Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

1-in/3-out Toslink optical digital audio splitter

MFR # AS-1X3TSPLIT

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

1-in/3-out Toslink optical digital audio splitter

MFR # AS-1X3TSPLIT

58 reviews
View this product

Works perfect.

Crutchfield customer from Byron Center, MI on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, works great. Completely satisfied with this product, problem solved!

Pros: Great sound, easy set up.

Cons: Does not make coffee.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Hit or Miss

Crutchfield customer from Farmingville, NY on 2/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The first one arrived, and didn't work at all. The replacement that I received is working perfectly...hence my 3 star rating. The one that works is a 5. On a separate note...Crutchfield Customer Service, once again, was great. I try to buy all of my electronic equipment from them, as they support what they sell. As important, you don't have to go through 30 minutes of chat bots and holding to get someone who is empowered to help. Kudos to them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Anna, IL on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as promised. Easy setup.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from S Ozone Park, NY on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Item works flawlessly as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

The right soultion

Crutchfield customer from Princeton, MA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect combination to the RS 175 headphones for listening to TV through the headphones while others in the room and hear the TV through the TV speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as Designed

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 12/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pricey but it works.

Pros: - 3 Outputs - Compact Design

Cons: - High Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good product...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Audio fiberoptic splitter. 1 input/ 3 outputs

Crutchfield customer from South Lyon, MI on 12/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product! Worked as perfectly as I had hoped

Pros: No cons for this product. Works great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 11/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product but there is a slight skew between the three channels

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Port Richey, FL on 10/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work properly. Did not realize at first that this device required power supply of its own. Power supply is under the item and its paper platform, in the box. Found it after going through things a second time. Once set up, it performs as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Belle Vernon, PA on 7/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great no problems

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Highland, IN on 5/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well. The power cord is not 45" as stated in the ad, but about 30". If working in tight spots, cord length matters, but I got it connected. The device is very light, my connecting optical cords keep it from moving.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Scott from Lawton, OK on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as planned. Split optical signal from TV to sound bar for day to day listening, but also to my KEF LSX for music and streaming concerts. Easy to set up and seems to work great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Doug's review

Crutchfield customer from Townsend, DE on 5/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great connected tv optical audio output to a Klipsch sound bar and also to my Yamaha S801 integrated amp witch is about 25 feet away with no signal issues

Pros: Easy to use No signal loss for long run of a toslink cable

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Gainesville, FL on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Small, simple, inexpensive and it works Able to add wife's hearing and my new Bose wireless head phones to the TV audio options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the job

John from Stroudsburg, PA on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great, I bought this to be able to use two sound bars at the same time with one tv and it works fine.

Pros: Cheap very small

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Burke, VA on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It just works. A great feature is that it has an ac adaptor to plug into the wall. Seems like it has more power than the ones that plug into the USB on the tv.

Pros: great product.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Grants Pass, OR on 2/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THIS SOLVED MY MULTIBLE COMPONENT PROBLEM WITHOUT LOSS OF SOUND QUALITY

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works so far

Ray from Carlsbad, CA on 12/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

4 stars only because first one was defective right out of the box--would not work unless constantly jiggling the cable at the input port. 2nd one, with the same cable, seems to work perfectly. Crutchfield customer service was 5 star! I did not have to return defective item and a replacement was sent immediately. I am using this to split the optical sound from a TV to a sound bar and to Sennheiser RS185 headphones. So far so good. I had tried a cheaper one that was not powered and it did not work at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from North, SC on 12/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Optical audio tv signal splitter

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 11/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly to split tv optical out signal to enable use of sound bar plus Sennheiser wireless earphones, also from Crutchfield. All working flawlessly.

Pros: None

Cons: Price and advice are great.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Signal degradation

Crutchfield customer from Bayside, WI on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Need to split an optical audio signal to two fairly hi-res devices. Unfortunately, splitting the signal using this device resulted in static on both ends. I put it in a drawer.

Pros:

Cons: Signal strength is not maintained upon splitting. Probably ok for devices requiring low-res signals. Not good enough for devices that need full output.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Sioux Falls, SD on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. Connected to sound bar and headphones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Deerfield, MI on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 11/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly. Small, well made and comes with the power supply. Chose this unit after checking Amazon items. At least one unit there was about the same price, but the fine print indicated a power supply had to purchased separately. I have always had great success with Crutchfield, both in products and technical help. This item did not disappoint.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Like a Charm

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesvle, VA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product performed well at splitting the optical signal for use with two peripheral devices.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice unit

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

One in and three out. Works as expected. Great price.

Pros: one input and three outputs

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem solved

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good. Solved a problem of running a sound bar and headphones off the tv optical

Pros: Multiple outputs from one inp

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Again, this device is exactly what I need to get the job done! I told my advisor that I knew Crutchfield would have the answer to my dilemma of connecting old equipment with more modern equivalents! Thanks!!

Pros: Works flawlessly!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Optical Splitter

Crutchfield customer from Burleson, TX on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well designed toslink optical splitter. Easy setup. Plus 3 outputs.

Pros: Good compact design. 3 optical outputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Splitter died after 5 months

Philip from West Linn on 5/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product worked perfectly for 5 months, and then stopped working completely. It is not returnable. There is no warranty. I have to buy a new one now- from someone else as Crutchfield does not support this product

Pros:

Cons: Unreliable

Crutchfield response on 5/21/2019
After receiving Philip's feedback, we looked up his order and found that his splitter is still under warranty. While his order is beyond Crutchfield's 60-day return policy, he can contact Metra at 800-253-8324 for further information about the 1-year warranty on this splitter.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Little Product

Donna from Rosemount, MN on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well made connector. Works as advertised. Provides high quality optical signal.

Pros: Well made. High quality optical signal.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This splinter is exactly what I needed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Super splitter

Crutchfield customer from Stamford, CT on 2/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great gadget to provide access to TV, Sound Bar and head Phones for our new flat screen TV system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Kenneth from Watertown, CT on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well as expected>

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from Greensburg, PA on 1/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works.

Crutchfield customer from West Linn, OR on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works. It replaced one that didn't work. Haven't a component that works makes a difference

Pros: It works

Cons: Probably more expensive than alternatives at other vendors, but perhaps the other alternatives don't work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Jim from Avon, NY on 1/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for adding surround sound headphones to my home theater system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ITS THE SERVICE AND THE GREAT PRODUCT

IRV from Las Cruces, NM on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

NOT ENTERING THIS TO REVIEW THE PRODUCT. I'M REVIEWING CRUTCHFIELD CUSTOMER SERVICE WHICH IS THE BEST AROUND. PRODUCTS PURCHASED HAVE A GREAT 60 DAY RETURN POLICY. PRICES ARE COMPETITIVE AND IN SOME CASES BEAT AMAZON, ETC. HAVING YOUR OWN CRUTCHFIELD ADVISOR WHO GIVES VALID AND RELIABLE PRODUCT INFORMATION IS A MAJOR, MAJOR PLUS.

Pros: PRODUCT PRICES, CUSTOMER SERVICE

Cons: NONE AT THIS POINT

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Service and quality

Robert from Saint Ignatius, MT on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I rated both the product and Crutchfield by giving them both FIVE stars. Both performed as I hoped they would, really, what more could you ask for, both exemplified quality and service and no, I do not work for either, I'm saying it like it is.

Pros: Simple enough, the company and the product both represent quality both exceeded expectations and I thought the price was fair.

Cons: Can not think of any.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Vakus

Kenneth from Moline, IL on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked as advertised. Capably splits an optical signal and the power assist keeps the signal strong. Ordering was a pleasure. The assistant was knowledgeable and very customer oriented.

Pros: Works flawlessly. Good value.

Cons: Could use a longer power cord.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Barry from Fuquay Varina, NC on 12/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect. Great with new TVs that have no rca plugs

Pros: Plug and play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Mckinney, TX on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a splitter for Def-Tech W Studio Micro soundbar and Sennheiser RS185 headphones. After some quick research saw there were a number of options available . Well worth the price! This is a powered splitter and the benefits to that are worth the money to me for sure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good piece

Den from New Hudson, MI on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I tried a couple different "splitters" from big box stores. The labeling for them was vague and they were cheap enough to take a chance. Both failed to produce any usable output signal. Waste of time. The Metra I got from Crutchfield worked perfectly and delivery was quick. Just another example of "you get what you pay for".

Pros: Simple setup, feels like quality

Cons: -

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great solution

Robert B. from Sarasota, FL on 10/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great little appliance. Splits the optical signal from the TV perfectly to power the soundbar, headphones and a hearing aid transmitter. Never knew you could split an optical output. Well made.

Pros: Well made, works great, Cost effective

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does what it's supposed to

Mike from Sierra Vista, AZ on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised w/o signal loss. I wish it had an off on switch , don't like the idea of electronics being left on 24-7. I put it on it's own strip protector with a toggle switch I can shut off. Product appears to be well made

Pros: See comments

Cons: See comments

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality splitter

Joe from Buford, GA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first splitter to purchase came from a different online retailer. It was cheaply made and lasted 2 months. The Metra splitter is a world of difference in quality. I installed it in 2 minutes. The splitter works great and now I can easily listen to my Bose sound system on my TV and get very clear sound privately from my headphones.

Pros: Small in size and high quality. No distortion.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Boerne, TX on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little jewel works great. So easy to hook up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

John from Nottingham, MD on 6/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The optical splitter works perfectly! We used it to connect our Samsgung TV to both a sound bar and a bluetooth transmitter for our wireless earbuds. The splitter allows us to use the sound bar and the earbuds simultaneously without any degradation of sound quality. Well worth the price!

Pros: Small footprint Easy to set up

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Mirage, CA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Aspen, CO on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up, well built, solid

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Sam 12 from Chaptico, MD on 2/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, no power loss to either lines

Pros: Small, powerful, easy to use

Cons: A little pricey

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 1/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This item has helped us a lot. Now we don't need to disconnect our sound bar to connect the headset that we purchased form Crutchfield. Which was another great investment. Thank you Crutchfield for always being so helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Digital audio splitter

Stephen from Twin Falls, ID on 1/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product will split your digital audio output into two audio streams to provide audio to two separate systems and amplify that output so that each system sees equal input as if the stream had not been split. It is simple to install and works as advertised.

Pros: Works as advertised and expected

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Does what it says

Wayne from Gilford, NH on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had it for a couple of weeks... Works as described, splits digital audio without any noticeable degradation.

Pros: Plug-and-play

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal AS-1X3TSPLIT

Crutchfield customer from Culver, OR on 12/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it is working ok. I have my amp and tv ears hook up to it and all is good. Think you for your helping on finding it I like it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as described

Rick from Saline, MI on 10/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Successfully used to interface digital audio output from a Samsung 55" HDR TV to Sennheiser RS195 headphones for hearing impaired and to a McIntosh MA5200. After reading several reviews of non-powered devices, selected this device.

Pros: simple installation; small; power indicator light

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP