Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
075 952 862 3

Our hours

Connect ID #
075 952 862 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Fits 2015-up Subaru Legacy/Outback — double-DIN radios (High-Gloss Black)

MFR # 95-8906HG

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Fits 2015-up Subaru Legacy/Outback — double-DIN radios (High-Gloss Black)

MFR # 95-8906HG

14 reviews
View this product

Looks Good , Fit Fair.

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 7/19/2020

2016 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well in my 2016 Subaru Legacy once installed. You do have to figure out where on the head unit to line up the screws by measuring where the front mounting flaps are in relation to the front of your STOCK unit, then use that distance when you choose which screw holes to use here and where to place it when you secure the screws. The instructions show using three particular holes/slots but I could not tell if this was generic info. I ended up using those holes/slots though. Be careful screwing it in as the plastic distort on the slots if you screw it too tightly. I will say I thought the brackets would be stamped metal. Looking at the picture now I see it's likely they are plastic but I thought they were flat black metal. I had to file the aligning holes on the front part of the bracket to get it sit a tad lower.

Pros:

Cons: Soft plastic brackets.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor design

Mark from Hudson, NH on 6/11/2020

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit does NOT have the correct brackets for any Subaru radio that includes the telematics box underneath the factory head unit. The factory brackets on the stock unit also mount the telematics box, and the aftermarket ones do not. If you want to do some fabricating, go ahead. Metra needs to offer a separate kit if the vehicle has telematics. Additionally, the radio I bought "standard double din" doesn't fit into this unit, because it doesn't have a removable face plate. Because this Metra kit has a lip inside the din opening,lots of double din radios without removable face plates will not fit this kit. All around a poorly thought out, basic, "too universal" of a design. I was so excited to install my new head unit, but this din kit completely stopped me in my tracks. The only other option I had was to recess the new head unit about 1/2 an inch behind the dash kit, which would have looked terrible. Keep in mind, I'm sure this works with some of these Subarus, without telematics and with some more traditionally installed double din kits. But, it doesn't work for all of them. RJ in customer service was SUPER helpful in getting me the help I needed to make sure I wasn't going crazy while trying to install this. Took care of me 100%.

Pros: Factory high gloss bezel

Cons: Brackets are too universal Poorly made Doesn't fit all double dins

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from ORANGE, CA on 5/28/2020

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm having trouble getting to fit 100% correctly, but that has more to do with the stereo I'm using (I think). There aren't really any alternative dash kits, so I'm glad this one exists. I'm not a fan of the glossy feel and do wish they had alternatives like a matte finish. Still this gets the job done.

Pros: Gets the job done.

Cons: glossy finish attracts fingerprints.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks as good as the factory

Crutchfield customer from Stewartstown, PA on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly with my Excelon and Subaru Outback. Looks like it came from the factory. I used the metal mounting brackets that came with the OEM head unit that I removed instead of the included plastic brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Naugatuck, CT on 5/24/2020

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Looks like stock. Fits perfect in dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Belgrade on 4/27/2020

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Puts the head unit about a half inch back into the dash. Really looks bad. Definitely not what I wanted or expected.

Pros: Fits

Cons: Totally not an OE look. Looks like farmers designed it.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

2016 Subaru Outback

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 3/29/2020

2016 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this in our 2016 Outback. Fits perfectly and matches the stock interior.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Ricky T. from Eden, UT on 3/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, but rather bland looking.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Bland looking

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Siyuan from URBANA, IL on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit fits with my 17 Outback but it comes with a pair of all-plastic bracket. If you prefer an all-metal bracket, there exist similarly-priced options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 1/8/2019

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed for the new head unit for my Subaru.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 12/7/2018

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit perfectly. Looks like OEM.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Shiny, perfect fit

Eric from Manchestr Ctr , VT on 9/6/2018

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great but mine came out of the package with a small scratch on it. Too much work went into mounting it so I left it there. I figure the glossy finish will just scratch again soon anyway. I'd give it 5 stars except for that. I'm just happy Metra makes these things or you wouldn't be able to replace the Subaru factory radio. So I want them to have a high rating. Again, without this you couldn't do a Subaru replacement. The fit and finish is 5 star though. See if you can see the scratch in the picture. 2017 Subaru Outback. That's a Kenwood receiver with CarPlay.

Pros: Perfect fit! Looks factory.

Cons: Mine came out with a small scratch and I didn't feel like dealing with returning it. On Subaru you have to remove the upper vent and the lower HVAC controls to replace the bezel.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works for 2018 Legacy 2.5i with additional kit!

Joe from Newton, NH on 7/15/2018

2017 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for a 2018 Subaru Legacy, 2.5i, base model. Fortunately, the front face plate fits perfect. But, and I knew this going in, the side mounting brackets do not work as they do not have a spot for the module that sits under the factory stereo, which you absolutely need to plug back in if you want to drive your car! After doing some research, I found that the side mounting brackets for 95-8909 do fit, and have a spot for the module. You cannot use the face plate from this kit as it is for the 8" Starlink stereo and is too tall for the base model. So, in a nutshell, buy both the Metra 95-8906 and the 95-8909 and you are good to go using parts from from both kits!

Pros: Works for 2018 Legacy 2.5i

Cons: Have to buy additional Metra 8909 dash kit.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 95-8906HG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 3/28/2017

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP