Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Metra ethereal MHX-T-5

Toslink optical digital audio cable (0.5 meter/1.6 feet)

MFR # MHX-T-5

Metra ethereal MHX-T-5

Metra ethereal MHX-T-5

Toslink optical digital audio cable (0.5 meter/1.6 feet)

MFR # MHX-T-5

67 reviews
View this product

Metra ethereal MHX

Jim from LINCOLN, NE on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Barrigada, GU on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Swanville, ME on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Wayne, NJ on 8/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Thank you!

Pros: Hooked right up and automatically connected the two units.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Slidell, LA on 7/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Saved me a lot of money

Josef from New Orleans, LA on 6/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a long fiber optic cable to run from a wall mounted tv through wall to receiver. Crutchfield had the best price and the quality is assured.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as it should

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 5/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works seamlessly as it should. I had previously ordered a seemingly similar optical cable from a huge overnight retailer which proved to be defective and would go out constantly - quality of this cable is much better for only a few extra dollars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

MICHAEL from Williamsburg, KY on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! I hooked up my new LG OLED tv up to my Yamaha AS 501 integrated amp which goes out to a pair of B& W 683 s2 speakers. I'm quite surprised at how good it sounds.

Pros: Works as advertised, long enough to reach to the odd side that LG put their connections on.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Burlingame, CA on 4/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had an empty optical port so I bought an optical connecting cord. Takes all the guess work out of installing.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Optical Cable

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The connection from sound bar to tv audio was easy. Somehow the ability for these two units to communicate with each other is inconsistent. I will continue to experiment with the connections to see if it is the sound bar or the optical cable that is preventing optimal performance. In addition, I remember the reason I like the sound quality of analog vs digital.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Crutchfield Optical Cable

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 4/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a new Optical cable. I have had my mine for 11 years and and it was only 3 ft. That is when I talked with Wade, and looked on the Crutchfield website for my options. I had tried the HDMI Premium Crutchfield cable and was very pleased so I thought their Optical cable would perform just as well. I purchased a 6ft Optical cable and it works great! I am vey happy to have a budget friendly and high performance Optical cable that is long enough for my setup. Thank you Wade!

Pros: Budget Friendly, Performs Great, Crutchfield Service

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from El Dorado Hills, CA on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I needed a short run to connect a twk - 88 to twk - D8. Works as hoped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Optical Digital Audio Cable.

Crutchfield customer from Upper Marlboro, MD on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once I was able to fish the cable into the wall and hooked the cable to the TV and Bose 15 Sound Bar, everything worked out great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ethereal

savoy from Ravenel, SC on 2/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

exactly what i needed to make everything right

Pros: great

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from N Miami Beach, FL on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 2/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality product and same great customer service from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Ron from San Luis Obispo, CA on 2/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Quality cable for the price point. Allowed easy connection of newer TV to my older Yamaha Reciever and gives good sound quality.

Pros: Well made Good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Digital optical cable

Moe from Nolensville, TN on 2/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great cable for the price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Milton, FL on 1/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does what it's supposed to do. Nothing special.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

optical audio cable

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very well made product and price was good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Jeff from Tampa, FL on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, inexpensive option for combining smart TV's good speakers with the awesome sound of the Yamaha R-N803.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 1/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

wish it would of come with unit

Pros: works great

Cons: should b 6 ft

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great audio

Brian from Shorewood, IL on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great optical cable, good tight fit on Toslink connector. Great value.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Danville, PA on 1/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Premium quality optical cable compared to the plastic tipped one purchased at a big box store - wasted money:-(

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works Fine

Will from Brandon, VT on 1/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as an optical cable should.

Pros: It works.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

D from Navarre, FL on 12/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast Shipping. Cable easy use , works great

Pros: 1 cable , easy setup

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Sandown, NH on 12/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Cheap and good quality. What else can you ask for?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

great buy

matt from Denver, NC on 12/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

very nice cable, works great. feels of high quality for a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect cable for amazing surround sound experience

Luis from Chula Vista, CA on 12/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High quality cable and connector, produces amazing sound for surround sound experience.

Pros: High quality, perfect length, for a good price

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sound! Quality!

Crutchfield customer from Shafter, CA on 11/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for my sound bar. Well constructed. Always will buy metra products! Never-ever has an issue with these. Will buy again!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Quality feel.

Den from New Hudson, MI on 11/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Snaps in place securely at both ends. Cheaper, lower quality cables often don't seem to fit properly. Works well without any apparent signal problems. I'm happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Rich from Albany , NY on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Some items are a tad pricey but this is the best place for electronics and support after you buy from them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

William from Bristol, TN on 11/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great. No issues

Pros: Works fine

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Sag Harbor, NY on 10/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good basic cable

Robert B. from Sarasota, FL on 10/13/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A nicely made cable to carry sound to my bluetooth earphone system.

Pros: Construction

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Stanwood, WA on 9/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes every component "talk" to each other instead of finding the buttons on your remotes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from North East, MD on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well and sends a signal as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Corinne from Lynnwood, WA on 8/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It only fit the speakers but not the CD player, What a waste of money, thanks for nothing.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't fit and not worth the money it would cost to return it so I;m just stop with a useless cable and out of the money.

Crutchfield response on 9/4/2018
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Brendan, reached out to Corinne to offer a return. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team right away.

0 of 1 found this helpful

High quality cable

Joe from Buford, GA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super quality cable. Very well made and gives me quality sound for my connection to my Bose speaker and my headphones. When it comes electronics I no longer try to go cheap thru other online retailers. I now only buy from Crutchfield. I got fed up with knockoffs from unknown sellers.

Pros: Quality made and nicely fit connection

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Guest from Harrisonburg, VA on 8/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Long enough to run through the wall and good crisp sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

mark desanto from Creede, CO on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A quality cable , works as described

Pros: no distortion

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Robert from Palm Springs, CA on 7/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sturdy cable, no issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Rancho Mirage, CA on 7/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It did the trick! Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Gary from Dallas, WI on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great

Pros: Good signal

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Mangilao, GU on 6/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great premium optical cable. It is also nice when it comes with detactable dust cover.

Pros: Great premium cable with great price from crutchfield.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

BS from Ventura, CA on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice cable, clicked in solid, good value

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 4/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

David from Reisterstown, MD on 4/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I did not know that toslink connectors could fit so well. Perfect fit at both ends. Previous cables made me hate toslink because of poor fit. And great that dust covers are attached.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great cable

Don from Eden, NC on 4/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All around great cable.

Pros: Much more durable cable vs what came with the surround system. 30 second installation time and works great.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Aspen, CO on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thick, durable outer coating, high quality connection ends.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Chuck from Cibolo, TX on 3/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

No question about it, the optical connections between your receiver and CD player are awesome. I had been using RCA cables between my receiver and my CD player and the music with the optical connections is so much clearer and wonderful to listen to. I am enjoying listening to my CD collection. Pulling out all my favorite CD's.

Pros: AWESOME

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 2/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Newburgh, IN on 1/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product worked perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Needed Cable

Jack from Hillsboro, OH on 1/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was told for my Panasonic TV I would need this cable. The TV has only a Toslink cable connection, so I had no choice. It does what it is supposed to for using the headphones with my TV. It was frustrating because there was no directions on how to connect everything. I figured out there was a door to open for the cable to go through on my TV and the ethereal box.

Pros: Connects the TV through the ethereal box to the headphones

Cons: No directions, so it was a little frustrating because I had never used a Toslink cable and did not know how to connnect it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Kensington, MD on 12/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple to install. Provided crystal clear connection between my Onkyo CD player and my new HK3770 receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Plug & Play

Robert J. from West Berlin, NJ on 12/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

High Quality product; Crutchfield tech support was very helpful in selecting the correct item!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

They work

Wayne from Gilford, NH on 12/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They work as described. I bought two and did get an open package with broken caps which the support group immediately replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Steamboat Spr, CO on 12/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

high quality cable at a very good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from High Point, NC on 12/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With AJ's help I was able to connect an older TV to my new Sony receiver that I purchased from you. The cable was easy to use, giving me full use of the receiver.

Pros: .

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as described

Rick from Saline, MI on 10/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Successfully used to interface digital audio output from a Samsung 55" HDR TV to Sennheiser RS195 headphones for hearing impaired and to a McIntosh MA5200.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great optical cables

Kristen from Charleston, SC on 10/8/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love these since they CLICK in unlike previous ones I've had that seem like they come out easily.

Pros: Click in for secure connections.

Cons: Make sure you get the right length!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 9/18/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, but most importantly greater service. Kudos to your company's culture to excellent service. First call for any electronics needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Clearwater, FL on 9/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I made a mistake with my last review. This fiber optic cable is my connection from the Onkyo 6 disc player to my Onkyo receiver. And the sound difference is very noticeable. The other cable is longer and was needed to hide the cable as the short one ran in front of one of my speakers. I have been pleased with Crutchfield for the 20 + years I have dealt with you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Cable

M from Fremont, CA on 9/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good product works as expected. Shipped on schedule.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Magnolia, Texas on 7/31/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality cable; flexible; easy to install. Resulting sound quality great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Crutchfield customer from Reeder, ND on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super sound...Now I know why it is rated so high.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra ethereal MHX

Ronald from Solon, OH on 6/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hey, it's an optical cable, perfectly functional, not an eyesore and it's cheap. What more can one expect from a cable? Five stars. So much bigly winning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP