Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Retain your factory backup camera in (or add an aftermarket camera to) select 2007-2015 Mazda vehicles

MFR # AX-MAZCAM-6V

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Retain your factory backup camera in (or add an aftermarket camera to) select 2007-2015 Mazda vehicles

MFR # AX-MAZCAM-6V

25 reviews
View this product

Straight forward

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straight forward with Crutchfield's instructions I made a YouTube video showing the process. https://youtu.be/mVE8Lsval0M

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good kit, poor instructions

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions are very basic and it is unclear if some wires and terminals should be used or not. The kit can be used for both the oem camera connected to an aftermarket audio unit and an aftermarket camera connected to the oem audio unit. That means it makes sense for some wires/terminals not to be in use in each application but better instructions or even better a diagram would make it much easier to understand how to connect the kit. I'm pretty sure Crutchfield staff can help with that and clear any questions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 12/21/2020

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A must needed item if you want to retain your OEM b/u camera. Simply follow the instructions of this wiring harness and your aftermarket stereo and you should be good to go. I had no issues so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works!

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, AZ on 11/9/2020

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as designed, allows the Mazda 6V factory camera to be used with other head units.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Herriman, UT on 9/14/2020

2010 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Made the attachment of the rear camera so easy. The head unit was labeled and so was the harness. I got it all hooked up and looks great. Sometimes websites recommend extra unnecessary stuff, but this was definitely necessary. Without it, my rear camera wouldn't work anymore. So glad I bought the harness!

Pros: Super easy installation.

Cons: Admittedly have no idea what the blue wiring harness is for... the camera is working just fine with the yellow harness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from HAGERSTOWN, MD on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally got it working properly in my 2015 Mazda 6 non-Bose the trick was connecting the blue-white wire of the converter to ignition wire rather than backup signal wire and displays the backup camera as it was before the aftermarket radio, the instructions are not right for this specific car but I made it work, I hope it help others having problems with it.

Pros: Nice product once everything is plugged right.

Cons: Instructions should be specific for each model.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not work as wired with my CX9

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 7/21/2020

2008 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not work. Crutchfield adviser noted that their ready harness team needed to update how they install this as the way mine was wired for CX9 would not provide enough power and likely fried the harness. The solution was for me to disconnect part of their wiring an run a new wire to the fuse panel area to provide power to the camera. The adviser who helped was amazing but I opted to return the entire stereo as the ultimate solution defeated the purpose of ready harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Doesn't work with all Mazdas

Crutchfield customer from Berlin, CT on 4/22/2020

2011 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure this is a great harness when it's just plug and play, but unfortunately it didn't work with my vehicle. If you have a 2011 Mazda 6 with Bose sound system but NO factory navigation, this likely won't work for you. Luckily, Crutchfield support was great and walked me through how to splice the wires with the existing connectors in my car and I was able to get everything working perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from The Woodlands, TX on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

this product is still not working even tho several attempts at repairing it from over the phone.

Pros: very fast service

Cons: sending out untested or not working properly equipment

Crutchfield response on 3/25/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Nicole, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera connected and working properly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 1/6/2020

2015 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect with my factory rear camera (2015 Mazda CX-9)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Simple Plug and Play and Easy Install! Thank you Crutchfield!

Mathew from Lockbourne, Ohio on 12/26/2019

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

2012 Mazda CX9 with Bose, Nav - Replaced with Kenwood DDX396, PAC RP4 MZ11 and this backup camera harness all pre-wired by Curtchfield. This plugged right in with no problems and works great! I will never buy another aftermarket stereo without having Crutchfield wire up the harness. They did an excellent job and made my install so easy! The hardest part was figuring out the Double Din Dash Kit. Currently, I am trying to figure out how to wire my camera up to be always on rather than only working while in Reverse. I believe the Blue/Red Wire needs to be tied into the red wire from the radio wire harness but still doing research. Thanks Crutchfield for the great work and great customer service!

Pros: Very simple, just plug into vehicle harness and plug into back of stereo and put in reverse and WaLa! Backup camera picture appears! Highly recommend having Crutchfield do the wiring on all harnesses before having products delivered. Crutchfield made this install a breeze and very stress free.

Cons: No Cons here, this harness works great!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, IA on 7/22/2019

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made install easy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worthless and Bothersome

Crutchfield customer from Sunland, CA on 5/20/2019

2008 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worthless! Had to make modification for it to work. Seems like nobody at Crutchfield communicates well.

Pros: Instructions are trash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/22/2019
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience and mix-up with Tech Support team. We're forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope he gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 5/7/2019

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to hook up and get running. No problems whatsoever.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 12/21/2018

2014 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and as expected. I would buy it again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Oklahoma City, OK on 12/3/2018

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work for my 2016 Mazda 6. I called support and they wanted me to cut the wires near the crimps, strip the wires and test it with a multimeter. The product should just work. My back camera is now completely useless. I'll test the product again in a few weeks when I actually have time to. But the product should just work without having to dismantle to test it.

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't work.

Crutchfield response on 12/4/2018
We're sorry you're having issues with your backup camera harness. If the problem continues once you test it, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Alberton, MT on 11/23/2018

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Items worked as they should, instructions were easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Read if you have a CX-5

Kirk from Salt Lake City, UT on 11/16/2018

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Vehicle install was on a 2014 Mazda CX-5 Grand Touring. Instructions just DID NOT work. I installed exactly how the instructions stated and I did not receive any input from the factory camera. After some time with a multi-meter I've realized that the blue/black 12V to 6V step down is UNNECESSARY for my vehicle. My second problem, maybe not related to this item, was with the PAC harness. There was no signal coming from the reverse signal wire (checked via multi-meter). I had to splice the Axxess yellow wire into the reverse signal wire BEFORE the PAC harness, check online diagrams and with a multimeter to check for 12V (don't forget to shift into reverse and put the parking brake on!). Connect the black wire to another black, ground wire and the camera connection into the stereo's camera input. It now works great, turns on every time.

Pros: Once connected correctly it does work.

Cons: Instructions are generic and not specific for each vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Maple Valley, WA on 9/25/2018

2014 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build seems ok, but its not functioning with my 2014 Mazda6 oem camera. I have tried a number of wiring variations, when I drop into reverse the screen goes black, but not able to get an image to display. I have checked all the voltages, and everything is how it should be according to everything I can find documentation wise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/26/2018
: Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the camera working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from Charlotte, NC on 8/15/2018

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2015 Mazda CX-5 with my new Kenwood receiver. Wish I could access it when not in reverse but definitely not the end of the world for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 2/25/2018

2007 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't work with the factory camera on my 2007 Mazda CX9 (Bose and Nav). Crutchfield techs were never able to get the factory camera to output an image on the screen. Black screen is all I can get with this harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does the job, does it well.

Matthew from Florida on 12/27/2017

2015 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does the job. I found the step-down voltage regulator to be unnecessary in my 2015 CX5 GT. Just connected the adapter to the camera connector, plugged the RCA end into my stereo, and wired yellow to reverse and black to ground. Seems to be working without issue.

Pros: Simple to wire up, allows you to keep the stock camera with an aftermarket radio, or use an aftermarket camera with the stock radio.

Cons: A bit sloppy on the wiring, because of it's dual-purpose application.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Picture Quality

James from Hollywood, FL on 11/23/2017

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to connect my facotry mazda 6 camera to my new PIONEER AVH491. It techniclly works but the picture quality went from crystal clear with my factory stereo, to green and fuzzy on the Pioneer. Pretty crappy looking so I might just unplug it.

Pros: Helped me get my backup camera working on 2014 Mazda 6

Cons: Instructions are pretty bad. Camera Quality is HORRIBLE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6v

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 11/5/2017

2013 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed the JVC ILX107 in my 2013 Mazda CX-5. It took a while to figure out why the stock backup camera wasn't working.... then I tested the voltage, and found that it was dropping it down to 3 volts.... So the 6v part was completely unnecessary; I rewired it without the additional voltage converter and it worked correctly. (still just need to improve the ground, because the camera looks like crap occasionally). But apparently I could've saved money, though, by buying the adapter without the voltage converter.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/16/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the backup camera working the way it should, or help him return the harness for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess AX-MAZCAM-6V Backup Camera Harness

Bobby from Fredericksburg, VA on 9/14/2017

2007 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions are not written very well, I had to switch the video + and video - wires on the harness to make it work with my 2007 CX-7.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

TOP