Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
Connect ID #
434 093 043 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Fits select 2001-04 Volvo S60 and V70 models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 99-9229G

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Fits select 2001-04 Volvo S60 and V70 models — double-DIN radios

MFR # 99-9229G

30 reviews
View this product

Very poor fit

Crutchfield customer from Alta, CA on 8/16/2020

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I knew the color didn't match, as 2004 is an old 1 color year. But the fit is absolutely awful. First, there is no way to set a double din radio flush with the front of the panel for a smooth clean finish. As built, the double din unit had to sit behind the panel making an ugly recessed install with odd gaps around it. Had to trim it to make a nice flush fit. Then the dash fit. Talk about poor. The gaps around the sides I can excuse, but the factory radio is responsible for holding the top of the climate module in place. This kit does not have any true provision to hold the top of the climate module in place, so the top of it slides in and out as you drive. Factory radio had clips that positively held the climate module in place. There really isn't another option for the p2 Volvo's, so expect to have to do some serious modification to get a clean install.

Pros: It does hold a radio in the dash

Cons: Very poor fit. Extensive modifications needed for a clean install.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Hartford, CT on 7/8/2020

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We will see

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Volvo V70XC

Crutchfield customer from Federal Heights, CO on 9/12/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It holds the radio, and looks like crap.

Pros: It holds the radio

Cons: It's fitment is crap. Dashboard trim doesn't fit with the headunit's trim on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Towanda, PA on 6/27/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros: Matches great

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great dash kit

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 6/14/2019

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best dash kit I've seen for Volvo's. No cutting required and it matches the dash.

Pros: Matches and fits great

Cons: No storage

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well/Looks nice

Crutchfield customer from Reading, PA on 5/8/2019

2001 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to install an aftermarket unit in my 2001 Volvo S60. It fits very well, and it looks nice when installed. It is a similar color to the rest of the dash, so it looks like it belongs. You will lose the pocket on the left side that is part of the original Volvo radio, but the pocket that comes with this kit makes up for that loss nicely. The frame is plastic, but it is sturdy enough. Crutchfield tech support was super helpful. The first head unit I tried was a Dual, and it didn't quite fit. I had to shave some of the plastic case of the head unit to make it fit. Crutchfield told me to go ahead and do what I needed to make it fit. Because the Dual's AM/FM reception stunk, I actually returned the Dual for a Sony. Crutchfield took back the modified Dual with no questions. This is the place to buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, CA on 3/17/2019

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well made, fits perfect and looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

John from Wauwatosa, WI on 3/12/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the trick. Its not the most sturdy piece. There is still a small but noticeable gap that cant be eliminated which is disappointing.

Pros: color is good. Easy install

Cons: a little flimsy. still a gap..

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Payson, UT on 1/22/2019

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't fit perfectly, the screw holes for the radio adapter we're about a half inch too high. Easily fixed with a few minutes and a razor blade however. Everything else is great, the trim matched perfectly with the stock trim.

Pros: Works

Cons: Slightly off screw holes

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 1/12/2019

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Frame is a little flimsy. Otherwise good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Grosse Pointe, MI on 12/13/2018

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Customer service is good, but the color is WAY OFF. I still installed it and will have to deal with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Lake Zurich , IL on 8/9/2018

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a nice piece, but the directions could have been a bit more complete. I lost one of the clips in the dash because it didn't show how to put them on. Still works and looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Shepherd from Belmont, CA on 3/24/2018

2002 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kit made install a breeze! Fit and match is about as near perfect to the existing Volvo console as you can get. Love it!

Pros: Very good fit and color match to the existing console pieces.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Rustburg, VA on 3/21/2018

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kit fit well but wash missing hardware,

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Is Metra cheapening out?

Richard from Manassas, VA on 1/22/2018

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not as great as previous install kits. Lost a cubbey hole when I used this with a double-DIN stereo - there was plenty of room. Gap remained at top and bottom of stereo face - unusual for METRA. Tabs on METRA did not securely lock into radio trim ring. Bottom of metra face plate did not lock in correctly with top of AC control plate. Too tight and seam wants to kick forward, out into the passenger compartment. Plastic was much thinner than what I remembered from other Metra installs. My install was Sony and Metra into a 2003 Volvo S60.

Pros: it worked

Cons: flimsy, gaps,, not a solid fit into dash opening.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from New Washington, IN on 11/28/2017

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Alworkedbas it should from Smithfield, RI on 11/25/2017

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Fit Perfectly

Lee from FL on 9/4/2017

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great in dash

Pros: Great fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Garry from Euless, TX on 6/2/2017

2004 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would not not pay full price for this. Probably worth the bundled price. The color is a very poor match for any model year Volvo I've seen. The fit around the Pioneer FH-X731BT 2 DIN face plate is very sloppy with a 1/8" dirt trap gap around its edges. Seemed secure after installed, but rattled on anything other than a smooth road until I added weatherstrip a few internal mounting surfaces.

Pros: Cheap, holds the stereo, covers the dash.

Cons: Bad color match. Sloppy fit.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Decent

Keltom from Orem, UT on 5/5/2017

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was alright, it's a different color and it left a little space above the receiver I got. But all in all it fits so I'm happy

Pros: Fits

Cons: Different color, some space left above the receiver

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Volvo Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 4/2/2017

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well........it's in and working fine BUT. the color was way wrong, so I painted it. The opening for a din2 (standard??)radio had to be trimmed so that the radio fit in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the Job

Crutchfield customer from Denver, CO on 2/27/2017

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Color is lighter than the climate control panel beneath it (2004 XC70). Not a snug fit, but good enough. Instructions were not 100% accurate but I figured it out easily enough.

Pros: Inexpensive solution

Cons: Color slightly off and fit is not as tight as original

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Tim from Dover, NH on 1/17/2017

2002 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit

Pros: Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9229G Dash Kit

Emil from Millburn, NJ on 12/30/2016

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised, easy install instructions. Visually, it's a 90% perfect fit with the rest of the dash; the color is indistinguishable but the beveling is slightly different. But the Pioneer system I replaced the OEM radio with looks so much more out of place that it's hard to notice ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy install

S.Moller from Chesterfield, VA on 8/28/2016

2002 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, Looks factory Org.

Pros: Easy to install, Very detailed instrucktions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

At least the color matches

Chris G from Ballston Spa, NY on 7/23/2016

2001 Volvo V70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit is easy to install but it takes some extra fitting to really make it work in a Volvo dash. The specs are a little off so the trim tends to not fit very tight. Easy to fit though with some extra padding and work.

Pros: -perfect color match -nice material

Cons: -poor specs size wise

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wrong color

Brandt from Brooklyn, NY on 7/9/2016

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As far as fit and ease of use, this dash kit worked perfectly with the double din unit that I bought. I had read previous reviews before purchasing that this fit well but was the wrong color, but extensive searches for anyone else offering a black faceplate for these purposes turned up very few to no options. Any that I did find were much higher priced that this kit, and had no reviews as to the fit, etc. Having this available from Crutchfield made purchase and installation seamless. For the price, there was no question whether to buy this paired with the head unit. The color (gray) is off from the all black plastic, but no so much that it looks terrible. Most people don't even notice. The installation was simple, and the fit is good enough to make the radio look good in the dash, however the clips aren't very strong, and the reveal around the stereo face is a bit wider and not quite as flush as I wish it could be. The way the whole kit fits into the dash is not entirely snug, and doesn't make the edge where it meets air conditioning components seamless. Also, it's loose enough that when you push on the face plate or the air conditioner controls, it pushes into the dash a bit. I wish it were firmer.

Pros: Easy purchase. Simple installation.

Cons: Wrong color. Flimsy.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer stereo

Chris from Albuquerque, NM on 7/1/2016

2003 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo and installation kit worked perfect. The installation kit fit just right, I was impressed with how close the color matched my dash. The sound is amazing.

Pros: Installation and wiring kit made this so easy and clean!!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

color doesn't even remotely match

2004VolvoWagon from North Hollywood, CA on 5/12/2016

2004 Volvo XC70

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything about it is great except that it's grey and all my other interior stuff is black. I was so nervous about installing the radio correctly I didn't notice until I was putting everything back together at the end that the new giant radio panel cover is noticeably different in color. And not just a shade but a completely different color. I talked to a Crutchfield rep and they said that piece only comes in grey and not black. I feel like that's information that they should've provided me prior to the purchase. Much like it would've been nice to know I would lose the center dash speaker and my steering wheel controls. So if you care about the stuff matching, watch out.

Pros: it all does the job

Cons: panel cover a different color (and was not warned)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Did the job!

Adam L. from Wisconsin on 1/11/2016

2004 Volvo S60

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought just a cheap double din radio with Bluetooth so i could stream my music without cords in my 2004 Volvo S60. This mount and beauty plate worked after just a little bit of trimming so i could fit the cover over the head deck. I didn't realize that the plastic was gray not black; but, it still looks splendid after a little tinkering.

Pros:

Cons: Beauty plate didn't fit over the head deck i chose. A little filing around the edges took care of that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

TOP