Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Fits select 2010-up Toyota 4-Runner vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Gloss Black)

MFR # 99-8227CHG

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Fits select 2010-up Toyota 4-Runner vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Gloss Black)

MFR # 99-8227CHG

20 reviews
View this product

Matches OEM color perfectly

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 12/26/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a little unsure of the color when ordering. The website says "gloss black" which is different than the stock TRD Pro/Premium dash kit in the 4Runner. I was pleased surprised when I received it and it matched my stock dash kit perfectly!!! The color is a perfect gun metal gray and looks identical to the rest of my stock interior pieces. With my new receiver, this makes the upgrade look OEM and definitely makes the interior of my 4Runner look much more modern. Highly recommend if replacing ur stock HU. Don't be nervous with the "gloss black" title on the website, it's a perfect OEM gray match.

Pros: Matches OEM dash kit perfectly!! Exact fitment with zero modifications needed. Price is pretty decent.

Cons: No real cons. Exactly what I wanted.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Looks Factory

Crutchfield customer from Erie, PA on 11/15/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice kit looks completely factory. Prefect color match and gloss.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Dash Kit for 4runner

Crutchfield customer from The Colony, TX on 11/9/2020

2014 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit looks amazing in my 2014 toyota 4runner. I looked at several reviews online and everybody suggested this kit over any other kit and they were right. I have the kenwood dmx1037s installed in it and it looks awesome. I can't thank Crutchfield enough.

Pros: Perfect fit Amazing finish

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Williamstown, WV on 10/26/2020

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the dash kit for my 4 Runner. The day it came before I could install it my daughter was in a wreck and totaled it. Crutchfield was very understanding and made sending kit back a breeze. Thank you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Paso Robles, CA on 10/10/2020

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this in a 2018 4Runner. Metallic charcoal paint matches oem perfectly. Top clips are a little loose compared to the oem panel. The oem panel has a total of 6 clips, whereas the Metra panel only has four. Installed this with the Kenwood DNR1007 which has an external display panel. When adjusting the display panel the Metra dash panel pulls out slightly at the top. Only slightly but definitely could be better. Probably not the best for head units with display panels given the added weight. Hopefully, Metra will fix this in the future to better accommodate these types of head units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great look

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 9/13/2020

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks just like the OEM dash. Easy to install. It is quite a change from the large bulky knobs on the OEM radio. A little too simple after having the OEM look but it just takes a little getting used to. I wish Crutchfield would let you swap it out in the bundle with a radio purchase. I had to buy the silver one in the bundle and buy the black version. Overall the look is awesome with the darker trim in the 4Runner.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 9/6/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit looks ok, but it isn't a precise fit. It is sprung out on the passenger side about a half inch and will not lay in tight. No one notices but me so it will be ok but I'd like it to be a better fit. I did not use the plastic mounts that came with it to hold the radio, I was able to use the metal mounting brackets that had been used with the OEM radio. I went with this kit because I wanted to keep the original black color of the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Color match!

Crutchfield customer from Lynnwood, WA on 7/26/2020

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you have a TRD Pro this matches the interior accents perfectly. It's a little less secure than the scosche dash kit but is overall better looking imo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 7/18/2020

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product I received it in a timely manner. Radio looks factory

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Skip the Scosche, buy the Metra!

William from SWAMPSCOTT, MA on 6/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I exchanged the silver Scosche TA2106B kit for this Metra kit. The fit/finish on this kit is way better in my opinion. The color doesn't match my interior like the silver Scosche kit, but Metra makes up by making a WAY BETTER product. It fits my Kenwood better than the Scosche kit, and the factory pieces adapt to it much better. The tiny vent control faceplates, and the top plate, everything just fits better. Super happy with it relative to the previous. Why only 4 stars? It is not as snug a fit on the left and right sides where it meets the dash. there's an obvious gap there that leaves room for improvement. The finisher plate is a bit fiddly, and I think it will rattle if left on its own. I will be installing 1/16" speaker foam to make it fit right, but that's not a big deal. I will be using the factory metal stereo mounts to hold this into place for a stronger, more secure hold on the Head Unit. The kit will just slide on top as a nice cover. I did use the two included "just in case" screws for the top black piece as they were smaller than the factory ones, and I didn't want to crack a post like with the Scosche. The screws were fine, no cracks.

Pros: Overall, fit my Kenwood DDIN better than Scosche. FIt and finish of factory parts to this aftermarket kit are better also.

Cons: It still has plastic stereo mounts like the Scosche! That's just plain silly. Anyone who installs a heavy metal block in their dash with plastic only is just asking for the stereo to be a projectile in a collision. If not, they're lucky. I'm not taking that chance.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Petaluma, CA on 5/19/2020

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect match to the interior on my '17 TRD Pro. Was able to easily modify it to fit with the Alpine Halo9 ILX-F309FRN.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kapolei, HI on 4/6/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was kinda confusing to put together without proper instructions, also it doesn't sit flush on my dash

Pros: Matches the original TRD PRO 4Runner OEM Dash with the metallic

Cons: It doesn't sit flush with the dash, when you push the dash kit in it pops out but it's still tight with the clips

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rio Hondo, TX on 2/23/2020

2019 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was a near perfect match and very good build quality. The contours match the interior. Got the job done.

Pros: Inexpensive Universal Matches interior

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality and matches factory dash.

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 2/8/2020

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, it was good quality and the color matched well with the black dash, down to the sparkle in the paint. I did have to file a couple spots to fit the double din brackets to give enough space for the stereo to fit. Instructions were missing to help with reusing the factory metal brace. I"m not sure if that was the intent but I did reuse the brace for durability and I just don't see how how the plastic would hold over time, especially when I go off-roading. Keep in mind that if you do use the factory metal brace from the original stereo (which I highly recommend), you will need to go get longer machine screws from your local hardware, fairly standard. I would recommend and wouldn't hesitate to buy again.

Pros: Keeps OEM look and fairly easy to install

Cons: Additional guidance on resuming factory brace.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Centennial, CO on 1/29/2020

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wish there was a less glossy finish option, and instructions were hard to follow... good thing Crutchfield was there to help!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Highly recommended.

Crutchfield customer from Georgetown, KY on 1/15/2020

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit in my 2016 Toyota 4Runner. Looks factory. Really glad I checked Cruthfield.

Pros: Perfect fit and finish

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/9/2019

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fits in the dash, but not snugly. The mounting bracket design is awful and isnt safe to hold the weight of a stereo during a car crash(the entire stereo is resting its weight on the plastic inserts instead of being screwed into the frame. luckily its very easy to reuse the factory metal mounting bracket and ditch metras. The color is a direct match to stock. I wish they would put plastic protection film on it, installs tend to get messy and its very easy to leave marks on the viewable surfaces. Despite all this, this is the only thing in carbon black on the market, so its the only choice right now.

Pros: works, and color matches

Cons: easy to scuff, doesnt fit snugly, and converts new head unit into a projectile in the event of a wreck.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Provo, UT on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This dash kit even has the metallic sparkle look of the factory original in my 2018 Toyota 4Runner. Very pleased with that. My only disappointment was that the mounting hardware for the radio is quite flimsy. Had to augment that a bit. But overall very pleased.

Pros: Color match is spot on.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Looks great

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, AL on 5/24/2019

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and paint matches perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8227CHG Dash Kit

Chris from Falls Church, VA on 5/21/2019

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, I'm pretty happy with the product but there are a couple things I didn't like. Firstly, the center 'bar' that is formed during the molding process was snapped on one side. Luckily I wasn't installing a single DIN setup, so it wasn't too big of a deal. Next, the fit in my 2017 4Runner isn't as good as stock. It fits tightly, which is great, but it seems that the left side is so tight that the molding around the HVAC controls are too tight to snap all the way into place. It's pretty close, but the fit could've been better. The finish/paint is a decent match to stock. In everyday situations I can't tell a notable difference there.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP