Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Retain your backup cam and aux input in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles; simplifies installation of ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter

MFR # AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Retain your backup cam and aux input in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles; simplifies installation of ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter

MFR # AX-SUB28SWC-6V

34 reviews
View this product

Wire harness works

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 1/24/2021

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Finally had a chance to install my new radio and the harness was perfect

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not for subaru

Crutchfield customer from Enola, PA on 10/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not correct connection for subaru, subaru remote wiring doesn't work

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/14/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Manchester

Brian from Manchester, NH on 10/1/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was initially told by Crutchfield this would not work with my Sony XAV-AX5000 HU but it does! I was able to wire this up with the iDatalink Maestro SW adapter to retain the music controls on my steering wheel and the stock backup camera in my 2017 WRX. I used these parts with my new Sony XAV-AX5000 HU and had it work with no issues at all (I have not yet tried the pickup/hang-up phone buttons yet on my steering wheel). When I put my car into reverse (manual trans.) the backup camera comes on even when in Apple Carplay. Contrary to what Crutchfield says, this can be done! Since I used a different steering wheel control adapter I had to cut and splice some wires myself but I found some resources online that were very helpful. I also had no issues with the pins being fragile but I very carefully plugged it in during my install.

Pros: Works great, retained most steering wheel controls (not all tested), retained factory backup camera.

Cons: Had to cut and splice some wires which was not very difficult. I was told this could not be done...still did it.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome product

Crutchfield customer from Horseheads, NY on 6/28/2020

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Made all the hook ups that I have to do to get all my factory controls and camera working with my new head unit.

Pros: All in one product.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Harness fit 2017 Subaru BRZ AT

Crutchfield customer from W Springfield, MA on 6/16/2020

2017 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Harness was a fit for my 2017 Subaru BRZ AT. The only "problem" is that the "pick up" "hang up" and "push to talk" buttons are not retained however a technician at METRA informed me that those buttons are not confirmed to be retained with aftermarket hookups. Otherwise the harness worked very nicely and I'm very happy with it!

Pros: Easy installation Most steering wheel buttons retained Backup Camera retained nicely Aux port retained nicely

Cons: Doesn't retain certain steering wheel buttons but that wasn't a problem for me

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Obtaining factory volume controls on the steering wheel and backup cam

Crutchfield customer from Westborough, MA on 6/8/2020

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely purchase this works perfectly when set up with the instructions on the website a few simple wires and it's ready to go !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Easy life with crutchfield

Richard from Vancouver , WA on 4/13/2020

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product I use for every head unit install . Makes wiring as easy as hitting the ground. Thanks for the excellent service.

Pros: Easy to use, solidly built

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WRX Harness Reconfigured for BRZ.

Crutchfield customer from Belmont, MA on 1/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wiring harness was acquired for a 2017 BRZ. Crutchfield didn't have a kit for the BRZ but had one available that is configured for the WRX. After re-pinning a few connectors with the assistance of Crutchfield Techs, the system works perfectly as intended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wire kit

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, WA on 1/17/2020

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's the Only way to go. Anything you can do to make the install easy makes a big difference. I have used five times now and will continue on any install I do.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 1/8/2020

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for use with my 2017 Subaru Crosstrek and Sony XAV-AX1000. The wiring for the backup camera was incorrect with the black and yellow wires being swapped so I needed to pop the pins out and fix it, aside from that everything worked as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Probably great when it works, but check your stock harnesses!!

Crutchfield customer from Dresher, PA on 12/27/2019

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was recommended this harness as part of the installation kit for a 2018 Subaru Forester w/out Nav to retain backup camera and steering wheel controls. Upon inspection of the stock unit, the rear camera comes from a 5-in harness separate from the 28-pin harness. The ASWC-1 harness was also wired incorrectly for 2018 Forester application. After some research and re-wiring, I was able to retain the factory rear camera and steering wheel controls.

Pros: 28-pin harness fit Subaru factory harness. Retained steering wheel control and backup camera after rewiring. 6V Step down worked as described.

Cons: Was not properly wired for 2018 Subaru Forester, had to buy a separate 5-pin rear camera harness and re-wire the ASWC-1 for it to work.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works perfectly

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 10/14/2019

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works perfectly to retain factory backup camera. Used on a 2018 WRX base with Pioneer AVIC-5201NEX.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Taunton , MA on 9/29/2019

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works on 2104 with backup camera with modifications

Crutchfield customer from Brookfield, WI on 9/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

On the 2014 Legacy that displays the camera on the radio screen, it can be used with a slight modification: the yellow camera signal cable will need to be connected on pin 14 instead of pin 12 like it is wired. Simply swap the cable on #12 and #14. Also on the Legacy 2014, the park sensor (pin 15) is not connected, so you will need to connect the radio wire harness directly to the parking harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does work w/OEM rear view camera and aftermarket head unit on 2018 WRX

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 7/21/2019

2018 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This does in fact work for the 2018 WRX base model. After installing an aftermarket head unit, I got my rear view camera working with this item exclusively. Crutchfield service told me it doesn't work with 2018 WRX for OEM rear view camera. It DOES.

Pros: Works for OEM rear view camera with 2018 WRX and aftermarket head unit.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Castro Valley, CA on 4/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product! Works as intended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Panama City, FL on 3/19/2019

2015 Scion FR-S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Was not the right harness that I needed. Was able to find the right one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/20/2019
Our Customer Support has reached out to this customer to help. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Bandon, OR on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Instructions not well done at all and to me incomplete. Can not use off hook or on hook Steering wheel control buttons for phone. It dose retain rear camera and stock USB inputs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works with 2017 Subaru WRX

Crutchfield customer from Roanoke, VA on 1/25/2019

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect in my case, 2017 Subaru WRX non navigation, non Harmon Kardon. For the camera I plugged in the power wire into the reverse signal from the 28 pin connector. If you plug into ign or battery hot you can turn on the camera any time those outputs get a signal. Can keep steering wheel controls for Sony XAV-AX100 with 3.5mm jack to blunt cut wires that splice into this harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 1/8/2019

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed for the new head unit for my Subaru.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great purchase

Jamie from Vancouver, WA on 10/29/2018

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to use. Also retains my OEM backup camera and steering controls.

Pros: Easy to set up Retains OEM backup camera

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works like its suppose to.

Corey from Tualatin, OR on 2/25/2018

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Says it does not fit my subaru impreza wagon but it plugs in and allows the use of the factory camera. With my kenwood DDX395

Pros: Allows the use of factory camera.

Cons: None from me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Robert from Seattle, WA on 12/28/2017

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not fit the 2016 Subaru Forester XT with Harman Kardon audio + Nav. Crutchfield site says it does, but the pins are different. It's the same 28 pin harness, but this module is expecting pins in places that are not there

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product

Jared from Eagle River, AK on 10/22/2017

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my 2016 Crosstrek to a Alpine ilx-207. This harness had terrible reviews in the past about the pins bending and becoming mis aligned. This issue must have been fixed. I connected and disconnected this harness several times with absolutely zero problems. Back up camera works flawlessly with the voltage step down device which is included. Easy install.

Pros: Keep all factory features (with help from ASWC-1 for steering wheel controls)

Cons: None, really. Had to manually program the aswc-1 to get it to work with my radio. No biggie.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works with 2017 WRX

Joe from Raleigh, NC on 10/13/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works with 2017 WRX!

Pros: Works with 2017 WRX

Cons: Pins are weak so be careful! Don't force the connectors together and you will be fine.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Brandon from Mount Perry, OH on 9/10/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this with the Sony XAV-100AX head unit on my 2017 Subaru WRX and unlike the other reviewers, mine went right together. I looked and all of the pins were straight and I slowly but firmly inserted them together and they snapped right together. I even took it apart and put it back three times while I was test fitting and made sure everything stayed straight and good and it was fine. Maybe I got lucky or maybe they have fixed this issue that everyone else had. - If you are installing this on a 2017 WRX, do not buy the ASWC-1 module for your steering wheel controls even though this harness is prewired for it. I tried the module first which would only run 4 or five controls and kept erasing them randomly. All you need is a 3.5mm headphone jack cable. You can buy it online as a pigtail with the wires stripped back showing the red, white, and ground. Here is what you do: - Tape up the 10-pin black connector on this AX-SUB28SWC harness that is meant to plug into an ASWC-1 module since you won't use it. - 5-6 inches from the 28 pin connector, cut the three steering wheel control wires which are pins 21 (green/red wire), 22 (green/black wire), and 23 (black wire). - Strip the wires and connect them as follows: *Connect the green/red to the red wire on your 3.5mm plug *Connect the green/black to the white wire on the 3.5mm plug *Connect the black to your ground on your 3.5mm plug - Cut and tape off the 3.5mm plug tha

Pros: *Easier plug-and-play wiring *Includes a 12v to 6v converter for backup camera *Bad connector issue might be fixed because it went right together for me and had the updated and labeled red camera 6V power wire unlike the early versions that used a yellow wire.

Cons: *The prewired ASWC-1 wires are useless, use a custom 3.5mm plug as stated in my review and bypass the module. This unit can learn the buttons without the unreliable Axxess module. Just use the custom steering wheel controls menu when you wire it up like I did

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Poor quality connector/pins

Samuel from Ann Arbor, MI on 7/6/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The other reviews mentioning the connector problems are all accurate. I work in the automotive industry with these types of connectors frequently but I've never had to do this much babying and pin bending to get a connector to go in smoothly. DO NOT FORCE THIS CONNECTOR IN, since you're likely to damage the mating connector in the car, or one of the pins on this harness. After 5-10 mins of fiddling I managed to get it in, and it seems to be working well.

Pros: Works well once you manage to get it plugged in

Cons: Takes a lot of work and patience to plug the darn thing in! Main issue is misaligned pins with too much play so they can easily move out of position.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

taylor from Augusta, GA on 7/2/2017

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product in that it allowed me to use my factory back up camera. The 28 pin connector had issues keeping the pins aligned and therefore it was very difficult to use the plug. I also had to bypass said plug for the steering wheel control wires. 2016 Subaru Impreza

Pros: Retains factory backup camera

Cons: Faulty plug

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Finally got it to work!

Crutchfield customer from Fernley, NV on 6/29/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got it to work! Destroyed first 28 pin connector pins trying to use force as advised by Crutchfield trying to get connector to mate. Received replacement harness and 28 pin connector again would not mate. Decided to try and put some dielectric grease on the male and female mating surfaces, and after about 10 minutes of messing with the alignment of the pins, I was able to "feel" and "walk" the mating surfaces together!

Pros: Once you get the 28 pin connector mated, everything works!

Cons: Trying to get the 28 pin connector mated

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nothing worked on it

Keith from Los Angeles, CA on 6/17/2017

2016 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is a piece of junk. The harness doesn't fit into the car harness. After over an hour of adjusting the pins, I finally got it to fit, but the ASWC-1 kept showing no connectiion on pin number 22, and therefore didn't work at all. I also tried to bypass the pin by hardwiring it into the car wiring, and after multiple ground locations, still nothing worked; Also, the backup camera didn't work, and the auxiliary input kept cutting in and out. I finally got frustrated and took out the Pioneer AVH-X491BHS stereo that I bought and installed and put the factory unit back in.

Pros: None

Cons: The backup camera, steering wheel controls, and the auxiliary inputs all didn't work.

Crutchfield response on 6/20/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Keith to issue an apology and help him further. We'll either help him get the harness working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Scott from Apollo Beach, FL on 6/2/2017

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All negative reviews below are true. Harness does not even come close to fitting. Axxess customer service could not provide one ounce of help to get me going. The whole install was flawless up until trying to get this thing installed. Crutchfield great as usual, but you have to talk to this vendor ASAP.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/19/2017
Thanks go out to Scott and other reviewers. We do apologize for any issues that you may have encountered. Our main man for vehicle integration, Darren, has reached out to Axxess, and they are investigating the plug fitment issue for us. We'll update our presentation once Darren hears the results from those tests.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Axxess AX-SUB28SWC-6V

Dave from SI, NY on 5/25/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The kit fit perfectly in my 2017 wrx easy to install the instructions that came with it are straight forward..Must have for after market radio..I had no issues and everything works great..Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

28 Pin harness does not fit as advertised.

Len from Rochester, NY on 5/8/2017

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was sent the older version of this product which contains a yellow 6 volt cable instead of the red one in the instructions. I can't speak for the more recent version of this product but the one I was given does not fit 2017 WRX 28 pin harness. The pins are too big and are fairly weak. This a little frustrating considering the purpose of this project is to ease installation, now I have to purchase additional components to complete the install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/17/2017
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support team reached out to Len to issue an apology and help him further. They can help him solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wish it was better

Joe from Woodburn, OR on 4/23/2017

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness is garbage.. Pins are flimsy and do not fit well or at all. I bought a second one to see if I got a bad one but no. It's too bad. I love Crutchfield but they need to talk to Axxess and stop giving this to customers.. I spent an extra easy 4 hours fighting this harness and my local car stereo shop as well tried to help.. It turned a simple HU install into a major headache. I really hope they nix it.. I have a Toyota Tundra to do next....!!!

Pros: It showed up fast...

Cons: Really poor directions, Built cheep, Dose not fit well ( or at all )

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

TOP