Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Fits in select 1998-2008 Volkswagen Beetle models — single-DIN radios

MFR # 99-9008

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Fits in select 1998-2008 Volkswagen Beetle models — single-DIN radios

MFR # 99-9008

79 reviews
View this product

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Festus, MO on 8/26/2020

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made the upgrade look like a professional did it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Newark, OH on 6/10/2020

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

absolutely the easiest install ever!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, PA on 5/6/2020

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros: Nice Quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 3/24/2020

2007 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect all the parts were there

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Midland, MI on 2/11/2020

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were unclear as to which pieces went together.

Pros: Complete kit

Cons: Instructions not for beginners

Crutchfield response on 2/12/2020
We're sorry you had problems with your kit. If you need our help, please just reach out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 12/9/2019

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

??

Crutchfield customer from Great Falls, MT on 11/12/2019

2007 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit was awesome. Fit and looks great. Not sure what I would have done without it.

Pros: Easy to use. Great fit.

Cons: Directions a little vague on how you attach it to the car. More pictures of that step would be great.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lincoln, RI on 10/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap plastic components. Deck did not sit properly inside trim. I had to cut it apart to get radio to sit in bracket. Just floated end pieces in to cover screw holes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 6/23/2019

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Brockton, MA on 12/27/2018

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit dash perfit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great dash kit

Ralph from Blanchard, ND on 12/9/2018

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well, everything there was what I needed.

Pros: Easy to use.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job, not the best looking

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 10/14/2018

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is not the best looking dash kit in the world, however with the shape of the New Beetle dash your choices are limited. The kit overall does do the job and comes with 2 types of mounting options, ISO & ISO Din. I chose the ISO Din because I felt it was the better looking of the 2 choices. The big issue with this kit is that when I detached the stereo faceplate, I could not get the faceplate back on without first removing the kits trim piece, putting the faceplate back on, and the reinstalling the kits trim piece.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 8/30/2018

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trim plate is ok can be a little better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Brandon from Van Buren, AR on 7/8/2018

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great on a 2002 Beetle.

Pros: Easy install Looks great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Daniel from Phx on 10/22/2017

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Christa from Fairfield, Va on 7/30/2017

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my Bugglet !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kalamazoo, MI on 7/19/2017

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty good fit, not sure how it will hold up over time....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Sheraine from Nashville, TN on 6/25/2017

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap very flimsy but it works

Pros: It was free

Cons: Flimsy and vague instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 3/27/2017

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as prescribed, easy to use as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad Fit

Russell M. from Terrytown. LA on 12/31/2016

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't a very good fit. Retaining tabs on one side broke while trying to remove stereo housing. I have never had an issue with any other Metra product. This particular dash kit for an 02 VW Beetle was the worst fit I've ever seen. Secured the stereo in the opening in the car. Only time will tell if it starts falling apart. Everything from Crutchfield was great as usual.

Pros: Free with stereo purchase

Cons: Fit or lack of fit!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 12/11/2016

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly. Looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/8/2016

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item makes the radio install easy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Ellwood City, PA on 11/28/2016

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The end result is good, finish looks great. The available mounting depth makes me wish I had cut the wires shorter from harness to radio and now that its all snapped into place, I will most likely have to break it to get it out to clean up the wires if I need to do so...hope one doesn't short out!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Fit!

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 11/22/2016

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Installation was simple and the fit was perfect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Kingsport, TN on 10/13/2016

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a perfect fit, but close enough that I certainly wont complain. Wish the 'black' plastic was closer in color.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Greeley, KS on 10/5/2016

2005 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Trim

SkyKing56 from Ft Worth, TX on 6/17/2016

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice trim piece Easy to install, if you read the directions, lol. Looks good!

Pros: Easy install.

Cons: There are 2 install options to choose from. The trim piece I used, had locking tabs that were recessed. It appears, that once locked into place, it will be difficult to remove. It also restricts access to the face plate removal button. Hopefully, I wont damage anything if I ever have to remove the radio. I kept the other configuration option trim pcs, just in case.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit correctly

Larry from Prather, CA on 4/10/2016

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit correctly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/11/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, especially a situation like this, please contact our customer service or tech support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem and get the stereo installed and working! Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Chris from cabot, AR on 1/27/2016

2009 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good. A little difficult to get apart.

Pros: Fits great.

Cons: Difficult to get apart

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Iowa on 1/15/2016

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly.

Pros: Fit

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

works great

Dave from Ohio on 12/29/2015

2010 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great OEM Look

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 11/20/2015

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing - perfect match for Beetle with Monsoon

Pros: Great Fit

Cons: Tight Fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worled well

EW from Georgia on 10/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked without a problem. Good instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fits Like A Glove

Joseph P. from Oswego, NY on 9/28/2015

2007 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit works as advertised. It looks good and installation was simple. I used the one that replaces the face plate that comes with the radio I bought and it looks slick.

Pros: * Good instructions * Easy to install * Looks great

Cons: * None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

TJM from Alabama on 9/6/2015

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

perfect fit

Pros: Looks good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pretty Good Adapter

DaveD from Missouri on 8/14/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An adapter kit that's easy to figure-out and install is always good and this is no exception. I'd rate 5 stars except for one issue - the head unit depth is a little too deep within the adapter. As a result, the button that releases the detachable face on my head unit is difficult to press. I can't get my finger in there at all & have to use the car key to remove the face of the head unit.

Pros: Simple, Easy, Attractive

Cons: Head Unit Depth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Heather

Heather from Cheyenne, WY on 7/27/2015

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this when I replaced the stereo on my 2002 VW beetle. This dash kit really dressed it up and made it look like a factory install. Very pleased with the kit!

Pros: Looks professional!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked great.

Faul713 from Arizona on 5/5/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used it in a 2005 New Beetle. Fit was snug and precise. It is holding the new JVC tightly and rattle free.

Pros: Fits great, looks great and it holds great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect

joe from New York on 5/2/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

finished the install nicely

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very Useful

Sherry from Huntsville, Alabama on 4/13/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Came in very handy

Pros: came in very handy trying to finish up the install.

Cons: Not all pieces fit. Kind of a pain trying to figure out which one to use

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

VWbugger from Wyoming on 4/5/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed and fit flawlessly

Pros: Great item with multiple options

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great fit

RDW from Indiana on 3/29/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used with a new Kenwood radio and it made the installation in my 2000 New Beetle a breeze.

Pros: Multiple options for different radios.Nice design and fit.

Cons: Little bit of mold flash that I had to trim before the radio would fit nicely. Not a big deal.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Typical Kit

Becks from Missouri on 3/29/2015

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job, not much to say about it really.

Pros: Typical installl kit flimsy pieces to attach your fancy radio too.

Cons: kind of flimsy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Arkansas on 3/21/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Dewayne from Alabama on 2/14/2015

2004 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

good fit good match on color and texture of car.

Pros: more than one option to fit.

Cons: keys at bottom of radio head unit behind lip.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Face plate VW beetle

CHalloran from Schenectady new york on 1/25/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice that it is for both my receiver and my model car.

Pros: Its flush.. It fits nicely

Cons: Holy cow, I wasn't sure what went where or how or why.. The directions were kind of confusing. I had to use the original allenkey bolts that held my old fave platebin because the screws were to small. I got it don't though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vw beetle radio upgrade!!

Crutchfield customer from Bellflower, CA on 1/23/2015

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, easy to install pretty straight forward!!!

Pros: It fits right in without any retrofitting

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

kenny from North Carolina on 1/8/2015

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to install perfect fit

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Item

Phil from Hebron, IN on 12/30/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did as described!! Provides a custom finished look to an aftermarket radio install.

Pros: Looks great. Easy to use.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from big sandy, tx on 12/28/2014

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy installation with a perfect fit and factory look

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2001 Beetle Radio replacement

Manny from Lubbock, Tx on 10/23/2014

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only one faceplate was needed. the fit wasnt very good. Some filing was necessary to fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra dash kit

Rod from East Millinocket, Me on 9/6/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly!.Thank you Crutchfield for looking for products that fit with no modifications. This item made the installation a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

georgia d from gettysburg pa. on 8/22/2014

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked very well and easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

VW Bug In-dash receiver kit

Daric from Tucson, AZ on 7/24/2014

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with the overall kit. Everything fit nicely. It took a little figuring out (you're offered a choice as to how you want the final result to look), but end then end, it helps mitigate a very rectangular stereo in a rounded dash.

Pros: Easy. Matches dash.

Cons: Plastic was a little flimsy until installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice Looking!

Lisa from Lebanon, OR on 7/24/2014

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great in my VW bug!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Most Excellent for New Beetle

Factotum from Wichita, KS on 6/26/2014

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit made the radio install go really well, and the radio looks good in the VW New Beetle dash.

Pros: Well designed for this application.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect fit

timha from Greenville , Ohio on 5/11/2014

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit follows the contour of the dash

Pros: Nice design fits snug into the opening, follows the contour of the dash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Makes the Pioneer radio look great in our 05 New Beetle

N5JJR from Ponca City, OK on 4/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I opted for the no trim ring installation option. After I installed it, I could not get the front panel of the Pioneer DEH-X7500HD to come off. Now I cannot get the face to come off the radio. It looks like it needs to slide a little to the right but it hits the trim piece and won't move enough to come off. It pops out about 10 or 15 degrees and won't come out any further. I am working with Crutchfield about this. Until I get it resolved, I don't think I can get the radio out without destroying the trim ring and I can't get the face off for security purposes.

Pros: Good installation and makes the radio look right at home in our 05 New Beetle.

Cons: See my review. A note in the instructions about this might make people opt to install with the trim ring and avoid the problem all together.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beetle Receiver kit

Crutchfield customer from pompano beach, fla on 3/3/2014

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a champ, easily installed and fits great.

Pros: Works like a champ, easily installed and fits great.

Cons: Nothing bad to say

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

fits perfectly

Angel from Maui,HI on 2/13/2014

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fits into my 2002 VW Beetle perfectly

Pros: easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

vw radio install

keith from Athens, Tn. on 1/26/2014

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I needed to install new radio properly and easily.

Pros: Fit multiple models of dashes. Simple and practical.

Cons: They didn't send someone to install it for me! Lol!!! No cons from this customer!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, LA on 1/25/2014

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easiest install ever !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Marty from Norman, OK on 1/21/2014

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is really two kits in one. You can decide which way looks better with your stereo and give the other pieces to a friend. The instructions that come in the package are a little unclear, but there are very few pieces so it isn't very difficult to figure out without them. And really, there aren't a lot of choices when it comes to mounting an after-market radio in a Beetle, so passing on this one would mean a LOT of custom work, and that just doesn't make sense for a daily-driver.

Pros: Looks reasonably good in the dash. "2 for 1" kit has different mounting options.

Cons: Manufacturer's instructions could be better.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

98 Beetle install

98 Beetle install from Whidbey Island, WA on 10/20/2013

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Its nice to find a the right kit for an older install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Many pieces but just what I needed

Chachi007 from Midwest, Il on 8/25/2013

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit had the parts I needed but, wasn't really sure which ones to use. I did figure it out. Looks almost like it belongs..

Pros: Blends in well, tech service is top notch!

Cons: Could've included screws, a little clearer instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volkswagen In-dash Receiver Kit

MikeR from Baton Rouge, LA on 4/25/2013

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad way to install an after market stereo.

Pros: Good final look

Cons: Requires some patience to fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Volkswagen In-dash Receiver Kit

John from Vermilion Ohio on 4/6/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great look, easy to install

Pros: looks great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good fit

LairK from San Clemente, CA on 2/14/2013

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fit, easy to install.

Pros: Simple and clean.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent Kit

1trkpny from Salt Lake City, UT on 1/13/2013

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly. Good fit and looks great. Gives a great oem-like look.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

This could be made better.

MarkZoso from Staren Island New York on 11/20/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not made well.

Pros: It was free.

Cons: It's easy to break. Not strong enough and does not sit perfectly in place.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

dash kit

JackL from Alton,IL on 7/21/2012

2000 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This install and dash kit was the best I ever used.So easy and with a factory fit.Looks great.

Pros: Great instructions and fit.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dam ,WI 53916 on 3/4/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product is easy to use looks like factory install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Bill from Florence, MS on 8/19/2010

1999 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were clear. Looks great with the Clarion CZ-500. No gaps as mentioned by others. The New Beetle has an oval opening for the stereo and I was concerned it wouldn't fit correctly. I shouldn't have worried. It fits perfectly. Plus, it came free with the stereo! Thanks Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9008 Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 3/13/2010

2006 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits good, looks good. Yes, there is a gap at the bottom of the new head unit and it sticks out at the top, but the Bug's dash is such a weirdo shape that there would be no way possible to get anything other than a stock OEM unit to fit correctly. This kit does fill in the holes and it looks as good as it can.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The fit was perfect!!!!

DAVID from So Cal on 1/19/2010

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions were clear........fit couldn't be better............resulting in super dashboard esthetics that was included in the price!!!!! How can you beat that????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

tight fit

Glenn from Hickory,NC on 1/31/2009

2002 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this kit fits tight and looks good when finished, makes installing radio very easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works, but that's about it

manutius from Baltimore, MD on 1/28/2009

1998 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'd agree with the previous reviewers comments. This kit is not very aesthetically pleasing at all, and it's very amateurish looking. I was very disappointed once it was installed. Everything else I have purchased from Crutchfield, up to this, has been great so I was expecting a higher quality item.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

gets the job done

Philip from Dallas on 10/4/2006

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The factory radio has 3 dimesional curves. Any Sony, Kenwood, ALpine, etc radio has a flat face. This kit permits those models to fit into my VW Beetle, unfortunately it is not asthetically pleasing. It will be clearly obvious that you put in a new radio. With this kit, I have an overhang over the radio and a gap below the radio. I have put Crutchfield radios/kits in 5 other cars and have been totally pleased. I was NOT with this kit. I would be willing to spend more money to install a better one, but have not found one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 17 found this helpful

Fits the rounded shape of the dash!

Adam from Clemmons, NC on 11/3/2005

2001 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted to use my Sony radio and keep the Monsoon amps active and still maintain the "rounded" dash that is in the VW Beetle. This did a great job! I love it and I love Crutchfield! It is an amazing radio now! Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 12 found this helpful

TOP