Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Metra E-5000 relay

Single pole-double throw (SPDT) relay

MFR # E-5000C

Metra E-5000 relay

Metra E-5000 relay

Single pole-double throw (SPDT) relay

MFR # E-5000C

40 reviews
View this product

No idea where it goes!

Samantha from Ashland, OH on 8/20/2019

1986 Pontiac Fiero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

When I ordered the JVC stereo for my 86 Fiero it said I needed this so they shipped it free (which is cool). BUT, the instructions it comes with SUCK, it doesn't really tell me where to wire this in? My factory radio had a built in amp that ran a small sub woofer. I ended up unplugging the sub woofer because all it did was thump over an over and over. I am guessing that relay needs to be in there, but where? Instructions don't say anything about where to wire it in to the radio???!!!

Pros: it was free

Cons: Instructions for it suck The radio installation instruction don't explain where it goes either had to unplug the sub

Crutchfield response on 8/27/2019
Samantha contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Confused but Happy

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 5/7/2019

2001 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was completely confused with the arrival of this relay, I did a little research and it was a simple installation. It was needed to bypass the factory amplifiers for the infinity speakers

Pros: Able to listen to my stereo

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exactly what was required

TJ from Broomfield, CO on 4/2/2019

2016 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended. Thanks Crutchfield for letting me know I needed this item for a proper install!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 Relay

Robert from Amarillo, TX on 1/17/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this relay to turn on parking lights on my 2014 Jeep Wrangler when starting vehicle with EVO-CHR.T5 remote start.

Pros: Relay with socket. Will be easy to replace if it goes bad.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It worked.

Crutchfield customer from Holland, MI on 11/14/2018

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this with a NAV unit. Crutch said I needed it. Who am I to argue??

Pros: It worked

Cons: None. It worked.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Relay

Wes from Las Vegas, NV on 9/14/2018

2003 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great turning a negative wire to a positive.

Pros: Works great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very bulky device

Brad from Plano, TX on 6/26/2018

1991 Mazda RX7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Documentation that came with it sux, but Crutchfield tech support made up for it. Very bulky device and the wires are too thick to easily use the twist wire connectors I bought with the stereo

Pros: works

Cons: documentation size wire gauge

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, MD on 12/12/2017

1990 Audi 200 Quattro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice that they threw this is... I didn't need it for the install, but I'll use it somewhere!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not needed

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 11/19/2017

1988 Pontiac Fiero

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not needed. Car was wired for KMM-BT222U, so was not used.

Pros: none

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Crutchfield customer from Boonville, MO on 9/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It resurrected my factory speaker system after installation of new stereo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

David from Zeeland, MI on 6/20/2017

1985 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very poor detail for install. Didn't install, because of this.....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/21/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to David to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the relay installed and working, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

JUSTIN from Oshkosh, WI on 3/2/2017

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent relay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Mike from Milwaukee, WI on 1/8/2017

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as it should!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

SPDT Relay

HD from San Antonio, TX on 5/20/2016

2001 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

120 E5000 is very non-specific and is not very clear what wiring on the vehicle, head unit or adapter wiring harness it needs to be connected to.

Pros: May do its job if better installation provided

Cons: Description is poor and non-specific

Crutchfield response on 5/23/2016
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Michael tabb

Tabb from destrehan, LA on 1/24/2016

1968 Chevrolet Chevelle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instruction were easy to follow and product preformed flawless

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

DKJ from Stafford, VA on 10/20/2015

2003 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Showed up the next day. Even though it states it won't fit a 2003 Turbo Beetle, it is exactly what I needed to use as an AMP relay switch on my factory Monsoon AMP (after replacing HU with an aftermarket, the Monsoon AMP would not turn off and drained the battery). The hardest part was taking the car parts off to get to the AMP. Either way, this worked perfectly!

Pros: Arrived the next day. What I needed

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

cielosf from New Jersey on 7/16/2015

2005 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This did not wire up as the instructions showed. Blue wire was not even needed on my install in a 2005 Corvette. Tech guys straightened it out and all is good.

Pros: Allows to use factory Bose amp.

Cons: Wired up differently than instructions showed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works

James R from Washington on 7/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra e5000

b from Georgia on 4/27/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Showed up on time and as advertised. Great work once again.

Pros: works great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

George

GeorgeS from New Jersey on 3/17/2015

2004 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Product

Pros: No cutting Just Follow the instruction and your done

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No cutting

Mark from Carlisle ky on 3/8/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

no cutting no splicing just plug n play

Pros: There great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra relay

Todd F from Colorado on 1/24/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job as expected. I appreciate the plug in type pig tail.

Pros: Plug in pig tail

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from 01902 on 1/11/2015

2005 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect

Pros: Work excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay works.

Prybar-KC from Quincy, In. on 9/15/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product is required as it replaces the warning tones which are programmed into the OEM unit being replaced.

Pros: simple install.

Cons: I seem to have lost my door lock tones.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 Relay

zbee062 from Anderson, SC on 7/22/2014

2008 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is installed in combination with a GMOS-04 adapter, a DNX890HD in a 2008 Corvette. Apparently it can be eliminated if the GMOS-04 cable is by passed (with Corvettes of certain years ), but I elected to include it and followed the instructions provided.

Pros: Instructions were clear and installation was easy. Would give 5 stars except I had no way of knowing 100% that the relay worked. Everything worked that was associated with the cable including sound quality, so I assume that it did work.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Crutchfield customer from Franklin Grove, IL on 7/19/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a relay

Pros: Works like it should.

Cons: None its self explanatory

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Works as adverstised

PM from Baldwinsville, NY on 4/23/2014

2006 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This relay was required. Instructions are minimal. I am not an electrician and w/o Crutchfield advisor, I would not have know where to connect the wires. Would have been very helpful to include more specific wiring instructions with the MasterSheet sent with the NAV/Radio I bought.

Pros: Works

Cons: A lot of wires. felt install instructions needed to be better.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Relay

Nelson1248 from Albuquerque nm on 3/6/2014

2007 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great to watch movies on the fly

Pros: Great support team help for install

Cons: Lots of wires

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Bill from Los Angeles on 10/29/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and very easy to install. I would of liked to see the relay be able to be connected to the radio. With all the adapters the harness became massive and cumbersome to install.

Pros: Went in very quickly

Cons: Need more documentation to install without pro help.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Digger from Kyle, TX on 9/7/2013

2003 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was replacing a lightening fired unity in a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country with the Infinity system. Installing the relay was not really that difficult or complicated, except the instructions were confusing and not completely correct. The Crutchfield Technical support helped me get it properly installed. They were a big help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

E-5000 relay

Nick from Houston,tx on 6/22/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A+

Pros: Worked as promised

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great relay and connector at a fair price.

mike V from simi valley, ca on 4/20/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

quality relay & connector with a wide range of uses.

Pros: comes with a sheet of suggested uses and wiring diagrams.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PERFECT FIT

MTM from Monterey,CA on 7/19/2012

2011 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great matched up perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does the Job and Does it Well

Mike from Texas on 1/27/2012

2006 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation is rather straight forward and it served the purpose of what it's supposed to do.

Pros: Does the job.

Cons: None to report.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Crutchfield customer from South Carolina on 6/6/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed per Crutchfield instructions and it works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra E-5000 relay

Ed from Riverside, Ca on 5/13/2011

2007 Chevrolet Silverado (New Body Style

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Initially I hooked-up this relay, but din't like how I would have to struggle with finding a home for it. It works, but I chose to do without. I can't hear it anyway when I have music on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

That's It

Macline from Philadelphia, Pa on 5/2/2011

2007 Chevrolet Impala

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well theres four wires, and i only needed two both turn signal sounds work and i would recommend this to anybody who just wants to keep all the factory car sounds while having an aftermarket radio. It was very easy an no problem with product so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worked Fine

Adam from Oxford, MI on 2/20/2009

2001 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2001 Chrysler Town and Country with the Infinity sound system. I had to get instructions to connect the amp power lead (pass side kick panel). Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not for '89 Audio 100 without Bose

Art from Easton, PA on 2/9/2009

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solution where each speaker has its own amp, this solution did not work. Product was returned. Sound muffled and noice from engin could be heard. Crutfield should consider other options.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Multi purpose

Paul from Stamford, CT on 6/30/2008

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had a problem in my car. i had a cap, jl 1000/1 and a TMA320.4 running off the same REM line from my head unit. It simply wasnt enough power to startup all of the components. I put this relay in to put more power into the amps to start them up. Its a great thing and works flawlessly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

14 of 16 found this helpful

TOP