Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
Connect ID #
386 833 372 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo and retain your climate controls in select 2003-05 Mazda 6 vehicles — single- or double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-7523S

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo and retain your climate controls in select 2003-05 Mazda 6 vehicles — single- or double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-7523S

19 reviews
View this product

Mazda 6s radio installation kit

Crutchfield customer from Twinsburg, OH on 7/26/2020

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent kit, really matches the interior and easy to install.

Pros: Main wiring easy to connect

Cons: No wiring connection instructions for second and third harnesses

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spring Grove, VA on 2/16/2020

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Bryan from CHANDLER, AZ on 12/15/2019

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

SO this is overall a pretty good kit. A few issues. The instructions are pretty clear in regards to taking off the old stuff and how to put it on the new one, the air vents, and knob controls. Whats not clear is that you need to take off one of the wire harnesses from the old radio in order for the claimant controls to work properly. I had to search youtube to figure out how to do it and even then it was a little confusing. But once I did, It was all good. The other problem which is the biggest one is in the fit of the new dash. It definitely does not sit back in flush towards the top. It sticks out about 3/16" The Youtube video even states this. I really think Crutchfield should have a better pick-by-pick on the wire connections and what needs to be taken off the old one.

Pros:

Cons: Not enough description on exact wiring connections and what needs to be salvaged from the old unit, Wiring harness. The kit does not sit back in flush and sticks out about 3/16"

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, IL on 12/1/2019

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great but wiring harness attachment for AC and hazard lights at at the same level as the mounting hardware for the receiver which makes it difficult to seat the dash kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the Job But Doesn't Fit Well

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 10/7/2019

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All necessary connectors were there and connecting the steering wheel controls was easy. Everything works on the multitude of integrated functions. The fit of the whole dash kit was marginal in my car. Fully inserted it is still not flush with the surrounding panels. It also mounts the head unit with a single screw into a plastic tab (it is supposed to be 2 screws but there is a factory hole on one of the tabs you need to connect it to). It does not reuse any of the factory bolt/screw mount points for the new radio. All of that is pretty sad for a dash kit that cost as much as the head unit it is being used with.

Pros: Controls and Displays still work Easy to wire up

Cons: Poor fit Weak Head Unit Mounting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 6/12/2019

2003 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to install a Sony audio system to replace and upgrade the factory-installed audio in my 2003 Mazda 6. The kit did what it was supposed to do and had a nice professional finished look. Cost seemed high but perhaps reasonable, given its model-specific design. I opted to have Crutchfield pre-wire the wiring harness for the Sony unit. This seemed like a very good choice to avoid possible problems that might have arisen only later during initial testing. The main weakness is the quality of the installation instructions, which include minimal details. Connectors are not adequately described (what the function is of each), and affixing the Sony unit to the dash requires the drilling of mounting holes in the car dash with almost no instructional guidance. Installation therefore required moderate skill and is not recommended for everyone. Off-setting this limitation is Crutchfield's exceptional installation hot-line.

Pros: Nice final finish. Excellent Crutchfield installation support

Cons: Minimal installation instructions. Fairly expensive

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 4/23/2019

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit is great and looks great installed. The only trouble was with a few wires that were not in the instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy installation

John from Rossville, GA on 11/28/2018

2003 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the Metra turbo 2 stereo installation kit. Fit perfectly for my Mazda

Pros: The finish was an exact match to my stock dash finish

Cons: Non

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Danielle from Franklin, OH on 11/13/2018

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Port Orchard, WA on 10/15/2018

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome!

Buddy from Topeka, IN on 8/26/2018

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product fit perfect. Plug and play made installation easy. Price was fair for all included.

Pros: Fit awesome! Plug and play!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Overland Park, KS on 2/26/2018

2011 Lexus GX460

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks nice I had to use adhesive and to secure the headunit in place but it's looks like it's factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Compatibility and Install

Isaiah from Hampton, GA on 1/29/2018

2003 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I don't usually do reviews but I have to express my dissatisfaction with this product. This product was not 100% compatible with my 2003 Mazda 6s 3,0L v6 with the electric climate control. I gave it two stars because the installation was a nightmare, but I made it work. This product does require a bit of improvising to get it together. I had to zip tie the DIN mount into the console because the screw provided just didn't fit. After installing my Pioneer DEH-X3910BT my LCD display didn't work. In order to adjust temp, I turn the dial arbitrarily to the right or left now and feel I have to have my music though. These are also not isolated problems. Apparently, other people have had these issues, specifically on 2005 and older models. Followed instructions and made sure every cable I needed was in place, even display harness from the original unit. Once its together it looks great, but I'm definitely not satisfied with this purchase, especially for the price OUCH. If the product is advertised to work on a group of vehicles ALL of those vehicles need to be tested and noted for incompatibility because my 6s seems to be one of them.

Pros: Looks great

Cons: compatibility issues, requires zipties...

Crutchfield response on 1/30/2018
Isaiah, we're sorry you had issues with your kit. If the problem continues, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

06 Mazda 6

Sam from Bowling Green, VA on 1/8/2018

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit made install a breeze. The instructions included were very clear and concise, the finish is just as nice as stock.

Pros: Ease of install Good fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

metra Dash and Wiring kit

joe from Maryville, IL on 2/15/2017

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Panel fits like a glove and matches existing interior perfectly. well almost. The panel looks a quite a bit better!!! (Car is 12 years old) Only concern I had was that the instructions were a bit vague when it came to the wiring. Most items I purchased thru Crutchfield were simply plug and play type adapters. Some hard wiring was needed here with no illustrated or written instruction. I had to call for assistance and explanations which was ok because Crutchfield is the best at customer service. Seems Metra (panel brand) and also JVC both did not take the responsibility and filling the hole in the instruction here.

Pros: perfect fit and look.

Cons: Vague instructions on the wiring.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dixon IL on 1/23/2017

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to change stuff over to and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Sean from Auburn, KY on 1/3/2017

2013 Nissan 370Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Everything worked when finished.

Pros: Fit and finish was good.

Cons: The wiring kit for the Steering Wheel didnt work. Not sure what was was wrong, the wiring or the module.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 10/30/2016

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit is awesome and easy to install. Quality is excellent and with Crutchfield's technical support staff...the installation went extremely well.

Pros: Good quality, good fit and finish.

Cons: Instructions are a little sparse with respect to mounting the stereo unit...but in the end it wall worked well.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7523S Dash and Wiring Kit

Lacey from San Francisco, CA on 10/28/2016

2005 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great! Took apart the dash removed the factory stereo, installed alpine head unit with the power pack 45x4 amp, buttoned everything back up! Looks fairly clean, better than cutting the dash with a hot knife which was how I was gonna do it lol! Thanks a lot Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP