Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Fits select 2002-10 Lexus SC430 — single or double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-8161S

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Fits select 2002-10 Lexus SC430 — single or double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-8161S

19 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Jeffrey from Laredo, TX on 9/23/2022

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks good, fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Phil from Waller, TX on 8/5/2022

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One of the better install kits that I've used. It matches the care really well and looks like original factory equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Clinton

Jeffrey from Clinton on 6/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a 2003 Lexus Sc-430. This dash kit did not fit my car with the Alpine ILX-407 head unit supplied. . I had to grind down the edges of the trim so that my factory door would close over the trim. . Foam padding was needed to conceal a 1/4" gap between the faceplate and the radio. . In addition for all users. When battery saver mode was on in my phone, Bluetooth would not interact with the radio. Note that some users have not had the fit issues. If I was to do this all over again, I would have had Crutchfield do a search of the positive reviews and get the radio dimensions of the installations that were successful. With that information the correct size radio could be selected to match the trim pieces. I want to note that Crutchfield was supportive in resolving these issues , even sending extra pieces to me at no charge. However, this install took much longer than anticipated, and I was without my vehicle waiting for parts to arrive. This is a review of my experience with the head unit and trim pieces supplied. It is not a review of Crutchfield customer service.

Pros: Crutchfield was there to resolve my issues.

Cons: Total mis match of head unit to trim kit. Metra advertised this as a fit to my car. It obviously was not.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hawthorne, FL on 9/20/2021

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

a. It provided to be incompatible to keeping the original door with. b. Brackets are plastic, not metallic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks decent, kinda flimsy. Arrived with scratches.

Matt from LEXINGTON, KY on 7/24/2021

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to install a Sony XAV-5600 into my 2002 Lexus SC430. In the end, I was pleased, but could have been happier. I wanted to install the 'with factory door' option, but the screws from my radio and the screws from the metra kit were too short. The Lexus factory carrier has thick plastic bosses that add about 3mm to the depth. After trying to locate some longer screws, I eventually gave up and used the 'without door' option. Would have been nice to have longer ISO mounting screws included because anyone who uses this kit will have the same issue. The two black brackets are made out of plastic. They are not very stiff, but once you bolt them to the car they're sufficient. Just don't bolt them into the car too tightly. My biggest complaint is that the front face of the silver unit arrived with a few micro-scratches in the paint. I didn't want to slow down my install by shipping it back to Crutchfield and waiting for a replacement. In the end, it looks good, performs the function needed, and matches the rest of the Lexus trim above it.

Pros: Fits well. Matches Lexus trim paint perfectly.

Cons: Flimsy feeling during assembly. Needs longer ISO screws to mount to the radio for the "with factory door" option.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits perfectly!

Crutchfield customer from Cape Girardeau, MO on 6/27/2021

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once I called for help and found that the manufacturer had installed its own surround bezel (which made the radio too big) and removed it, the kit was perfect! It gave me the option to use or not use the trim door that came with the car. I like the trim so I usd it, but have kept the other in case I change my mind.

Pros:

Cons: Radio manufacturer installed a trim bezel that confused me for a bit. It'd be nice if it was removed before shipping - would have saved me an hour of trying to make it work with that bezel installed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ellicott City, MD on 6/19/2021

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great product..makes stereo looks like it came that way from the factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carmichael, CA on 11/28/2020

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fits my wife's 2002 sc430 perfectly. Included instruction were very precise and easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to install an aftermarket radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sc430

Crutchfield customer from Taunton, MA on 10/6/2020

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used this kit 3 times and works great to keep the factory radio door functioning

Pros: Works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit in my Lexus SC430

Crutchfield customer from Holland, MI on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lexus SC430 - Both setups (with and without the wooden radio cover door) worked flawlessly. Thank you!

Pros: Perfect fit, perfect match

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, TN on 7/19/2020

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

looks good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 5/30/2020

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Trim Kit for Lexus SC-430

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 4/24/2020

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks just like stock. Well made. Easy to insatll

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Winter Spgs, FL on 3/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The mounting kit worked perfectly and the trim matches matches well to brushed aluminum of the other factory trim.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/8/2019

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent. matches the original interior color perfectly!

Pros: perfect

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Lexus 2002 SC430 - perfect fit

Suzanne from Marietta, GA on 6/24/2018

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great Fit. Installed very easily and was a great fit for the Sony Android Auto head unit I installed.

Pros: Easy fit. Looks clean.

Cons: A little light on instructions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

GPS/Radio device.

Larry from Hot Springs Village, AR on 6/24/2017

2003 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product but needs some changes.

Pros: Good graphics, Uses Garmin database, Good sound and lots of features.

Cons: Cannot turn radio off without turning off GPS, Difficulty level of installation, small volume button, camera does not work while car is moving forward, a small gap on top of device after installation, and daytime glare as the screen cannot be tilted.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8161S Dash Kit

Tom from El Paso, TX on 10/24/2016

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good news is that it got the job done! Bad news is that it does not cover the top at the bottom perfectly and the screw holes needed to be modify slightly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made my Lexus dash work great and look good too

Brian F from Stone Ridge, NY on 1/29/2016

2002 Lexus SC430

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound