Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Infrared repeater system with four dual-output IR emitters

MFR # AS-IRKIT

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Infrared repeater system with four dual-output IR emitters

MFR # AS-IRKIT

18 reviews
View this product

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 6/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works fine but why in the world would they NOT include a 1/8 inch male to male cable needed to connect to my AVR box?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Colin from Bozeman, MT on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fairly disappointed in this product. Worked "OK" with most of my devices, but barely worked with my Denon Receiver, which is what I primarily bought it for. I called Crutchfield support, who were very helpful, but what it boiled down to is getting the VERY precise location of the eye to stick the cord on to. I was hoping to be able to close my cabinet doors, but I simply can't operate my receiver well enough, and may have to move my receiver on a shelf instead.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really, really good. With a couple of notes.

Jesse from Queens Village, NY on 3/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up. Works like a charm. Is equally or more accurate than a much more expensive IR i have in my upstair a/v system installed by a "high-end" audio/visual design store. Please do note that it's less than ideal that each IR is paired (total of 8, but just 4 wires) which can get messy. I just separated the two wires and tucked the 'extra' repeater behind a component. Another thing to note is that the receiver to point at is rather large and poorly shaped. It should really be rectangular as the rounded nature of it looks really odd among a large setup of rectangular objects (TV, components, cable box, etc.) It's also big, much bigger than our other ones. This is really what kept me from giving 5 stars - though the price pushes it up to 4.75 Stars. I would not be hesitant to purchase this.

Pros: Easy set up. Works great. Good price.

Cons: Large, oddly shaped receiver.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, PA on 1/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use and works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Gary from Flower Mound, TX on 12/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I saw how much this kit was I decided to go and buy a $20 kit from another retailer. Well, you get what you pay for and I should have purchased this kit to start with....lesson learned. This kit works perfectly, no delays in response to remote and super easy to install. Quality doesn't come cheap!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Bellmawr, NJ on 12/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was DOA out of the box, where is the quality control?? I also thought that the wire length on the receiver module was too short.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/11/2018
We're sorry you're had issues with your IR kit. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Hartwell, GA on 11/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent service. Was easy to install for a non-tech!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Daniel from Enterprise, AL on 10/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely awesome and worth the money. The remote would not work through the glass of my entertainment center so I had to leave the doors open. This made everything look sloppy and unkept. With this product everything works great with doors closed and the house looks much more in order.

Pros: Easy to hook up. Took me less than 10 minutes.

Cons: Didn't get this years ago

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Ponce Inlet, FL on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simply works and very easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, AL on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great right of the box!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, NY on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. When installing be sure to determine the distance of your components from the "red eye. I had to purchase extra length wire (with appropriate male/female ends). Other than that...the device is of great value for the price!! Ben

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Using an IR remote remotely

John from Cicero, IL on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This device can control 8 components, I only needed to control 1 thru an outside wall of my garage. It has 4 dual plug-in IR emitters and 1 large IR receiver not rated for outdoor use. I put both elements of 1dual emitter on my component rather than let one element dangle. I put the IR receiver on the inside of the 2 layer translucent fiberglass outside garage window in a perpendicular position to minimize sunlight interference. It works reasonably well. There's red and green status lights which aren't explained in the instructions. Only the red one comes on. I don't have the other 3 dual emitters plugged in. Overall operation is acceptable at this point.

Pros: Easy setup

Cons: More than I needed

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is working very well. Easy to install and works as it should. I am pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Medina, OH on 11/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product made a dream come true of having a stealth set up without seeing any components or speaker wire. Very thankful for the crutchfield rep who listened to my concerns and prescribed the perfect solution. I have the sensor mounted on the back of my projector and a 3.5 mm extension cord running to where the components are and you don't see a thing. Also, it works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 10/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding infrared repeater

Bill from WV on 9/21/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works, all of my electronics are hidden behind massive rosewood Credenza. the only thing showing is a small infrared receiver under the TV.

Pros: Turns on or off electronics hidden behind walls or doors Simple to install easy to use

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Boston, MA on 6/20/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Clear instructions, easy to install, works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra Helios AS-IRKIT

Crutchfield customer from Stanfordville, NY on 5/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like a charm.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP