Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Install a new single-DIN or double-DIN car stereo in select 2012-14 Focus models

MFR # 99-5827B

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Install a new single-DIN or double-DIN car stereo in select 2012-14 Focus models

MFR # 99-5827B

63 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Necedah, WI on 9/28/2020

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy install with the kit

Pros: Easy install got instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, KS on 9/16/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 9/2/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well. Instructions cover the install with one particular interface kit. I used a different one as suggested by Crutchfield. Install still went smooth, I just had to figure out a few things on my own. The buttons feel a bit flimsy, and they tend to rock side to side, but if you press directly in the center they work fine.

Pros: Fit

Cons: Buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fair Lawn, NJ on 6/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit was perfect for my sons 2012 Ford Focus,everything works as it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sulligent, AL on 6/2/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised. Fit perfectly into car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 5/13/2020

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall a good replacement for OEM stereo. Build quality for the price is not great. Feels like it's made of cheap plastic. The factory vents on my 2014 focus did not properly latch on to this kit. Required some trimming of the stock vents but I got it to work. Overall this is the best option.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fits perfect!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hobgood, NC on 11/30/2019

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks better than anticipated. All information said that time on stock screen could not be changed with this kit but mine is able to be changed. Any downside is the orange/amber color lights on buttons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Benning, GA on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 10/28/2019

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit

Pros: Perfect fit 2014 focus

Cons: Hard to link to car features

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Professional instal look

Crutchfield customer from Clinton, MI on 10/9/2019

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes changing stock radio to large touch screen replacement look professional

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just good enough

Crutchfield customer from Grayslake, IL on 7/15/2019

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Out of necessity you need this if replacing the factory unit, and for the price with no other options it does the job but is average at best. The buttons are squishy and appear cheap, and the install kit mostly fits, but requires a bit of extra (and creative) alterations to other parts in the vehicle to make it fit.

Pros: Fits with clean lines, at a glance appears like it came that way

Cons: Cheap buttons, mostly fits, the hardware is awkward

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Desoto, MO on 4/22/2019

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad looking dash kit but didn't like the fact I had to take it out once installed because the interface had to be updated. Would have thought it would have been good from the factory. Also, the buttons are way too bright and orange! Seriously Metra, nothing in these cars are orange and there is no way to change the color because I contacted Metra directly and asked.

Pros: Looks factory like

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great kit!

Shawn from Yankton, SD on 3/15/2019

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This keeps the factory look, but allows upgraded stereos to be installed. One complaint, you should allow different color led's for the button colors. My only complaint. Everything else is perfect.

Pros: Factory look, fits perfectly.

Cons: Can't change led colors for buttons and they are orange.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect.

JC from Santa Maria, CA on 2/26/2019

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit for my 2014 focus. Good price. Looks so much better than the stock dash.

Pros: Looks

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Adequate

Steve from Mount Pleasant, WI on 12/7/2018

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation, plastic not quite as good as original equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dagsboro, DE on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good customer support. the male ford pin needs to have small tabs removed in order to fit the bezel female plug. Also the other two plugs in the new bezel are for Metra and do not relate to the installation per se. This is not stated. Other wise smooth installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Vegas on 11/8/2018

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finish is good once installed. The connector for the panel controls is very tight to the point where it feels an inordinate amount of force is needed to seat the connector. The positive snap fits are what they are compared to the factory piece though the main panel is fairly robust. The snap fits of the vents and the main panel aren't as positive as they could be though the outline of the vents and vent controls fit well. Your vents may unsnap during installation. They're good once you get everything in place. The button lights are red and all the Fords I've seen like this have blue(ish) tint back lights. Looks out of place. The lock indicator is insanely bright and causes a slight glow of the interior at night.

Pros: maintains more or less the factory look

Cons: the snap fits are less than secure particularly for the vent installation the backlight of the buttons is red and the lock indicator light is insanely bright

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug fix

Dennis from Massillon, OH on 9/23/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Factory harness does not fit into dash kit receptacle. To fix it... the factory plug has two small tabs in the area where the clip catches. Using a utility knife and shaving these off allows the plug to fully seat into receptacle and clip in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Loudon, NH on 9/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The open space below the radio is strange. Why is it there?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra kit

George from La Porte, IN on 9/3/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I ordered this faceplate along with a new head unit for a 2012 Ford focus se. While it does fit. It seems cheaply made. There is a receptacle in the back of the unit to provide power to the faceplate, unfortunately the receptacle is to large to engage the catch from the Ford plug. I don't know if the '13' or '14' models used a larger plug. Right now I have the plug electrical taped in place. I'll probably end up using hot glue to keep it in place. Now let me add that Crutchfield customer service is number 1. I contacted tech support on this matter and they sent out another faceplate pronto, so kudos to them. The second faceplate had the same issue as the first. This is not Crutchfield's fault. The problem lies with the Metra kit. At this price you'd expect something to work properly.

Pros: Nice looking

Cons: Plug from factory doesn't fit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from New Castle, PA on 7/23/2018

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks great but doesn't work.

Frank from Chandler, AZ on 7/2/2018

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plugged in the harness from Ford Focus and it kept slipping out. Would never snap in and doesn't seem the depth of the channel allows for it. Also to put in factory silver trim over the vents doesn't align. Stuck with black.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/3/2018
Frank contacted our Customer Support team and was sent a replacement kit. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 7/1/2018

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It mostly fits however most things don't fit perfectly and tend to be loose and fall out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cheesy but effective

Robert from Jacksonville, FL on 6/22/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The all black looks good and fits a ddin receiver nicely. But for the price i expected it to fit a little nicer in the dash. It sits crooked and the clips that hold the ac vents in have too much tolerance so they can come off too easy when removing the dash. Also a piece of the face looks bent when the vent is installed. Lastly, my lock and unlock button doesn't work although the emergency light button works. They come from the same plug so i have no idea why this is.

Pros: Easy installation.

Cons: Too expensive for how cheap it is. Flimsy and doesn't hold my ac vents well enough. Lock/unlock button doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on 6/26/2018
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support rep, Clint, reached out to Robert to help him further. We'll either help him get the kit working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to install

Brandi Maree from Alturas, CA on 5/22/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works but had to make make it work.

Happy Dad from Ormond Beach, FL on 5/21/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is passable product. It looks fine. But a defect in the molding added an hour an a half to my installation time. The connector that needs to connect to the Ford Focus Audio Control Module didn't fit. It looked the same, and seemed to have the correct dimensions, but would not click on the keeper. Using liquid paper I saw that the factory plug would only go 3/4 of the way down, which made the unlock/hazard buttons intermittent. I had the choice of gluing it in place or figuring out why it wasn't right. The Metra connector had two pin more then the factory one, I had the option to remove them, but I wasn't convinced it was the problem. I disassembled the Metra plug assembly so the pins would not be a factor. It still wouldn't go all the way. It looked the same, but with a magnifying glass I saw that the casting of the plug receiver had imperfections that rather than being straight to allow the plug to slide in, flared at the bottom of the connector so it would pinch the guide rails of the plug. I filed them down until they were straight, it took me a while. I finally pushed it in and it worked. All in all, it was 90% fit, and you had to live with the other things like the vent tabs that were loose.

Pros: Looks right for the 2012 Ford Focus SE dash

Cons: Molding Imperfections - Created Install hassle Vents were not as tight fit as the factory dash, kind of wobbled until you screwed the whole dash in place. No other options so you're limited to make it work Felt a bit cheap

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from South Windsor, CT on 5/21/2018

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfect, exactly what I was looking for. Looks better than the OEM.

Pros: Fits and looks better than the original

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great aftermarket kit!

John from Midlothian, VA on 5/14/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit and finish. Simple installation and great directions. Took advantage of the prewiring service really made things easier.

Pros: Look great, installs easy, great instructions.

Cons: Would like a color choice for the lights

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Jason R from Lexington Park, MD on 5/10/2018

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

don't expect to breeze thru the install, it takes a couple hours. i had to file down a single piece on the unit to make the final connection fit. it simply wouldn't snap into place without doing so.

Pros: it fits extremely well and the matte plastic makes for a very decent reproduction of a factory dash. looks fine in daylight.

Cons: WHY ORANGE? i would give anything for it to just be a dim white or light blue like everything else in the car. it's a bizarre choice. i'm baffled. at night it's a constant eye sore.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Eagle River, AK on 5/1/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly for the 2012 Ford Focus. Read the instructions carefully.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from St Simons Is, GA on 4/4/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly, giving close to the OEM look that my daughter wanted to have with her new radio, without having to replace with the original OEM radio that had failed too soon.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: The upper screen is now an inert black, and that can't be helped, but all functions are retained, just in a smaller unit. But people have asked about the function of the now non functional screen.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy installation but looks bad

Shawn from Keizer, OR on 2/3/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why does it have orange lights?

Pros: Installation

Cons: Amber lights

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Oak Ridge, TN on 1/14/2018

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would get a 5 star but I don't like the orange lights and I was hoping it would be more flush with my radio. Otherwise it went on easy and comes off easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Augusta, GA on 1/7/2018

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product fit correctly for our Focus!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Ramon from Navarre, FL on 9/6/2017

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Nice fit!

Jamey from Ripley, OH on 7/12/2017

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product. Fits and looks great!

Pros: Fit

Cons: Color of back lights

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fultonville , NY on 4/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product.. great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from SAN José , ca on 4/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It fit perfectly in my car

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 4/2/2017

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good installed just wish the dash lights could be changed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Nathan from Omaha, NE on 3/28/2017

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. The unit will set the time on the clock and you can use the buttons to navigate just fine. The reason 4 stars is that the vents aren't a 100% perfect fit and don't clip in exactly as they should. That and the ultra orange light that is behind the buttons and on the unlock/lock indicator light. Not cool.

Pros: Perfect fit and is easy very easy to install, despite its looks.

Cons: Orange light and buttons seems a bit squishy....oversized if you will...

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Damian from Orange, VA on 3/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits good. Matches the dash. Quality could be better and the lights should match the car's lights. The orange clashes too much.

Pros: Good fit and match for dash.

Cons: Orange lights clash with the blue lights of the car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bernville, PA on 3/11/2017

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is a perfect fit and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Yankton, SD on 12/13/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product, fit perfectly in my car. Buttons are very easy to press. Orange color is a minor detail but not to worry, my head unit matches it perfectly. Awesome awesome!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Tim from Longview, WA on 11/15/2016

2014 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit and finish is pretty good. I installed a single din deck with no major problems. As others have said the orange backlighting doesn't match with my Ford Focus and one of the lights is really bright. Even though it's not perfect it looks very good in the dash. Overall a good product.

Pros: Best option to custom fit an aftermarket stereo

Cons: Orange backlight

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Price and Speedy Delivery

Sherry from Murfreesboro, TN on 10/9/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. The site is easy to understand. Great price and the delivery was made exactly when stated.

Pros: Great price. Speedy delivery. The site is easy to understand and use.

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ft Worth, TX on 9/16/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What prevented the item from receiving 5-stars is how expensive it is, which can't be helped because it has very limited applications, and how cryptic the instructions were. I made an attempt to install it myself and the instructions had me trying to insert the stereo sleeve into the two side mounts, but when I took it to the installations tech, he just screwed the stereo straight to the side mounts without the sleeve which made it work. Maybe it's my fault for not being a little more adaptable, but I follow instructions. Anyway, once everything was installed, it looks great and works great. After reading some of the other reviews about the back-lighting, I should note that I rarely drive at night, so I really haven't been affected by this but I can imagine it would be a little annoying.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good dashkit

Omar from IL on 7/20/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It feels good with quality plastic used. The buttons are dense and its easy it install

Pros: Good color, strong features

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Deal

John U from Ohio on 7/7/2016

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for the price. Took me less than a hour to install in my 2013 Focus. Sounds 5X better than my stock radio.

Pros: Price Sound Quality Easy installation

Cons: Can't think of one con about this receiver or install

Crutchfield response on

1 of 6 found this helpful

Works well with 2012 SE

Brock from Salt Lake City, UT on 5/4/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2012 Focus SE without the Sync system and this works pretty good with it. It does cover up part of the screen (which is now a glorified clock) but you can still see the time and date just fine. The pocket/sleeve that came with my dash kit was either the wrong one or was defective because neither myself nor a car audio installer could get it to work with my dash kit and single din stereo. The holes didn't match up. Because I was already so invested in the project (had amps, sub, speakers, etc...) I decided to buy a double DIN and give my little sister the single din. The double DIN fit perfectly. The lighting is very annoying, as stated by multiple reviewers, but I just set my deck to the same color scheme and now it's slightly less annoying.

Pros: - Fits well - I have two clocks now - Buttons work

Cons: - Lighting is Amber instead of Blue like the rest of the car - Locked indicator light is brighter than the sun - This is the first dash kit I've bought for more that $10 - Single DIN pocket would not work, might've been the wrong one - Buttons look kind of tacky, take away from the sleek design of the Focus

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cool dash

Ruben from Sacramento, CA on 4/16/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had some trouble with the installation and fitting it with my pioneer stereo. I had some trouble getting both top display screen and my double din stereo to fit flush with the kit at first so it took some finessing. The brackets mounted the stereo well and instructions were easy to follow. The only negative thing about the kit was that it covered my top screen time (hours and minutes) buttons so I had to drill in holes myself to still have access to those buttons when necessary.

Pros: Easy instructions. Looks great. Buttons on the kit work well after installation.

Cons: The kit covers the top factory screens buttons.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Cody from Wheeler, MI on 3/12/2016

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and easy install.

Pros: Color match.

Cons: Wish you could change the LED back light color

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Its Okay

SethK from Temecula, CA on 8/9/2015

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was really looking forward to this piece to finally get an aftermarket stereo in my Focus, but when i installed it 2 things bothered me, 1. The vent trim pieces from the stock stereo do not fit this. 2. The buttons light up Orange, which is an increbible oversight by Metra, since the Focus lights are all white and cyan, i ended up using electrical tape to cover up the light to keep it from distracting me. Other than the the kit works, i dont have the sync system so 3 of the buttons do nothing.

Pros: Fits good Works Double Din

Cons: Lights are wrong color Vent trim not interchangeable with factory

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from West Virginia on 7/13/2015

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great fit, looks good, am very pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not what I had hoped

Aragon from Colorado on 6/23/2015

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used an AXXESS adaptor, did not get a steering wheel sync adaptor as I don't like Ford's Sync, found it annoying. Metra fit fine, LEDs too bright but the unit died after a few weeks (lost display for time, temp and date), it was replaced under warranty. 2nd unit works but you can't change the time, only the emergency light and lock/unlock button function, all the others don't work. Also Ford has two radio antennas and you have to choose which to use. Another problem is Ford uses an impedance matching chip in their antenna assembly which will not likely match any aftermarket receiver, it can't be adjusted. This is a problem with receivers, most (all?) don't have an adjustment for impedance matching with the antenna so you can't optimize the signal and improve reception. Is this a big problem? Probably not considering the small antenna craze now in vogue that Ford is following, those small antennas just can't produce the signal of larger antennas so you can't get the stations you could with older style antennas. And you can't just screw in a larger antenna as there is no way to match impedance to take advantage of more signal strength, I tried that and it didn't work. If anyone knows of a solution for this I would like to hear it. I removed the Metra. I have 3 Toyotas and all have much better reception with the stock radio than the Ford Focus.

Pros: good fit, instruction were easy to follow

Cons: Lost most of the control button functions, only emergency lights and lock/unlock worked. LEDs too bright at night.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Could be better

MikeB from Indiana on 11/3/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It does fit, and will have to do until something better comes out.

Pros: Fits good

Cons: The up button works half the time. Doesn't change colors, really needs to be blue.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra FIA

Daryl from Providence Forge, Va on 4/21/2014

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits like it should

Pros: Fits and looks factory

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

perfect

matt from newark on 3/10/2014

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect buttons are nice and it was as simple as could be

Pros: All

Cons: Wish lights changed colors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Focus fit kit

Christopher C from San Antonio, TX on 2/24/2014

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a pretty good fit kit but they should have made the lights on it blue to match the other dash lights. Also configured it to be like the original and use the original trim pieces on the a/c vents. Why buy new ones. Oh yeah to make more money off the pricey fit kit. And the buttons could have been more like the original, nice and not bulky.

Pros: Good fit

Cons: The lights are red

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 in my Focus ST

n0m4d from Wilton, NH on 12/9/2013

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit and function of this adapter kit is great. It allowed me to easily swap my factory Sync system for a Parrot Asteroid Smart. Unfortunately for reasons I don't understand, the buttons are very odd looking and Metra used amber for the backlighting when the rest of the car has light blue (as I think all Focus's are). It really looks out of place at night and really distracts from what would be a very factory looking install. Also, the "locked door" indicator LED is blinding at night. There really is no other option to get a 2DIN unit in a 2012+ Focus so you will just need to deal with the buttons as it is otherwise a great product.

Pros: Fits perfectly and does a great job of retaining the factory Sync Display. Easy to install with good directions.

Cons: The keypad doesn't look stock at all. Buttons are not like factory style and the backlighting completely different. Door lock indicator is too bright.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 Factory Integration Adapter

Lee from Boulder co on 12/8/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits like factory unit.

Pros: easy to install.

Cons: none that i can find.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5827 for Ford Focus

fragout! from APO on 11/21/2013

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on a Ford Focus ST. Everything worked as advertised and it looks like it came with the car. There're a couple things to be aware of though. The mounting brackets are made of plastic. If you over tighten the mounting screws, you can end up squeezing the plastic apart. Don't over tighten. Second issue is that there is a little light that displays when the doors are locked. This light is pretty bright and sometimes annoys me at night. Also, all the lights on the dislpay buttons are amber color. Other than that, I'm happy with it.

Pros: Looks like it came with the car; easy to install

Cons: Plastic, don't over tighten screws; one very bright door lock light

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Metra 99-5728 adapter

Joe P from Liverpool, ny on 8/3/2013

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome fit, easy directions, no complaints.

Pros: Looks stock, great directions, seamless install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP