Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Add steering wheel audio controls to your vehicle — works with an aftermarket car stereo's steering wheel control input

MFR # RFASWC

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Add steering wheel audio controls to your vehicle — works with an aftermarket car stereo's steering wheel control input

MFR # RFASWC

40 reviews
View this product

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Sean from Chaska, MN on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am using this in a 2000 Jeep Cherokee with an Alpine ILX-W650 head unit. It works to control volume, track forward/back and mute, but that's it. Because the W650 is primarily a CarPlay or Android Auto head unit, I don't think the button remapping on the remote will work, but I haven't tried yet. This remote is big, ugly and sticks out like a sore thumb, but it does what I wanted to do since the ILX-W650 does not have a physical volume knob. I would love to see a smaller, more elegant version, but until then, this will work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

auto remote

Crutchfield customer from Franklin, OH on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was searching for a remote for my motorcycle radio. This mounts on the steering wheel, I can get by with it, but at night it's worse than the radio, as far as trying to adjust anything. I've not figured out how I will keep it accessible, it doesn't look good mounted on the handlebar. And the remote jumps-i mean when I hit volume it jumps several numbers, I must turn it back down. Im trying to make it ok. Not real pleased

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Meridianville, AL on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome! No problems hooked to my Kenwood deck with no problems. Everything you need to connect to Kenwood receivers is included. I installed this on a 2007 gmc canyon steering wheel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's OK

James from Havertown, PA on 1/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed with a Pioneer DMH-2660NEX. It works, but as many others have said, the rubber strap's connection to the steering wheel is loose, and there's no way to really get it tight. If you pull the strap tighter to the next pair of holes, it just stretches the material and ends up looser than before. In order to push a button with your thumb, you have to brace the back of the control unit with your fingers so it doesn't spin around the steering wheel. The overall feeling of the button presses are "squishy" and not clicky. Unpleasant. I'm just hoping that the stretched strap won't eventually break. There's a screw you screw back in for extra support, but we'll see if it holds, especially through summer heat. The first page of the installation instructions say to update the device's firmware with the Axxess app. No problem, right? Well, actually the update port on the RFASWC is a 4-pin connector rather than a normal micro-USB, etc. So unless you happen to have a USB to 4-pin cable laying around, you can't update the firmware. Of course, Axxess is selling the update cable separately. For $50. Are you kidding? USB to 4-pin cables are under $10 online. For a package costing $120, it's unbelievable an update cable isn't included. I'm still giving the unit 3 stars because, for now, it does actually work for me without having to reprogramming buttons, or update firmware, and my control unit arrived with a functional battery. It works, but I wish there wa

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works decent

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works decent for those of us with older cars without factory steering wheel controls. This is the only device out there that does what it does. Bigger than I expected but ok. Build quality is good. Mounting is adequate, but could be stiffer. Programming was automatic. The device can automatically detect the radio type.

Pros: - Adds steering wheel controls to those who don't have them. - Lots of functions - Wireless - Automatic detection of head unit type.

Cons: - Bigger than expected - Mounting could be stiffer - Seems to only send signal when button is released, but that could be coming from my pioneer head unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Added needed buttons to my old MB Sprinter

Matthew from MCMINNVILLE, OR on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is a little pricey, but it finally gave me the ability to control volume and track forward/back from my old steering wheel. Luckily, it auto-sensed my Alpine head unit and programmed itself to it. Unfortunately, I wanted to mount this on the left side of the wheel and it ships configured for the right, and remapping the buttons didn't work for me and reads like a nightmare of button mashing and looking at a tiny LED. Also, the red/green buttons cannot be physically swapped since they're not symmetrical. The steering wheel mount slips around even though I shorted the rubber band as much as possible and clipped it very tight. There is 3M adhesive but I don't want to weld it to my wheel, I wish it had a tacky rubber backing to help keep it in place. For the price, I really wish it had a phone app to help remap buttons easier. Also, mine didn't ship with a battery in the unit and the manual didn't mention what kind I needed, but I had a CR2032 at home and it all worked once inside (and on the right side of the wheel). The manual also mentioned pins that could connect to a USB port but didn't mention when you might ever use them, or how you might use them. The manual didn't have a wiring diagram and neglected to explain one of the wires in the loom (which thankfully my stereo didn't need).

Pros: Auto-sensed my Alpine unit from the get-go, got the buttons to work once on my steering wheel.

Cons: Confusing manual, no mention of the battery in the remote, remapping buttons is tedious and difficult, steering wheel mount is slippery even though the rubber band is near maximum tightness.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Did not work

Crutchfield customer from E Stroudsburg, PA on 6/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The controller came with a dead battery I replaced it still would not communicate with the small box so I am getting it replaced I got really good support and replacement is on its way hopefully I will get a good one

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Laurel, MS on 5/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

not that good over price will not recommend to any one

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works but kinda weird.

Crutchfield customer from Spring Branch, TX on 1/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Seem to work well on the Pioneer SPH-10BT, just wish it would be more secure on the steering wheel though. Definitely need better help in the programing and remapping of the buttons.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 1/21/2020
We forwarded this review to our Technical Support team for follow-up. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return/exchange within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Scott from Klamath Falls, OR on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Didn't work when if arrived, called customer support and they were also stumped, finaly I figured out the battery was dead when I recieved it. After replaceing the battery it works well, I use it with my Kenwood DNX995, it works to change volume and advance songs or change stations, it will answer and hang up calls, but I wish I could have it activat the SIRI voice comands. it is nice to have, but could use a little updating.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Hands free

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 11/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it works great transformed 2003 highlander to hands free

Pros: Easy to setup and use

Cons: Haven't found one yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great steering wheel control

Crutchfield customer from Crystsl Lake, IL on 10/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only weakness I can see is the lack of grip on the steering wheel. I does have an adhesive strip which can be pealed away, but I would rather see a course grading strap rather than the smooth rubber. As far as the unit and its operation, it Rocks! Easy install, setup and operation. 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Buy it!

Crutchfield customer from Harvey, LA on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and effective!

Pros: Slick and clean

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Custom RFASWC

Crutchfield customer from Donnellson, IA on 8/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I only gave 4 stars due to the phone controls unable to connect. But the main reason for this item was to have remote control of the volume . I actually did a custom modification to the case, I cut the steering wheel mount off and then poured a custom base for the unit to sit flat on my console on a 1995 Corvette. It did aeverything I really wanted it to do. The tech staff was amazing at Axxess as I called and explained what was to be done and they supported me all the way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 7/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not able to firmly fit it on my steering wheel. But as far as setting it up. It was very simple and worked right out of the box.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Update an old vehicle

Crutchfield customer from Carson City, NV on 7/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to set up and get working with my new Alpine head unit. Worked out great to add some modern amenities to my old truck.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor remote

Crutchfield customer from Eugene, OR on 7/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sketchy at best. Instructions do not match unit. Unreliable remote control. Steering wheel attachment flimsy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this remote to operate the phone on a Kenwood KDC-BT772HD Radio. I purchased them at the same time after talking with a Crutchfield sales rep. The remote will not operate the radio. I have had 4 or more Crutchfield technical reps on the phone with no success. Also talked with 1 Axxcess rep and no success. Returned the 1st remote and the new one wouldn't work. I gave up. The volume, mute, source and channel changer however does work. Just no phone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 2/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall I'm pretty happy with this. It does seem expensive relative to the quality of the buttons, I wish the center pad was softer like the answer/hangup buttons. As is, it feels a little cheap compared to what it cost. I also expected to see a dedicated volume up/down rather than an up/down arrow. It hasn't slid around on my wheel because it's kind of wedged in there, but I can see how this would be an issue for some. The programming process is a little flaky, but it finally seems to have stored what I want on there. I would buy again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from North Little Rock, AR on 9/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with BOSS_STEREO_BVCP9675. Use Metro OE #11 mode for this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition to my RV

Susan from Belleville, IL on 6/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Followed the installation guide and the Axxess RFASWC worked perfectly! I installed it in a 2008 Damon Challenger 377 RV which didn't have this capability. It works great with h my new Panasonic DEH- S6010BS radio.

Pros: Easy to install, works great!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Amazing

Ron from New York, NY on 5/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this universal steering wheel remote to add to my Pioneer AVIC-8201NEX for my 2009 Nissan Rogue S, which does not have factory steering wheel controls. I works amazingly well, for volume, radio station presets, source and picking up and hanging up phone calls. After installation was complete, my installer (a local car stereo shop) said he couldn't get the answer and end call to work, he said he called the company and the they stated, my radio was not compatible with that feature. I didn't to get try it out right away, I was busy trying out the other features of the radio. However, the next day, I made a call and tried the hang up button (red button), and it worked! I called a buddy of mine to call me back, when he did, I hit the pick up button (green button) and it worked! This product is pricey but it works really good. Also, my installer stated, he put the 'receiver module' behind the radio and the remote is on the lower left hand side of the steering, it works very well, I have not had any issues with button presses registering. I would highly recommend this steering wheel remote.

Pros: Works as advertised!

Cons: Price is a little too high, but it works great. You do get what you paid for.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Could be better, but it works.

Paul from Columbus, IN on 4/22/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, the remote works well enough with my Alpine and recognized it on first try. But the steering wheel strap fastener needs to be designed better. The instructions on hooking up the strap are confusing and not very thorough. Axxesse online install video isn't much help. Seems to be overpriced

Pros: Standard programming easy and quick.

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

not what was expected

charlie from Tucson, AZ on 3/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this with the intent to be able to operate my phone on my Jensen VX2071from this control. I was told before purchasing it that it would do that. In AZ it is the law you have to operate a phone with hands free. After all the install and having to call Tech support we found out that it was amazing it EVEN operates the radio stations on this radio. Tech support was great and even offered to return it money back . But I wasn't about to literally take EVERTHING apart to return it.

Pros: operates radio volume

Cons: didn't operate the phone as was told

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from Snellville, GA on 3/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I think it's going to be very nice as soon as I can get it to perform functions. Working with Crutchfield now. Very secure fit and looks like factory equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Crutchfield customer from New Vienna, OH on 10/24/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and it fits well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Remote Control for your steering wheel

Richard from Beltsville, MD on 7/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is about the only gadget in town if you have a vehicle without steering wheel controls and want to add them. The devise comes with one of the worst instruction manuals I've seen and I'd hoped that Crutchfield, who has sold many, might have better experience and be able to provide new tips. So this is an expensive control that could probably do more if only someone could explain it to me (such as my iPhone or remapping the buttons that make no sense like volume up is right and volume down is left). Kind of a disappointment!

Pros: The only game in town if you want to add controls to your wheel when your vehicle never had them.

Cons: Unintelligible instructions and no one really seems to know exactly how to remap the buttons even though the claim is that you can.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 11 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Robert from Illinois on 6/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks cheap and out of place in car

Pros: Convenient

Cons: Looks cheap

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Steering Wheel Controls

Greg from Maine on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not perfect, but very nice and well liked so far. Better than w/o one. Hope it lasts....little skeptical with quality, but like it for the 1st wk!...I am not aware of the battery replacement that others mentioned...hope it's not a hasstle!

Pros: Works to my liking the 1st wk.

Cons: Little instable, but I have plans, as it can be worked with.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Poor Quality, Very Disappointed

Nunya from Lawrenceburg, KY on 12/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I couldn't get it to stop twisting away on the steering wheel when pressing buttons. Poor quality. Never got to test functionality. I am very disappointed as I was really hooping this would work for me. Sending it back for a refund.

Pros: Good Concept

Cons: Poor Quality

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

LEE from Rayne,LA on 11/28/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The RFASWC steering wheel control works well , the instructions could be better. The Crutchfield tech was very helpful to explain what axxess didn't write in the instructions.

Pros: Responds really well

Cons: A little bulky on the steering wheel

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy add on

Eric from Elgin, IL on 11/11/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added a nice JVC head unit to my card and trying to use the touchscreen to control it was a real pain. My car did not have steering wheel controls, and there are very few options for aftermarket add ons. The RFASWC unit was one of the few I could find. Installation and setup was easy and the instructions were clear. I now have the convenience of steering wheel controls. There are a few cons however. The keypad is quite large and takes up a lot of room on the steering wheel. I was never able to get the green/red buttons to pick up/hang up my phone via bluetooth, but I think this is a limitation of the head unit. I research this problem quite a bit and it seemed to be a common problem. The keypad is attached using a rubber strap that has 2 sided tape on it. The rubber strap was difficult to use, particularly when I needed to remove and reattached the keypad. A metal or plastic strap that could be tightened with a screw would have been much better. There were no instructions on how to replace the battery in the keypad. I found instructions online, and you need to remove the keypad from the steering wheel to replace it. Finally, this thing is expensive for what it is. I found a steering wheel control online for 40 bucks that was made of metal and had a metal bracket to attached to the steering wheel control, but unfortunately it turned out not to work with my JVC head unit.

Pros: Easy to install Much safer than using radio controls direct

Cons: Larger than expected Rubber strap is difficult No instructions for battery Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mated to VX7012

Kismetus from San Jose, CA on 5/31/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just right size and works well with VX7012. Has all the functionality I need for the basics source, volume, and next/previous. Has remapping functions that I've read doesn't exactly match the instructions but haven't needed to invoke reprogram commands yet.

Pros: Instructions

Cons: I really don't have any complaints.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Third Party Steering Wheel Controls

Adam H. from Mount Joy, PA on 3/24/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty decent option when considering adding steering wheel controls. The device for the steering wheel itself is a little bulky, but it's the best looking option I've ever found that doesn't break the bank. It was super easy to set up and the receiver was easy to connect. I've found it a little more difficult to program the device to customize the buttons the way I'd like. I feel like if there was better documentation this would be easier. Overall, I'm pleased with the purchase.

Pros: - Easy to setup and install - Just works, haven't had any weird issues or interference

Cons: - Hard to customize/program buttons - Kind of big

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works Great

James from Houston, Texas on 1/15/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing works great! Love having it.

Pros: The stereo responds immediately when you push a button.

Cons: It is kind of big on the steering wheel but I don't really care. Reprogramming it is a little different than it says. Once you program it, correctly or not, you must reset it to program again. Also, in the directions, holding the up during programming only needs to be done once. Afterwards, move on to the next button.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Its Ok -- this is work/tweaking still in progress

Fred from Virginia on 1/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My 06 Baja didn' t have any factory steering wheel controls that I have gotten used too over time; so I gave this a shot, while installing a avic-8100nex. The install is pretty simple +12v, gnd, and remote lead to head unit. Install on steering wheel isn't too bad. Over all I think I am happy with it, and I hope I can tweak it to work more like I want. If I can re-program the buttons and such then I think it would go to 3.5 or 4 stars and I would begin to feel the money could be worth it...

Pros: Gives you buttons on your wheel if you don't have them. Pretty easy install. For the most part, it works but needs some tweaking.

Cons: -instructions aren't very good. -steering wheel mounting strap can be tricky to tighten down; both the rubber pull strap and then the screw fastener. -no easy way to remount on steering wheel once strap is trimmed to fit; nor is there a second strap if you want to try in one position for a while and then move it. Not trimming the excess to allow for re-positioning is not really possible as excess covers up a handy mute button on back of control panel. -programming buttons is tricky

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Installed In 2008 Ford Escape

SteveH from Tennessee on 12/30/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit works as advertised. Installation is relatively easy. Customization is hard because the owners manual sux! The unit works well at this point. I installed it at 330 position on steering wheel. It is a little clumsy at that position, but better than at 2 o'clock. Because of the center post, it doesn't push away from the users thumb at 330. At 10 and 2 it would likely spin around the steering wheel. Overall, I like it but will reserve final rating on whether I can get the thing customized for PTT and on/off hook operations.

Pros: Works.

Cons: Crappy documentation.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Steering wheel controls

GLB NM from Farmington, NM on 7/24/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The device works very well. The mounting used needs improvement.

Pros: Device controls radio well.

Cons: The mounting means needs improvement.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Axxess RFASWC Universal Steering Wheel Controls Package

Naldo from Miami Fl on 2/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros: All good

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Not all bad

JEZ from Carlisle, PA on 2/5/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I do not like the interface as much as the thought I would. When reading the description I believed it would have 18 function I could program. It turns out you can only use 8 of the 18 function, seeing it only has 8 buttons and now the price seems like a bit much. That being said, the 8 functions work well, and it's nice to have controls of any kind on the steering wheel. The drawl back is the same for any remote that straps to the wheel; it gets in the way. If you don't have a problem with that then this unit is for you. Another problem I found is that the two way tape and rubber strap holds the unit tight to the wheel, but I have leather warped steering wheel. The unit dose not slip on the leather on the surface, but the leather slips underneath on the wheel frame, it moves a lot. On my steering wheel I removed the cruse controls on/off switch that was mounted on the left side, I found a switch that would work and moved the on/off function to the dash. Keeping the set/resume switches on the right side of the wheel. I then modified the transmitters body, and mounted it in place of the on/off switch. I would not recommend doing this unless you know what you are doing. Just saying it's an option and the results is like having factory controls.

Pros: Having control of your stereo on the wheel, works well.

Cons: unit is straped to the steering wheel and may get in the way, not good for some leather warped steering wheel

Crutchfield response on

19 of 22 found this helpful

TOP