Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Allows you to connect the factory USB port in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-SUBUSB2

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Allows you to connect the factory USB port in select 2015-up Subaru vehicles to a new car stereo

MFR # AX-SUBUSB2

31 reviews
View this product

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Lawai, HI on 2/7/2021

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They do what they're supposed to do. Just make sure you have the single USB port in your console and not the dual. Won't work right with the dual.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It Does work for 2015 Crosstrek!

Alec from VIRGINIA BEACH, VA on 1/15/2021

2015 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

@Crutchfield !!! This product first said it did not fit my car but I looked it up on axxes website and it says it was compatible with my model. And for the actual review yes it did retain my USB port inside the arm rest and worked perfectly fine with Apple car play. It must be a single USB port in order to work. Paired this with the Pioneer DMH-2660 NEX

Pros: Works just fine and Apple CarPlay works!

Cons: Crutchfield said it wouldn't fit. So just check the actual manufacture for fitment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No good for Subaru with factory dual USB ports

Crutchfield customer from DOWNINGTOWN, PA on 12/8/2020

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I did not do enough research on this beforehand, the factory dual USB is recognized as a hub and is not accepted by the aftermarket radio. The ports aren't even good for charging only. I ended up converting the front acc 12v port into a USB extension and used that to connect to the radio directly. This product is only good if you have a single USB port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/16/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Bailey, reached out to issue this customer a refund.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Westmont, IL on 12/5/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as intended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Caused problems

Josiah from Grand Rapids, MI on 10/5/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked great at first, but the next day my music started to skip a little bit, then a lot, and after a few days my phone would even disconnect completely. I was worried there was an issue with either my kenwood radio or my phone but I was able to trace the problem to this adaptor. Looks like I'll have to keep the phone in the glove box for a while instead of using my factory USB port.

Pros: Allowed me to use my factory USB port at first

Cons: Quickly degraded to being unusable

Crutchfield response on 10/13/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Josiah to help him further. We'll either help him get the adapter working the way it should, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does not work for 2019 Subaru Impreza Limited

Keith from LYNNWOOD, WA on 9/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am giving 2 stars because it is stated that this adapter fits my car which is why I ordered it. Connects up just fine but when turning on the Kenwood aftermarket headunit, it prompts "USB hub not supported". Would have preferred if Crutchfield did not recommend this product for me based on my car information. If you go to the details tab on the product page you will notice in the fine print that it will not work if your car has multiple USB ports which mine has. I'm sure the adapter works fine if you have a single port but do not buy this if you have multiple ports.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/21/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Keith to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Doesn't work with 2017 Impreza Sport

Ben from New York on 7/22/2020

2017 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This product does not work with the 2017 Subaru Impreza Sport Non-Harman Kardon Version :( . Neither CarPlay or Android Auto. I spoke with a Crutchfield Tech and said that the USB Factory Retention would not be possible even though it did charge for a half second during the initial start up of the car. This was for both an iPhone and Android Phone. The tech said that I would have to run my USB cables from the head unit - rendering the Factory USB Ports useless for both charging and running CarPlay / AA. I really hope there is a solution or workaround for this in the future.

Pros: Small

Cons: Doesn't work with 2017 Impreza Sport

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

50/50

Crutchfield customer from Collinsville, VA on 7/19/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked as far as allowing me to keep factory USB port. It however did not allow android auto to work properly. Not sure if it had to do with the grade of wire used in the factory port or what. my car was never equipped with AA to begin with. But when I used the USB extension supplied with radio Android auto worked perfectly

Pros: keep factory usb

Cons: depending on factory wiring may not work with Android auto

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The exact cable for 2016 Subaru BRZ and CarPlay still works!!!

John from BUCKEYE, AZ on 5/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After having the incorrect cable shipped to me originally for my 2016 BRZ, I asked Crutchfield to send me this cable. They weren't sure if it would work for my car. They also believed Apple CarPlay would no longer function with my factory USB port. I can confirm this cable works for my 2016 BRZ and Apple CarPlay still functions. I really wanted a clean look without having to run any extra wires. This cable was absolutely perfect. Crutchfield as always was helpful in ensuring I received the correct cable. I believe the support for CarPlay and Android auto is determined based on if your factory USB is a single port or a multi. The cable like can't separate the data cleanly and you are left with basic usb functions. So if your car is a single USB and requires this cable, I would assume CarPlay and Android Auto will be supported. I'm including pictures of CarPlay working as well as the cable and port on the back of the factory clarion stereo.

Pros: Apple CarPlay supports

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Mount Horeb, WI on 4/29/2020

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this to my Kenwood radio and it says that it does not recognize it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 5/5/2020
Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great option for Subaru's

Alex from Parker, CO on 3/25/2020

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Kept stock USB outlet in my WRX. With the WRX limited i was able to use wired carplay. I have a single USB outlet. Pro tip: If you have a double USB outlet, this won't power wired carplay for Subaru's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Cape Coral, FL on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product worked but what wasn't told to me was that you can't use the cars factory USB for CarPlay so if that is why you are purchasing this double check first or save some money and don't get this cable and just run the USB that come with the head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PLUG IN, THE END. WORKS AS ADVERTISED

Crutchfield customer from Oakland, CA on 12/27/2019

2017 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works as advertised

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Did not work for carplay/android auto in a Pioneer Unit

Crutchfield customer from Dresher, PA on 12/27/2019

2018 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was recommended this USB adapter to retain factory USB ports in a 2018 Subaru Forester. After plugging it in and testing it, it can only charge USB devices, but does not work for apple carplay or android auto, which is the intended use for the Pioneer head unit I purchased it with. Since the Pioneer unit only has 1 USB input, there is way I can use this adapter and also use Apple Carplay or Android Auto.

Pros: Works for charging only.

Cons: Does not work for android auto or apple carplay

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Constantia, NY on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfect to retain the stock USB port.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Do not use with Android Auto

Siyuan from URBANA, IL on 10/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently installed a Kenwood DDX9906XR with android auto. The two USB ports below the center console in my 2017 Subaru Outback actually came off from a single USB hub. I first tried connecting the hub to my new head unit with this adapter but Android Auto didn't like it, prompts "unsupported device connected". I ended up running the USB ports into the glove box and used wireless Android Auto instead. If all you wanted is to play music from a thumb drive then this adapter should work just fine.

Pros:

Cons: Doesn't work with Android Auto/Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Madison, WI on 9/8/2019

2019 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Retained factory USB on 2019 BRZ. Easy installation. Cheapest Price Found

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Staten Island, NY on 7/1/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Regular USB adapter.. nothing special does what it needs to

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Android Auto

James from Anacortes, WA on 5/11/2019

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work with 2017 Subaru Crosstrek for android auto. Adapter does not allow Android Auto use with factory USB. Works for charging, but not data? Eliminated the adapter and just ran my own USB to factory location and everything works perfectly now.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Does not work for 2015 Subaru WRX STI

Oliver from Baldwinsville, NY on 4/30/2019

2015 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does not work for 2015 Subaru WRX STI. There is not mating connector to which this cable will plug into. I called customer support because I was confused and was told the USB cable in the Subaru is not compatible with CarPlay. So, why was it shipped? Why did I pay for it? When I read the previous review (March 26, 2019), it appears that Crutchfield was previously aware of the problem, yet shipped it anyway.

Pros:

Cons: It isn't compatible with the 2015 WRX STI

Crutchfield response on 5/7/2019
We're sorry about the incompatible cable, Oliver. Luckily, Oliver's review allowed us to find a mistake in the research we had for his vehicle. Allen, a Vehicle Research Specialist, corrected our database, so it won't happen again. We also refunded Oliver for the price of the cable.
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Does not fit 2015 Subaru WRX

Crutchfield customer from Grand Junction, CO on 3/26/2019

2015 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Did not fit in my 2015 subaru wrx like I was told. Waste of money and I'm not really sure why it said I needed it. And the one I do need Crutchfield doesn't sell. Very annoying getting eveything out and the new stereo plugged in and realizing I'm not going to be able to retain my factory USB ports until the new cable I had to buy comes in. Very disappointed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/1/2019
Our Customer Support specialist, Randy, reached out to this customer for a follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for me

Nicholas from Dayton, OH on 3/23/2019

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked perfectly in my 2017 WRX Premium. I installed the Seicane android 8.1 headunut and purchased the CarPlay dongle along with it. This adapter DOES ALLOW CARPLAY IN THIS WAY. I was able to use my factory USB port with the CarPlay dongle. I cannot say it will work the same for every unit but it did for mine when plugged into the CarPlay specific USB port on the head unit.

Pros: Complete functionality

Cons: Slightly loose connection

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great, but CarPlay still may not work

Jacob from Hillsboro, OR on 3/10/2019

2017 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected in that it connects easily from your factory USB port to new radio USB. Keep in mind however, that you probably will NOT be able to use CarPlay. If your current car has a usb hub, this adapter is not capable of supplying enough power to allow your new head unit to run CarPlay. I've head that if your car only has one USB port, it might work, but for most Subaru folks that have two USB ports in the armrest, you'll have to achieve an alternate way to get CarPlay working. I'd suggest getting a head unit with two USB's like the Sony AX5000, and use this adapter to run the USB2 cable. On Sony, the USB2 cable is used for charging your phone and loading audio files from a USB drive. For the primary USB1, replace your current cigarette lighter socket with a dedicated USB port. I bought one on amazon for $9 and it works great!

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: May not work for CarPlay; not a defect, more of an OEM USB hub limitation

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worked in my Subaru!

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 2/15/2019

2016 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was a bit concerned after reading reviews that my factory usb would not work with my new pioneer, but this adapter did the trick! Factory usb works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Westminster, CO on 1/8/2019

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed for the new head unit for my Subaru.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Evansville, IN on 12/7/2018

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was the perfect length. Not too long, not too short. Connections were easy to make. Feels and looks like very good quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect fit

geoff from Enon, OH on 10/12/2018

2015 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to use/install, and fit my needs perfectly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

Crutchfield customer from Salt Lake City, UT on 9/26/2018

2013 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plug and play. Pay the money and eliminate having to worry about where you'll run the wire to plug your Apple or Andriod device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

not compatible with Kenwood 574S

Eric from Manchestr Ctr , VT on 9/6/2018

2017 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This didn't fit the Kenwood radio or the Subaru so I don't know why Crutchfield recommend it in the package. This was a 2017 Subaru Outback, with a Kenwood 574S receiver. The built-in Subaru USB connectors didn't support CarPlay so I had to use the female USB extension cable packaged with the Kenwood. It sticks out of the center console as a wire with a female end. I would have liked to use the built in plug instead but it I'm still so happy with the radio and the install that I can live with it. But I still wonder why Crutchfield put this in the installation package. I think maybe this is for a higher-end model Kenwood radio? There's no documentation saying where in the wiring this should go but I didn't see any connections on the radio or the car that fit that square plug.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Perfect!

Joe from Newton, NH on 7/15/2018

2018 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does exactly what it's supposed to do, avoiding having to snake usb cables out from behind your dashboard!

Pros: Works perfectly!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-SUBUSB2 USB Adapter

taylor from Augusta, GA on 7/2/2017

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, solid connection

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

TOP