Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-1550NEX

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-1550NEX

104 reviews
View this product

Great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, WA on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from my previous deck, CarPlay is a handy addition and touchscreen is great. Sound is nice and clean even through 18 year old stock speakers.

Pros: Nice touchscreen Great usability Simple install

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/13/2019

2016 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing radio. Get sound , response and ease of use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Aguadilla, PR on 11/3/2019

2003 Honda Element

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great service and prices and fast shipping

Pros: All good

Cons: All good

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cedarhurst, NY on 10/23/2019

2013 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works exactly as expected. Very pleased with performance and no glitches at all. Would 100% recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great

Michael from Elk Grove, CA on 10/14/2019

2004 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver. My wife liked it, I installed it in her Sienna.

Pros: Easy install. All the mount brackets Crutchfield sent worked perfect.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ram Promaster Pleasure-Way RV

Crutchfield customer from Lakeland, FL on 10/11/2019

2015 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio was installed in a Ram Promaster Pleasure-Way RV along with a SiriusXM radio receiver. The installation went very well. I have retained all original vehicle electronic functions except for the microphone. Even the factory radio USB port was retained. Which is possible by using the provided USB cable along with the data transfer cable you use to program the Maestro unit. I used the microphone included with the new radio, which was installed next to the rearview mirror. Also, I was able to cut the plug connector end of the antenna wire and splice it back together to make it easier to fish through back to the dashboard. This is a really great set up. I'm very happy! Thank you!

Pros: Everything works fantastic!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Billings, MT on 10/11/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! I am still getting used to where eveything is, but that is with any unit.

Pros: It always connects to my phone right away.

Cons: Does not smoothly connect to my radio every time for Spotify. Sometime i have to swith to bluetooth audio, and back to get it right. When the disclaimer comes up, i can not adjust the volume, sometimes the last song i listened to is nice and loud, then i come back.... WOW.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My truck is a 2006 Tacoma. What can I use to describe my experience with this unit? Awesome! Phenomenal! When I heard the sound after installing the head unit, I had to double check I was still sitting in my truck because I am yet to replace the stock speakers . It was so so so good I couldn't believe it. This means that when I replace my stock speakers, my truck will feel like a concert hall. The user interface is also simple and classy. Gentle on the eye and very intuitive. Every touch responds with absolute precision. Only drawback being that apple CarPlay doesn't work in my country (Nigeria) so I can't load google maps onto the screen but then that's not a deal breaker. It connects my 2 phones seamlessly. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase and will now do the same for my Camry.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Linn, WV on 9/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had much time to play with it but from what it's showed me so far. Great display and terrific sound couldn't ask for anything better. I am using infinity kappa speakers with no amp and it's loud and crisp sound. Very pleased so far

Pros: Looks great Sounds great Easy hookups

Cons: Needs more info on functions Remote doesn't let you use it on all functions Needs better instructions on head unit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 9/30/2019

2009 Lexus RX350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a sweet radio. It does everything well and as advertised. Very easy to use. I am glad I bought it. I would definitely buy again from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 9/30/2019

2008 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio, affordable dvd and carplay compatible with super easy controls. Got a simliar unit in my other vehicle and looking for one for my 3rd car.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Delmont, PA on 9/29/2019

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is fantastic. The Apple Car Play works great and syncs with both of our phones. Perfect for our Jeep Wrangler Rubi

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not for Sonata

Guest from Carrollton, GA on 9/23/2019

2011 Hyundai Sonata SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have nothing against pioneer. This review is about Crutchfield. If you have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata, odds are, this radio isn't entirely compatible. You will have to buy a dash kit from somewhere else, and if you choose to bypass the factory amp, a new amplifier. If you choose to integrate the amp, you will have to find a wiring harness that Crutchfield doesn't offer. And there are many more complications.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Ridgewood, NY on 9/20/2019

2004 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product, works perfect.

Pros:

Cons: CarPlay is only available via usb not Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Rio Linda, CA on 9/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy this radio in my wife's car. She recently upgraded her phone and her then current stock stock Toyota radio had no Bluetooth capabilities and only aux. She recently started driving her car to work due to being promoted and no longer working at home. I surprised her with the install and I am glad I purchased it. It comes with a remote and mic that are easy to place and install. The user interface is easy to use and easy to setup. She now enjoys the commute much more due to all the accessories available and at her ready.

Pros: Add on's galore Easy use factor. Easy to setup out of the box Comes with a DVD player You can access Apple Car features when hooked in with no problem

Cons: No Volume Knob, only buttons. Layout takes a bit to get used to

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 9/17/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The instructions were very straight forward and easy to follow. The installation looks great and the equipment works well.

Pros: Multiple music platforms and touch screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bakersfield, CA on 9/16/2019

2008 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty straight forward install. Apple car play worked seamlessly with my iPhone ounce I updated the firmware. Don't forget to connect the parking brake wire (green wire) and follow directions closely.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sheridan, WY on 9/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit. Interface with IPhone is great. Customer service was wonderful!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Niles, MI on 9/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty straight forward and functions are easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall Great Unit (2012 F-150)

Eric R. from CRANSTON, RI on 9/8/2019

2012 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit into a 2012 F150 STX. I have had the Pioneer AVH-1550NEX for about 6 months now. The head unit overall is great and I would recommend it. I like having an actual volume buttons and the touchscreen work way better then I thought it would. (It's a resistive style, not capacitive like an iPhone). I felt that I was able to adjust the sound from my system very well with the sound control features this head unit has. The car play feature is what I primarily use 95% of the time. If you never used car play I highly recommend it! My only gripe with the unit is that it sometimes does connect right away and I'll have to unplug and replug in my phone a couple times, about two or three times I had to turn the system off and back on for it to work. This hasn't happened a lot but I feel like it shouldn't happen at all, so that's why I am rating it 4 out of 5 stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2002 Sequoia install

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade from the factory stereo. Easy install and has all of the features I need. Fits perfectly in the factory enclosure in my 2002 Sequoia. Phone calls are much better. People can actually hear me and they come through crystal clear.

Pros: Great interface. Great Sound. Great fit and finish.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 9/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Controls are too small. Delays in operations Love the backup camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Love it!

Crutchfield customer from Franklinton, LA on 9/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It arrived promptly and without any damage or defects. Matches the description exactly. Love it!

Pros: Bluetooth and Apple Car Play.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Happy

Crutchfield customer from Amherst, VA on 9/1/2019

2003 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install, so far so good. Haven't tried the DVD player yet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Point Roberts, WA on 8/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this to replace my 2016 Crosstrek's factory radio and Subaru's garbage Starlink system. I've only had it in a few days, but having the ability to use CarPlay is amazing and drastically improves the experience of using the navigation and listening to books and music from my phone. Not to mention how much better the hands free texting experience is. The only odd thing I found is that the steering wheel controls, running through the iData system, doesn't work for skipping songs when outside of CarPlay. So if I'm adjusting the EQ settings, or balance, I can't skip songs until I go back to either the stereo's default music player, or into any of the CarPlay apps.

Pros: - Apple Carplay - Fast Responsive touch screen - Inexpensive

Cons: - Skipping tracks doesn't work outside of CarPlay or the built in Music app.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 8/27/2019

2009 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome for the money couldn't be happier apple play is hands down the best

Pros: Apple play

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Way better than expected

Crutchfield customer from Saint Augustine, FL on 8/25/2019

2012 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The deck exceeded what I expected in every way. It works well with car play and has no issues switching between menus. The deck also having a CD/DVD slot was a huge bonus.

Pros: Available DVD Drive, simple EQ, seamless CarPlay interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great replacement stereo for FJ Cruiser

Crutchfield customer from Montclair, NJ on 8/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds amazing and fairly intuitive selections to truly customized your sound. Fit perfectly in my FJ Cruiser. Definitely get the Crutchfield ReadyHarness. Made instillation super easy and fast.

Pros: Lots of power. Lots of customizable options. Easy instillation.

Cons: Small buttons. Takes some time to truly customize the sound you want.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit

Crutchfield customer from Covington, GA on 8/19/2019

2008 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pretty smooth install. Instructions could be a little better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Joseph from Wrentham, MA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great sound and easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from St Petersburg, FL on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to upgrade our VW Jetta. We wanted a hands-free unit and the 1550 provides Bluetooth connectivity and all the the features we needed in an A/V unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Big upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Morristown, TN on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice clean sounding unit. Controls are relatively easy to learn, could come with a clearer manual. Car Play is great, sound is a major upgrade even with factory speakers. Would buy again.

Pros: Sound, power, good screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Antioch, TN on 8/18/2019

2011 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer head unit

Crutchfield customer from Santa Clara, CA on 8/14/2019

2002 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall nice head unit. Works well for apple car play still getting used to all the functions on the head unit. time will tell how well it goes.

Pros: Apple car play Bluetooth connection good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Acworth, GA on 8/13/2019

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got the unit for apple carplay, works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Beautiful sound

Geno from Frankfort, IL on 8/12/2019

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and works like a champ! I had this installed this on my 2014 Rav4 Limited. I wanted Car Play and this delivers. Surprisingly my 30-pin iPod 5th Generation works with this unit. I was also able to keep my factory USB/AUX port. I'm swapping out speakers next. Brings new life to a subpar factory "premium" system. Sterring wheel controls work also...thanks Crutchfield!

Pros: Intergrated flawlessly with my system

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/11/2019

2005 Mercedes-Benz ML350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Extremely easy to use. Nice layout and wide variety of options. Software should allow for more home screen setting customizations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Minor issues with install, but great products

Crutchfield customer from Petal, MS on 8/11/2019

2005 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Had a few issues with install. Once clear of those (thanks to great tech support) all is well. Quality products and great customer service. Everyone is very nice and eager to help. Made the process much easier than it could have been. Would definitely buy again

Pros: Good price, good quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Definitely a deal...

Crutchfield customer from Chester, VA on 8/5/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have only had it for a few weeks but everything seems to be working great. I had a similar Pioneer radio before this one but I wanted the Car Play option. Having the car play option has already paid for itself with using Google Maps.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Car stereo

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 8/4/2019

2010 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent device

Pros: Pioneer stereo excellent

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Discovery Bay, CA on 8/4/2019

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice upgrade from the factory radio at a reasonable price.

Pros: Easy to install, great sound quality, great fit in the dash

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Powerful Head Unit with integrated Apple Car Play

Roger from Nashville, TN on 7/29/2019

2013 Honda Civic Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2013 Honda Civic Hybrid where I replaced the factory radio with the Pioneer. I ordered the ready harness which made it really easy to install. The hardest part of the installation was running the hand brake wire down to the center console to tap into the brake. You don't HAVE to do this but if you want to use the CD-MC20 auto EQ microphone or use the DVD function, then you will have to tap into the hand brake. I also ordered the steering wheel control adapter, which you also have to tap into the power in the harness for it to work. The sound out of this unit was amazing once I got the auto EQ set. Even without an amp, this unit drives my Infinity 1632ex front speakers, tweets, and Rockford Fosgate 1675 in the rear without any trouble. The screen is a little touchy when trying to scroll through the settings or lists in iTunes. The Apple Car Play works great and is one of the main reasons I bought this unit. The included mic for phone calls took some experimenting on placement but I settled with running it under the dash and up to the A-pillar. One thing I noticed is that the radio loses signals faster than the original HU.

Pros: Excellent sound and a huge load of custom settings Apple Car Play

Cons: No Aux or USB input in the front-have to run cables to the front Touch screen a bit laggy FM radio loses stations faster then OEM unit

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from High Point, NC on 7/29/2019

2014 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great and everything works like you'd expect.

Pros: Well priced. Good functionality. Excellent clarity on screen.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Auburn, WA on 7/28/2019

2005 Ford Focus ZXW

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome does everything my phone does.but you only need one finger, or to talk.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Ashburn, VA on 7/25/2019

2007 Honda Accord VP

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It would be nice to have the USB in the front since it is needed to use CarPlay. Switching between sources takes a little getting used to as well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Ogden, UT on 7/23/2019

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the most part it's working just fine. Sometimes it doesn't turn on when I start the truck. I have to turn the truck off and restart it. Also it wasn't comparable with my current satellite radio antenna so I will have to purchase other equipment to get it working.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Buttons to small

Crutchfield customer from Greenwood, SC on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good for the price. Buttons are too small to see.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 7/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome receiver! Really wish I had gotten the owners manual to go along with it, gonna be a learn as I go process with utilizing all the available features, integrated well into my 2018 Jeep Cherokee with the help of the iDatalink Module and Harness, well worth the extra money!!!

Pros: Sharp looking receiver, multitude of features, seamless transition with iDatalink accessories

Cons: Have noticed once or twice receiver hasn't automatically powered up when starting the engine but that's about it

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

All I ever need

Crutchfield customer from Rogers, AR on 7/17/2019

2017 Ford Transit Cargo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product at a great price, love how it interacts with my phone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Canton, GA on 7/17/2019

2006 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product delivered on time anda good advice for everything I need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 7/14/2019

2011 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

looks great and easy to use and quality is also great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 7/10/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

head unit works great but since they are making changes to the apps that connect to it they need to give more details.

Pros: Easy to install and setup

Cons: applications for music to the unit are not clear

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding radio

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, IN on 7/7/2019

2006 GMC Canyon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best radio ever!

Pros: Car play, smooth and no glitches. Perfect radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Head unit for IPhone

Crutchfield customer from Castaic, CA on 7/2/2019

2002 Ford Explorer Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit has been amazing and very easy to install. Be sure to play with it a bit to learn how to use everything, it's well worth it. Love the apple car play and the Bluetooth picks right up once you get into your car. Thanks Crutchfield for the recommendation!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chehalis, WA on 6/30/2019

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy install and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bloomsburg, PA on 6/30/2019

2001 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

All the features I was looking for, great performance

Robert from Puyallup, WA on 6/28/2019

2008 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product was just what I was looking for. I listen to music and podcasts on my daily commute and this unit seamlessly and quickly connects every time. I love having Carplay, typically use Waze or Google maps when needed and they work flawlessly. This unit has all the features I need and use and not a lot of extra features I'll never use. I added a backup camera (Crux CFD-03F) which also works great, image pops up near instantly and is very clear. A word of advice on attaching a backup camera, this unit has the backup line images built in and adjustable, I did not fully understand that and left the non-adjustable camera supplied image option in place. I now have a bit of disassembly to do to disable the camera image lines and use the superior, head unit lines.

Pros: Nice fit, nice features at a reasonable price. Crutchfield support! The prewired harness is a ++, I am fairly technical but with the added Maestro integration unit this would have been challenging to get wired up correctly.

Cons: Documentation from Pioneer is weak. There is one little cable that hooks from Maestro unit to the Pioneer that there is no documentaion that tells you it is needed. A call to Jac at Crutchfield was required to sort it out.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Great new radio

Crutchfield customer from Trevor, WI on 6/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love my new radio. It works perfectly with all my families phones. We are able to stream music on one phone while other phone can display map and send and receive texts. This radio has exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Michael M

Crutchfield customer from Long Beach, CA on 6/27/2019

2005 Ford Ranger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

They delivered everything you could need to make installation easy. Product works great and makes my commute 10x better. Definitely recommending this to friends

Pros: Custom ordered to fit your vehicle. Great customer support, they review all details to make sure you have a good experience.

Cons: Can't think of any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a surprise

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio. Has all the latest greatest features I've wanted especially since I didn't get a decent radio when I bought the car even though it came as standard equipment. I always thought I had cheap speakers but was pleasantly surprised with the quality of my original speakers after the radio was replaced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great variety of products

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 6/23/2019

2005 Scion xA

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple and fast to buy and great delivery ??. My old car looks like new with his new radio. Instructions to follow so easy!

Pros: Easy and detailed Installing instructions

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 6/19/2019

2013 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with this unit so far. The installation was smooth and I am glad I purchased the ReadyHarness with this. It saved a lot of time.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Plainview, TX on 6/17/2019

2013 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have only had this unit operating for a few days but so far I am very happy with all the features and sound from the unit.

Pros: good value

Cons: operating instructions furnished are rather brief and do not cover all features. web sight they refer you to for information did not pull up for me.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New RV sound

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/17/2019

2018 Ford E-450

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the Pioneer that came in my RV. Vast improvement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

GET IT!

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 6/15/2019

2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sometimes doesnt connect to bluetooth, and will say connection error with carplay but who cares. i love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer ????

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the design of the head unit. The sound quality is very good. The two downsides are that the Apple CarPlay doesn't connect on rare occasions and the screen can be hard to see if it is in the sun.

Pros: Design Sound quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

You better get this

Crutchfield customer from Cedar City, UT on 6/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio! Has everything I wanted at a great price!!

Pros: Looks great in my truck

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product!

Crutchfield customer from East Granby, CT on 6/10/2019

2003 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio!! Works perfectly with my iPhone!!

Pros: Easy install and ease of functions.

Cons: Still tweaking the sound to fit all my different music likes!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer Touch Screen

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, AR on 6/10/2019

2014 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always had good luck with pioneer. Continues with this deck. Plus the convenience of Apple Play makes it better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from North Vernon, IN on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love ?? it installed in my 2008 Winnebago rv

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH 1550

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, OK on 6/10/2019

2012 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product!! Installed replacing a Ford factory Radio with sync. This head unit is by far worth it's price. Controls are very responsive for a touch screen no delays or issues thus far

Pros: Apple car play, touch screen, integrates factory functions with Maestro data link.

Cons: Unit still tries connecting to factory sync system. I think that is a me error and not the radio error still figuring this Radio out. You will not be disappointed with this purchase

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great overall

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Recently purchased and I am delighted with it. Great sound and graphics. Easy to learn.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield is Rockin the Bisiness!

Crutchfield customer from Peachtree City, GA on 6/8/2019

2010 Hummer H3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding double din radio. Replaced the stock H3 radio with the Pioneer AVH-1550NEX and I couldn't be more please with the quality and sound. Not only is the interface excellent but the controllability of the sound option is on par with higher end radios. As always Crutchfield is the #1 retailer for automobile stereo products. Best customer service in the business and their ease of install products like their "Readi-harness" makes DIY'ers life much much more enjoyable. Thanks Crutchfield for a great purchase and experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Stoughton, MA on 6/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I called Crutchfield because I was not sure what I was looking for in a car stereo for my son. The sales representative Lane Helped me pick out exactly what I was looking for. Plus I was able to purchase the correct wiring harness and steering wheel control interface for my vehicle. It was also offered for a small price to have the stereo pre-wired to fit my vehicle so I literally had to just plug it in And when it came to shipping I ordered it the week before a holiday and I was told it may extend the time it will take to get to my house. I was surprised when it actually showed up two days earlier I was very impressed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 6/2/2019

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good quality and user friendly stereo with many features. All the modern features needed to update older vehicles.

Pros: Well priced stereo of good quality with all needed features.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Apple Integration

Crutchfield customer from Irvine, CA on 5/23/2019

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought because of Apple Car play, and it delivered. Easy to configure for both bluetooth and car play. Installation kit was easy. Though check other reviews for the parking brake bypass circuit so you can control all the menus without figuring out how to connect into brake system. You can find them anywhere on the internet for a few dollars. Overall, very satisfied, honest!

Pros: Apple Car Play, Bluetooth with Spotify and Pandora, good looks

Cons: Still wish they made volume knobs. but the up/down volume works well enough

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Baytown, TX on 5/21/2019

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks real nice all set up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Placerville, CA on 5/20/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Does everything I need it to do!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 5/19/2019

2012 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent product simple to use. Sounds good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Exceptional pioneer product

Crutchfield customer from Tuscaloosa, AL on 5/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Another good pioneer product. Quality and with a great sound

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Stayton, OR on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am thoroughly impressed with the advanced technology of the radio and the back up camera! When my father and I were installing the "Pioneer", we had some minor difficulties. We immediately called one of your customer consultants and they gladly helped us through it! I would defiantly recommended Crutchfield to others.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Superb advice and customer service

Crutchfield customer from Largo, FL on 5/12/2019

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been out of the automobile audio market for decades, instead just living with the factory installed sound systems of my vehicles. Recently, the factory installed sound system on my 2007 Toyota Tacoma TRD began to have issues, first with the CD player and then with the radio. After determining that I was going to continue to operate the Tacoma, I began an Internet search for a replacement sound system. What I quickly determined was that there was an overwhelming selection of choices. One of the search options led me to Crutchfield and I was quickly greeted by an online chat opportunity with a specialist that without pressure, stepped me through a myriad of choices narrowing down the options of a new system based on what I was looking to get out of the new system. After gaining some knowledge, I compared Crutchfield prices to Amazon prices, and when asked about pricing, the chat rep was honest in stating Crutchfield are sometimes a bit higher but that Crutchfield has the technical expertise to help with future installation issues. I elected to go with Crutchfield. The installation was straight forward and, without rushing, I followed the instructions and successfully removed the old system, spliced and ran wires for the new system. To our surprise, the initial test netted no sound. A call the the Crutchfield tech support resulted in a thorough research session and a recommended RCA plug in change that corrected our error. Walla...total success.

Pros: Superb pre-purchase advice, prompt shipment, excellent technical installation troubleshooting and the Pioneer AVH1550NEX has all the features I asked for without features I did not desire.

Cons: none.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Winston Salem, NC on 5/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy, glad I paid the $25 to have the wiring predone.

Pros: Works well

Cons: Can be hard to switch between functions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent!!

Crutchfield customer from Ridley Park, PA on 5/12/2019

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit with great features and great price. Along with crutchfileds great tech support during installation. Works flawlessly in my 2013 F 150. Along with all the factory controls and features.

Pros: Easy to use. Easy setup. Easy install.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Ballico, CA on 5/8/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Instructions were underwhelming.

Pros:

Cons: Instructions were poor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Shelbyville, MI on 5/5/2019

2005 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Sherrills Ford, NC on 5/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Brian from Riverton, UT on 5/2/2019

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice product. Large clear screen.

Pros: Clean looking Many features

Cons: You can't use the factory microphone if your car has one built in.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Deep Run, NC on 4/28/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes it to once you connect your phone to it you no longer need your phone. Simple to operate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, IN on 4/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very decent unit. Touchscreen is a bit laggy. Works well and gets the job done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect radio

Crutchfield customer from Lewes, DE on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio connects and allows me to run my slacker account and even better functions then the phone. Sounds great and works with rear entertainment system.

Pros: Better than stock even more functions and adjustability

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Upgrade!

Ronald from Ellijay, GA on 4/20/2019

2005 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to upgrade the OEM head unit in my step-daughter's 2005 Corolla (which had only radio and CD, and no AUX input). I also got the "free" American International TOY-K958 Dash Kit, and Metra 70-1761 Receiver Wiring Harness as part of the purchase. Install was straightforward. The TOY-K958 Dash Kit comes in three pieces, all plastic, with screws to assemble the sides to the faceplate, and additional screws to secure the head unit to the assembled kit. The plastic pieces seem pretty flimsy, but when assembled and fastened to the head unit, the resulting assembly is sufficiently robust to provide for a reasonably secure installation. The Metra 70-1761 Receiver Wiring Harness plugged into the Corolla's dash wiring perfectly. The wires from the main wiring pigtail from the Pioneer AVH-1550NEX matched the Metra harness wires' color codes exactly. The 1550 pigtail has two additional wires - one for connecting to the parking brake switch (which was more than long enough to reach the switch in the Corolla under the console), and another to connect to the backup light circuit (which wasn't nearly long enough). The microphone cord was long enough to allow routing from the unit to the left side of the dash, up the "A" pillar, and across the top of the windshield to the mirror. I do wish the Pioneer AVH-1550NEX came with either a front USB port, or a USB dash socket that would allow for a neater installation rather than a random USB extension cord

Pros: Great value. Straightforward install. Great sound with OEM speakers. Apple CarPlay helps provide for safer use of smartphone features while driving.

Cons: No front USB port (or USB Dash socket) leaves the provided USB extension cord hanging out from under the dash or console. Backup circuit wire (rear camera trigger) too short. (I didn't install a camera, but did splice in a longer section of wire to allow future use without removing the head unit from the dash).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Eureka, CA on 4/15/2019

2008 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A good unit but am disappointed that the rear view camera display is reversed, which is very disappointing as it was one of my primary requirements.

Pros:

Cons: A good unit but am disappointed that the rear view camera display is reversed, which is very disappointing as it was one of my primary requirements.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Waited too long to upgrade

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 4/15/2019

2003 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit arrived earlier than expected. The functionality is great. A definite improvment over my stock Toyota radio from 2003. Apple CarPlay and bluetooth connections are an absolute plus to provide turn by turn directions and also access to Messages. Also the Siri voice control integration in CarPlay works great through the included external microphone.

Pros: CarPlay, bluetooth

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Scottsbluff, NE on 4/12/2019

2005 Dodge Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it. It is very clean and looks amazing. The only way you get the Apple menu is if it's plugged in by usb. But other then that I would never go back

Pros: Touch screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Love READY HARNESS!

Crutchfield customer from Streetsboro, OH on 4/8/2019

2015 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with the Ready Harness. Made hooking everything up much easier. Only thing I would've like to have had would be a vehicle specific wiring diagram. Most of the wires were pretty simple to plug in, but I had to guess on a few.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Yorkville, IL on 4/5/2019

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. I ordered this unit on Tuesday and it arrived Thursday via UPS. Before it arrived, I had removed the old radio from my car and the center console. It didn't take long to hook up the wires, and the directions from Crutchfield are good. The ones in the Pioneer book... well, they need a lesson from Crutchfield. I ran the wire for the parking brake power and USB connection under the carpet to the center console for a clean look. I ran the microphone for the phone through the driver's side A pillar, again to keep a clean look. So far, so good. I connected my work Galaxy via Bluetooth, but my personal iPhone I just used USB and Apple CarPlay (the main reason I chose this unit). The only drawbacks I have are the volume switches are buttons. In hindsight, I probably would have preferred a knob. And, there is not buttons to skip ahead or behind when listening to music. This is only an issue when using Google Maps, for instance, with Apple CarPlay. But, for the cost of the unit, the features you can hook up (I did not hook up a camera, a video screen, navigation, XM, etc.) this is a great little unit. Makes a 13 year old car that is in really good shape a bit more modern. I bought the car brand new in 2006, bought a new head unit from Crutchfield for it then. Now, 13 years later, I replaced the head unit.

Pros: Easy to install Lots of Features Sleek and Modern Looking Apple CarPlay Bluetooth to more than one device

Cons: Bluetooth to only 2 devices - I have a personal phone and a work phone and my wife has a phone. It'd be nice to hook all three up with Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good Value

Collin from Somerset, NJ on 4/5/2019

2010 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit for the value, very responsive.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 4/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Has all the necessary features I need and can use here in Guatemala Central America. Cant say more since I have only used 2 days. Easy to install by anyboddy, although I used a Pioneer dealer. 1. To use mapas or waze with my Iphone I have to use the AUX cable, I would prefer if it was wirewless. 2. Screen colors and layouts have every little options and are not that nice.

Pros: Has all the necessary features I need and can use here in Guatemala Central America. Cant say more since I have only used 2 days. Easy to install by anyboddy, although I used a Pioneer dealer.

Cons: 1. To use mapas or wase with my Iphone I have to use the AUX cable, I would prefer if it was wirewless. 2. Screen colors and layouts have every little options and are not that nice.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 4/2/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty good unit for the price. My only issue would be I'm still working on getting the rear camera hooked up and working. I am trying other options tho

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Royersford, PA on 3/31/2019

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall the unit is pretty straightforward and easy to use. Some of the menus can get confusing for more advanced function, but radio, Bluetooth, and CarPlay are easy and great to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bleeding Edge

Anil from University Park on 3/31/2019

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Only up-to-date retro-fit.

Pros: Bluetooth

Cons: small screen

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-1550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Camarillo, CA on 3/18/2019

2008 Smart fortwo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to read, configure, operate. I am not sure how to get the HD radio, maybe I need to figure out a different antenna, phone works fine unfortunately Apple seems to want you to unlock the phone when connected via USB, to ensure you want it to communicate with it but I believe this is probably with all stereo brands. Pandora via bluetooth seems to be always asking if you want to allow Pioneer to access Pandora. Navigation very good and clear (I only used Google Maps), I love that there is a navigation volume separate from the other volumes and not affected by the volume up and down for music. I have not played with the dual phones capabilities but it was one of the reasons I decided to get the Pioneer AVH unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Nice Unit - Lots of Features - Easy to Install

Jeff from Yorkville, IL on 3/7/2019

2006 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, so good. I ordered this unit on Tuesday and it arrived Thursday via UPS. Before it arrived, I had removed the old radio from my car and the center console. It didn't take long to hook up the wires, and the directions from Crutchfield are good. The ones in the Pioneer book... well, they need a lesson from Crutchfield. I ran the wire for the parking brake power and USB connection under the carpet to the center console for a clean look. I ran the microphone for the phone through the driver's side A pillar, again to keep a clean look. So far, so good. I connected my work Galaxy via Bluetooth, but my personal iPhone I just used USB and Apple CarPlay (the main reason I chose this unit). The only drawbacks I have are the volume switches are buttons. In hindsight, I probably would have preferred a knob. And, there is not buttons to skip ahead or behind when listening to music. This is only an issue when using Google Maps, for instance, with Apple CarPlay. But, for the cost of the unit, the features you can hook up (I did not hook up a camera, a video screen, navigation, XM, etc.) this is a great little unit. Makes a 13 year old car that is in really good shape a bit more modern. I bought the car brand new in 2006, bought a new head unit from Crutchfield for it then. Now, 13 years later, I replaced the head unit.

Pros: Easy to install Lots of Features Sleek and Modern Looking Apple CarPlay Bluetooth to more than one device

Cons: Bluetooth to only 2 devices - I have a personal phone and a work phone and my wife has a phone. It'd be nice to hook all three up with Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

TOP