quality

Cons: Mountain brackets don't align Trim recess can be to much Hard to fit unit to trim

Crutchfield response on 7/19/2021
We're sorry you ran into problems during your installation. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8214T

David from San Bruno, CA on 7/12/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My dash kit needed a refresh along with my new Alpine stereo, so I opted to change it. The Metra kit came with everything I needed to outfit my new stereo. The only thing I wish it has was metal brackets instead of plastic ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Monterey, CA on 7/11/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Top sticks out a bit more than factory. I tried it with the provided clips and factory. No change.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Gets the job done

Patrick from SAULT S MARIE, MI on 7/8/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The color is a bit off from the grey of the stock dash (maaaaybe my dash has discolored over the years). Installation was easy. But I will be looking for a replacement.

Pros: works

Cons: feels cheap color doesnt match

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Sunrise, FL on 6/19/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This fit perfectly in my 2010 Toyota Tacoma

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Modesto, CA on 6/16/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

does the job for replacing the factory stereo. alignment could be better.

Pros: texture matches the factory surface

Cons: alignment is off, hazard button gets stuck when turned on and off.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great and easy to install

Dwayne from Sumter, SC on 6/14/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great and fits perfect with minimal effort accept for removing unit from factory Toyota dash filler its very easy to install and to get it to look great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Saipan, MP on 6/10/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Shipping was quick! Fits and looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trash

Robert from Grand Junction, CO on 6/9/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Complete garbage. I'm not sure if anyone has gotten this to install into a Toyota Tacoma 2008, but nothing fits properly, The radio isn't secure, and the dash piece falls off if I hit too big of a bump. I'm completely unsatisfied and am looking to find a replacement for it.

Pros: None

Cons: Shouldn't be suggested for a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. Plain doesn't fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jon from AIEA, HI on 5/28/2021

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 5/16/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I ordered it and it worked pretty well but wasn't what I ended up wanting in the long run so I returned it and I am waiting on my return to be finalized.

Pros: Works well, ships fast

Cons: Returns take some time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits, but not as well as I want.

Crutchfield customer from Chestertown, MD on 5/13/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits the truck...but not snug. I've done multiple radios in past and couldn't get it to lay perfectly flush- just keeps popping back out.

Pros: Fits, easy instal

Cons: loose fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Hallsville, TX on 5/10/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Upperco, MD on 5/1/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The screws to secure the side pieces could be longer, they don't really fit where the directions tell you to use them. Other than that, it fits my radio and dash perfectly and was a breeze to install

Pros: Looks great, fits perfectly into my dash. Fits my radio perfectly also. Easy to install.

Cons: The screws that come with it to Mount it to my radio are very short and don't secure where the directions say they should.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 4/27/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty easy to install. Brackets feel cheap.

Pros: The color matched the interior well. It fit like it was supposed to.

Cons: Plastic brackets are flimsy and provide no real support to the head unit. Would be easy to rip out. I'd pay an extra $3 for a metal bracket with this.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

James from Orlando, FL on 4/21/2021

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in a 2005 Tacoma. This is complete garbage and doesn't really fit into a Tacoma from 2005-2011. Would not secure the radio in the dash and could move the unit while pushing buttons. The top of the dash insert would not seat into the top of the dash and the flairs on the top of the molded plastic dug into the dash leaving a mark. I ended up remove this kit and ordering the SCOSCHE TA2053B kit. The SCOSCHE kit was made for the 2005-2011 model years and fit perfectly with no play in the head unit's mounting.

Pros: Matches the colors perfectly

Cons: Paint scratches off easily. Does not secure the unit. Does not fit in the older model years.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but Modifications needed to be Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Robins, IA on 4/13/2021

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm experienced installer reviewing Metra Toyota Tacoma "Silver colored" dash kit. Dash kit works but defiantly had fitment issues, surface scratch's upon receiving, and I did NOT use the provided flimsy plastic brackets. I used my OEM Toyota steel stereo brackets, and instead of mounting the stereo surround to the Metra brackets, I taped the surround to the inside of the dash kit using 3M duct tape, and setting tape with my heat gun. The face plate fits super snug and is held in place by the stereo upon snapping the dash kit back into dash. I had to file the hazard light opening to allow the button to clear as it was rubbing on the upper corner and sticking. I carefully taped the front and filed the back until the hazard light button cleared. When mounting the new Stereo using OEM steel brackets, start the 4 screws but do not tighten them. Then fit the surround while moving the stereo into perfect position of the snap in dash kit. Once the dash kit snaps into place, then tighten the 4 OEM screws holding the bracket and stereo in place. Luckily, the bracket bolts are accessible thru the heater control panel. It's now rock solid install and a perfect fit. This was important as my Tacoma sees rough off road use, and the flimsy Metra brackets would not be as sturdy and solid. End result is a great fit / finish and super solid install. I would have sent kit back from scratches on the face plate, but my 10" floating screen blocks the entire surround so it's not an issue.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 4/11/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked perfectly and made for an easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Everett, WA on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits good with stereo but it is a little flimsy not as much a problem with digital receiver. But a heavy double din dvd might be taxing the brackets a bit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit

Crutchfield customer from Nanticoke, PA on 4/5/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits my 09 Toyota tacoma great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great dash kit.

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, MD on 3/29/2021

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great looking dash kit. Looks like it is factory installed (2009 Toyota Tacoma, Alpine iLX-W650). the connections of the side brackets to the faceplate isn't great. Doesn't snap together like it seemed it should. Very loose connection. Also, only came with 4 total screws...2 for each side. I am sure it will be fine but would have rather connected with 4 on each side. Doesn't seem to affect it but it should have more screws.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit!

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 3/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit was super easy to install and it fits like a glove.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mediocre fit and quality, but in the end it worked.

John from MYAKKA CITY on 1/25/2021

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Came with a broken tab to mount it. Luckily, some careful gluing and melting got it to work. The plastic mounting brackets are flimsy and the fit was a bit rough. More "customizing" was required to get the hazard button to work freely and not hang up. Installed in the dash it looks good and has an acceptable fit. A better quality option would be nice to see.

Pros: Exact match for color and texture.

Cons: Cheaply made.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 1/19/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like the look of this, but the plastic brackets have difficulty holding the stereo, therefore, it bounces around when you drive. I called Crutchfield and they have no answer. If possible, I would get a metal option (which Crutchfield doesn't have, but should sell as an upgraded option). I am going to go to a couple of local shops to see if I can get something more secure from them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great

Crutchfield customer from Kailua Kona, HI on 1/11/2021

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall a nice fit. Easy to use. Texture and color of trim matches factory dash.

Pros: All pieces included for install

Cons: Had to trim the hazard switch a bit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

excellent fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's about as good as can be gotten for my Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Helena, MT on 12/13/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good optics but required patience, a discerning eye, and steady hands to install so the receiver didn't pop out while driving. Looks great when it's in and retains factory feel if installed properly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Brea, CA on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It looks good installed. I like the textured finish that matches the HVAC panel below.

Pros: Looks good, easy to install once the hazard switch issue was resolved (see the cons).

Cons: At least on the one I received, there was some flashing around the hazard switch which caused the switch to stick and not turn off. I had to trim the opening with an X-Acto knife to create clearance for the switch to work properly. Also the plastic mounting brackets for the head unit are a bit cheap; I would have preferred metal brackets.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tacoma upgrade !

Crutchfield customer from Newport, TN on 11/10/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good kit,once everything is aligned in dash & tightened it looks GREAT! More stable or metal side brackets would have been nice but works well as is . Color & texture looks like it came factory! Overall it was a huge upgrade for my 2011 Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Glenn from Union City, CA on 11/8/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my Toyota Tacoma. Quality is good.

Pros: Overall is good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Joseph from Dayton, OH on 10/31/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Don't expect the same quality and fit/finish as the OEM stuff. You'll either get used to it or it will drive you crazy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Boulder, CO on 10/9/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits well, but could use another option or 2 for the screws included. Time will tell how well the plastic mounts hold up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash Kit - Love it!!

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 10/6/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect for my 2008 Toyota Tacoma! Fits Perfect! Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Trim Package for 2007 Toyota Tacoma

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 9/28/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The faceplate matches perfectly to the factory dash. Snapped right into place, although moving the Emergency Flasher/Clock assembly was a little challenging. The trim fit the receiver well too, and the compliments I received on the install tell the story. I'm very happy with this trim package. On a Toyota Tacoma, reuse the metal brackets off of the original receiver. The plastic brackets leave you open to breakage when reinstalling in dash.

Pros: -Fits and snaps in perfectly without modification -Matches original factory dash color and style

Cons: -Plastic mounting brackets are flimsy, subject to breakage while installing the receiver in the dash

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great looking kit

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking kit that matches factory dash really well. Overall was a breeze to install. Instructions were well written. Only complaint is that the stereo brackets were plastic and a bit flexy

Pros: Great looking Matches factory Easy to install

Cons: Flexible head unit bracket

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sweet

Crutchfield customer from Bloomfield, NJ on 9/26/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great in my 2005 Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Moundville, AL on 9/24/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit was pretty good. Had to modify hazard switch opening for free operation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Bremerton, WA on 8/26/2020

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This fit my 2009 Toyota Tacoma perfect very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great factory finish look

Crutchfield customer from La Jolla, CA on 8/24/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This kit matches the finish in my 2007 Tacoma and looks "Factory". The plastic mounting brackets caused the radio to move slightly when driving. Using double stick on the top and bottom of the dash kit to contact with the radio mount fixed the problem.

Pros: Finish and Fit

Cons: Plastic mounting brackets

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from MESA, AZ on 8/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Almost looks like a factory piece. Brackets are plastic and a little wobbly, there was some flashing I had to file, and it requires a bit of twisting and bending to make everything fit, however it is close enough to the OEM dash that you would not notice unless someone pointed it out to you. Overall install looks very clean and original.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sloppy Fit

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 8/18/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not a good fit. It has a poor aligning setup. Do yourself a favor a upgrade to the Scoche dash kit. It's easier to install and aligns perfect. You'll be glad you did.

Pros: Looks good. Matches factory radio

Cons: Does not fit right. Loose fit

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

awesome for free!

Crutchfield customer from Simpsonville, SC on 7/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit really good, make adjustments before putting on the cover.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Harlingen, TX on 7/19/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I would use it again if I couldn't find a better kit.

Pros:

Cons: Brackets are plastic. Didn't fit radio very well. Had to drill an extra hole on both sides. Had to stick a couple of rubber wedges on top of stereo to get the radio to line up flush with the dashboard.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Yardville, NJ on 7/16/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The screws supplied with the radio are "tapered" for a flat fit against the bracket when connected to the radio. However the plastic brackets supplied with the kit do not have tapered holes. The screws were therefore too short to reach the indented radio screw holes (see attached pics). I called Crutchfield support and the fellow I spoke to knew right away what the issue was. He said he also had the same issue because the manufacturer changed the bracket design. He suggested marking the bracket with a pencil where the holes matched the radio holes, and then use a 3/8" drill bit and lightly and slowly drill into the bracket holes (taking care not to go all the way through) so the screws are flat against the bracket. That worked and I was able to screw the bracket to the radio. I took away 1 star away because the brackets should have had tapered holes.

Pros: Kit design is perfect for my radio.

Cons: Brackets need to be re-designed .. or non-tapered screws need to be included in the kit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Avoid

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, CT on 7/14/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Poor alignment between bezel and cover plate. Scosche much better in this regard. The only thing it does well it match the original texture. (Scosche is smooth)

Pros: Free

Cons: Alignment

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Tupelo, MS on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Provided a nice clean fit for my new Kenwood receiver in my 2011 Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Lawai, HI on 6/30/2020

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Matches great to existing interior!

Pros: Good quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 6/28/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, instruction were very clear, exact match for my interior on 07 tacoma. However the mounting brackets very cheap wish they were metal.

Pros: Install and instructions

Cons: Cheap plastic brakets

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Salinas, CA on 6/24/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pieces is a little rough and the silver paint seems cheaply done

Pros: Fits perfect

Cons: Cosmetically is not up to a 5 star

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Hardy, VA on 6/22/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Radio didn't fit with the smaller piece that's supposed to fit snug to the radio... had to put it in without that piece, looks like a child installed my radio. Highly disappointed when it says it'll fit, it should have...

Pros: Radio is snug

Cons: Looks like trash

Crutchfield response on 6/29/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him with his install. We'll either help him get the receiver installed correctly or send out another kit. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from Lynn, MA on 6/16/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit was a perfect fit

Pros: Great looking

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 6/16/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine and looks good, just wish brackets were sturdier. Original brackets were metal, these are cheap plastic.

Pros: Finish matches original textured dash.

Cons: Cheap plastic brackets. Couldn't reuse the metal ones and make work

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Fairfield, TX on 6/2/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Makes so easy a caveman could do it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Coarsegold, CA on 5/27/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great fit and finish

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Kinston, AL on 5/20/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit, Finish, and installation was amazing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Albany, KY on 5/11/2020

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Install was easy and it matched the dash perfectly. There is some uneven edges, and the fit could be better, but it definitely works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 5/11/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits almost perfectly and matched interior almost perfectly. The look is so close, no one would notice. The fit is about 95% perfect. The top edge is just ever so slightly off, but not very noticeable unless you're looking for it. Cant bring myself to ding it on stars because of not being exactly perfect. Then again, my truck is 15 years old...so there is that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Zebulon, NC on 5/4/2020

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit and looks like a factory product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent product

Crutchfield customer from Aibonito, PR on 4/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love it excellent product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, IN on 3/19/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great add-on, especially for FREE. Made the install seamless

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fitment Issues, but Mostly Ok

Jonathan from THOMPSONS STN, TN on 3/15/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a few issues with the Metra kit. I had to play with the fitment to get it to work. It isn't perfect but I'd say around 90%. The mounts are plastic and the screws will deform the mounting as you screw it into the radio The smaller inner bezel fits over the stereo and snaps into the plastic mounts. The outer bezel uses only 4 of the 5 OE mounting points. I wish it also had the 5th mounting point at the top center Once snapped in place in the outer bezel, the hazard switch would get stuck. I had to work with it to get it in a place where it wasn't. The sides of the outer bezel don't stay flush with the inner bezel. Again, these are probably just nit picky and while not perfect the fit is still decent. If there was another option, though, that offered a better fit I would definitely consider it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Casey from KANSAS CITY, KS on 3/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Since this only works with double DIN stereos, not sure why its even available since the Metra 95-8214 Dash Kit works with both single and double DIN stereos.

Pros:

Cons: Only works with double DIN stereos, when specifically ordered for a single DIN stereo.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 2/25/2020

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

fit great and looks good..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 2/24/2020

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and worked as needed!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Waukesha, WI on 2/16/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit was almost an exact match to the stock dash.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: I wish the top of the dash kit surround fit tighter and snapped in better at the top.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Burnet, TX on 2/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Metra dash kit was horrible!!! Spent 3 hours and 3 calls to tech support trying to make it work. Bottom bolts popped the face plate off when tightened and fit into the dash was rough. Third tech talked me through every option and when it still wouldn't work had a Scosche kit sent to me free of charge (AWESOME CUSTOMER SERVICE). Install took less than 3 minutes (I had a lot of practice with the Metra) and fit perfect and way more securely. I recommend the Scosche dash kit for the Tacoma and Crutchfield is to be commended for their patience with me and their Customer Service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Hi Natl Park, HI on 2/10/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fits correctly but it's made cheaply. Had to swap it out for another brand.

Pros: Looks almost like the stock bezel.

Cons: Had to stuff foam into the back of the radio to get it to fit into the front bezel.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 2/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit has the appearance of the original dash insert.

Pros: Fits fine, looks good. Easy to remove and reinstall which I did a few times during the radio installation.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Dash Kit for 2005 Tacoma!

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 2/8/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Chose the Metra Dash Kit rather than the competitor based on various user ratings and faceplate texture/color. All dash clips, screws, brackets, and additional parts listed were in the package. The assembly was easy and looks good in my 2005 Tacoma. The faceplate texture is not an exact match to the Tacoma dash, but pretty close. And, there is a very minor difference in color shade, but that could be due to the weathering of a 15 year old truck. I did not expect a perfect match and am very happy with the kit. I did notice that the when attaching the Clock/Airbag assembly to the faceplate that the screws split two of the standoffs. The screws tightened OK, so I am hopeful they will hold. Since the other two standoffs did not split, and because I am not heavy-handed, I sort of think that either the walls of two cracked standoffs are too thin, or the pre-drilled holes are a little small.

Pros: - all parts made for a nice fit - faceplate texture and color

Cons: - couple of split screw standoffs during assembly (screws still secure...so far)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Sherman Oaks, CA on 1/17/2020

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to assemble and looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Lowgap, NC on 1/15/2020

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's exactly what I wanted! And it came faster than expected!

Pros: Fast shipping, great product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, CA on 12/29/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sleek, looks like it is an original part and goes well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

trim panel

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, NJ on 12/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

not a bad fit if screws for side brackets fit overall looks nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 12/18/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This product look like it was going to fit and match a lot better then my old double din insert, but after opening and assembly of it I was wrong. Where the clock connects to it you need to screw this insert in. I followed the instructions perfectly but all the tabs holding the clock broke off! Now this is in the trash because of its uselessness. This product is very cheap and flimsy I would not buy again.

Pros: Color looks like a good match

Cons: Everything

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Juana Diaz, PR on 12/15/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit to dash!! Compatible full.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 12/12/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I use my old one is the same but I have one spare now . Is great

Pros: Easy to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metro dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Woodford, VA on 11/28/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work ok doesn't line up as well as I'd like you can hear a rattle while driving

Pros:

Cons: Rattles

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Got two RH radio mounts.

John from CATAULA, GA on 11/25/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit is great and looks really good I the truck, but I did have a problem, it seems that the factory packed two rh mounts instead of one each lh and rh. Had to improvise with the Toyota lh side to make things work. Bummer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trim kit kinda stinks

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 11/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This trim kit is just not great. It doesn't align properly and scratches easily. It's a bummer because the radio looks so good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love the color

Crutchfield customer from Highland Lakes, NJ on 11/18/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great for my taco

Pros: Good clean look

Cons: Plastic feels flimsy but it is durable when all tightened up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy Scosche install kit.

Crutchfield customer from Delanson, NY on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only pro on Metra kit is the finish matches the silver pimpled trim around the HVAC controls. This faceplate only uses 4 of the original 5 clips. The top doesn't conform to the contours, both corners stick up. Plastic radio mounts didn't have the correct holes for my Kenwood DMX706s, tried reusing the stock metal mounts, that made radio sit too far inside dash to use trim piece, even if it did love up straight. Ordered the Scosche kit, plastic mounts have slats cut, instead of holes. I was able to make Scosche kit line up near perfect. It's grey and smooth, like the hazard switch. Uses all 5 factory clips, and fits flush with the rest of the dash. TL;DR Metra is prep, Scosche fit perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Barrigada, GU on 11/12/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very satisfied! Great service and fast shipping.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is I'll fitting. I wish Toyota made a kit for this, so it would fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Lewisville, TX on 11/1/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Total junk. Fit is terrible.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit and looks.

Crutchfield customer from Quincy, IL on 9/29/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash Kit for I Alpine ILX-W650 fit perfectly and looks good. I had no problems with the installation and the instructions were very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 9/25/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

nice fit good looking

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Manassas, VA on 9/3/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit works, buy the tabs on the brackets break very easy . This is my second kit with the same outcome.

Pros: fits the dash

Cons: tabs break way to easy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Two Right Bracketsin Only in the Kit

Sam from Cottage Grove, OR on 8/29/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The kit came with two right side brackets, no left bracket was included, so because of that they were both unusable. I had to use the factory brackets and wedge washers between the bracket and the mount so it would hold the faceplate against the dash because the stock brackets won't hold the new faceplate. Also, I had to cut out a leftover piece of plastic from when it was molded so the emergency light switch so it would work. Last but not least, the radio is recessed in the dash kit so it is hard to adjust the volume. I had to glue an extension on the knob to make it easier.

Pros: Looks really good

Cons: Came with two right side brackets Radio is inset/recessed in this kit making it hard to use the volume knob

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it's intended to and makes for a clean install!

Richard from St Petersburg, FL on 8/24/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a good piece, just wish the centerpiece would attach to face instead of the cheap plastic brackets when using a factory metal brackets to mount the radio. Other then that and the hazard switch slightly binding on the faceplate. It does the job and looks good.

Pros: Makes the radio look as close to OEM as possible. I like it, right texture and grain!

Cons: If they ever improve on it. Have the bezel attach to the face instead of the cheap brackets so we can use the much more robust metal OEM brackets.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Groton, CT on 8/22/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed easily, fit is very good on my 2011 Toyota Tacoma, the finish looks like original did.

Pros: Easy to install, very good fit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Duluth, GA on 8/12/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks just like the OEM faceplate. Some guys working on the vehicle thought it was the OEM radio. The trim ring fit perfectly. We did have a little trouble with the mounting brackets. The radio was able to move slightly due to there flexibility. But these brackets will work fine. They are super adaptable with holes that will fit most radios. We ended up re-using the OEM metal brackets. Made the radio more stable.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like a new truck.

Stephen from Central, SC on 7/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect form and fit. Used the exiting metal brackets from the old radio rather than the plastic ones that came with the dash kit.

Pros: Had a silver bezel on the the old radio. Chose black this time and glad I did. Looks stock.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not great

Charles from Santa Barbara, CA on 7/18/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was free with my new head unit and beggars can't be choosers. My main complaint is the plastic mounting brackets for the head unit, they are pretty flexible and it allows the head unit to wiggle around in the dash a bit more than I like. I found that putting a few grade 8 flat washers under the upper mounting tabs where they bolt into the dash helped shim the radio forward a bit and made the fit somewhat tighter and more stable.

Pros: Looks very close to the factory dash plate

Cons: The fit of the trim plate is just OK, not bad but could be better. The plastic mounting brackets are a little too flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheep plastic Brackets

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 7/16/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cheep plastic that keep popping the stereo out when trying to bolt it in, almost resorted to going off and making some metal brackets please step up the game

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Budget friendly, fitment leaves something to be desired!

Michael from Port Republic Md on 7/12/2019

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dash kit does fit the truck,however the fit to the radio face is not great. Seems secure in the dash no rattling and doesn't fall out,also the hazard button opening needed slight "massaging " so the button didn't stick. The plastic radio brackets seem secure once mounted.I may keep this time will tell but may want to try the schoche model for better fitment. If price is a factor this kit does work.

Pros: Inexpensive, does fit securely in dash.

Cons: Gaps around radio face,radio face filler panel doesn't fit well against dash panel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Doylestown, PA on 7/10/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not as precisely fit and as strong as others I have used for the same vehicle, but it does give a nice factory appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Commerce City, CO on 7/7/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works, and looks like factory. Used factory metal mounting brackets for receiver instead of flimsy plastic units supplied with face piece.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Dimensions are not exact. Flasher button sticks slightly and unit protrudes slightly further (minuscule) than factory.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Hiram, GA on 7/4/2019

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks great in my truck! Fit perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor fit

Fred from Austin, TX on 7/2/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The plastic mounting brackets do not hold the unit securely in the dash. The surround did not line up well with the unit face plate that allows the unit to move around. I reported this to tech support and they are sending me the Scosche to try.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Adairsville, GA on 6/21/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fit perfectly easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheap plastic mount!

Crutchfield customer from Savannah, MO on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Ok mount!

Pros: Fits perfect the grey housing matches perfect.

Cons: Cheap plastic mount. Not very sturdy after installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit

Crutchfield customer from Sonoita, AZ on 5/22/2019

2009 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits great in gen 2 Tacoma

Pros: easy fit

Cons: instruction are so-so but not needed if you can google

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Close, but not an exact fit

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The texture design of the bezel matches the OEM design. But, the bezel does not mount flush along the top edge. See attached photo.

Pros: textured design on replacement bezel matches OEM bezel

Cons: using the supplied mounting bracket for the new Pioneer AVH-1550NEX and the purchased bezel, and ensuring that nothing is binding the installation, the top left and right corners of the bezel do not mount flush as compared to the OEM bezel

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Cohasset, MA on 5/8/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The installation looks completely stock.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 4/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The dash kit made the installation simple. Fit good and looks good.

Pros: Looks good. Simple to install.

Cons: Side brackets are plastic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 4/2/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great install kit. Didn't like the plastic brackets so re used factory radio ones and need to adjust with holes in aftermarket HU. Also need to leave all 4 bolts lose, hold HU up and install bezel first. If you want to match the silver color recommend painting the a/c vent bezel to match but not necessary.

Pros: Matches the old factory radio design

Cons: Plastic brackets and color slightly brighter than factory

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Martinsville, VA on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really made things easy. No issues whatsoever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice product; would prefer an improved pictorial representation on 1 p

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The instructions and pictures were not 100% clear for me on one page. I figured things out after unfortunately marring part of the face plate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Ladson, SC on 3/30/2019

2010 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits perfect looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth it

Alfredo from Berkeley Heights, NJ on 3/29/2019

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Feels flimsy. The entire thing is warped so it doesn't fit properly, the hazard button is held so tight that it sticks and requires sanding to make it work. For the price I'd stay away. Go for Scosche instead.

Pros: Color and texture match

Cons: Cheap plastic Low quality build Warped to the point of not fitting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful