Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Universal Underdash Kit

Put a new stereo into your hard-to-fit vehicle!

MFR # 99-9000

Universal Underdash Kit

Universal Underdash Kit

Put a new stereo into your hard-to-fit vehicle!

MFR # 99-9000

45 reviews
View this product

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very good .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 12/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bay boat install

Crutchfield customer from Boaz, AL on 10/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just what I was looking for to install new radio in my center console in bay boat dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but needs improved

Dale from WASHINGTON, IN on 9/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not well designed, you may wat to cut-out the back of the box so RCA cables and other wires don't get pressed and ruined at the back of the box.

Pros: Works

Cons: Needs bigger cutout at back for wires and cables too not get pressed and ruined.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tim

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exellent Product , was able to locate my stereo in a good location

Pros: Exellent Product

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect for custom install

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 7/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I didn't even know these existed, until I was looking around on the Crutchfield website. This is a great product for doing a custom install. I wanted to put some tunes in my old beater-truck, this product solved all my problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Guest from Willows, CA on 7/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's so amazing and simple this underdash kit can be to to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Detroit, MI on 6/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good housing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good unit

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, KY on 5/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needs to be a little bit deeper, with a std cable from the radio, there isn't much room behind the radio for all the wires. Otherwise what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Queensbury, NY on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is just what i was looking for to mount a deck in my 71 chevelle!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Taneytown, MD on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was EXACTLY what we needed. The customer wanted to keep the stock radio in the original place but wanted to upgrade to a newer unit. This allowed us to tuck it under the dash in a easy location. As always, you guys have what we need and at a good price. Thanks!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hayward, WI on 4/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to mount stereo in glove box of 2019 Ranger XP1000. Worked like a charm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fitting product

Crutchfield customer from Waller, TX on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fitting product, used in my camper to moint a radio below an upper cabinet.

Pros: As advertised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Yarnell, AZ on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for mounting the stereo in the race trailer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great mounting solution!

MountainMan from So. Cal Mountaind on 2/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to mount a car stereo under my workbench. I found both the stereo and under dash mounting kit right here at Crutchfield. Both arrived quickly as promisef.

Pros: Sturdy, well made.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great, looks good

Ken from Eugene, OR on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This universal underdash kit was exactly what I needed to install a Kenwood digital media receiver in my 67 Chevelle Malibu. I wanted something that would look good in a custom classic car and this fits the bill. Very well contructed, and looks great in my car. Also very reasonably priced.

Pros: A great way to mount an aftermarket stereo in my classic car.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Crutchfield customer from The Villages, FL on 12/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Couldn't use as I needed to fasten it to the bottom not the top of the chassis. I't's being put into a golf cart. There is no top to the chassis.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Very good looking unit

Dennis from Cedar Rapids, IA on 10/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a nice looking unit and works well. I would buy again.

Pros: Looks good and works well

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Under dash Install

Jay from Mineral Point, WI on 7/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The box is sturdy enough to securely house your receiver and mounts easily. I enlarged one of the rear access holes (easy with a Dremel tool) so that I could complete the wiring to the receiver pigtail prior to mounting the housing. After that, attached it to the underside of my dash, slipped the receiver through the front opening, fed the pigtail and antena lead and tunes!

Pros: Exactly as advertised - easy to machine as needed - sturdy construction.

Cons: Box was deeper than required for the model receiver that I selected. May cause clearance issues in some applications.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect Fit and looks nice

Edward from Bowie, MD on 5/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed an Alpine unit on Memorial Day in the glove compartment of my 57 Dodge D100 pick up via the under-dash kit, which I trimmed. I was tickled pink with myself and how good the unit within the under-dash kit looks. I am very pleased with the outcome.

Pros: Sturdy material; has a nice non-cheap look about it too.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Glove box mounting option

Bob from Tennessee on 2/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to mount a Kenwood head unit in my 70 GTO's glove box. I trimmed the back of the unit off so I could have an open back to route my RCA cables out of the glove box. I bolted the kit to the top of the glove box, pulled my wires thru, popped the head unit in and bam, rockin out to some 1970's tunes.

Pros: Inexpensive, super easy to mount a single DIN head unit in this.

Cons: None I can think of. A little hard to trim off the back side, but a jig saw does the trick.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

works

Crutchfield customer from Buena Park, CA on 1/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bought this for a custom mounting of a marine head unit under the front seat of a '68 impala. I cut the heck out of it to make fit. bought this knowing I was going to do this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Under-dash Mount a Perfect Fit for My '66 Valiant

Kyler from Kingston, Wa on 4/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My car still has the factory AM radio in good working order, and I didn't want to damage the history of the car by removing that and cutting holes in the dash. What I did instead was install this under dash mount and it could not work better. It fits perfectly between the folding ashtray (which I use for gas receipts, not ashes) and the glove-box lid. The dimensions were perfect for my car, the construction is sturdy plastic that does not feel cheap, and the radio fit could not be better. It also looks good with the black finish. I recommend this for any project that does not have a direct fit application.

Pros: -Great fit -Good looking -Dash saver -Quality construction

Cons: -none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

heywood from Florida on 1/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros: universal

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly as stated

TomC from Derby, Ks on 11/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This universal mount came exactly as stated, nothing more or less. I used it for a stereo change I my T@B teardrop trailer and it worked perfectly.

Pros: Easy to use and modify if needed.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Toy Hauler Conversion

sumbuddie from California on 11/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a Kenwood with no where to place it. This product offered a box to put it in. While slightly larger to accommodate different sized radio systems the Kenwood had side screw knobs to install the adjust and take up the space in the install situation as you are dealing with some thing more like a custom build. Here is a video of the finished job so you see what it looks like where i used it, all plugged in with the radio and speaker wire welded in.

Pros: Sturdy plastic with properly placed cutouts for the necessary wires.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Serves it's prupose

Chris from Texas on 10/1/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This underdash mount was very handy when it came to installing a radio in the glovebox of my 1964 Grand Prix. I had to cut a little off the rear of the case to fit inside the dash and clear the blower box, but overall it worked well and looks much better than an exposed radio case.

Pros: Cheap when bought with a radio or other equipment (50% off)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Will from Colorado on 9/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit worked out great for my use. I used it in my workshop on the rafters...it"s at a level that is easy to get to, but out of the way of the work area. The kit made it look like a craftsman did it.

Pros: Nice looks and easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy Install

mick from Illinois on 8/4/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits great in my 40 Plymouth

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

As Advertised

Kgk from Cooperstown ny on 4/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Can was advertised.

Pros: Functional. Simple to customize and install.

Cons: ABS plastic do not super strong. I reinforced before final installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

universal under dash kit

86K10 from redding, ca on 12/26/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made with many installation configurations, I couldn't get it to fit under my dash as I had the 4x4 shifter and the c.b. radio in the way. I have a cloth type dash and I velcroed it right on top of the dash! Works great easy access and low enough not to interfere with my vision.

Pros: Many possibilities of installing in different places, also you can trim the back half off for clearance issues.

Cons: No attachment hardware included.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worked well in my boat.

Dave G from Cincinnati on 8/21/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Encloses the entire in-dash unit and mounts easily under the main console of the boat. It is a no frills product that did exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Under Dash Box That Did The Trick

Mike S. from Fayetteville, NC on 5/23/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Universal Underdash Kit was included as a no-charge accessory with my purchase, primarily because I asked for it and because no wiring harness adapter is available for my vehicle (1969 Chevrolet Caprice).

Pros: Mounting holes are plentiful. Mounting screws included in kit.

Cons: None, this kit did what I needed it to do, hold my new Head Unit under the dash.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Easy Installation

Deuce from North Central NC on 1/7/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made installation under the dash of a '62 Valiant very easy for our 15 year old son.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

RC from Brea California on 6/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product made the installation really easy

Pros:

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Convienence!

EagleRego from Aiken, SC29803 on 6/21/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you require something CLEAN, NEAT and APPEALING to put your new stereo in and the location you are placing it in (Car, Boat or RV etc.) this is what you need. Makes the stereo look like a factory installation.

Pros: Simple, makes it look like a factory install.

Cons: 1 color, Black

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

K. M

Liz from Charleston, SC on 5/27/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned and exchanged for in dash mounting system. Seemed like it would work well though.

Pros: None

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

works great

JM from Lakeville, MN on 5/1/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unique Install

Mike from Zimmerman, MN on 2/13/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this underdash kit to house a Dual XML8150 in the rear of my 2008 Ford E350 which is converted into a motocross bike race bike hauler. The mount is located directly under a shelf unit on the partition wall. Worked perfect!

Pros: Good fit and finish and looks to be durable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Made installation a breeze

Tim N. from Manning SC on 4/3/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to install receiver in my '57 Chevy, looks great without cutting up dash . Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Tent Trailer

Guest from Califorina on 6/17/2010

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to install a stereo in the tent trailer so we could remove the I pods from the kids ears and we could enjoy music together. It had enough room behind the stereo to hide all the wires and made for a nice clean install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worked Great

Joe from Wisconsin on 3/15/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did just what I needed it to do. Mounted a car stereo under a shelf in the maintenance shop at work. Added a 12 volt 5 amp power supply for portable coolers. Added a pair of home speakers and a car antenna, nice durable NEAT looking shop radio. The kit worked flawlessly, no troubles. In the end it looks and works great. Thanks for another great product, Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Steve from Millersview, Texas on 9/6/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit worked perfectly...Used it to mount a din radio in a farm tractor that had an old-style shaft radio long since deceased...Shaft style radios are almost impossible to find...Found this unit and decided to give it a try...Unit is sturdy and fit my new radio perfectly...I'm now in the modern world!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Marine Installation

Sebastian from San Francisco Bay, CA on 9/19/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just used this under dash kit to install a marine stereo in my sailboat. It fit well, offered a secure, protected mount and everything went as planned. Best of all, it was offered free of charge by Crutchfield, with my stereo and speakers. Only comment - I wish it had been available in white.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

Universal Underdash Kit

Bronco1967 from Washington State on 7/22/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter lets you put the latest tunes in your classic ride. I didn't have to hack my dash to install a DIN mount receiver. I was able to keep the stock radio in its stock location, for maximum classic resale value, not that I would ever part with my Bronco. This kit makes a good, clean, mount. Easy to paint to match your interior too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

78 of 96 found this helpful

TOP