Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
702 015 389 3
Connect ID #
702 015 389 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-241EX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-241EX

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Pioneer AVH-241EX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-241EX

39 reviews
View this product

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Dan from Belmont, NC on 7/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Sounds, looks, and performs great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Slingshot's new sounds

Laurie from GALT, CA on 7/6/2022

2016 Polaris Slingshot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The install in my Slingshot was more complicated than other vehicles that I worked on back in my installation days. Once completed and rear speakers added it sounded great! I added a fender mount antenna for improved reception over the hidden factory antenna. Loving my new sound system!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good deal for the money.

Douglas from Ventress, LA on 6/7/2022

2000 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good sound quality and adjustability. Decent features for the money. The install looks good and radio functions well. I wish pioneer didn't go to such lengths to keep you from using any video/ settings from being accessed but other than that, the functions flow easily. With the current market, this is a good deal. However, It has no more features than a similar pioneer model I have in another vehicle that was $100 less 6 years ago.

Pros: Good sound Value for $$$

Cons: How is customizable wallpaper not a basic feature now? Catches a lot of glare in the sun

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Ted from Cedar Lake, IN on 5/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is great! Worthwhile upgrade!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A much needed upgrade for my truck

Billy from Tuscaloosa, AL on 5/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to replace an older Pioneer unit. Great player but just out of date. This new one is worlds better. The old one had a tiny part of the screen for text, everything had to scroll, you couldn't get anything on that screen. This new one the text runs all the way across the screen, no scrolling. The phone is the biggest improvement, no tiny buttons you can't use. My contacts are easy to navigate. Plugging the phone into the USB you need the weblink app, it will download apps to your player. Utube, a media player. Weather. Very nice. The unit plays flac files, one of the reasons I bought it. The text and album art appear on screen. And the sound is amazing. Much improved. Playing your music through the weblink player the Album art becomes the background, a great presentation. You can play video , streaming or DVD, but you need to attach a parking brake cable. Not hard to figure out. With my points the price was right. Quite a bit of features for 250 bucks. Only one EQ setting but that's all you need.One thing, if you have an older Pioneer Iike I did you're going to need a new plug. The plug on the old one won't fit. I just had a place put it in for me. They wanted to know where I got it, because they couldn't get any. Another reason to shop Crutchfield, not that you needed any. Best service ever

Pros: A modern player with everything you need really. More like an infotainment center than just a stereo

Cons: You need to wire in a new plug if replacing an older Pioneer unit.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Terry from Livingston, AL on 5/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice, easy to read great sound quality drives amp and sub exceptionally well.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Brandon from Tucson, AZ on 5/16/2022

2009 Nissan Frontier SE

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good head unit, very basic features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Christopher from Flintstone, GA on 5/9/2022

1995 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Simple, easy hook up. Just what I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fast 2 day shipping

Andrew from Berkeley, IL on 5/9/2022

2007 Cadillac Escalade EXT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fast 2 day shipping. Received all parts necessary to swap out stock radio. Radio works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Nothing compared to PIONEER!

Wade from Hubert, NC on 5/4/2022

2002 Chevrolet Express

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am and I will always be a PIONEER head unit guy. Nothing beats a PIONEER in my opinion. They are clean and do not make a dash, atrocious looking to the eye. They do not overpower a dash and demand attention. If someone did not know better. They may believe it was factory installed. Love PIONEER head units. Always have, always will..

Pros: Options menu that allows fine tuning of sound by way of a true equalizer. Looks excellent installed. Fairly priced for the level of head unit it compares with. Remote control. Clean face without a billion buttons. Very easy to use and navigate.

Cons: May be unique to my application but, the parking brake wire to access the options menu and the DVD menu. Did not operate properly. So, I had to build a bypass harness wired to a toggle switch. That I have to switch on them, off and again on and then, off. To access either of those functions.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

New Radio

Czeslaw from Whittier, CA on 4/22/2022

2001 Honda Prelude

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Radio couldn't be Happier!!!! Easy installation and comes with everything needed to install without the extra charges.

Pros: Very easy install Great product fast delivery excellent price and comes with everything without the extra cost

Cons: Zerooo

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Dean from Spanish Fork, UT on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not a bad stereo due to chip shortages not a lot to choose from in my budget

Pros: Price ,dvd player, rear camera

Cons: Does not have apple play

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Gilbert from Kershaw, SC on 1/11/2022

2003 GMC Yukon XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it Iam very happy with my radio

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Falling Waters, WV on 12/20/2021

2001 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great for my car deff a good upgrade

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Toa Alta, PR on 12/10/2021

2006 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Fuquay Varina, NC on 12/4/2021

2001 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good fit for aftermarket stero. Looks great. Easy installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice features but poor quality

Matt from Rocklin, CA on 12/3/2021

2006 Mercury Mariner Hybrid

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice features but poor quality. The wiring harness for the radio is poorly made. The wires came out of the plug and there is no pinout information available to repair it. Neither Crutchfield nor Pioneer will sell a replacement harness for the radio. Crutchfield customer service was not helpful. They said someone from their tech support team would call me back but they never did.

Pros: I like the rear aux input in 3.5mm format that not a lot of radios have anymore.

Cons: Bulky cables are not secured well for such a small flimsy plug for the wiring harness.

Crutchfield response on 12/6/2021
We're sorry for the miscommunication with Matt on his order. Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to help him further. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Nutley, NJ on 11/7/2021

2006 Mazda Tribute

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Super easy installation. Excellent instructions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Affordable performance upgrade!

Guest from Honolulu, HI on 11/5/2021

2008 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade for my 2008 Toyota Tacoma JBL head unit. Installation was pretty much plug and play with the recommended PAC interface module and Metra adapter kit. The provided installation instructions were accurate and eliminated all the guess work. All steering wheel control functions were retained. The improvement to the sound quality is amazing. Not to mention the Bluetooth feature for hands free calling is definitely a plus. I added a backup camera which was also simple to wire in and setup on this head unit was a breeze. Definitely recommend as a budget friendly feature loaded upgrade/replacement for a factory head unit.

Pros: Performance Features Ease of installation Affordable User friendly

Cons: Button illumination only offered in green. Front USB port cap could be challenging to open.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Jamestown, RI on 11/4/2021

2013 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Work so much better than the factory radio which we replaced because it died. Toyota was going to charge us over $1000 to install what was there and this is clearly a big upgrade. Screen is way more crisp. audio sounds better.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Goose Creek

Brian from Goose Creek on 11/4/2021

2008 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Seamless install with the premade harness, took me longer to figure out how to get the center console apart then actually install the radio. Once I got the factory radio out, plugged a couple plugs, slid it in, put 4 screws to hold the cover in, and fired it up. My docking XM player works great (had to get a filter for ignition noise), but all good now. The operation of this unit sometimes takes a second to figure out, but 100% satisfied.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Unacceptable lack of features

Chris from Kansas on 10/30/2021

2003 Pontiac Vibe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm very disappointed in the lack of features of this unit compared to my two other Pioneer head units: 1) No ability to control button color, 2) no subwoofer output control, 3) no time alignment (my $140 MVH-210EX had it), 4) no multiple EQ presets, 5) only 2V pre outs, 6) poor screen touch response I'm really surprised in Pioneer, and expected these features to be standard at this price point. It seems like Pioneer may have replaced their lower price head units with cheapo rebranded no-name stuff and tweaked the programming a little to resemble real Pioneer products, probably due to the supply chain issues.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/3/2021
Chris contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

5 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Stephens City, VA on 10/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We purchased the radio so we could install the Optix TLP150HDW camera and use it as a backup camera on our motor home. The radio's screen displays the camera's videos perfectly. Considering the state of the art technology incorporate in the Pioneer, I think the price is extremely reasonable. Great Buy!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2005 Tundra

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, GA on 10/18/2021

2005 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product. Easy installation in 2005 Tundra. Paired with 4 Kicker CS speakers, huge upgrade, small price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Crutchfield delivered!

Crutchfield customer from Eagan, MN on 10/12/2021

2013 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was ready to buy a new car stereo, but local stores all had supply problems. One installer suggested Crutchfield. I found exactly what I wanted and they had it here FAST. Called the help line to make sure I had ordered everything I needed for the install and talked to a real person! My new Pioneer sounds great. When passengers mention it, you know it's good. Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Radio/Great Price

Crutchfield customer from Brookhaven, MS on 10/12/2021

2003 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The only reason that I didn't put 6 stars was because only 5 were available. The instructions were very easy to follow and the installation was a breeze. I made two calls to tech support to ask about options and both were answered promptly and and satisfactorily. Everything was in the kit and properly color coded to easily complete the installation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Biloxi, MS on 10/11/2021

2006 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great price and a bargain. Very easy to install using the crutch field ready harness. I consider this a very easy to operate stereo. Does not have a gps but it plays cd's and DVD's.

Pros: Affordable and install was easy

Cons: No GPS

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing product from crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Kirksville, MO on 10/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is wonderful just as I expected and more

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Stephen from Rockport, MA on 10/2/2021

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the price. Installed in my Jeep in an hour-took a while to modify the sub-dash. Install kit and pre-made wiring harness fit great. Seems to do everything I need. The USB on the front is convenient, but needs a small USB memory device to stay out of the way.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value!

Crutchfield customer from Franklinville, NJ on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Almost perfect. So far only two complaints, and both are minor. First, if you have a USB stick in it or a DVD, it does take awhile to load and come to life. My other Pioneer units are pretty much instant. I can live with it, just different than all the other units I have. Second, and this is a real bummer. The RCA Preouts are only 2v rms. All my other units are 4v rms. Why is this an issue? Well, the 4 channel amp for my front and rear speakers is fine with it. My subwoofer amp though needs more input. But, I will say this. I don't have to worry about someone getting in that car and blowing up my speakers! The amps and speakers can not be over-driven with the 2v pre outs so maybe it's a good thing! Love the crossover controls and EQ. Wife likes that this car finally has a backup camera like the rest of ours. Seems like a great head unit for the price!

Pros: Crossover control. Nice EQ. Plays DVD's and USB Sticks. Bluetooth. Backup camera ready. Steering control ready. PRICE!

Cons: Takes a solid 5 seconds or so to come to life with a DVD or USB stick, radio is instant. RCA outputs are only 2v rms.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Madera, CA on 9/27/2021

2005 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Working okay, few mess ups with volume control, I did purchase a scratch & dent , just installed going to give it a few more weeks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from N Wilkesboro, NC on 9/23/2021

2012 Honda Civic EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My son loves this unit. Pioneer always produces great products!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Dvd Receiver.

Crutchfield customer from Oregon City, OR on 9/20/2021

2011 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great dvd receiver, with a remote. You can't go wrong. Best value for around $250. Easy install, I installed it in our 2011 Subaru Forester. Very simple to remove the surrounding trim.I Had it done a couple hours. Only because I like taking my time and making sure my wire connections are tight & solid. Definitely recommend this receiver.

Pros: Love the remote, the price is great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Piti, GU on 9/13/2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very quick delivery. Product performs great and looks awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not worth it

Carlos perez from Atlanta, GA on 9/4/2021

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unfortunately I'm very unsatisfied with this product, this lacks so many audio features and you can't even change the color of the buttons like on last years avh models. I hope I can workout a refund or store credit of some sort.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/6/2021
Carlos Perez contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Anderson, SC on 8/27/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great basic radio. Pretty loud. The hands free calling could be better. As well as integration for the iPhone. But overall pretty decent for the money.

Pros: Very loud. Good screen definition.

Cons: Not quality sound for calling

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-241EX

Crutchfield customer from Wetumpka, AL on 8/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This Unit has all that I needed. My only issue is the display. I wish it had better contrast. The radio is simple and easy to use. The sound is amazing. The volume is clear and crisp and much louder than my old factory unit..The price was just right.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Madisonville, TN on 8/20/2021

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo for the price, has good features such as Bluetooth and back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Radio didn't work

Crutchfield customer from Kenner, LA on 8/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my 3rd radio in a row from Crutchfield. I bought a Boss first but it didn't remember stations right out of the box. So they sent me another Boss which remembered the stations sometimes, but didn't remember bluetooth settings, again, right out of the box. So I upgraded to this Pioneer. Hooked it up to the parking brake and confirmed that with tech support but the radio never got the signal so many of the features were grayed out, again, right out the box. Had to send this one back, too and there was no replacements available unless I upgraded, again. No thanks. I had to install and uninstall, then package for shipment three radios - all of which did not work. Not a good experience here. I'm on my fourth radio now from a different vendor (not Crutchfield), third different brand. We'll see how it goes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/16/2021
We were sorry to hear about this customer's experience. We're forwarding this on to our Sales and Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time. We hope he gives us another chance to prove we're the best in the business.

4 of 6 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound