Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Fits select 2004-09 Toyota Prius models — single-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 99-8240B

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Fits select 2004-09 Toyota Prius models — single-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 99-8240B

16 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Castro Valley, CA on 9/20/2020

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Generally worked. I did have a significant problem with the directions. The JVC stereo I purchased came with a trim piece attached to the perimeter. I did not understand I needed to remove this trim piece for things to fit right. I also didn't understand how the stereo and the box beneath it needed to align with each other for everything to fit. This added several hours and a long conversation with a technician.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/16/2020

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm, fits like oem only plastic and way lighter then metal 2007 Prius

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Port Orange, FL on 3/8/2020

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Dash kit is fine and fits car perfect, however the dash trim piece that wraps around the radio had to be extensively modified because the width of the radio was wider than the pocket, causing the dash trim piece to bow out beyond its position (I did remove the factory trim piece from the radio). Fortunately I had the time and tools to do it. In the end it turned out just fine. I used the Metra kits before and never had an issue, I guess there is a first for everything.

Pros: Easy kits to work with

Cons: Some modifications may have to be done based on your specific car and radio.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Blaine, WA on 2/22/2020

2006 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing a single din in a Prius GEN two, was a fairly all right fit, seems like very soft plastic, so be careful during install and with scratchy objects around it. But end result after some minor shimmying is pretty darn good. Can't complain.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Timberville, VA on 1/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works fine. It feels reasonably sturdy. If it was either a little glossier or heavily textured it could pass as factory.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but...

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 6/26/2019

2006 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works, but everything is manufactured just as cheaply as possible. Took some massaging to get a good fit and finish. Screws provided with radio did not work w/ this kit well.

Pros: Made installation possible.

Cons: Quality is on the edge.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-8240B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bryceville, FL on 3/27/2019

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and easy to install.

Pros: Perfect fit.

Cons: the plastic is a bit weaker than I would like.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing installation kit

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 12/20/2017

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is BY FAR the best dashboard installation kit we've ever used. We thought it would be hard to install but it was easy. Customer support was fantastic!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Dave from Chapel Hill, NC on 3/1/2017

2009 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Corrected operation of compartment door that did not work right with the way the previous aftermarket radio was installed.

Pros: Makes installation of aftermarket radio look like it was there originally. Plastic mounting brackets give a better fit than the original metal brackets.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Looks good, needed a little trimming

Piotr N from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 10/1/2016

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2007 Prius. It looks good with the rest of the dash. I had to cut off the lip on the tray for the bezel to fit in properly on the dash. Other than that, it worked well. The plastic brackets seem sturdy enough once everything is in place.

Pros: Bezel looks good, all hardware included

Cons: Tray didn't fit until modified

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit!

Alex from Baltimore, MD on 7/3/2016

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit and function, and the best price online, with awesome shipping.

Pros: -Fit perfectly and securely Price Ease of use Matched car interior

Cons: Had to purchase additional mounting hardware. ($3.00)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not see the resistor in pack, was not marked or packaged visabilit

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 4/19/2016

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fact that the resistor was not seen or any instructions relating to installation caused a major redo of installation and an over night rental of car.

Pros:

Cons: Resistor needs to be flagged and identified better.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works

KevinK from California on 1/17/2016

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit worked well for me. As others have said, the construction is somewhat flimsy, and it looks as if I could have simply reused the original Prius metal brackets. I wish Crutchfield had explained that there is another installation option that doesn't require this kit. You can install the new single-DIN radio in the cubbyhole under the stock radio and leave the stock radio in place (inactivated). Some people call this a "stealth install" because from the outside, the car will look as if it has just the stock radio, reducing the risk of theft.

Pros: Fit perfectly as long as I left the manufacturer trim off the radio.

Cons: The 68 Ohm resistor is crucial and hard to install. I had to solder in the car - something all the other Metra harnesses are designed to avoid. Isn't it possible to spend $0.10 in plastic to build an adapter plug that contains this resistor? In my case, it could have been integrated into the harness for the AXXESS-SW1 steering wheel control adapter that connects to the same connector.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

missing parts, bad fit, so-so quality

heyzarling from Hustisford, WI on 8/11/2014

2005 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If there were a 1.5 star I'd choose it; 2 would be too generous. My unopened bag did not contain some pretty critical parts; was supposed to come with a 68 ohm resistor, which was necessary to retain really all of the display functions on my Toyota Prius (you have to solder this in so the car 'sees' resistance similar to factory radio, cause if it doesn't, you lose climate controls, other monitor/display info...which I did lose). So a trip to the store to buy 5 of them, only a couple bucks, but time and gas to get there, then pull the dash apart again to install. I'll assume that whatever little bag was missing would have also included dash clips, and also screws to hold the spacer/compartment gadget. I had a couple screws that fit okay. The brackets themselves...very flexible, pretty flimsy plastic, but holes lined up and they worked fine. However, the little dash piece that shows is not at all a good fit on this 2005, anyway. When I have more time maybe I'll try and carefully shave it to make it fit better. Overall, for the price, I would absolutely expect everything to be included, and really to fit perfectly. This can't be more than $5 in stuff, including what was missing.

Pros: Made it work.

Cons: Missing parts. Iffy quality. Exposed dash piece fits poorly.

Crutchfield response on 8/13/2014
After seeing this review, we are examining these kits to make sure they really do include all the parts the manufacturer says they do. The one we looked at when we first started carrying them certainly contained all the pieces. Hopefully this was just the bad apple in the barrel of kits. If any of our current stock is also missing the hardware, then we'll contact Metra to get those items.

1 of 1 found this helpful

2007 prius single den Metra kit

vuong from Philadelphia, PA on 4/26/2014

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It came with everything I needed, no hidden secondary, sold separately parts. The factory bracket that holds the radio and den is metal, Metra was a flimsy plastic. I'm actually surpassed it didn't break. The facade wasn't a perfect fit. I used a dremel to shave off a large chunk. Even after that it still wasn't a perfect fit. At the end, there was a cm gap from the Metra facade and the upper middle console.

Pros: Color looks close to factory. Complete kit. Decent price. Simple install.

Cons: Flimsy bracket. Not a perfect fit, requires shaving.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Decent Kit

Busmonkey from Southern MD on 3/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good kit, but had some fitment issues. I had to cut most of the flange off the pocket to make it fit, but the end result is good. Material is good, not great, and there is a very minor finish problem with my kit--not a big deal, but certainly not perfect. The Prius instrument panel was designed to be sleek and smooth; installing an aftermarket unit is not going to work with that look, unless you go with the stealth install, which I didn't. This kit will get you pretty close.

Pros: Easy to install, decent quality and looks.

Cons: Overall quality is decent, but probably doesn't match your car's OEM or the quality of your head unit.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP