Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
Connect ID #
575 984 113 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Fits in select 2009-up Toyota Matrix and Pontiac Vibe models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-8224

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Fits in select 2009-up Toyota Matrix and Pontiac Vibe models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 95-8224

27 reviews
View this product

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Clinton Twp , MI on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield has it all!!! Instructions/manuals and all the parts you need to get your audio/radio set up done!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wichita, KS on 8/28/2020

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked, but it wasn't perfect. The bezel was fine but the brackets that attach to to the head unit didn't fit into the cavity of the car without bending. The way the grooves are cut and how weak they are also means that when you tighten the bolt it deforms the plastic and the thin strip between holes will bend in causing the whole plate to want to shift. I finally avoided that by just countersinking slightly the section that the screw needed to be in to properly align the head unit without it sliding.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Christopher from SAN ANTONIO, TX on 6/28/2020

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit works with 2009 Pontiac Vibe GT. I used the radio surround trim only - which looks great against the smooth silver plastic factory dashboard. I did not use the plastic radio brackets which seemed cheap and flimsy. I instead purchased the SCOSCHE TA2102B, which included metal brackets, and used those to mount a Sony XAV-AX1000 head unit. The Scosche included a textured radio surround trim, which didn't look as nice in the car as the Metra 95-8224 surround trim. So unfortunately for the best look/sturdiness you'll need both kits.

Pros: Smooth plastic surround matches dashboard

Cons: Plastic radio mount (unlike metal factory mount or other brand's brackets)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Richland, WA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked OK. Used the metal factory brackets as there was way more strength there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Leesburg, VA on 9/6/2019

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son likes the bluetooth streaming. I've always bought kenwood with Garmin's gps. He's very pleased with the system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Leopold, IN on 5/5/2019

2010 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy kit to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Bryant from Millville, PA on 3/6/2019

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield selected this Dash Kit for what should be installed into my wife's 2009 Pontiac Vibe based on the Kenwood DPX503BT CD Receiver we ordered. The Faceplate does not fit as nicely as I would expect in the corners. The only corner that is good is the bottom left. The left mounting bracket also needed to have a small triangle trimmed out to properly clear a pillar. I needed to use a small saw to trim this out. The mounting brackets also keep the entire receiver about 1/2" too deep. It's a little disappointing that the finished install doesn't look quite right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A little too flexible

Micah from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/3/2019

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

There were three parts, one to fill in the gaps in the dash piece, and two for the side of the radio. The two for the side of the radio did not hold their shape well and bent, so it was impossible to get the head unit to align correctly with them. I used the meal ones that came factory-installed and discarded the side pieces.

Pros: Front panel piece needed

Cons: Side pieces too flexible

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 2/18/2019

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits dash panel perfectly

Pros: Fits dash panel well

Cons: Does not allow the Boss unit to sit flush, brackets do not fit perfectly without trimming

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Martin Tobias from Oroville, CA on 8/20/2018

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

super easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works right

Kirk from Metairie, LA on 7/3/2018

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quick fit, follow instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toyota Matrix Pontiac Vibe Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, MA on 1/2/2018

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DDIN brackets do not fit exactly as expected. It appears that the slots cut into the DDIN brackets will align with the bolt holes that hold the receiver in place. However, they cannot align with those holes because the shape of the brackets do not allow them to be pivoted enough to avoid two original equipment receiver alignment pillars on each side of the receiver. Fortunately, I noticed that the manufacturer's DDIN brackets, which do avoid these two pillars, looked like they would mount onto the new receiver, and allow the mounting bolts to line up. It turns out that they do, so I used them instead. The DDIN trim plate fit just fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Paul from Pensacola, FL on 1/2/2018

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The trim face plate worked well but had to be trimmed. The plastic side mounts were not needed. We moved the metal mounts from the factory radio onto the new unit, and it worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dash kit

Julie from Rapid City, SD on 7/28/2017

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the right size but my dash bows a out and this one was straight now I have no dash kit and looks goofy

Pros: It came in a descent time frame

Cons: It doesn't fit my car style mine bows and this one is straight

Crutchfield response on 7/31/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Julie to help her further. We'll either help her get the kit installed correctly, or help her return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Neccessary part, but could be better quality controlled.

Wan from Wantagh, NY on 6/28/2017

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Dash kit was provided for a 2009 Pontiac Vibe AWD, which is stated is "fits vehicle". It does NOT fit the vehicle out of the box, I had to cut a notch in one of the bracket arms to clear a dash board part. If I had not cut the notch, it would have cause the radio to be skewed to the left and angled down on the left side. You can see the square obstacle on the passenger side of the double din opening in the photo. Also, I'm not sure if its the radio or the mount, but when mounted, its too far recessed into the opening, causing the final install to look unfinished or a mistake was made. The overall quality is average, ABS could be better, and color options could be better. Gray vs Black would be nice.

Pros: Provides the needed mounts and trim.

Cons: Doesn't fit exactly as promised.

Crutchfield response on 7/3/2017
Wan, whenever you encounter a problem, or need installation help with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our tech support team right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the kit installed properly! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Satisfied with the fit, thrilled with the price.

Darby from Rensselaer, In on 5/31/2017

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit is pretty good on my Pontiac Vibe. It's not perfect, but it's very close. And it was very easy to install. There are minor gaps where the original radio buttons overhang (on the inside facing the radio). It does fit the panel cutout accurately. I really cant complain, considering how I didn't pay a thing for it through Crutchfield. Crutchfield supplied ALL the necessary installation items for free. I am very pleased.

Pros: Installation was supplied free with head unit.

Cons: Very minor gap (let me stress "very minor.")

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Right the first time

Chad from Hampton Roads, VA on 10/19/2016

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

First purchase with Crutchfield, but finding the exact kit I needed for my car was surprisingly easy. I will not hesitate to purchase from Crutchfield again.

Pros: Easy to find the correct item and order

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised, not the best fit and finish

Nate from Erie, PA on 5/8/2016

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An inexpensive kit that will hold the deck in place. It is not very good looking. 3 stars because it works and it's free.

Pros: Practical Inexpensive

Cons: Sloppy install Big gaps in trim

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

OK but not any better than that

Bill_audio from pleasanton, CA on 2/17/2016

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's made well enough and matches the black in my interior. It clipped into mt dash fine but the way it fits around my stereo is not that great. There's a small gap all the way around the unit. Used original metal factory stereo mounts as the plastic ones that come with kit are flimsy and useless.

Pros: Fit in to existing dash well.

Cons: Doesn't fit around stereo very well.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mounting Brackets Didn't Work

MarkA from Chesapeake Va. on 12/28/2015

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried to use this to install a Pioneer stereo in a 2009 Matrix S. I ended up using the metal brackets from the OEM unit because the left mounting bracket wouldn't line up with the screw holes. There was a protrusion on the metal plate the brackets mount to that blocked it from going into place. Fortunately the OEM metal bracket screw holes lined up perfectly and are much sturdier anyway. I did use the trim plate which worked out well.

Pros: Trim plate looks good.

Cons: Brackets wouldn't line up with screw holes.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The worst

jamesm from California on 7/13/2015

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I spent have the day trying to get this to fit snug and look good but no way . It sets the stereo to far back and hard to use the volume controls . I think I might be able to re-work the original metal brackets to fit better ! A big headache to me !!

Pros: none

Cons: as stated above !

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

mounting kit

hotmetal803 from trenton, ohio on 4/21/2015

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked.

Pros: It worked.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor fit and finish

Ray from Michigan on 3/9/2015

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Poor fit. It leaves a quarter-inch gap at the bottom. I called Crutchfield and was told that's just how it fits. I'm not happy with the results.

Pros: None.

Cons: Does not look good.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8224 Dash Kit

Greg K. from Roselle Park, NJ on 8/22/2014

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As part of my purchase of the Jensen VX 7020 Multimedia Car radio with Navigation, Crutchfield automatically supplies this Metra 95-8224 Dash trim and mounting bracket kit for my 2009 Pontiac Vibe. After a few attempts of placing it around my new radio as well as to the Dash panel of which it snaps into, I soon learn that it did not fit around the radio in the way that I though it was supposed to. Then when placed inside the OEM Dash panel's opening, I found large gaps and poor fit and finishes around the perimeter of the trim. Third, I found that the plastic mounting brackets did not fit correctly into the interior mounting supports within the dash. And then it seems that radio and the this radio trim are completely miss-aligned to each other.... such that I could of never have placed the exterior dash panel against to or around the radio..

Pros: nothing.

Cons: Was not correctly design, tested or verified to fit into my 2009 Pontiac Vibe. I since ordered a Scosche TA2102B trim mounting kit which does correctly and nicely fit into my car. Crutchfield was very nice about crediting me for my cost of the Scosche. Thanks again for your help Crutchfield.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Worse kit I have ever received from Crutchfield!

markk110 from Osceola on 5/3/2014

2009 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It didn't align well with the opening in the dash. It didn't allow the moving bezel to work on my Pioneer AVH-X8500BHS. The mounting tabs broke off on both sides when trying to position it properly.

Pros: None

Cons: It's junk

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit!!

Crutchfield customer from lawrenceburg, indiana on 4/16/2014

2009 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit great with my radio and in my dash..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

does not fit!

JayDub from bossier city, la on 4/24/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

received this product and while it fits the opening of my car it did fit the receiver. if the reciever is 7" wide then tell me how this is supposed to fit in a 6.7" dash kit opening.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP