Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
Connect ID #
310 555 744 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Install the Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter in select 2012-up Toyota vehicles without splicing (requires item #120ASWC1, sold separately)

MFR # AX-TOY28SWC

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Install the Axxess ASWC-1 steering wheel control adapter in select 2012-up Toyota vehicles without splicing (requires item #120ASWC1, sold separately)

MFR # AX-TOY28SWC

22 reviews
View this product

Easy Peasy!

Crutchfield customer from High Springs, FL on 12/22/2020

2015 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The harness made connecting the module super easy! Everything worked the first time I tried it. (Phone controls do not work) I rarely used the steering wheel for the phone anyway, so no big deal.

Pros: Easy installation Fits perfectly

Cons: Phone controls don't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 11/24/2020

2013 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Alameda, CA on 10/3/2020

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with my Toyota Corolla 2012

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Made it easy to install the aswc - 1

Crutchfield customer from Lester Prairie, MN on 9/14/2020

2017 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made it easy to install the aswc - 1 without cutting or splicing any wires.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Idaho Falls, ID on 5/19/2020

2013 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If the plug and play will work with your car it does save you time as you don't need to splice as many wires. It just plugs right into the existing harness and into the back of the stereo. It was a bit intimidating at first with all the wires but with the instructions provided both from crutchfield as well as the manufacturer it was quite simple to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointed

Crutchfield customer from Montgomery, NY on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Advertised it retains all steering wheel controls for my vehicle, but after installation only 2 buttons work out of the 8 buttons. After troubleshooting for 2 hours to no avail I'm just stuck with only 2 buttons working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/17/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Harness

Crutchfield customer from Macon, GA on 3/10/2020

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything ties in nicely and I did not have to splice into any of my factory harnesses or remove any pins. I will say that the 2 harnesses (one for the stereo and the other for steering wheel controls) tie into the factory backup camera in my Tundra. I had to order another harness from somewhere else because Crutchfield doesn't carry it. Aside that, everything tied in great.

Pros: No splicing into factory harness or removing pins from the factory plug . I can use all controls on steering wheel.

Cons: Crutchfield might want to carry a harness for the factory backup camera. I purchased one from another site so I could use it with my aftermarket stereo.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Nelsonville, OH on 2/14/2020

2013 Subaru XV Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful device much needed.

Pros: Easy to use easy to install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Seamless Intergration with factory controls

Crutchfield customer from Little Compton, RI on 12/13/2019

2014 Toyota Prius C

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So east to install. I opted for the crutchfield in house pre-wiring option. Install took seconds and it fully integrated with all factory controls without out any effort on my part.

Pros: Seconds to install and seamless integration.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Holly Springs, NC on 9/28/2019

2012 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Doesn't fully integrate all steering wheel controls. Volume works and still able to switch modes. Push to talk for Bluetooth integration doesn't work also unable to utilize vehicle Bluetooth microphone and have to utilize microphone that came with Sony headunit. Headunit microphone has terrible background noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

It works.

Crutchfield customer from Carlsbad, NM on 1/12/2019

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well, seems to work ok, no issues to speak of. It's a harness.

Pros: Wirey

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Decatur, GA on 10/6/2018

2012 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality, secure fit to factory connections, and ALL the steering wheel controls work perfectly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Only some steering wheel buttons work

DALE from Sammamish, WA on 9/30/2018

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm giving this three stars since I was only able to get *some* of the steering wheel controls to fully function. Called both Crutchfield and Metra who finally confirmed to me that it's not supported in my vehicle to have the Push to talk and On hook/Off Hook buttons to work. The other volume and song track buttons work fine. Wish this was made clear to me at the time of purchase through the documentation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Steve from Flower Mound, TX on 8/13/2018

2013 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! All my controls are working!

Pros: Works great! Easy hook up.

Cons: Noting bad so far!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Crutchfield customer from Lowell, AR on 3/9/2018

2013 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the best choice for steering wheel control adapters, and I only wish I had chosen it first. I went with the idatalink maestro first because of it being programmable personalized button control, but it stopped working after 6 weeks of use. I had to cut and splice wires to attach the maestro, so I re-connected all of the wires to the factory wiring harness and with the use of this metra ax-toy28swc harness I was able to connect to the axxess aswc-1 steering wheel control very easily. It worked right away with no fuss. It retained the factory set use of the steering wheel control buttons.

Pros: easy to install clean, neat connection doesn't take up as much space behind dash

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

Brent from Glen Burnie, MD on 10/31/2017

2014 Scion tC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very simple and easy to use - worked as advertised -

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So easy!

Steve from Vancouver, WA on 1/21/2017

2013 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This harness makes installing your new ASWC-1 Sterring wheel control adapter module a painless process. No splicing, crimping or soldering. Simply plug the 28 pin connector in, plug in the RCAS to the head unit along with the 3.5 mm jack, and plug in the harness to the ASWC-1. Discard the harness that came with the ASWC-1. This is totally worth the price.

Pros: simplicity not to long of wiring

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works

Sorbes from Connecticut on 12/27/2015

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as described, easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Must Have

juscraig from Lynchburg, VA on 11/10/2015

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a must have for any Steering Wheel Control adapter addition.

Pros: too easy

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

steering wheel

Ron from Ohio on 9/23/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

works

Pros: fits

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Metra AX-TOY28SWC Steering Wheel Control Harness

OmoP from Georgia on 9/13/2015

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this harness in combination with the Axxess ASWC-1 to retain the steering wheel controls on my 15' Camry when installing a Pioneer AVH-4700BS. I didn't to cut into my OEM steering wheel harness that this directly connected into it & thus I used the ends of this wires to tap into the harness coming from the back of my Pioneer. I took off 1 star because the RCA auxiliary cable of this harness was very noisy and as my Pioneer had a 3.5mm aux port (as most head units have), I had to the a male 3.5mm to female RCA adapter only to find out that the RCA was noisy. I confirmed my head unit didn't have a faulty aux port as I connected my iPhone 6 directly to it & my music played flawlessly. Ended wiring a AUX + USB harness I got off Amazon to the back of the Pioneer. Looked clean after I was done.

Pros: - helped retain the steering wheel controls - didn't have to cut into the OEM harness - easy instructions - direct fit into the ASWC-1 module

Cons: - the RCA aux cables were very noisy & didn't work

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Andyb from Dallastx on 8/13/2014

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

FYI - installed it into a '13 tacoma. Makes it much easier - takes the place of the harness that comes with the controller- snaps into the Toyota harness, connect power (red) and ground wires, plug into the controller, and connect remote plug to head unit-- done. This takes the place of the connector that comes with the steering wheel controller --- the black plug goes into the controller "box" --- you do not use most of the ones that come with the aswc controller. Also has RCA l/r plugs to connect the dash audio input to the new head unit ( if your new one has an input, mine didn't -- but if yours does, that's what they are for).

Pros: Easy , once you figure out what goes where- instructions don't mention this adapter so it looks like there's a lot more wires to connect than there are.

Cons: Instructions on axxess website for vehicle don't mention this adapter even though it's their part.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

TOP