Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Allows you to connect the factory USB port on select 2009-up Hyundai vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-HYKIA-USB

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Allows you to connect the factory USB port on select 2009-up Hyundai vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-HYKIA-USB

27 reviews
View this product

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Gastonia, NC on 1/16/2021

2015 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality part for a good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect fit and function for our 2010 Kia Forte

Crutchfield customer from Phillipsburg, NJ on 1/3/2021

2010 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect fit and function for our 2010 Kia Forte ... reclaimed the internal aux & charge/data port with the installation of our Boss Apple Car Play unit.

Pros: works and fits perfectly

Cons: It is a little tough to access this connector in the 2010 Forte, the instructions did not really include a how-to on this one, but it was easy enough to figure out.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wasted Money

Crutchfield customer from White Bear Lake, MN on 12/7/2020

2012 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was an un-necessary piece. The amount of dash dismantling I would have had to do to install this on my car was not worth it. I did not hook it up to verify but I read that Air Play would not work so if true what it the point of it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Jeffrey, reached out to issue this customer a refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Tyler from AMERICUS, KS on 11/18/2020

2013 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work on KIA with UVO system, don't waste your money. Unfortunately I am not able to return because of the gap of time between ordering for my parents and actual install due to Covid.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/24/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Tyler to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Adapter to the Rescue

Crutchfield customer from Fairport, NY on 10/17/2020

2012 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice and it works, but the cables are too long for a Kia Soul and I would imagine most cars that have the USB/Aux plugs in the center console and the stereo above them in the dash. A few wire ties solves the problem, but I like to be able to do my work neater than bundles of wires. I subtracted a star because this is sold as a match for the Pioneer DMH-220EX, but this stereo has an 1/8" aux input jack and the cable comes with RCA plugs. I had to supply an adapter - more "stuff" hanging on behind the dash and more connections to corrode or shack loose. I would like to have a choice of connector to better match the car stereo.

Pros:

Cons: RCA plugs for Aux, but I needed an 1/8" plug.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buy at your own risk. USB has no video passthrough.

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 8/7/2020

2016 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works great until you realize the USB does not support video pass through. Making mirroring your carplay or android auto obsolete on that unit you spend $400 to have carplay or android auto.

Pros: Charges USB devices.

Cons: No carplay or Android Auto capability.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Redlands, CA on 7/26/2020

2014 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was hard for me to install this because of where the AUX/USB port was on my car but once I got it in it worked perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Easy to follow directions for installation

Crutchfield customer from De Ruyter, NY on 7/20/2020

2011 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install. No issues

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 7/2/2020

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Will only retain charging for usb not for using Apple car play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Rob from Battle Creek, MI on 4/28/2020

2012 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. UNLESS you want to use it for Apple Carplay. As that was the only reason I bought this, it is for all intents and purposes a complete waste of money. I did give it and extra star because to be fair, no where do they claim it to be Carplay compatible. That being said, Crutchfield, adding this to a kit when you sell a wired only Carplay radio, is a disservice to your customers.

Pros: Works as advertised by the manufacturer.

Cons: Absolutely NOT Carplay compatible.

Crutchfield response on 5/6/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Rob to issue a refund. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Iphone yes, Android, not so much.

Crutchfield customer from Nampa, ID on 12/28/2019

2010 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install. Worked perfectly for iPhone, not so much in Android. We pulled the had units USB through the dash and it workbench perfectly. This is s known problem with Android.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not support Apple CarPlay

Tod from McDonough, GA on 8/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buyer beware. This product does not support Apple CarPlay. It will charge your phone, but is not compatible with CarPlay and apparently the Andriod version as well.

Pros: Will interface with OEM USB/AUX plug and charge your phone

Cons: Does not support Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Michael V from Berry, AL on 7/25/2019

2015 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can confirm that this does NOT work in a 2015 Kia Forte. It will charge the phone, but that's it. Ended up just doing it straight to the radio. Shame.

Pros: Great concept

Cons: Does not work in a 2015 Forte

Crutchfield response on 7/29/2019
Michael, we're sorry this USB adapter didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Does not work!!

Crutchfield customer from Canal Wnchstr, OH on 6/10/2019

2017 Kia Sportage

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work for my 2017 Kia Sportage. Talked to several pro installer and they said maybe two out of fifty work. Total worthless product!!

Pros:

Cons: Useless product!

Crutchfield response on 6/12/2019
We're sorry this adapter didn't work out for you. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Mount Vernon, WA on 5/3/2019

2015 Kia Forte

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Words of warning.. 'IT DOES NOT FIT A 2015 KIA FORTE' the harness connector isn't even close.. I wasted my money..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/8/2019
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll confirm this is the correct adapter for his Forte, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not fit 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Brian from Arlington on 4/30/2019

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately, this does not work on a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport. The connection was the wrong type for the factory USB and AUX port. I had to return and Crutchfield was quick to make sure the return was done properly and promptly. I was able to modify the factory USB plate and holder to support the female end of the USB cable. Used some epoxy to secure the cable to the plastic behind the faceplate and it now looks factory. I lost the AUX, but I never use that anyway. Crutchfield should have enough information on this product to identify what models it does fit. Saying in the description it lets me keep my factory USB and AUX connections for all Hyundais and Kias is incorrect and misleading.

Pros: Great idea

Cons: Not well defined on what cars it will and won't fit. Crutchfield should have better data on this to determine what models it does fit.

Crutchfield response on 4/30/2019
Brian, we're sorry this didn't work out for your vehicle. A full list of compatible vehicles can be found under the "Details" tab for this USB adapter.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from San Carlos, CA on 4/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, more reliable than the stock USB connector. Glad we don't have to use a combo USB/Aux adapter and that it works with an iPhone out of the box. But seems costly for what it is. And it still needs the Kenwood Aux-Input adapter. Sheesh!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 4/17/2019

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Although this harness was recommended for my Hyundai Sante Fe Sport 2017, it was not compatible. Crutchfield processed the return very fast. Wish there was an alternative.

Pros:

Cons: Didn't work in my vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 2/9/2019

2011 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works really good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, IN on 9/7/2018

2010 Hyundai Tucson

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, plugged right into back of radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Crutchfield customer from Ludlow, MA on 4/23/2018

2015 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only thing with this is it doesn't work with Android auto and my kenwood headunit. It will charge. I just use and mounted an extra usb port that can with the radio to utilize android auto. Not huge deal.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not work for Android Auto

Jeff from Minneapolis, MN on 7/16/2017

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

USB connection does not provide required connectivity to run Android Auto. Disappointed that this was recommended with the purchase of the Sony XAV-AX100 head unit.

Pros: Works as installed for most applications

Cons: Does not have connectivity required to run Android Auto.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

No CarPlay with Kenwood DDX9903s and Hyundai Gen Coupe

Morgan from San Jose, CA on 4/23/2017

2015 Hyundai Genesis

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had a chance to test the aux-in portion of this adapter, but I have tested the USB portion. I have this paired up with a Kenwood DDX9903s in a Hyundai Genesis Coupe and CarPlay will not work with this particular adapter. The device will charge and you will get the blue status bar + CarPlay logo on the iPhone, but CarPlay will not be shown as an option on the head unit. Removing the adapter allows for CarPlay to function as expected. I'm knocking two stars off the apparent lack of USB data functionality, but it does at least work ok for charging other devices.

Pros: Works for charging at least?

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Dean from Fargo, ND on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Same result as Nick above... USB does not work with my Kingston memory stick and Soundstream VR-65XB. The receiver sees the memory stick, but says it is not supported. If I plug the memory stick directly into the receiver's USB, it works fine. Very disappointing. The memory stick has mp3 files put on it by a Windows 7 PC, so there is no reason it does not work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/22/2016
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Josh from Hazlet, NJ on 11/10/2016

2016 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked exactly as described. Glad there was a solution to retaining my aux and USB plug so I didn't have wires just hanging out of my dashboard.

Pros: Retention of USB and six port

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-HYKIA-USB Adapter for Hyundai

Ghaith from Sacramento, CA on 7/22/2016

2011 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This adapter works well and allowed me to keep my factory usb and aux connections with my aftermarket radio. I would have liked it better if it kept the audio as aux instead of splitting it into left and right rca, i had to get an adapter to connect that into my radio's aux port. I've tested both the USB and the Aux with my phone and it is working well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

USB port not AVH-4100NEX friendly

Nick F from Lexington, KY on 6/9/2016

2012 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The USB port would not pass signal through properly to my 4100NEX for Android Auto. Had to run a cable straight to the head unit. Waste of half the investment

Pros: Easy install

Cons: USB pass through is iffy at best

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP