Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo and retain your climate controls in select 2006-08 Mazda 6 vehicles — single- or double-DIN radios (Charcoal black)

MFR # 99-7524B

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Install and connect a new car stereo and retain your climate controls in select 2006-08 Mazda 6 vehicles — single- or double-DIN radios (Charcoal black)

MFR # 99-7524B

29 reviews
View this product

Good be better

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 12/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a great fit for the JVC double din..had to do some minor filing on the sides and the gap above the headset is a little bigger than I would like. Wish Crutchfield would offer the Scosche brand. That one pays a little attention to detail

Pros:

Cons: As stated above

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Serious QC problems

Kevin from Durham CT on 8/1/2020

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for a little while, but the A/C button has failed, and I don't have air conditioning because of it. There are definitely quality control issues with this kit. It is the only kit on the market, so it might be only the Stockholm syndrome that makes me like it at all.

Pros: Necessary for aftermarket stereo

Cons: defective product

Crutchfield response on 8/4/2020
Kevin, we're sorry you're having issues with your kit. If you purchased this kit from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Jammie L. from Fpo, AP on 7/18/2020

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not match my car well. Still needed a second harness for the hazard lights.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 7/22/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support guru, Cris, reached out to Jammie to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

it's good, but not great

Crutchfield customer from Grove, OK on 7/5/2020

2007 Mazda Mazdaspeed 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is good, but it's not great. The fitment isn't exact, but it's close. I believe if it were around $50 less it'd be a 4 star review.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Anthony from Lenoir City, TN on 4/11/2020

2004 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Man this thing is expensive! It works for what it is, but its also not as nice as others might lead you to believe. There's gaps near the top where it meets the normal dash. That said, everything else works, buttons and all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

good enough

Crutchfield customer from Mansfield, TX on 1/4/2020

2008 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks pretty good but doesn't completely align with dash. Like the new buttons and layout. Lost ambient temperature readout on top LCD.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Work around but fits well with car.

Crutchfield customer from Draper, UT on 12/27/2019

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits the car and instructions were easy but had to rig up a solution to mount the stereo. This doesn't have an easy way of mounting as the stereo should mount to this piece and not in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lilburn, GA on 11/14/2019

2006 Mazda Mazdaspeed 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well for my requirements. Does not fit like the OEM unit but it does fit nicely. I'm happy with the dash kit

Pros: Good quality and all the electronics work as they should

Cons: None worth mentioning

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Leandro, CA on 8/28/2019

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

was all the equipment I needed to change out factory radio and replace it with a better radio,no hassle installation or connections

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield is the best.

Crutchfield customer from Chana, IL on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield comes thru every time. Great kit a little expensive but works great.

Pros: Nice fit and looks great

Cons: Pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sellersburg, IN on 4/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worst kit ever does not fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/23/2019
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Jordan from Jonesboro, AR on 4/18/2019

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To replace the factory head unit in a first gen Mazda 6 you have to get a dash kit because Mazda hates you. This Metra kit is the only one on the market. It sucks. While the replacement is functional, the fitment is very poor. As others have complained about, this replacement does not fit flush to the dash it stands out as obviously not original. The supplied clips and screws were a joke. They expect you to mount your brand new head unit to your dash using self tapping screws into plastic.

Pros: Instructions Functionality

Cons: Protrudes from dash Hardware is cheap or just a bad idea (How expensive are two bolts with nuts?) Could not get text editor for top display to work

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arkansas City, KS on 3/29/2019

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wish it was a direct replacement but works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Meh

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 1/26/2019

2006 Mazda Mazdaspeed 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The top half doesnt clip into the dash properly, so it constantly pops out which messes with the temperature display. The mounts for the aftermarket double din doesnt line up/ fit. But on a positive note all the rerouted buttons work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Danvers, IL on 11/13/2018

2008 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice kit which seemed to get the job done. I did end up having issues with the buttons being flipped compared to the screenshots and the A/C button not working. I called Metra at the advice from Crutchfield support, and they advised how to fix the buttons and A/C button. Everything is working now. I will say this kit is a very tight fit and sticks out a little bit vs the OEM dash that was flush.

Pros: factory pieces switch over very easily to this aftermarket kit

Cons: The kit came with the buttons backwards which required me to have to take it completely apart to resolve.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Walton Beach, FL on 10/29/2018

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product worked as advertised. The instructions were well laid out and easy to follow. It didn't have the silver trim on the sides like the factory piece did, which was a bit disappointing, but the panel fit very good. Made installing the Double DIN stereo easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mazdaspeed-6 install

Crutchfield customer from Bailey, CO on 10/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a little nervous, considering this unit was going into a Speed-6 (not your normal equipment). The panel fit a little tightly, was flat black instead of gloss with silver trim, but not bad looking at all. This was one of the easier dash panels that I've had to deal with.

Pros: Everything complete in the kit, right down to the little plastic fasteners that hold the panel on.

Cons: Instructions slightly confusing for manual vs. automatic climate control, but the phone support helped a lot. Panel fits a little tight, but I can deal with that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

not bad, but it gets the job done

Chris from Salt Lake City, UT on 10/19/2018

2006 Mazda Mazdaspeed 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buttons.. they're squish-touch. And on mine, they were on the wrong sides. On the box it shows 99-7524B, but the unit itself is marked 7523 BTM. It may explain why the buttons are on opposite sides. Right now the button labeled "a/c" on my unit will turn on the hazards. I would be a lot happier if some kind of wiring table/chart were included, so it would be clearer as to which parts are optional, as it did confuse my installer.

Pros: - it works - it fits - it looks fairly nice

Cons: - It would be nice if trim blended in better - mushy buttons - lack of documentation

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great product

Tina from N Myrtle Bch, SC on 8/28/2018

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great and awesome company

Pros: It fit in my car perfect

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

nathan from Moody, AL on 6/19/2018

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fitment was overall good , was a little disappointed it didn't match the rest of my console. But everything went together well and works as it should

Pros: Fits and works as it should

Cons: If you have a Speed 6 it will not match the rest of your dash

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Paducah, KY on 4/19/2018

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as hard as I thought it would be to install. Everything works. I hate that you now have to resort to this to install stereos in newer cars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Dylan from Conroe, TX on 3/1/2018

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect and great quality

Pros: First nicely

Cons: Bulky buttons

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra dash kit for Mazda 6

Crutchfield customer from Eureka Spgs, AR on 2/17/2018

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have been a fan of Crutchfield for many years. Great prices, products and service. The Metra kit mounted and looks great however the wiring is not quite right. The AC fan now runs when car is switched on accessory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/20/2018
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra Kit so so

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 10/10/2017

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had problems with the first kit: hazard light didn't work and LCD Panel would remain no after ignition off. Crutchfield sent me a replacement kit and that one fixed the LCD problem (one connector had cables reversed, bad QC from METRA). However it didn't fix the Hazard light problem. Other than that works as advertised. Metra's Tech Support was not helpful at all.

Pros: good fit (not perfect), OK Manual, bad Quality Control (was sold a kit that had reversed cables), looks nice on the dash.

Cons: Does not work 100% (Hazard light does not work even after a replacement kit was installed). Poor Tech Support.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mazda 6 owners need this!

Tim from Easton, PA on 3/23/2017

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the Only option if you are swapping stereos is your Mazda 6. The panel arrives as pictured and requires you to relocate the defrost and emergency flasher buttons. Everything mounted as shown in the instructions with installation time being approximately 2 hours. It would have been 1 hour if not for the difficulty in securing the stereo. I found that after mounting the stereo bracket, the faceplate would not install properly. After removing and reinstalling 3 times I finally was able to line everything up correctly allowing the panel to seat properly. I don't really see any way around this process so it seems this is about as good as it gets. After about 2 weeks everything is still working properly and has remained secure.

Pros: Product works as described and made of quality materials.

Cons: I would look for better self tapping screws for radio mounts. The included screws are smaller than what I would recommend using.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B Dash and Wiring Kit

Crutchfield customer from Wray co on 2/27/2017

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kits works as described. I wasn't real impressed with the way they have you use a self tapping screw to secure the radio to the dash. If this product was half the cost of what I payed for it then I could see giving it maybe 4 stars.

Pros: Was easy to install Looks good once installed

Cons: Cost too much $ for what you get Rear defrost button does not work very well

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks good

David from Irvine, CA on 2/3/2017

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks and works great. Buttons are relocated from stock position and function well.

Pros: Fits works looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-7524B

Ryan from Green Bay, WI on 1/27/2017

2007 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fit in dash and all of the wiring needed is included, but would have liked better mounting materials. Overall good purchase!

Pros: -All wiring harnesses and directions for easy plug and play as well as keeping climate control -Good fit in dash

Cons: - Mounting equipment isn't the best -expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Devin from Baton Rouge, La on 7/17/2016

2006 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put in a Sony double din in my girlfriends car and this kit makes it look factory. Great kit!

Pros: Looks factory Has everything you need Good instructions

Cons: Fitment was a bit too tight but still worked great Slightly over priced

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP