Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Fits select 1997-2004 Porsche Boxster models — double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 99-9605B

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Fits select 1997-2004 Porsche Boxster models — double-DIN radios (Matte Black)

MFR # 99-9605B

42 reviews
View this product

Boxster Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Billerica, MA on 1/24/2021

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am never a fan of plastic housings and supports, but this unit worked very well in my 2002 Boxster. The fit was tight and I needed to remove the old metal radio bracket to get a proper fit. The final install looks factory and I am very pleased with the results.

Pros: Easy to put together, factory look.

Cons: Fit was tight, needed to remove the old radio retainer.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 1/11/2021

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple and easy to use.

Pros: Fitment

Cons: Finish does not match Porsche 996 interior

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Brainer

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/8/2020

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This made the installation nice and clean for my 2001 Porsche 911 Cabrio

Pros: the look is especially clean and the installation was simple the only thing I recommend is that you need to cut away a little more than the instructions suggest at the top of the opening but it works perfectly.

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

97 porsche boxter

Mark from Livonia, MI on 10/19/2020

1997 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome fit for my 97 boxter. Went back together like factory parts would

Pros: Awesome dash kit. Installed many different stereos with many different dash kits and this is the best fit ever

Cons: Not really a con with the proper tools but there are 2 tabs you have to shave by the top of the radio frame that is not listed in the instructions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 10/14/2020

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Gave us enough options to install a double din into a 99 porsche carrera. Relocated the climate controls. Perfect fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Gig Harbor, WA on 9/30/2020

1999 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit great. As always nothing is exactly perfect but was able to make it work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/29/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit is a little awkward. Parts bow a little aren't completely flat or straight. It's not super noticeable but I'm a perfectionist. Color and texture match are pretty good as other reviewers have states.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, IN on 9/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy for plug and play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Dunmore, PA on 9/20/2020

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this kit, makes my radio look like it came with my car

Pros: Nice finish

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect, after a little trim

William from Albuquerque, NM on 8/6/2020

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 1999 911 Coupe. Like some others, I ran into a problem with the frame clamp where the bottom of the clamp interfered with the metal tray in the car. But it's an easy fix. I used a Zona saw to trim the clamp by about 3/16" as shown in my photos. You could also do this with a file. Once trimmed, the unit slid right in to the frame and it looks great. The trim color matches the Porsche trim perfectly. I highly recommend this kit if you are prepared for a small modification in case you have trouble like some of us did.

Pros: Looks great. Color matches perfectly. Well designed and rugged - nothing cheap about it.

Cons: The clamp might require a little trim at the bottom. This information should be in the instructions or at least on Crutchfield's web page.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Pinole, CA on 7/21/2020

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solidly made and works nicely; good fit for '99 Carrera at least.

Pros:

Cons: I wish the lower unit, which houses the climate controls, was mechanically attached to the console, but once the knee bolster / side pieces are snapped into place there is no play nor wiggle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good quality, great looking install parts.

Crutchfield customer from Northfield, OH on 7/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These installation products are very good. When finished, they look like a factory install. However, for the install in my 2002 Boxster S, I had to do a couple of modifications. The plastic box that holds the unit, that makes it look like a factory install, was just slightly too tight for the Kenwood unit. I had to force it in, and that caused the single CD slot to deform. I figured out that I had to grind off a very slight projection on each side of the Kenwood unit to make it fit properly. Then there are 2 u-shaped pieces, shown above left in the photo, that go around the Kenwood unit and screw together. That holds the unit in place.....however, when I put it together, it wouldn't fit in the car. I had to cut the bottom off of the u-shaped pieces and find another way to keep the pieces in place. Once I did that, it was a very easy install. I am very, very pleased with the look of the unit in my car. Just saying, you have to be prepared to do some modification.

Pros: Great looking, well made parts,

Cons: Had to do modifications to get it to fit my car.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No

Crutchfield customer from Bismarck, AR on 5/10/2020

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit this car without serious modifications to the kit itself. Must be a better choice.

Pros: Color match is good. Radio fits in kit fine.

Cons: Kit is to big for the opening and must be cut and screws moved to a different location. Some might not be able to figure this out. Must be a better choice out there.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Little Rock, AR on 2/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 2/9/2020

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This kit worked perfectly for my 2001 Porsche Boxster S. The fit looks amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

996 Double Din Head Unit Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, WA on 2/2/2020

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit worked great. Everything fit the new double din head unit great. The only problem was the HVAC unit that was required to be moved to the lower level location would not slide completely into place. I determined that the ridges near the rear of the HVAC unit had to be ground down slightly to allow clearance to slide completely flush. There were no indications in the instructions that this would be required.

Pros: All parts were included. I did not have to acquire anything beyond this kit to install the head unit (XAV AX1000).

Cons: Lack of instruction that the HVAC control unit would require that the ridges at the top rear of the control unit would require grinding to allow clearance to be fully installed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Fairfax, VA on 12/24/2019

1997 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Highlands, NJ on 11/3/2019

2002 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even though when you go on Crutchfield it says not compatible with Porsche 996 models it is compatible and looks great. A few irreversible modifications are needed but after it's installed everything looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OEM look and fit

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 10/25/2019

2002 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits like OEM parts, and the texture of the plastic even matches

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Beaverton, OR on 9/3/2019

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great. Instructions were not the best, but once installed it looked amazing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Alviso, CA on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tight fit in Boxster console. Looks nice once you wedge it in.

Pros: Looks pretty good.

Cons: Difficult to fit into the upper center console of my '01 Boxster.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, TN on 5/15/2019

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave this a five star rating because everything was exactly what was needed to complete my install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 3/23/2019

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfectly and looks like an OEM install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

David from Olive Branch, MS on 2/3/2019

2003 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I put this dash kit in my 2003 Porsche Boxster. It isn't a perfect fit that I hoped for. The radio has a little bit of wabble instead of fitting snuggly. The lower adapter for the climate controls on the other hand has a good fit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from San Marcos, CA on 12/31/2018

2002 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The dash kit was great and fit perfectly. Worth every penny.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Prescott, AZ on 12/24/2018

2002 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit the 2002 Porsche 911.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

jim from Orange, CA on 12/9/2018

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Buffalo, MO on 11/27/2018

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this to install a Sony XAV-AV5000 in my 2002 Porsche Boxster. This is a double din radio going into the single din dash location. This kit makes it very easy to install. Very good directions for the most part. Everything worked perfect on the install until I went to slide the unit into the dash. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because, as you can see from the picture #1, there is a widening of the locking band for the screws to hold it together on both the top and bottom. This sticks down into the way of a steel plate that runs through the bottom of the Boxster dash, as seen in picture #2. The solution arrived at, after consulting with Crutchfield tech support, was to remove the screw areas so the band was same height, as in picture #3, then use a long (36") hose clamp around the whole band to secure the locking band on the radio. Picture #4 shows the band loosely installed, then #5 & #6 show it tightened. With the band secured, it easily slid into the dash and picture #7 shows it installed. Overall, it was very good fit and easy to do, except for the band part. I still highly recommend it as anyone who is doing this install themselves should be able to make the slight modification. Would really be nice if the manufacturer would make the modification themselves.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Thomas Hillebrand from Houston, TX on 10/30/2018

2001 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't have installed my new head unit without it. It is a great fit and I wouldn't hesitate to use it again in the future. The instructions are fairly good, just be smart and read through before you start cutting anything. I've never worked on anything in my 911 or replaced a stereo and it worked first time, you can do it too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit

Diana from Ponce, PR on 9/23/2018

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit. Looks like factory installation.

Pros: Looks perfect on my car. Perfect fit

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Sammamish, WA on 7/26/2018

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Part needed for installation, could not have install into my Porsche without it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Woodbridge, VA on 7/13/2018

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit in my 2002 Boxster. Even the texture of the plastic matches the OEM plastics around the radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Tim from Bowling Green, KY on 4/18/2018

2003 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything fits like a glove, although the harness bit is kinda weird. I couldn't finish the install due to a wiring screw up (no fiber optic adapters) but all the parts and pieces fit like gloves. Looks good on the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excelllent value.

David from Cambria, CA on 2/11/2018

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is an excellent value. It is very well thought out and engineered. The parts basically fit well in my Porsche Boxster and made the transition from a single din to double din tolerable. The challenge for the kit is to fit a large variety of head units. In the case of my head unit, a Pioneer, it was necessary to use a dremel to modify some of the parts. The modifications were by and large minor. That is the only reason I gave four rather than five stars. It is really five stars for value. I would do it again with the understanding that some thinking about and modification too the parts may be necessary.

Pros: value; well engineered

Cons: some minor modifications with a grinder, file or dremel may be necessary depending on your head unit.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Steve from Pooler, GA on 1/8/2018

2001 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product just what I needed to mount the double Din radio in my 2001 Porsche Boxster did require some modifications for my installation I was aware of this going into my project

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 1/1/2018

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Trimm matches porsche 996 dark perfectly, but had several shortcomings. Trim is too tight, needed to shave material to make it fit right. Mounting screws was barely long enough to work. Support bracket also needed to be modified in order to fit porsche 996.

Pros:

Cons: Had to shave material to make the trim piece for. Screw were too short. Support brackets did not work in the car without significant modification.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 10/14/2017

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

In order to get the unit to slide into the dash opening, I had to cut off the bottom part of the "locking wrap" The main piece fit well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Carlton, GA on 9/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Naugatuck, CT on 9/1/2017

1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some trimming necessary, but a good product, especially for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles Ca on 4/30/2017

1998 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was good just had to make a few modifications only cuz the double din I got was little bigger.. make sure u do you research before you buy one or the other ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

easy installation

Ben from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 4/29/2017

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product. fits well and and made the installation of the Blauplunkt San Antonio 640 radio in my Boxster an easy install. looks stock.

Pros: Excellent product

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra 99-9605B Dash Kit

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 4/25/2017

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and look professional.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP