Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
Connect ID #
172 333 933 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Fits select 2000-04 Subaru vehicles — includes two single-DIN pockets

MFR # 98-89992C

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Fits select 2000-04 Subaru vehicles — includes two single-DIN pockets

MFR # 98-89992C

13 reviews
View this product

Awesome Company

Crutchfield customer from Tijeras, NM on 9/7/2020

2001 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great products and fast aervice-!

Pros: Perfect on time and equipment is the highest quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kalispell, MT on 1/27/2020

2003 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great dash kit and easy to install. Looks sharp after going from a double din to a single din stereo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost perfect

Crutchfield customer from Foresthill, CA on 11/10/2019

2001 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had difficulty figuring out what face was the right one for my vehicle. The pictures were not that great but otherwise everything was easy and looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Roger from Cleveland, OH on 7/22/2019

2004 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect in my 04 Outback - I mounted the HU up high with the two pockets stacked below. Kit was a bit confusing with the two faceplates for the Subaru being in different baggies, and the mounting adapters aren't an exact match for the instructions but everything screws together fine and mounts to the factory cage.

Pros: Well made kit, comes with everything.

Cons: Instructions not blindingly obvious. Would be nicer if the kit was more specific to the car, so I would not have to throw out un-used plastic afterward.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best customer service

McKay from Provo, UT on 1/13/2019

2002 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loved the customer service, when I was stuck doing the self install they walked me through the process. Very happy with the experience as a whole.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome fit!

Rich from Tamaqua, PA on 10/31/2018

2003 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit in OEM double din radio brackets for 03 Subaru Outback. Gives a bit of extra dash storage when installing a single vs. Double din unit.

Pros: Great fit!

Cons: Instructions on where screws should be used a bit vague.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Madison, IN on 6/8/2018

2004 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was as promised. Was able to get the right part for the car with no trouble. Totally satisfied with all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit.

John W. from Bellevue, WA on 5/7/2017

2001 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this with a new JVC head unit for my daughter's 2001 Subaru Outback. It fit perfectly and looks great in the dash with the new head unit.

Pros: Fit our old Subaru like a glove and looks good in the dash.

Cons: Instructions are not very detailed so it was a little confusing to assemble but not too bad. I got it done right the first time and didn't need to call customer service.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 98-89992 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Provo, UT on 1/1/2017

2002 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install and works as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty good

Nathan from Raleigh, NC on 10/19/2015

2004 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Went together fine. Plastic a tad bit brittle, had to separate one of the face plate piece after clipping it together and wound up breaking one of the little retaining clips. Went back together snugly enough though so no big deal. Clean install overall.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple and Nice

Marcel from Connecticut on 5/6/2015

2001 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made my car keep a nice stock look with my aftermarket

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great stereo!

Hailey from Holbrook, pa on 12/29/2014

2002 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great stereo! It has good sound quality, the bluetooth is perfect! This was a gift for my boyfriend's car and he loves it. It was a nice price and Crutchfield makes sure you have everything you need for installation.

Pros: Great sound, great look, bluetooth works for music and phone calls. Perfect stereo!

Cons: I do wish the installation package would have been more clear...the install fits three diff car models so you had to use trial and error to figure which parts are needed for your car make.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit, but...

DaveS from Hendersonville, NC on 3/28/2014

2000 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This fit the opening in my 2000 Subaru Legacy Outback perfectly but - the image and description show two (2) pockets in the kit. The package I received only contained one pocket. That turned out to not be a problem in my case but, still, wasn't as advertised. If you need 2 pockets to fill the dash, you might call Crutchfield first to verify.

Pros: Perfect fit and match for my vehicle.

Cons: Only 1 pocket when the advertised kit said it contained 2.

Crutchfield response on 4/1/2014
This kit is available in two versions: a version with one pocket and a version with two pockets. Most Subaru vehicles use one or the other. The customer received the one-pocket version be mistake, but luckily he didn't need the second pocket in his application, so we all got lucky. We've double-checked our stock to make sure this doesn't happen to anyone else.

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP