Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
514 218 541 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
514 218 541 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new single-DIN or double-DIN car stereo in a 2000-03 Ford Taurus or Mercury Sable with electronic climate controls

MFR # 99-5718

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new single-DIN or double-DIN car stereo in a 2000-03 Ford Taurus or Mercury Sable with electronic climate controls

MFR # 99-5718

15 reviews
View this product

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Destrehan, LA on 10/18/2019

2002 Mercury Sable LS Premium

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit fit perfect and directions were on point for installation.

Pros: Fit perfect

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash and wiring kit for 2000 Ford Taurus, et. al.

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, NJ on 4/8/2019

2000 Ford Taurus SEL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great. Installed by a local shop.

Pros:

Cons: If you want to see current outside temperature displayed constantly you need to have the A/C or heat on. Pressing the outside temp button will show the current temperature but it will only display for a few seconds if you have not set the controls for AC/Heat temperature.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra to the rescue!

Jason from Lynchburg, VA on 2/27/2019

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit worked well in my 2002 Taurus SEL. It's the only kit out there since Ford made it hard by having the radio up front being the controller for the actual radio/amp that's in the trunk. So this kit includes a long wiring harness to bring the antenna and speaker wires up to the head unit. The HVAC controls work well, at the buttons actually work better than the factory ones. They HVAC buttons illuminate orange at night just like factory. This kit worked well with my Kenwood DDX396 double din radio. Recommend to anyone looking to install a radio in their 00-03 Taurus/Sable!

Pros: Kit looks great, secures the radio into the dash well Really like the matte black finish

Cons: The HVAC screen is little bright Didnt have a dimmer wire setup to go to the radio but its the orange one in the metra harness so it's a easy fix.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Essexville, MI on 1/20/2019

2002 Mercury Sable LS Premium

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first, it was hard to understand exactly how it would work. After opening my old radio, it was very simple and easy to put the wires in. It is a very clean and sleek design. The only downside is how bright the screen is and the color. It is a very, very bright green which is visually appealing and can be noticeable in the corner of your eye when driving at night.

Pros: Easy to put together

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Covington, OH on 6/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What I needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

John from Oak Lawn, IL on 4/1/2018

2001 Mercury Sable LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fits like a glove all hvac controls work great. This product is a great buy

Pros: Great product

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug n play

Martin from Cincinnati Ohio on 7/24/2017

2000 Mercury Sable LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks to the Crutchfield team for their expertise and knowledge, this product was very easy to install, great plug n play product replacing my factory dash kit in a 2000 Mercury Sable. Thank you Crutchfield.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Mike from Louisville, KY on 4/20/2017

2003 Ford Taurus SEL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good kit that made what could have been a difficult install rather easy. Try adding some wood grain trim or chrome or color decal. A lot of black up front. Overall this is great!

Pros: Fit well in the Taurus.

Cons: Keys did not engage properly for removal after installation. Had to reach in behind the unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Anne from Wolcott, NY on 3/8/2017

2003 Mercury Sable LS Premium

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Received product fast and liked how responsive your customer service people are

Pros: Like how everything is included

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

louis from Illinois on 9/22/2015

2003 Mercury Sable LS Premium

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

best deal on the web if you purchase a car stereo threw Crutchfield as well as this dash kit looks like it is stock perfect fit great deal amazing Crutchfield customer service as always will always be a customer here .

Pros: very easy to install comes with everything you need

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

dale s. from Pennsylvania on 6/2/2015

2001 Mercury Sable LS Premium

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice kit. Fit well

Pros: Fit was right on.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Product

daveh from ohio on 1/15/2015

2001 Mercury Sable LS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased a new jvc single din stereo for my son as a present and got half off of this item \. Installed it in his 2001 mercury sable with no problems at all as it came with everything I would need.

Pros: very easy install, looks like it belongs in car

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5718 Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Clarendon Hills, Il on 11/5/2014

2000 Ford Taurus SEL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wish they would have done something better for the heater control sensor.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

great product!

thom&son from melrose,ma. on 1/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this adapter in my 2003 mercury sable ls and if you didn't know you would think that the dvd unit came with the car. The dash looks great! The price was right too. I received half off because I bought a receiver too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The only way to install an aftermarket radio into a Taurus

WM from WI on 8/28/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This integration kit had everything (be sure to ask for wire nuts) needed to install an aftermarket radio into my 2003 Taurus wagon. The climate control works just like the factory one. The only complaint is that the top segment of the temperature display digit is blocked by the plastic housing (shorter people can probably see it) so 71 degrees looks like 11 degrees. That is the only issue and it is a minor one. The only significant complaint I have is the instruction manual. The pictures are very poor and it does not give one the entire picture about all of the installation up-front. I'm an EE and I was ultimately able to "get it", but those not tech-savvy will have to call Crutchfield for help. It is important to realize that the Taurus factory radio is actually in the rear of the vehicle behind the spare tire. Only the user interface (and cassette player) is in the dash. So there is a big wiring harness with all the speaker wires and antenna coax that you must run from the rear of the car to the dash. You will need to bend up some cushions and plastic trim along the rocker panels to run the cable harness in there. Before running the harness, I recommend you tape it up (or tie wrap it) every 12 inches to keep the individual wires together. This info should be in the instructions. All that said, once you have it installed, you have all the climate controls plus the ability to install a nifty, modern, up-to-date car stereo that looks factory. Nice!

Pros: Looks good. Excellent functionality. Very complete - only wire nuts need be added.

Cons: Poor installation instructions.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP