Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

4K-compatible HDMI switcher (5 in/1 out)

MFR # CS-HDM5X1SW4

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

4K-compatible HDMI switcher (5 in/1 out)

MFR # CS-HDM5X1SW4

10 reviews
View this product

Awesome Switch!

Crutchfield customer from Riverview, FL on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This switch has worked perfectly and allowed me to connect all my devices to my soundbar in a hassle-free way. As other reviews have mentioned, the battery that comes with the remote is pretty much drained, but if you install a new one (CR-2032) it will work just fine. I am using a Harmony remote, and this particular model is not in their database, so I used the original remote to teach the commands to the Harmony and everything works perfectly fine!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great device for adding HDMI ports!

Clinton from Marietta, GA on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just hooked this item up today, but so far it is working perfectly, and is just what I needed. You know how it goes.... 5 HDMI devices, but only 3 ports on the TV. Swapping cables to play on a game console gets old real quick. This item does exactly what it's supposed to, and does it well. Easy to set up, and provides a high quality picture and audio for all connected devices. For everyone who has issues with the remote, I would recommend replacing the battery. My remote did not work at all at first. Tried replacing the battery, and now it works great. It uses a coin battery, type CR-2025. Not something you expect to have to do, but I'm not going to get too upset over a $0.50 battery. Overall, I'm very happy, thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: All input/output ports on back, small size, supports up to 5 devices, remote control.

Cons: Battery in remote dead out of the box.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

Crutchfield customer from Bayamon, PR on 4/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent quality !

Pros: Easy to connect

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not as good as I intially thought

Crutchfield customer from OAKFIELD, WI on 4/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The difference between this unit and the cheap ones you see online is that it actually works. What it has in common with them is that it doesn't work 100% of the time and has some major weaknesses. The fact that it can accurately handle multiple 4K inputs is great, BUT in the past 2 months the unit has been experiencing video drop outs. I attempted to alleviate this by getting Crutchfield branded cables made for my purpose, but to no avail. Additionally, to of the LED indicators lights that illuminate the buttons have gone out. The remote is also somewhat wonky in that it takes multiple hard presses of a button to get the unit to respond, so I usually end up using the main unit's button. I can live with the issues, BUT I'm quite disappointed that an item sold by Crutchfield would start to experience issues only 3 months into it's use/life.

Pros: Handles Multiple 4K Inputs

Cons: Video Dropouts Number/Position Indicators Fail Remote works sporadically

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

Linh from Oregon on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The switch itself is quite sturdy and is capable of handling the mix of consoles and media players that I have plugged in. The remote is the biggest shortfall with semi-responsive buttons that require heavy presses. Would be nice if they had a better remote to match the quality of the switch itself.

Pros:

Cons: Poor button response on the remote

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

Crutchfield customer from Corvallis, OR on 3/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems to work fine so far. No issues with switching or audio. The remote is worthless, like others have said.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice switch

Brian from Joliet Illinois on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seems like a great HDMI switch that works perfectly for connecting several feeds to my projector.

Pros: Very compact

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Matthew from Estero, FL on 11/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Check the bandwidth supported in most switches out there on Amazon and they aren't the same. 5 inputs and 1 output all on the back which I prefer. Had some audio drop issues after pausing at first but just had to turn off HDMI CEC on a couple sources, and leave it on in the AVR and all was good. More expensive for a reason and highly recommended!

Pros: Able to pass full bandwidth of all audio and video formats (something most others don't seem to do so check the specs)

Cons: Have to be deliberate when pointing remote...not a big deal

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Big Bang

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome splitter for all my 4K devices!! Small and compact as well!! A huge BANG for the buck!!

Pros: Space, and 4K readiness!!!

Cons: Only had a month, but none to date

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal CS-HDM5X1SW4

Crutchfield customer from Shakopee, MN on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works, if does what it is suppose to do

Pros:

Cons: Small, really tough to read what input you are on, very small LED and labeling

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

TOP