Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
Connect ID #
607 730 772 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo in select 2011-15 Ford Explorer models with 4.2" screen — single or double-DIN radios (Charcoal Gray)

MFR # 99-5847CH

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo in select 2011-15 Ford Explorer models with 4.2" screen — single or double-DIN radios (Charcoal Gray)

MFR # 99-5847CH

11 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dade City, FL on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At 1st didn't work but after calling talking to tech guys they send me another one and it works all great and fix like a glove! My wife loves it now! At 1st she didn't! But after fix she loves!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too expensive and already broken

Thomas from Indianapolis, IN on 5/11/2020

2001 Chevrolet Blazer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit for this is nice, but it's reliability is not good and it is uber-expensive for what you get. I have had it installed for less than 2 months and it is already glitching. When I press the volume up/down button on my steering wheel (Brand new steering wheel switch, BTW), it only works for 1 increment, then never works again until car power is cycled. And the seek up/down on the car causes the radio power to reset. Resetting the software for the vehicle and running any available updates hasn't resolved the issue. Guess we are stuck with useless steering wheel controls on our 2013 Explorer as the purchase was 61 days ago...

Pros: Nice fit and look

Cons: Too expensive and software is glitchy and already broken

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, AJ, reached out to Thomas to help him with his kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Guntersville, AL on 3/23/2020

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy installation and a perfect fit

Pros: Matches the trim color Bolts directly in If the factory A/C controls go out it takes care of that

Cons: A lot of wiring to arrange with the radio wiring

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH

Crutchfield customer from Talking Rock, GA on 12/5/2019

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

installed in my 2015 Explorer, great fit, everything works as it should. I have a the same set up (99-5839CH) in my 2014 Mustang as well.

Pros: Fits perfect, looks factory, east to install

Cons: only one I can think of is that I lost the outside temp display my original Ford unit had, Metra confirmed that this unit does not offer that but no big deal.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mount Holly, NJ on 6/21/2019

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work first time. Had to ship back and get a new one.

Pros: Looks real nice when installed

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No good as advertice

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 5/7/2019

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks Great.Works but no as adverticed.every time you turn on your car needs reprogram the dash kit to turning on the AC.Tech support send me a new one and have the same problem.

Pros: Looks good

Cons: No works fine, too expensive.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 4/22/2019

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should just wish it would intergrat the factory USB and AUX connections

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Cordre from Powder Springs on 3/4/2019

2015 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Horrible.....Do not Waste your time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/5/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Daniel, reached out to Cordre to help him get his kit installed correctly. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Overall just ok

Bob from Greencastle, IN on 2/27/2019

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is overkill for what I wanted. I just wanted to retain my standard hvac controls in a new location. This made them a touchscreen which is hard to work when you just want to crank the heat up a bit. It also won't remember my vehicle type (I guess the touchscreen works in multiple vehicles). I am going to call Crutchfield about that and see if I can fix it. This was professionally installed. Fit and finish was good.

Pros: Fit and finish good. Fits the vehicle, only one I found that would.

Cons: Turns simple HVAC controls into a complicated touchscreen. Won't remember vehicle type. Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Simply Perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 8/27/2018

2013 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The part fit perfectly into my dash and included all the wiring, which resulted in a refund from the retail store I'd originally purchased the other part from.

Pros: Fits perfectly, my AC is now touch screen, sleek, clean look!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-5847CH Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 6/24/2018

2014 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was easy to install My order come sooner than expected Great customer service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP