Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
Connect ID #
293 357 072 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

For simple questions about your order,
try our virtual agent:

We're sorry; chat is unavailable at this time.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Fits select 2002-06 Toyota Camry models — single- and double-DIN radios

MFR # 99-8231

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Fits select 2002-06 Toyota Camry models — single- and double-DIN radios

MFR # 99-8231

80 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sherwood, AR on 7/19/2020

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kula, HI on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bettendorf, IA on 12/27/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. 2005 toyota camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 11/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it works great easy instructions

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ashland, VA on 11/10/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazingly simple install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bermuda Dunes, CA on 10/28/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this on a '03 Toyota Camry XLE with stock JBL system (without navigation.) The install looks very clean with no gaps. I'm very pleased with this kit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Livonia, MI on 10/24/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Falmouth, MA on 10/14/2019

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect. Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A fit that needs more engineering

William from ANCHORAGE, AK on 9/8/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The part fits, somewhat. The top rear mounting holes line up, however, the arms of the item that reach to the car bolt holes need a notch in the arm to allow the holes to line up. The car has a rib that rides on the top ridge of the bracket that hits the mounting bracket. A relief has to be put into the arm so that the bolt plates sit flat, else the alignment it off and bolts cannot be seated 100%.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit

Crutchfield customer from New Britain, CT on 8/13/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tour fit left gaps that are very visible. Hard to adjust.

Pros: Works

Cons: doesn't fit very well

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carteret, NJ on 8/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good. Fits good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Evans, GA on 7/21/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks like it's always been there

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good fit

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 7/14/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well Did not use receiver factory faceplate post install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mira Loma, CA on 7/11/2019

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clean install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

thanh from Henrico, VA on 5/30/2019

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product excellent customer service #1

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lake Charles, LA on 4/14/2019

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installing radio a snap.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits.

Terry from Wathena, KS on 2/21/2019

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Somewhat flimsy but gets the job done. Make sure it is lined up correctly before installing the dash trim as this unit doesn't have exact mounting holes.

Pros: Gets the job done.

Cons: Flimsy and no screws holding it together if you go with a double DIN unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver kit

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality product.

Pros: Good product.

Cons: Can't tight it up too much or it doesn't fall in the right position.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 1/5/2019

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I needed to install my new radio. The tech support was GREAT>

Pros: Tech support was great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

Jim from Wyoming, MI on 1/1/2019

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed easily, fit perfectly

Pros: easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great sound.

Trevor from Richmond, TX on 11/18/2018

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit was a little off.

Pros:

Cons: It didn't fit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Install Kit

Chris from Sacramento. CA on 10/30/2018

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and easy to install. Looks good!

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Only one option. Would be nice to put the deck on the lower position.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Most good

Travis from Ponca City, OK on 9/20/2018

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was a perfect fit my for 2005 Toyota Camry, but the bezel has a bit of flimsiness to it. It looks great, just like a factory fit.

Pros: Gives a great factory look and makes it easy to install.

Cons: Has a flimsy feel when touched. Could be made to be more sturdy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Joey from Wewahitchka, FL on 7/18/2018

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made everything fit like a glove. Easy to put together in my 05 Camry

Pros: Easy

Cons: Plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 5/30/2018

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits in my 2004 Camry very well and matches the existing plastic that surrounds my old stereo.

Pros: Fit and ease of use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Working product

Devin from Chico, CA on 5/20/2018

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can't complain, took the first 2din stereo I've put in my car exactly we're it needed.to be. So, it worked

Pros: Fits, easy to install, nice finished look

Cons: Nithin

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 dash adapter

Ben from Nipomo, CA on 5/7/2018

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Metra 99-8231 replaces metal pieces in the dash, (on the sides of the stereo), with plastic pieces. They seem a bit flimsy, but you have to use them, because they hold the trim piece around the front of the stereo in place. I modified mine, so that I could use both the Metra plastic pieces and the original metal pieces. (it worked, is about all I can say).

Pros: Provide a means to put a trim piece around the front of the stereo.

Cons: Flimsy supports. Cut away most of the support plastic so that I could retain the original metal supports for the radio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Swanzey, NH on 5/6/2018

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Camp Hill, AL on 2/28/2018

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. fits just like a glove

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Urbana, IL on 2/11/2018

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Stephen from Waipahu, HI on 12/5/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and clean fit with my Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 11/25/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is an exact match for the new head unit, very pleased the way it looks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mountain Home, AR on 10/27/2017

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son installed this for me and it looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Tom from Athens, OH on 10/22/2017

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maker installation easy and clean.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Stillwater, MN on 10/2/2017

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my 03 Camry and looks ok too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Alan from Shingle Springs Ca on 9/17/2017

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great kit fits the unit perfectly

Pros: Great fit

Cons: Could be a little heaver plastic.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Indash Kit 03 Camry

Ulises from Upper Marlboro, MD on 7/13/2017

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fit like factory, easy to installed

Pros: Great product, no issues, it fit like factory

Cons: Plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Ronnie from Texas on 6/2/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit well but the bottom section is very thin and flimsy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

Ed from Elizabethtown, PA on 5/17/2017

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems flimsy at first, but, after attached to the radio, holds together OK. I did not need the pocket so I don't know how well it fits. Other reviews mention the lack of metal fasteners for the trim after removing the OEM radio bracket....I do not see this being an issue. Looks good in the dash and......its a great price!

Pros: Fits well

Cons: A little flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 4/27/2017

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quite disappointed in all of the aftermarket kits. My dash attached to the old radio no longer attaches, leaving multiple points not attached in my Camry. Going from a metal mount to a plastic bracket was very disappointing. I have looked everywhere and no one makes an OEM metal bracket that would attach to an aftermarket kit that looks halfway decent. At least it looks pretty good as long as you don't pull on the dash which unfortunately comes apart too easy now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Three stars only!

Ron from Haymarket, VA on 4/6/2017

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as designed, however, the fit is not perfect. Left a 1 mm gap which I had to cover up with other materials.

Pros: Price (when purchased with radio)

Cons: Poor Fit Not rigid enough--too much flex in key areas

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mediocre at best.

Heath from Temple, PA on 2/11/2017

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it needs to. Poorly.

Pros: It holds the head unit in place.

Cons: Cheap plastic, poor fit, can't put the pocket above the head unit so the unit sticks out and the pocket is recessed.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 12/17/2016

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks good after install in 2003 Toyota Camry. The only downside was the screws were difficult to screw into the side of the pioneer stereo I used with this product. I'm not sure if that was more of a problem with the deck than this kit, but it only slowed me down a little with the install. Overall very satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

DEEPDIVER from NEW ALBANY, MS on 9/26/2016

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent fit for my daughter's Camry. Looks GREAT!

Pros: Easily installed and perfect fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits

First timer from Manchester, NH on 7/28/2016

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits well and matches

Pros: Matches and fits well

Cons: Would prefer a metal bracket instead of plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great as usual

Straw_Yortum from Mount Pleasant, MI on 7/19/2016

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I even gave Crutchfield the wrong information about my factory radio and the kit still worked with only a tiny bit more work for me! Love how easy these kits and Crutchfield Advisors make the process. Admittedly, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed right at the start and my CA had me going in seconds. Great kit!

Pros: Ease of use, perfect compatibility

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent fit

Casey from Charlotte, NC on 5/13/2016

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit fit well in my dash and was easy to install. The fit and finish made the installation look great!

Pros:

Cons: The screws enclosed were not big enough for my receiver. A quick trip to my local hardware store fixed it. I'm sure you can't put every screw for every receiver on the market!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Michael from Houghton, MI on 4/12/2016

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit fit perfectly and was easy to install

Pros: Easy Fit

Cons: All Plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit Reviews

neilsito from Georgia on 11/18/2015

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

parts that were needed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

EZ

db from Maryland on 9/20/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too bad it's metal like back in the day. All in all, it does the job.

Pros: It does the job...

Cons: Plastic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flimsy but it works

Crutchfield customer from Pennsylvania on 9/4/2015

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The bezel was a little thin and doesn't fit very tight in the dash. But it does the job

Pros:

Cons: Plastic bezel too thin

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Jon from Atlanta on 8/30/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A bit flimsy, but looks nice once installed. Looks like it should last.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Florida on 8/18/2015

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flimsy cheap plastic

N/A from New Hampshire on 6/24/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash kit worked just fine, but the plastic is very thin and it leaves a small gap on the bottom. Also, Toyota had some very sturdy metal brackets off the factory radio, I wish they reused those. it would make it harder for someone to just come in and rip the unit out of the dash (cannot use the cage in this kit and you bolt flimsy plastic in)

Pros: Works

Cons: Not as flush as I would like, but cant complain about free. Small gap on the bottom. Wish they reused the sturdy metal brackets for better support and security.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fit perfectly

Wayne from Poplarville, MS on 5/31/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly in my 2005 Camry

Pros: Good fit, better quality than other brands tried.

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

ed. from Puerto Rico on 5/15/2015

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quedo de show Stay on show

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/19/2015
Translation provided by Crutchfield's International Sales & Support team.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks better than the factory housing

Crutchfield customer from Alaska on 5/5/2015

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I could have put the old housing back in, but this one just looked better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

MattN from Indiana on 4/28/2015

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a bit flimsy. The first one I received was actually broken, despite the fact that it was packaged very well. (Crutchfield shipped a replacement immediately) The plastic is just very thin. It does fit the dash well but as other's have noted, it does leave a bit of a gap at the bottom.

Pros: Fits well and allows for installation of both Single and Double DIN stereo

Cons: Light, thin plastic that will break easily

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Perfect fit from Arizona on 4/14/2015

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased this for 2006 camry. Easy to install and it is a perfect fit.

Pros: Fits as advertised.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Below expectations

Crutchfield customer from Colorado on 4/1/2015

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The mounting unit was flimsy, the instructions were incomplete and a pain to follow, and I was missing screws in my installation kit. Took me about an hour longer than it would have otherwise if the instructions had been a bit more precise. I'm not a car fanatic by any means but I was able to put this together with the help of two friends in about 2 hours.

Pros: Fits the size of my vehicle, looks pretty sharp when finished.

Cons: The mount and faceplates themselves are in fact very flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding product!

Robert I from Columbia, Missouri on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another great Metra product! Very well designed and extremely easy to use.

Pros: Superb design and fit.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Summers from Findlay, Ohio on 3/27/2015

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good, it was easy to install and fit great.

Pros: Easy install, good fit, and looks good

Cons: Not the best directions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works Well on 2004 Camry

Tcon from Georgia on 3/22/2015

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works well on a 2004 Camry. It doesn't fit exactly the same way as the stock radio the way it snaps into the OEM faceplate however once installed it looks good and works well.

Pros: Simple design, works well.

Cons: Not really a true con but doesn't fit the same way the OEM system does.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fit perfectly

Crutchfield customer from college station, tx on 3/10/2015

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The housing fit perfect And was easy to attach to both my car and radio. Absolutely loving it

Pros: Fit

Cons: Color (only available in black, I have a tan interior)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It does work.

Dalton from Knoxville TN on 12/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this install kit to put a double din receiver in a 2003 Toyota Camry. The kit worked just fine however, the attachment between the front panels and side were very loose and the overall strength and fit was much more flimsy that the factory steel brackets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Enough

WoodyY from Severna Park, MD on 10/24/2014

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward installation and looks pretty good. My only complaint is that the top and bottom lengths of the faceplate surround are pretty thin. My was broken when it arrived but once installed you can't even see the break.

Pros: Price Ease of Use

Cons: A little cheap looking Easily broken

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Receiver kit

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 10/2/2014

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Looks great in the dash

Pros: Easy to install. Looks great in the dash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job just right!

Jay from New jersey on 7/29/2014

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits dash just as you want it to be. Made my installation quick and easy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Dmatott from De Kalb Jct., NY on 7/4/2014

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's rather thin and leaves a gap on the bottom. But I don't have time to stare at it while driving and doesn't affect the unit so no biggie!

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: A little thin and gapped on bottom. Thought maybe put it upside down but I guess that just the way it is, I'll live with it!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Crutchfield customer from Valhalla, NY on 6/23/2014

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good kit. Worked perfectly with my Camrys dash.

Pros: Very good fit.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2003 Camry XLE - Easy install, Good Fit

OldMan from Tennessee on 5/31/2014

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to install a double DIN JVC receiver in a 2003 Camry XLE. It was a little difficult to clip the brackets on the front frame, but I figured it out. It was a perfect fit. The upper and lower "bars" are a little flimsy, but it will suffice. The quality of construction isn't as good as that of the radio rackets and bezel that was originally in the vehicle. The stereo and this bezel look very snazzy.

Pros: Good fit. Looks good. Relatively easy to install (except brackets).

Cons: Top and bottom pieces a little flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

Pete from San Bruno, CA on 5/15/2014

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice finish top the face plate

Pros: easy to install onto stereo unit,

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dash Kit

Kyle c from Louisville ky on 4/28/2014

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit looks good when installed but requires a little maneuvering to get it to sit just right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Kit.

GaryF from Albuquerque, New Mexico on 2/7/2014

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good enough to get the radio installed. But not outstanding.

Pros: Has all the parts you need. And with some extra work I was able to make an OEM looking install.

Cons: The brackets fit, but not perfect, and they were plastic. I am picky, but I commute in my car 50 miles a day, so I can't stare every morning at a radio that vibrates, is crooked, or does not look OEM. So I reused the Toyota (quality metal) brackets. Also, the mount screws were ~1/8" too short. I also had to grind off a little plastic to make the bezel fit. Fell short of my expectations, but not terrible.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Decent. Not perfect

Brian from Greenfield il. on 1/7/2014

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little flimsy around the bottom edge if the radio. It bows and you can see between it and the chassis of the radio. I can live with it but mg OCD is a little tuned into it

Pros: Ease of install

Cons: Flimsy in spots

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Radio install 2005 toyota camry

dh from ny on 1/6/2014

2005 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kit worked well but there was a little gap around the radio and the adapter, once the install was complete you could not see the gaps so I am happy with the overall purchase

Pros: price, ease of install. loved the free downloads on the actual installation.

Cons: be careful handling prior to installing into dash the top and bottom of the adapter are quite thin when installing a double din radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-8231 In-dash Receiver Kit

rawler150 from Central Ga on 12/31/2013

2002 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit was very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice look

Aftab from Chantilly, Va on 10/17/2013

2003 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great in dash!

Pros: Snug fit, blends in well with dash and factory controls

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

super easy

Jose M from Bayamon, PR on 10/17/2013

2004 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really easy to install.

Pros: Looks really nice.

Cons: Couldn't put the original cover of the radio.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Install kit

Daryl B. from Yakima, WA on 8/7/2013

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit matches the curvature of the dash fairly well, however there is a gap on the bottom, and at the top right corner. The bottom edge feels rather flimsy, and I was worried about it breaking. To the casual observer it doesn't look too bad, and it does allow you to put in a single or double DIN stereo. The factory original color is a bit off, but that is probably due to fading of the original dash.

Pros: Allows single or double DIN stereos, matches the curvature of the dash

Cons: gaps, flimsy plastic,

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP