Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
425 206 151 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
425 206 151 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Connect a new car stereo and retain many factory functions in select 2000-up vehicles

MFR # AX-ADBOX1

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Connect a new car stereo and retain many factory functions in select 2000-up vehicles

MFR # AX-ADBOX1

17 reviews
View this product

Non functional on SYNC1 Fords.

Brandon from Austin, TX on 9/20/2018

2014 Ford Fiesta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Don't even bother if you're installing into a Ford. Here's the instructions provided to me by Axxess tech support (Not Crutchfield, who to be fair were way beyond their paygrade with this) while I was troubleshooting getting this working: 1. Plug in factory Ford radio and screen. 2. Turn car on. 3. Use SYNC voice command to set to LINE-IN. 4. Without turning car off, disconnect Ford radio and plug in aftermarket radio and ADBOX. 5. Sacrifice goat. 6. Pray it worked. It did not, after several hours. The closest I got it to working was everything aftermarket working, but the factory Ford system being completely useless and flashing TRACTION CONTROL OFF over and over and over. I ended up returning it (thanks, amazing and infinitely patient Crutchfield support!) and going with a less complex Metra solution, which doesn't work much better but at least is functional.

Pros: Has brief flashes of brilliance.

Cons: - Set up is genuinely insane. - Probably won't work after you set it up. - Even if it does work, the actual provided functionality with SYNC1 isn't really worth saving anyway.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Doug from Yorktown, Va on 3/24/2017

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As of now the sound continues to fade from back to front while playing, still trouble shooting, may change rating if it begins to work correctly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/27/2017
Doug, we're sorry you're having issues with your interface. If the problem continues, please reach out to our tech support team. They can either help get the interface working the way it should, or possibly return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Matt from London, OH on 3/23/2017

2006 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Some features didn't work on my vehicle but still a good product.

Pros: Pretty easy to install.

Cons: Not all features worked. Like the dimmer. The steering wheel buttons require a separate module. You have to buy a separate harness to make this module work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Interface module

Jeff from lynn haven, FL on 3/25/2016

2005 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I gave this 3 stars because not all the speakers work. I've double checked all the connections and still no joy. I will call Crutchfield and ask for a replacement.

Pros: Can't provide one

Cons: Not fully functional

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Had to Return

JoeyD13 from new castle, PA on 1/22/2016

2010 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything worked fine initially, but I had to return the product after three weeks of use. My speakers started cutting in and out, and I believe it was due to a faulty interface. I would jiggle it around, and all kinds of bad things would happen. I even soldered all the connections, but it didnt make a difference. I'm rather disappointed.

Pros: Everything worked good for approximately three weeks.

Cons: After three weeks, some weird things started to happen such as my speakers cutting in and out.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-ADBOX1

Marc from Indiana on 12/19/2015

2008 GMC Acadia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not a fan....... Cut, rewired multiple times still could not get all the functions to property work for the GMC Acadia. Luckily Crutchfield had my back and supplied a back up plan that was the way to go!! Maestro! Way to many wires and other connections on the Axxess products.

Pros: The ability to maintain all your features.

Cons: Way to many wired connections.... Required two different boxes and a couple harnesses. Once all together there wasn't enough room to tuck it all away.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to use

Rick_okla from Oklahoma on 6/6/2015

2008 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and made my install fast and cheaper than the box store quoted me

Pros: Easy to read instructions

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Simple

Tech89 from Columbus City, Iowa on 5/5/2015

2009 Buick Lucerne

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought with the other interface to make it virtually a plug and play install. It was. Some heat shrink and a some solder got the job done. A bit time consuming. But worth it.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Vague instructions

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Raymond from Montana on 3/25/2015

2007 GMC Yukon Denali

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great interface and worked like a charm after some tweaking and some truly exceptional assistance from Crutchfield customer support. Without this and the accompanying wires and harnesses, installation of my stereo would have been a nightmare. This worked great!

Pros: It worked great and the included wiring and harnesses made installation a breeze.

Cons: None that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2007 Tundra

JC from Nevada on 3/10/2015

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring was easy and fast. Works like a champ . No issues what so every

Pros: Simplicity

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better than the PAC

JohnC from Charlotte, NC on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this Axxess based on the recommendation of my installer. He uses PAC units in his shop as well, however if you have a Toyota with JBL and want to continue to use it then go with this!

Pros: Works great and sounds great!

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It took time and effort, but we got it working!

Dale of Colfax from Colfax, CA on 9/12/2014

2007 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

3 stars for "it should have worked in the beginning", 5 stars for the effort put in by the manufacturer's engineers to get it to work for my apparently difficult vehicle. It took 4 software downloads, three weeks, voltage measurements, and detailed descriptions of the failures but we got the interface box to work with the new Stereo head unit and the 2007 Toyota Sequoia JBL amplifiers and speakers. Otherwise I would have had to replace everything. I bet anyone buying a new unit with the 1.15 software upgrade will have no problem getting everything to work.

Pros: Saves me from getting new amplifiers and speakers for the Stereo upgrade.

Cons: It should have worked up front but I guess you can't test for every vehicle...though a Toyota Sequoia isn't really rare.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 Interface Module

Vince from Saratoga Springs,Ny on 8/1/2014

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great!

Pros: Easy install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

DaveTheHero from Sierra Vista, Arizona on 6/9/2014

2007 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions are hard to understand

Pros: Steering wheel controls

Cons: Instructions

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

No issues

Acme99 from Orange County, CA on 4/4/2014

2004 Lexus RX330

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's not a sexy purchase, but it is an important one. I bought all Axxess harnesses for my install. Glad I did. My installer was stoked because it's a common product and apparently it auto-detects the car. Maybe I'm wrong. But I'm the end user, the installer was happy, and it works.

Pros: It works perfectly

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked perfectly

Mark C. from La Mirada, CA on 1/25/2014

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this adapter along with a DVD receiver to integrate and to retain the audio functions of my existing amplified factory sound system. Very easy to install with the clear instructions and worked perfectly in my installation.

Pros: Does an excellent job of integrating factory systems to an aftermarket head unit

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-ADBOX1 for Ford Focus ST

fragout! from Germany on 11/21/2013

2013 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this on a Ford Focus ST w/basic cd player and 6 speakers. Everything works great! I also received the harness that goes with this which is a must. When I took it out of the package, I was a little intimidated by all of the wires. But after reading the instructions multiple times, I realized I didn't need all of the wires. When installing this, I would recommend separating all of the wires you need from the ones you don't. Tape up all the extra wires and then attach the wires you need to your radio wire harness. it's easier if you do this at the kitchen table and not in the car. I also like the fact that the harness included a cable attachment that fit directly to the Axxess steering wheel control (Axxess ASWC-1) eliminating the need for all the wires that came with the steering wheel control. You just need to plug it in. It also worked with my Sync system. This is great because now I can have an aftermarket radio and can keep Microsoft Sync. I'm happy with this product.

Pros: Easy install; No splicing of any of the car wires, everything connected to the car's harnesses, lets you keep Microsoft Sync

Cons: You need to closely follow the instructions.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP