Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Fits select 2006-12 Toyota RAV4 vehicles — double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 95-8217B

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Fits select 2006-12 Toyota RAV4 vehicles — double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 95-8217B

35 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tavares, FL on 2/22/2021

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit very well only a small gap in the top right corner. Solid cover that snaps in securely.

Pros: Fits well Connect securely to car Matches well with factory dash.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Harrodsburg, KY on 2/11/2021

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. And works like it is supposed to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks horrific. Didn't use.

Crutchfield customer from WALNUT CREEK, CA on 1/30/2021

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The opening is considerably bigger than the standard headunit. Frankly surprised that Crutchfield is willing to sell this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 1/20/2021

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The side brackets are very flimsy and do not support the weight of a double-DIN head unit very well. It was necessary to wedge a piece of foam underneath the head unit to keep it from wobbling. The original Toyota brackets are steel but are shaped in a way that did not allow re-using. The opening in the trim is slightly large so unless you have the head unit centered exactly it will show a gap either at the top or bottom of the head unit face.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Woburn, MA on 1/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit using a double din Pioneer radio on a 2010 Toyota RAV4... Great price, fast delivery!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chatham, NJ on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well. Easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, PA on 12/26/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great

Crutchfield customer from Hopkins, SC on 12/22/2020

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was surprised on how easy this was to install and it looks like a factory installed radio now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Akron, PA on 11/15/2020

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spring Hill, FL on 10/28/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only 4 stars because the screwed didn't fit in to my radio. I had to use the old screws to get the kit to fit. The instructions were not totally accurate as how to install but I will continue to shop Crutchfield as the try their best to provide accurate parts.

Pros: The harness and faceplate is included and that makes a big difference.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 10/17/2020

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

it fit great with my car, but not the radio. the kit created more problems than helped. while it is understandably a universal kit, metra had another model kit that was so much better in every way (at least for my radio).

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Totally Recommend

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 10/14/2020

2008 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, NJ on 10/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was an interesting fit, you had to play with the radio a bit to get it just right. But in the end it was a great fit.

Pros: Worked great

Cons: Takes time to line up the radio, but once you get it lined up it's great

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from North Liberty, IA on 9/21/2020

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit does not fit well. I ended up using the brackets off the old HU instead of the weak plastic brackets included. It also have really large noticeable (1/4") gaps above and below the new HU. I initially put a piece of black cardboard in behind the gap because it was so large. You could see back behind the new HU. I don't know if it was my car (2012 Rav4), the HU I selected, or a combination of both, but this dash kit isn't great. Most of my install time was spent trying to get this thing into my car and then adjust it so ti looked good. I ended up purchasing a Metra Universal Trim Rings kit (don't think it's offered at Crutchfield) to cover up that gap, and it helped quite a bit. The kit comes with 3 rings and I ended up using the middle-sized one so I could remove the cardboard hack I had installed.

Pros:

Cons: Large gaps above/below HU Weak wobbly plastic brackets

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect so far

Crutchfield customer from Woodruff, SC on 9/13/2020

2008 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made for perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 9/2/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good item, fits well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2010 Toyota RAV4 Limited with JBL

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 8/31/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I decided to go with alternative Dash Kit. The gaps are too big in front. However this item has better color match than competitor. Get it, try it and see if you like it.

Pros: Color match

Cons: Gaps around stereo unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Taylors, SC on 8/2/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great first and appearance.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love Crutchfield, Metra not so much

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 7/27/2020

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Flimsy plastic "wings" that replace the factory steel. This makes it flimsy when you use the touch screen. Also, there are big gaps: most apparent in the bottom ( about 1/8"). I used the old steel "wings" by using 2 washers behind the mounting tabs to bring out the face of the head unit. Love Crutchfield. Not a fan of Metra. (This is the 5th unit installed in a month)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

big gaps

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Creek, CA on 7/14/2020

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit my receiver well

Pros:

Cons: Does not clip into Rav4 well, leaves large gaps around the head unit

Crutchfield response on 7/21/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Douglassville, PA on 6/21/2020

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would have expected a little better side arm adjustments- heavier plastic would have been better- and it did leave a gap with the radio installed to which we had to improvise to avoid showing- some smaller templates should have need included in case needed- else fir in the dash well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Calexico, CA on 6/6/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice fit!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/28/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

a bit of a struggle to fit in the dash, but turned out nice!

Pros: fit vehicle dash perfectly

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Dash kit-Flimsy

Adonis from GEORGETOWN, TX on 5/21/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1st time disappointed with a Crutchfield item, the mounting brackets are flimsy, the unit I bought- Boss BV755B is relatively heavy and bounces up and down,I had to modify the factory metal brackets to secure the unit.Also the face opening does not fit the boss unit very well, I will have to modify that later, put this in the wifes car, she is leaving on a raod trip and wanted her to have Bluetooth support for her phone and be able to load music from a USB drive and have VD's.

Pros: Inexpensive

Cons: Mounting brackets are very flexible, will not support double DIN unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sebree, KY on 5/17/2020

2008 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't fit the Jensen stereo that I purchased. Ended up using a hot knife to trim the plastic edges down so the stereo would fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Larger than standard double din

Crutchfield customer from Oxnard, CA on 5/6/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mounting clips and radio support seem good, it uses the factory clip design to hold the trim piece. However, this is NOT a standard double din cutout. There was an 1/8" gap above and below the stereo (pioneer 2660nex). It doesn't seem that bad till you see it in person, the gap is much larger than I anticipated. Not sure why Crutchfield still sells this thing. I ended up using an OEM double din stereo housing and that was much better.

Pros: Material

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Saba, TX on 5/5/2020

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The curves on the sides didn't flow with the trim pieces next to it. The opening was 1/8" larger than the screen (width and height) and the mounting tabs allowed the unit to sag. I ended up replacing it with the Scosche equivalent. I do prefer the flat screen surround of the Metra over the convex Scosche.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stay Away

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 4/5/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fitment on this, and the structural integrity of the mounting brackets are terrible. I installed this in a 2010 Rav4 with a Pioneer DDin head unit, and we could not actually use the mounting brackets because they could not support the weight of the radio. This meant we had to use the factory metal brackets, but they were not nearly as adjustable as the brackets included, causing huge gaps around the radio (not to mention, the radio opening is actually smaller than a double din headunit, could not have fit even if we wanted to) Not only does the outer trim not fit a radio, it doesn't follow the lines of the car very well at all. I've attached pictures, look at the size of the panel gaps everywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 3/28/2020

2009 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit fit to car nicely but the alignment to the stereo could have fit better. Flanges connecting to frame ate split and plastic. Could be more solid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do NOT order this kit with a Sony AX1000 if you have a 3rd gen RAV4.

JD from Martinsburg, WV on 3/15/2020

2011 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the kit Crutchfield recommends when I ordered a Sony XAV-AX1000 for my 2011 RAV4 Limited and let me forewarn you it does not work. With that specific head unit it leaves a gap of between 1/8 and 1/4 inch depending on how you mount it and the opening in the dash kit piece is recessed which makes it look even worse. I've installed Kraco stereos in the 80s that had better fit than that. It screams out for a trim ring but none is included. Luckily Crutchfield technical support was very helpful and will be sending a few pieces to finish my install. I'm not crazy about having to glue a trim ring on to get a finished look but anything is better than way it looks with just this kit. Crutchfield update your recommendations, this kit does not work with that stereo and vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 3/11/2020

2006 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Riverside, RI on 3/5/2020

2007 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked OK except I had to use the screws from the factory radio, face plate is not a perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and looks clean, doesn't match the trim exactly but its close. Small gap around the Alpine ILX-W650 but otherwise its good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8217B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from La Quinta, CA on 2/23/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions vague. Very difficult to match distance in or out. Gave up after trim plate would not fit. Still looks fair. No rattles.

Pros: Matches dash well.

Cons: Difficult to install. Be very patient. Instructions lacking clarity.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dont waste your money.

Jacob from Maine on 2/19/2020

2010 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

TOO TALL, NOT WIDE ENOUGH!! This thing is trash, or not compatible with a jvc kw950bw Dunno why it was reccomended as part of my rav4 2010 upgrade because it's only caused a headache.

Pros: None

Cons: All of them.

Crutchfield response on 2/24/2020
Jacob reached out to our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP