Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
Connect ID #
428 756 563 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Universal Back Strap

Installation accessory for in-dash receivers, tweeters, and more

MFR # BS9

Universal Back Strap

Universal Back Strap

Installation accessory for in-dash receivers, tweeters, and more

MFR # BS9

126 reviews
View this product

nope

Crutchfield customer from Friendswood, TX on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worthless for fitting a 4 inch speaker in the back of a Chevy Spark. Wound up cutting adapters out of some sheet steel with my plasma cutter. Probably good for larger speakers in a larger space.

Pros: 99 cents

Cons: harder to use in confined space than cutting custom adapters.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did the job

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 11/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these to secure the set of tweeters I purchased for my front doors. I do strongly recommend purchasing more than what you think you are going to need as you will most likely mess-up the first one, especially if you need to make several bends. I also ended up using double sided tape to secure each speaker to strap.

Pros: Worked as expected Cheap

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 10/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased as recommended for mounting A pillar tweeters in a 2017 F-150. The material is very stiff and difficult to form on small speakers with limited space. The holes in the strap are too large to capture small screws needed to mount the tweeters in my application. I ended up having to come up with another solution.

Pros: Inexpensive and possibly useful in speakers larger than a tweeter.

Cons: Material is very stiff and difficult to work with. Holes in strap are too large to capture mounting screws in my tweeters.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

kind of hard to glue tweeters on

Pros: cheap and easy to bend

Cons: hard to glue tweeter to

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 10/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very handy, reasonable price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Tweeter Back Strap

Rick from LINCOLN, NE on 10/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2017 Ford F-150 Supercrew, I got the Polk DB 6502 6-1/2"Component Speakers for the front and Back Strap worked with adjustment to install Tweeters in A pillar.

Pros: worked with adjustment

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Phoenix, AZ on 9/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work just as advertised and help mount tweeters where they're not meant to be mounted. Great universal tool.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to mount

Crutchfield customer from Watertown, NY on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made mounting my tweeters a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, CO on 8/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works well, and easy to bend/form

Pros: easy to bend, yet durable and sturdy

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Way too hard to work with for tweeter mounting

Philo from San Luis Obispo, CA on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I thought it was a good idea to add two of these to my cart for mounting my tweeters in my car. I think I had the right idea, but these ended up being way too stiff to work with in the field. Here's what I did instead. I went to the hardware store and bought some plumbing backstrap for $2. It looks exactly like the product here but it comes in a roll and is about half the thickness, so it is much easier to work with. This was still a bit tough to work with, but I was able to bend it into shape using a rag (to protect my hands) and a pair of pliers. In order to "cut" it to size, I just bent it back and forth until it broke off in the right spot.

Pros:

Cons: Too rigid to use if you need to bend them to any degree, and good luck cutting it to size

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Thompsons Stn, TN on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This bracket help my tweeter stay in place.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nothing crazy, but super useful and easily adaptable to any application.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 6/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to install aftermarket tweeters in place of the factory ones.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Yorktown, VA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple

Pros: Get one you may need it

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect for custom mounting

Crutchfield customer from Lynchburg, OH on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made customized mounting a breeze. Would definitely recommend if need to custom fit any smaller speakers

Pros: cheap, made mounting near effortless

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Keller, TX on 5/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are way to stiff to be used effectively on the pillar speakers for which they are positioned. Also, the holes are too big and you'd never be able to use the stock screws with these. Not sure why Crutchfield recommends them for small speakers or tight spaces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Utility pieces

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought 2 of these for "just in case" as I was mounting new speakers in my car. I did not end up using them but if they were another 1-2" longer, it would have been VERY helpful and I could have used them.

Pros: Nice piece to have in the toolbox

Cons: A bit longer would make them much more useful, and smaller holes would have been good for most mounting hardware.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not very helpful

Crutchfield customer from Dumont, NJ on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kind of useless in a tweeter spot of a Toyota

Pros: Low cost

Cons: Not very useable in tight spots hard to mount on certain tweeters

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didnt think I would need these at first but they came in handy. Requires some sharp or strong tools to cut

Pros: easy to bend with a little strength and holds anything securely

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

David from BRAINTREE, MA on 4/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought a few of these to mount an amp in my 1948 Ford. Vision was to mount it in the dash where the original speaker resided. Was happy to be able to utilize the original studs that mounted the speaker. Bent the straps so that the amp would hang at an angle under the grill and it worked perfectly. Used Nylock nuts and washers to secure everything in place. Solid.

Pros: Flexible enough to be easy to bend (I used a vise and a trim hammer). Solid enough that it won't wiggle once bent and re-straightening a mistake did not cause them to break.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Pasco, WA on 3/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

As advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Too difficult to work with

Victor from INMAN, SC on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are sturdy and of good quality, but way too thick to be easily manipulated into shape. Wound up just stripping and reusing the factory brackets because I was unable to get these bent into a suitable shape. There's probably a special tool that makes it easier to form, but for anyone working with standard household tools these won't work for you.

Pros: Sturdy

Cons: Too hard to shape

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy to use

WILLIAM A from Thompsons Stn, TN on 2/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Crutchfield adviser suggested a pair of the Universal Back Straps for mounting a set of tweeters under the factory corner dash grilles in my wife's car. They are easy to bend, easy to cut, and easy to file (if needed). It isn't rocket science - it's a piece of perforated metal. Great little product for almost free.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very secure. Easy to use

Jeremy from Montgomery, AL on 1/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These worked great in securing tweeters in dash location

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Justin from PEARSALL, TX on 1/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, bend , cut

Pros: Easy to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Strasburg, VA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Too thick for tweeter straps

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

yup

Crutchfield customer from Winnsboro, TX on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to cut by hand/bending back and forth. Easy to pry into shape. Better than regular back strap for speakers cuz they have the long hole on the end to place a screw at just the right spot. I put 3M double sided tape to hold tweeters on these backstraps, they hold tweeters great.

Pros: works well, easy tweeter install into door panel

Cons: none, Crutchfield may want to think about throwing in a few strips of 3M tape with this

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 10/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can see why I was offered these, but without something to cut them to shorter lengths, I ended up not using them. I did my installation in my daughters vehicle in a parking lot since I was away from home (in another state). I only brought screwdrivers and car trim tools. These would be so much nicer if they were notched so I could snap cut them on site without tools.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job!!

steve from Ocean, NJ on 9/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These straps made it a professional installation- worked great

Pros: Perfect for the job

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Newalla, OK on 9/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helped with install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does it's job no complaints

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Perdido Beach, AL on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very helpful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Orlando, FL on 7/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to mount my new tweeters in my dash that had an opening for a 3.5" full range speaker.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect for my tweeter install. Ordered 2 but one had enough length for both my tweeters.

Pros: Easy to work with and cut to length. Good mix of strength and flexibility to work with

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Middleton, WI on 6/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a useful product -- easier to go to the hardware store and buy this kind of "mounting" hardware.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Easy

Crutchfield customer from Gastonia, NC on 4/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a piece of metal I didn't need for installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made it easy to install in dash tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Statham, GA on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pliable. Able to make a tweeter bracket out of them

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Intended purpose

KB from Powder Springs, GA on 2/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Im sure it will work for its intended purpose but i haven't used it yet

Pros: To help with install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I cannot rate this product, as I did not use them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 10 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 10/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

William from Lincolnton, NC on 9/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

would have worked if I used them. Was not necessary told different how to hook up from sales person, tech support corrected matter. Bracket was a wast of money in the long run.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 9/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to configure. Used heavy duty double sided tape to attach tweeter!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These came in handy

Crutchfield customer from Port Allen, LA on 8/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used these to retrofit my tweeters into the factory tweeter location in my Tacoma. I didn't even need to get that creative, they work very well for my purposes

Pros: Cheap and useful.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

if you can bend it, it will work

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 8/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

bend and twist it to fit your mounting needs. just don't bend it back and forth to much

Pros: helped me install tweeters where the old bracket was

Cons: I had to bend it into place, duh

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from South Holland, IL on 7/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very satisfied with the product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Simsbury, CT on 7/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely useful

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Waipahu, HI on 6/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use and versatile

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

cool tool that work

Scott from Wilmington, NC on 6/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

the tools they sent me work perfect.

Pros: sturdy tools..

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not needed for Tundra install

Jake from Pahoa, HI on 4/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unneeded for installation, save for another purpose

Pros: Good strap to have for a 'rainy day'

Cons: The back strap is not necessary. The existing tweeters' back strap in the car door can be removed and be retrofitted to one of the plastic adapters provided with the speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Inexpensive and solid.

Rich from SE MASSACHUSETTS on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Though suggested by Crutchfield for installation of tweeters in my 2007 Tundra Double Cab, they are not usable for that purpose. I had to fabricate mounts using pieces of semi-rigid plastic (from lids of buckets of screws) and cut holes in them. I'll be using these as tool-hanging devices in my shop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 4/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They're good. Easy to bend, I had to trim them to make them shorter. Plenty of adjustment available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Sandy Hook, MS on 4/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product. Does what it is designed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better to have than not.

Steve from Blowing Rock, NC on 4/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice to have just in case. However, weren't really necessary for installation in a 2002 Subaru WRX wagon front doors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not use

Paul from Bartow, FL on 4/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not need it but.99 cents isn't a bad loss would serve it's purpose if you can use it

Pros: Will work

Cons: Could not use not enough space

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 4/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made mounting my speakers that much easier!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 2/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Get it. It was suggested by my adviser , and I wasn't going to get it with my order, but i did. Came in VERY handy....get it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Backstrap Universal

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would be nice to have bolts come with these brackets to put on the speakers. Had to make that trip to my big box hardware store and find specific bolts that fit the speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Marcos from Saint Louis, MO on 11/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very handy...5 min to make a bracket to custom fit on jeep wranglers Twitter factory location. No need to mess around with recycling the case of oem Twitters as seen in some youtubr videos!

Pros: Very useful, perfect material resistente...pliable enough to use bare hands, and still keep the desired shape!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Champlain, NY on 11/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not use in my installation. I won't return it to Cruth. I will use it to conduct the Sound Ordonnance Orchestra. Pure sound inside my Rolla.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Steve from Hampton, VA on 10/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product was able to install tweeters with no complications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the Job

Jeff from Wildwood, FL on 9/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A metal strap. No big deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Merritt Island, FL on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed to install new in-dash tweeters!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Darran from Kahului, HI on 8/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They were right! Needed to fit tweeters in factory location of 2006 Toyota Tacoma front doors. Fast 3 day shipping to Maui.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 8/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice universal material for fabricating a custom fit. I think the material could be a bit thinner for more precise bends. A variety of thicknesses are would be perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from California, MD on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is exactly what was needed to mount component tweeters in the existing dash cutouts in my Frontier. Easy to work with and cut yet strong enough not to deform over time. Great price, too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Kalispell, MT on 5/29/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Work great for installing tweeters in places that weren't designed to accomodate them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mounting bracket

Mike from Warren MI on 5/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I truly am waiting for the tweeters to come in so I can truly install them inside the car. It is exactly what I needed to install them.

Pros: Exactly what was described and what was needed for the installation.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Terry from Lake Charles, LA on 5/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great fit to form product. Bend to what you need & done. Impressed

Pros: Form to whatever you need

Cons: Unless you have the tools, cutting & grinding down, to look professional can be a pain.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 5/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very helpful. Used and works as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Update suggestion.

Don from Ft Worth, TX on 3/12/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Why are the holes so unnecessarily large? I can't image any speaker needing screws large enough to justify this. Had to scrounge around for washers in my parts bin. Did function for my application but added extra time to the install.

Pros: Functional.

Cons: Extra large holes for no reason.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Maumelle, AR on 3/7/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well! Sturdy durable strength. Fast shipping!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

taylor from Augusta, GA on 2/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and stiff, yet malleable enough to easily recess tweeters in factory spots.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal backstrap -- you can get it elsewhere if you even need it

Dustin from Avon, IN on 10/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased these based on recommendation from my advisor, but ended up not using them. If you need them, having them conveniently packaged with your order is great, but this is basically plumbing hanger tape that can be purchased in much larger quantity for a much cheaper price from your local hardware store if you end up needing it. I'm not sure I'd recommend these for those reasons (easily obtained elsewhere for cheaper, in the event you need it).

Pros: Convenient when packaged in with your order. Strong strapping.

Cons: Easily obtainable elsewhere (any big box hardware store) for much cheaper, if you even need it.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

tweeter strap

jbart from 60156 on 9/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

tweeter strap, worked like it should

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent add on for tweeter placement

Smitty from Oak Park, CA on 6/30/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My Crutchfield rep advised me to purchase the back straps when installing new tweeters in the dash of my Jeep. Boy was I happy she did! Using the backstrap made placement of the tweeters easy. The space inside the dash does not have a lot to offer in terms of mounting the tweeters. Just a couple of bends in the strap, and cutting to size with a pair of pliers, and I had a custom mount that fit perfectly.

Pros: easy to use, inexpensive, time saver

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awsome

carlos from Az on 6/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awsome handy tool to have for people who like to put tweeters any where's in your car or truck

Pros: Install any where's u would like sound

Cons: There isn't any lol

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Multi use strap

Kevin from Philly, PA on 5/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product has multiple uses!!! Its actually one of the most versatile products for home or vehicle AV. You can use it to mount speakers, brace head units and also can be used to fill void spaces behind a dash. Its also soft enough to cut-to-fit whatever application necessary

Pros: Easily used for multiple applications

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Backstrap

Backstrap from Chattanooga, TN on 5/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly to mount Rockford Fosgate Prime R1T-S tweeters in the dash corners. Bend holes to match up screw holes perfectly. Used stock screws. Break off excess.

Pros: Got the job done with these.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Flexible installation mount

Sean from Hugo, MN on 5/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These little straps offer a flexible solution for mounting speakers.

Pros: Cheap and versatile

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Great!

K&L602, from Tallahassee, FL on 5/8/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installing tweeters in the stock dash location was a breeze with these universal mounts!

Pros: Easy to bend, yet holds it's shape.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good

Gary from Centerville Texas on 5/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well, have nothing negative to say about it

Pros: Good product

Cons: Maybe a little longer piece

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

Les from Honolulu, HI on 5/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to mount focal tweeters in the dash. Did the job.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Versatile Piece!

Dtram from Georgetown, Ky. on 4/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This little strip of metal can be used in so many ways it's bound to come in handy! I bent it, cut it, twisted it, just about any thing I needed. Perfect for mounting tweeters too!

Pros: Light but very strong Can be modified easily Many screw holes

Cons: Almost too strong

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Manhattan, KS on 4/18/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to use. Bends exactly as you need it. Perfect for mounting tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Guest from Kailua Kona, HI on 4/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fit perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome Product

CriticalMach from Spring, TX on 4/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works!

Darrick from Virginia Beach, VA on 4/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for installing tweeters and securing subwoofer box

Pros: It holds down whatever you want

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good product

RJ from Boise, ID on 4/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good tool to help install speakers that don't exactly fit

Pros: Simple easy to use

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Must have accessory for speaker / tweeter installation.

Bryce from Galveston, TX on 4/1/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This makes it super easy to install aftermarket tweeters in factory locations. Heavy gauge metal is easy to bend, but sturdy enough for multiple attempts for the perfect fit.

Pros: Easy to use and reuse and customize for different mounting options.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

backstrap for tweeters

jerry from rayville, LA on 3/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this product was recommended for installation of infinity tweeters, but I did not find it useful for this purpose.

Pros: cheap

Cons: not needed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

universal strap from Mcdonough, GA on 3/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome.

Pros: Just what was needed.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Richard from Joliet il on 3/19/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked as intended. A little difficult to install in my particular vehicle

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap Brackets

Andrew from fayetteville, NC on 3/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is very easy to use, and adaptable to multiple applications for multiple vehicles.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Why did I pay for these

Droidianslip from portland, OR on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were sent as installation hints for the tweeters in the component speakers I installed in the front of my truck. There was no way to attach the tweeters to these brackets without drilling a hole through the tweeter.

Pros: None

Cons: Not sure why I paid for these

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from 06002 on 2/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, it's one steel strap. Didn't need two for my car's tweeters.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very useful

Josh from knoxville, TN on 2/2/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very useful to mount tweeters in your vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great for making custom brackets.

John from Vancouver, CA on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought these to help install tweeters in my VW Touareg doors. They were easy to manipulate into the shape I needed to support the tweeters in the factory location.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very strong strap

Crutchfield customer from urbana, OH on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This strap is very strong and very sturdy. It worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

back strap.

Christine from pasadena, MD on 1/22/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

what you see is what you get. if you need this, well get it. does bend with force, and can be cut with force.

Pros: malleable, versatile

Cons: only 1 screw hole size

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

You need these!! Trust me.

Jeff from Georgia on 1/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If your putting tweeters in your ride you will want to have a pair of these. They will allow you to custom mount your tweeter any way you want. Easy to bend, cut and bolt.

Pros: Very customizeable.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great item

steveg1228 from Chesterland, Oh. on 11/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect item for that semi-custom speaker install. I used these to install JBL tweeters in the door of my 2013 Tacoma. I used a vice and hammer to make a custom bend to hold the speaker at the perfect angel.

Pros: inexpensive, great idea to hold speakers

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Didn't need

Suburban Sasquatch from Hawaii on 10/6/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased these cause they said I'd need them to install the tweeters to my component speakers in the dash as well as some you tube videos however I didn't need them so I will keep them for future projects.

Pros: Universally adaptable.

Cons: Didn't fit my application

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great installation aid

Arkrep from Arkansas on 9/28/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This part made installation of two new tweeters in the factory position a breeze! The metal is soft enough to be bent easily, and the mounting holes are well designed.

Pros: easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cheaper options

BDR from Texas on 9/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not pleased, is simple plumbers tape, was expecting it to be much thicker and less pliable, not worth the $0.99. Buy a roll locally for the same price.

Pros: is good if you don't know what plumbers tape is.

Cons: Is plumbers tape

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Strapping

Steve from California on 8/31/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No Brainer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as expected!

telekaster from California on 7/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to mount Focal 1.5" tweeters in place of the factory tweeters in a Subaru Outback. These straps were easy to bend into shape. If you buy these, you probably already know exactly how you're going to use them. They work - period.

Pros: Cheap. easy to Use. Versatile.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Exactly what I needed

Tracker13 from Pennsylvania on 6/7/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product was exactly what I needed. Worked like a charm!!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Rich from Virginia on 5/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used to attach the Crossover to the inside of the door. No other place to put it in my 2006 Colorado. Perfect size and no holes to drill. Just screwed the bar across the opening in the inside of the door then screwed the crossover to it in the hole in the door. No other flat surfaces to hang the crossover on.

Pros: Worked like a charm.

Cons: Had no Idea what it was for when I started.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great mod piece

Tim from Nebraska on 4/21/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Allows you to be creative! Molded to replace 2.5 inch factory "tweeters" with 1"

Pros: Simple

Cons: None it's exactly what it looks like a hunk of metal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

helpful metal

perks from Menifee, California on 3/10/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things are awesome. Easily bent to whatever shape you need them. Before you get started however, make sure you have a snipping tool. Scissors won't cut it, you'll need something a little bigger.

Pros: Price, malleable, size

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's a metal strap

chiro from Illinois on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a metal strap with holes in it. Useful in attaching stuff, Easy to bend and cut

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Stuff

excellenceautosolutions from Marble Falls Texas on 11/2/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These things work great. I am glad the customer support tech recommended them to me. I only had to use a small piece of one so I have one and a half left over for the next job!

Pros: Multiple applications. Great customer service. Great tech support

Cons: I wish I would have known about this item many installations ago.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

does the job

pc75 from nyc on 9/29/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

does what its meant to do. cheap

Pros: cheap

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's a piece of metal

Ben B from Michigan on 9/14/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say about a piece of metal? I bent it into a makeshift bracket, used a dremel to trim off the excess and used it to mount tweeters into a stock dash location. Can't go wrong with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Backstrap

Fyrewyre from Talbott, TN on 9/10/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The back strap was intended for custom mounting a tweeter. And that is exactly what it did.

Pros: Bend-y, versatile, hole-y

Cons: Fragile.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Just another example of Crutchfield anticipating your every install ne

NorCalBryan from Lakeport Ca on 8/11/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The technical support staff is great! After just a few moments on the phone with one of their highly qualified, helpful staff, and you will have an excellent understanding of what your up against! I had no idea how to install component speakers systems or head units until is like with a Crutchfield rep for five minutes! They recommended all the right extras and provide so much support!! Thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Perfect for the job, only a dollar.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Universal Back Strap

Crutchfield customer from Texas on 6/27/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

cheap and easy

1fatdude from Tampa, FL on 4/17/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What can I say? Bendable bracket is awesome. Put stuff anywhere.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extremely Useful

Crutchfield customer from Goose Creek, SC on 11/10/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used them to mount component tweeters in my 2004 mustang cobra. The stock tweeter was 3.5" so I used the strap to mount the smaller 1.5" tweeter.

Pros: Handy for a lot of situations

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good quick fix exhaust hangers

Anon from Michigan on 9/12/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thought I needed one to get my head unit secured because it was gonna need to get a custom install. Turn out I was wrong but I still made use of it by using it to fix my low hanging muffler lol.

Pros: Can also be used with an Erector set

Cons: You can't really say much negative over a simple piece of metal...

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

focal Is165 5.25

Crutchfield customer from 45840 on 9/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this 5.25 components in my 05 honda accord.I replaced a pair of polk db 6.5 slim that i was not impressed with. The focals sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great universal mounting bracket

WAC from Honolulu, HI on 5/30/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good bracket to hold things in odd mounting locations, its a little thick to cut so I used a Dremel tool to cut

Pros: Very adaptable

Cons: Tough to cut

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can be used for anything

Crutchfield customer from Prospect, CT on 3/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Soft metal, can easily be bent / formed to fit any application. I used them for strapping in my headunit as it was a custom fit.

Pros: Bends easily with pliers and.or vice but strong enough to hold speakers, headunits, or whatever you want.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great For Theft Protection

GeorgeR from Natchez, MS on 10/31/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It holds my CD Player from bouncing around.

Pros: It's good for theft protection.

Cons: It would have been better if it were longer and had smaller holes, or at least blanks.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP