Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
Connect ID #
360 363 812 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-8271S Dash Kit

Fits select Toyota 4Runner vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-8271S

Metra 99-8271S Dash Kit

Metra 99-8271S Dash Kit

Fits select Toyota 4Runner vehicles — single- and double-DIN radios (Silver)

MFR # 99-8271S

17 reviews
View this product

Hazard Switch 2021 4Runner will not fit

Mark from Tulsa, OK on 1/23/2023

2021 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Dating back to 11/22/2022 reviews in this post state this kit will not work with 2021 4RUNNER and here Crutchfield still selling them. Update: I tryed this past weekend 1/22/23 and the emergency button STILL WILL NOT FIT. The facing button side will work but the back end poking through the hole is too big vs square hole of kit too small. So with dash torn apart and my OEM out of dash (sadly) i was forced to use drummel to carve bigger hole. Pray that it works. Very frustrating.....

Pros: Exterior looks good and fit perfectly.

Cons: Hazard switch 2021 4RUNNER is too big for this kit. You will need to modify it.

Crutchfield response on 1/24/2023
Mark contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice finish

Melissa from COLORADO SPGS, CO on 1/10/2023

2015 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really like the finish on this dash kit. I have a silver factory and this dark grey looks great with it. The only small issue that I ran into was that the clips on the back did not hold very well. I was able to correct this by simply applying Scoche fabric tape over them to increase the holding power. At first, I was confused by the fact that this kit does not include a trim ring for the stereo unit itself (like the old model); however, it fit perfectly and looks like an oem upgrade!

Pros: Very nice finish, Matches black and grey 4Runner interior, Easy to understand instructions

Cons: Edges at tray were rough, Could not smooth edges due to painted finish, slight figment issues with clips.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield customer from Big Sky, MT on 11/4/2022

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The product looks good, I'm a really big fan of the black, but overall it sucks. The fit is another level of terrible. Everytime I take the dash apart, I have to spend over an hour fine tuning the bolts on it so that it will somewhat fit. If you enjoy your mental health, I'm begging you to never think about purchasing this thing.like ever. Absolutely horrible design.

Pros: Literally none

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/10/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Adam, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hazard Button Issue!

Butch from Roanoke, TX on 10/28/2022

2021 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not fit 2021 4Runner! Received my products and noticed that the hazard button assembly on this kit does not fit the newer 2021 -2022 hazard button assemblies that Toyota is now placing on the 4 Runners (see photos). Called Crutchfield Tech support on two occasions and they were as baffled by this as I was. Apparently, they haven't seen very many 2021 or newer 4 Runner installs to overcome this issue. Per my advisor's advice, I did review Metra's website and it appears that Metra has started adding a new hazard button housing to this kit to solve this problem (see photo). However, the kit that was sent to me by Crutchfield must not have been one of Metra's updated kits to solve this problem.

Pros:

Cons: Hazard Button assembly on kit does not fit newer (2021 +) 4 Runner Hazard Buttons

Crutchfield response on 11/22/2022
Butch, we're sorry about the issues with the hazard button assembly for your 4Runner. Our Vehicle Integration Mastermind and Buyer, Darren, caught up with Metra to track down the new assembly that this customer mentioned. Metra confirmed that there is a new assembly for newer Toyotas, and they will soon update our current inventory with this new part. We're also going to reach out to this customer and send him this new housing to hopefully complete the installation. We really appreciate this customer's feedback, so we can fix the issue for everyone.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finish is good but fit is terrible

John from Port Saint Lucie, FL on 10/9/2022

2018 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

May try to find something else. The color is good and matches factory however the mount isn't right for some reason. Made all kinds of adjustments multiple times and it has gaps all around the screen and I cannot get it centered.

Pros: Color matches factory

Cons: Fit around radio is horrible. Tried to remove and redo fit 6 times and the screen does not fit well in the cut out.

Crutchfield response on 10/11/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to John to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Henry from Ayer, MA on 8/31/2022

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice product.

Pros: Clean look

Cons: Wish it was available in different colors

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Carl from Lexington, KY on 8/31/2022

2013 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's truly incredible how fast we got our order and how well everything looks and functions..... thanks again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ronnie from Melbourne, FL on 8/19/2022

2022 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

2022 4Runner, Hazard light button does not fit into this Dash it. You will have to cut and shape the plastic yourself to get it to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/22/2022
Ronnie contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Aaron from Westminster, MD on 7/2/2022

2016 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The default install stuff that Crutchfield had recommended was a Scoshe Dash Kit in silver. I really preferred black and found this from Metra. It looks great! The brackets that came with it are plastic and they do seem flimsy, but once installed all the way it is very solid. You would not know plastic brackets were holding it. The fit is very solid.

Pros: Great fit and great looks

Cons: Now I want to paint the rest of the silver trim black to match - none.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Functional Enough

Ernesto from HOPEWELL, VA on 6/25/2022

2022 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Item itself is functional enough. The biggest issue with this is the housing for the hazard light - it does not fit '21 and '22 4runners. I called and spoke to Metra and they only have confirmed fits for up to 2020. I'm not sure if it's due to my receiver (Kenwood DMX1057XR) or not, but the 4 corners of the dash kit, sit in place OK enough, but it doesn't snap into place like I'd hope. I'm keeping the kit since I don't really have any other option, but I have to custom shape the hazard light housing so that my hazard light button fits into it.

Pros: It serves it's purpose well enough

Cons: - Harzard light housing doesn't fit newer models of 4runners - In my case, the kit does not snap into place and is securely held into place

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Brandon from Portland, OR on 6/14/2022

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to upgrade my stereo for a long time but held off because the dash kits available didn't match my interior color. This kit matches perfectly and looks great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Henry from Kingwood, TX on 5/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Cleaned up the dash quite a bit compared to OE. Good fit, finish is a perfect match to original. Wish the tabs were metal as my HeadUnit could only be mounted by these without slightly widening the front opening which I didnt want to do. Its sturdy as is but would be more so if they were metal. OE tabs could be reused (2019 4Runner) but new holes for the screws into the stereo would need to be made.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly recommend

Elvis from Manchester, CT on 5/14/2022

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect fit and color for my 2017 4Runner, and exactly the right opening for the Pioneer head unit. Looks like the car came with it. Very easy to switch over vents etc and clip in. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Luis from Tucson, AZ on 4/25/2022

1997 Nissan Hardbody

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice looking and very good fitment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty Good

Matt from Keller, TX on 4/22/2022

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The color is almost an exact match for my 2017 4Runner. It feels fairly sturdy, even though the baskets are plastic. That being said, metal brackets would have been way better! No concerns about this thing moving around while going off-road though. All in all, it's a pretty good dash kit if you have a 4Runner with this color interior trim.

Pros: Color Feels pretty solid Attaches securely

Cons: With the bracket that mounts the radio was metal and not plastic

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Bad Fit

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 1/2/2022

2021 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

while it looks oem, there are several issues. The hazard light does not fit properly because the provided adapter is too small. The provided clips are not secure and do not allow the dash kit to sit securely. The provided screws to fasten the vent controls are too big and do not work. Overall, this product is a terrible fit.

Pros: Looks Oem

Cons: Bad Fitment

Crutchfield response on 1/4/2022
We're sorry you're having issues with your kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Looks good

Crutchfield customer from Perry, GA on 11/21/2021

2017 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It fits perfectly. It looks good too.

Pros: Fits and looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound