Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

PCM digital-to-analog converter

MFR # CS-DAC

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

PCM digital-to-analog converter

MFR # CS-DAC

55 reviews
View this product

All good now.

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 2/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This worked great.

Pros: They know what they are talking about.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Cullman, AL on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this unit to provide analog audio output from our Hisense flat screen tv to our Yamaha RX-797 receiver. Installation was easy and the unit performs flawlessly. It has great full spectrum audio output with no hum or other issue.

Pros: Small, low profile, easy install at a great price point

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 1/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and allowed me to hook up an Apple TV box to my analog stereo system. If the stereo is on and then you turn on the box there is an initial pop noise as it powers on. Same thing if I turn the box off before the stereo. If the stereo is off when I turn the box off/on then obviously no pop noise because the stereo isn't on. Not a big deal just need to get in the habit of waiting to turn on/off the Apple box before the stereo.

Pros: Easy to install Good sound quality

Cons: Feedback pop when digital source is turned on if stereo is already on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very Good Product...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Lompoc, CA on 12/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tech was very knowledgeable and Helpful .. knew exactly what I was looking for I had it ordered in very short time

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, GA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's designed to do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburg, KS on 12/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than a DAC I purchased from another source. Completely eliminated the annoying hiss I was getting through my external speakers. DAC is connected via optical cable and RCA cables to my 2 channel integrated amp. Wish the power cable was more than 2' long.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Williamston, MI on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy set up. Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Enhanced audio

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easily solved the problem of converting the LG DVD / Blue Ray output to analog for my stereo's RCA inputs thanks to guidance from Crutchfield's Tech Support.

Pros: Works great.

Cons: Included manufacturer's instructions need a bit more detail for set up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 11/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked for a day then quit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/11/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your converter. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Newmarket, NH on 9/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect solution to allow me to use an old receiver/speakers to enhance sound for for a second TV without buying a sound bar, Works great with an old Panasonic TV Thanks to Crutchfield for recommending an inexpensive product that works exactly as described

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Charlevoix, MI on 9/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Mine came without a lens for the light that indicates it is powered on. It would not power on. Crutchfield replaced it, with another Metra and it worked fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Lagrangeville, NY on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfect with my old HK receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from La Place, LA on 7/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons: That big red light on all the time

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good DAC for CD and home theater

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 7/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good D/A converter, works as it should, really enjoy being able to use my TV sound with my 2 channel stereo combined in a time-aligned way that could not be done before (would get an echo effect) . Nice sound from my 30 year old CD player as well, brings greater clarity to the sound. Highly recommended.

Pros: Clarity, ease of use

Cons: Power cored too short (only 2 feet, not 5 feet as listed)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Bremond, TX on 7/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works Great - Saved me from buying a new set of earphones (was able to use existing ones )

Pros: Old earphones never sounded this good .

Cons: Thank you Willy

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dissappointed in our attempt to save some $$$

Crutchfield customer from Valparaiso, IN on 6/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We have got either box to work yet. We have had phone/internet issues being down a day and back by back DR appointments to take time. Next step we are taking is the speakers wires, replacing with new speaker wires.

Pros: Excellent staff to help and cooperate with sending us a duplicate box and cable no charge.

Cons: Making it sound so simple as all we have to do to achieve sound from out TV thru our outdated receiver.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

metra DAC

Jim from MONTGOMERY, IL on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great little unit, inexpensive compared to other options out there. I used them to hook up some Kanto YU2 to the bedroom television. Worked like a charm, I talked to 2 different people at Crutchfield for recommendations and this was their choice. Friendly, knowledgable people. The only question will be longevity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works perfectly as described.

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 5/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it says. 3 minute hook up and new life from a Denon AV receiver that does not have optical or HDMI. No hum or unwanted noise. Great product, fast shipping, and as always, great customer service.

Pros: Low cost, small size and dead simple to hook up. No unwanted noise or hum.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Crofton, MD on 5/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up, great way to continue to use my old receiver. Sound is pretty good also. Using it in my workshop.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Florence, KY on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This did the trick. I was able to connect a 4k tv with optical audio output to my analog stereo receiver. Happy with my purchase and the customer service at Crutchfield is outstanding!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Lewisburg, WV on 4/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product works perfectly. I bought I new tv and needed to hook it up to my older existing surround sound. My system only had RCA jacks for output. I hooked the RCA cable to this adapter and ran a fiber optic cable to my tv. Works perfectly. My old system is powered by a Yamaha 200 watt receiver and has 5 speakers and a sub. It would have cost thousands to replace with a comparable system if I hadn't used this adapter. Thanks to Crutchfield for telling me what I needed to do this and not try to sell me an expensive system that would have provided lesser sound quality. The electronics I need will be bought from Crutchfield. Thanks for the help!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 11/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

service was very good archie was a big help

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Digital to Analog Converter

Crutchfield customer from Mt Washington, KY on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Converter does exactly what it is supposed to do. As long as you change your audio selection in your TV menu to PCM. Sound quality is good, if your just using 2 pairs of speakers (fronts & rears). The device cannot separate dolby digital sound because of the analog But it worked for my application because I didn't want to upgrade to a digital receiver when I got my new QLed 4K TV.

Pros: Simple Set Up

Cons: Did not come with a Digital Optical Cable

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great DAC!

Eric from Trumann, AR on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a digital audio converter to hook up my TV to my new Yamaha RS-202 receiver, and this one works flawlessly. It's great! I previously had one from a local store that didn't last.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

D/A converter

Crutchfield customer from Bozeman, MT on 10/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well, I'm going optical audio out to an old receiver (L&R stereo) in.

Pros: Easy to set up and use.

Cons: Always powered on. power cord from wall wart is only about 2'.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Huntington Park, CA on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it says, sturdy construction . . . it saved me from having to buy more speakers (Bluetooth Sound Bar). Keep in mind it needs a powered volume control. Such as an amp with a volume control or Home Stereo Receiver. Also keep in mind about how long your audio connection needs to be, I used an Optical cable. You can use an RCA Coax connection too if you'd like.

Pros: Way Less than buying a Sound Bar, a reasonable Sound Bar goes for $300 to $400 . . . I said reasonable Sound Bar, you get what you pay for folks!

Cons: I wish it had an option for an HDMI connection.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Poughkeepsie, NY on 6/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I need to get the job done! I knew Crutchfield would have the answer to my dilemma of connecting old equipment with more modern equivalents! Thanks!!

Pros: Did exactly what I needed it to do!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Digital audio converted easily to your Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Plano, TX on 5/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second DAC I bought. I got one from another vendor;it did not work. The product converts digital audio out from a source (TV for example) and converts it to an analog signal which is played through a different piece of audio equipment (Stereo). The Metra DAC was inexpensive and,best of all, WORKED with no issues. It comes with clear, concise instructions and is extremely easy to install. 100% recommend. H/T to Marshall for the recommendation.

Pros: easy install, relatively inexpensive, clear instructions

Cons: short length of power cord-really not that big of a deal

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 3/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Cary, NC on 3/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My experience with all the Crutchfield employees I dealt with incident with the purchase of the Metra ethereal CS-DAC was EXCELLENT and I will certainly recommend Crutchfield when ever an occasion arises. The CS-DAC works perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from West Falmouth, MA on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This allowed me to continue to use my old receiver to listen to CD's on my new digital DVD player. The price was very reasonable.

Pros: Inexpensive way to integrate new digital equipment with an old receiver. Easy to set up.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great price, good product.

Gibson from San Jose, CA on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent performance. Worth the price and does the job well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Bethel Park, PA on 1/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tried using this with the output of the DirtecTv teceivet to my Sonos Connect. Just hum ...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/22/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your converter. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

roslyn from New York, NY on 12/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

absolutely crutchfield is the best place to shop for anything you need. they are so knowledgable, cheerful, professional and eager to help you with whatever your problem is. as far as i am concerned i give it 10 stars.

Pros: everything

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Bob from Philadelphia, PA on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My new smart Samsung 4K TV left me with no way to get my TV's sound through to my older Yamaha Pro Logic receiver. A short email to Crutchfield's on-line tech adviser service and AJ came back with the recommended Metra ethereal CS-DAC converter and instructions on how to set up the TV's PCM sound output. The DAC arrived within a few days but installation instructions were vague regarding connections the receiver. A quick call to AJ required a little research into my receiver's inputs and I was up and running in minutes. AJ's solution saved me hundreds of dollars that I would have spent for a new receiver. Thank you Crutchfield and AJ for this invaluable service. You customer care keeps me a Crutchfield customer for life.

Pros: DAC works as advertised.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 7/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My experience with Crutchfield was outstanding. I had a problem connecting my Sennheiser headset to a anew Samsung tv and called. Ashley was very pleasant and put through to Q who was extremely helpful. He spent time and also included someone else whose name I have unfortunately forgotten. They came up with the solution , sent me what I needed, I hooked it and up and it now works great. I am very pleased and am very happy to recommend your company, and particularly the people I worked with. Q and friends.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Problem solved!

Crutchfield customer from Griffin, GA on 5/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a way to hook up my Samsung smart tv to my home stereo. Nathen my product support specialist not only spent the time to find what I needed he did so with enthusiasm. He solved my problem in a matter of minutes and was very pleasant the entire call. Top notch service as always from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 3/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased. Does exactly what I wanted it to do

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Jim from Beverly Hills, MI on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed this to on the lg tv because it won't send audio signal to my denon receiver.

Pros: Works perfectly!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good clean sound from New TV

Alan from Ormond Beach, FL on 2/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as nMarshall said it would. It is very simple to install but little more tricky to make it work. First all i got was buzzing noise but instructions say input must be PCM. Finding where to to locate the source format could be changed was a little challenging for a guy that's 80 years old. But I found it in the tv setup and once I changed it from bitstream to PCM - Voila !! Worked like a charm. Love it and my analog headset works just fine. Great product and would recommend it.

Pros: Works as it was supposed to.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, GA on 2/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and use, good product and great customer service!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Livermore, CA on 2/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looking for a way to use our existing headphones with our new Samsung 4K TV. Who knew the new TV manufactures would not include an analog outlet on the latest TVs. Our Samsung has the Box to which makes all connections to the TV. The TV has the capability to use wireless headphones, but will only connect to set of headphones. If you have more than one person who would like to use headphones you need another solution. Crutchfield suggested the DAC which was a great solution and a very economic way to solve our problem. Our older headphones work great on our new TV!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Ben from Northfield, VT on 1/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Improved the sound quality for my connection of a Tv to my analog stereo.previously used the headphone output.

Pros: Cost effective sound improvement

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Schroon Lake, NY on 1/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed this for headphones to work with my TV, staff as usual had me fixed in no time thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needed Device

Jack from Hillsboro, OH on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connection was a little time consuming, but I figured it out in a short time. It has its own cord, so this and the headphones must be plugged in. Obviously 1 or more surge protectors would need to be used with all electronic devices involving a television. It serves its purpose, and I needed it with my Panasonic TV.

Pros: It serves its purpose to connect the headphones to my Panasonic TV.

Cons: An extra power cord and more wires make more of a maze of wires with a television.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 1/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly like expected to connect a non-bluetooth receiver to a newer TV. Easy to connect. Depending on the cable connection between the Metro and the TV, you made need to change the TV's sound source setting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great little unit

Noah from nixa missouri on 12/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a nice sounding unit for the money. I have tried other units in the same price range but this unit is best by far in its price range and even similar higher priced units.

Pros: works better than expected sounds great.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 7/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product works well with my Alpine

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised.

Tom from Charlottesville, VA on 7/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised

Pros: Works as advertised.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Pleasanton, CA on 3/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This small and inexpensive box does just what it claims. In my case I wanted to convert the digital audio signal optical output from a modern TV to analog mono on a phono jack. I haven't had it long enough to judge reliability or lifetime. In my case this is fed to an FM transmitter talking to my cochlear implant.

Pros: It works.

Cons: It does not reveal the power consumed while sitting there running away. Drives me nuts.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Great solution!

Chip from Toano, Va on 2/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

new tv had only optical output. Just don't want to give up my HK receiver amp with RCA only input. This is the perfect solution. Set the tv to pcm output, and the CS-DAConverter lit up and is nice clean tv sound. Elegant, low cost solution. Would be nice if it came with an optical cable, lucky I already had one. I couldn't be happier!

Pros: compact works perfectly!

Cons: no supplied cables

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, VA on 1/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent product! does exactly what it is supposed to do and sounds great. My dvd player died, so I had to get a blue-ray player which due to the stupidity of the manufacturers has no RCA outputs. Now I'm back to my cable tv and all video and audio being in stereo and using my existing analog amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Basic DAC that allowed us to use the audio from out television through basic audio system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-DAC

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Connections worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

TOP