Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-2550NEX

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-2550NEX

118 reviews
View this product

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dagsboro, DE on 12/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio is awesome, everything I expected and even more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Wexford, PA on 12/10/2019

2007 Mazda MX5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great value. HD radio and Apple Car Play are the main reasons I bought this receiver. Easy to install. Sounds great. I opted for the set up to retain the steering wheel controls and it was well worth it. The volume controls on the head unit are not convenient

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Owensville, MO on 12/10/2019

2006 Buick Rainier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great replacement for the price, excellent sound quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Whoa!

erik from alexandria on 12/10/2019

2010 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just picked up the car from the local electronics install shop. I haven't even checked out 10% of the features yet, but the improved audio is itself worth the upgrade expense. This new head unit, paired with some affordable Polk door and dash speakers, made a night and day improvement over the stock Subaru units.

Pros: Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

worthwhile upgrade.

Crutchfield customer from Murray, KY on 12/10/2019

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit. would have liked to have more options for the background screen. Also could have used better instructions or tutorial for using all the different functions but I found an excellent one on youtube. Fit and finish was excellent after installed in my 2004 F-150. Really like the upgrade from factory head unit. thanks Crutchfield !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Rockaway, NJ on 12/10/2019

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio arrived when it was supposed to and the installation was very easy. The technical support group was amazing and very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 12/9/2019

2010 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Head unit!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Myrtle Beach, SC on 12/9/2019

2007 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit ..... nice picture as a back up camera

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome and fair priced

Crutchfield customer from Lehigh Acres, FL on 12/8/2019

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio! Carplay works so will when you plug in your phone vary easy to navigate

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Newnan, GA on 12/8/2019

2017 Nissan Versa S

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great piece of equipment

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit, very economical

Crutchfield customer from Sulphur, LA on 12/8/2019

2004 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2004 Toyota Tundra with the JBL system, kept the stock amp and just installed this and JL audio speakers. The sound quality improvement is amazing! Literally night and day difference. So much more bass, and crisper highs. I love having more control over how my audio sounds.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

WINNEBAGO Travato by Promaster

Crutchfield customer from Queens Village, NY on 12/8/2019

2018 Ram Promaster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice Unit great features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit

Crutchfield customer from Rock Hill, SC on 12/4/2019

2005 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought for my college son's car who wanted to be able to connect his phone to use maps and listen to music. This was his choice and it was a great buy. Installation was simple with the supplied kit and directions. Looking to get one for my own vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Guest from Manalapan, NJ on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this radio installed in my 2010 Mazda 6 (i Touring) and it was well worth the money. Sound quality is exceptional just gotta play around with it. Only pro/con is that the stereo links with headlights so if you have headlights on the screen will fade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Gettysburg, PA on 12/4/2019

2016 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it best radio I've had

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cherry Hill, NJ on 12/4/2019

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good unit- Love the Carplay ability. I like that this generation no longer has that crazy fold down mechanism to access CD's- it is right at the top. Sound quality and HD radio are superb. Definitely worth the upgrade over the stock system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo for the money!

Norman from Vancouver, WA on 12/3/2019

2008 Lexus RX400H

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an amazing stereo for the money. Maximum options for whatever phone you have.

Pros: Looks and works amazing!

Cons: Wish it could do the apple carplay through bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I mean, its Pioneer... So you know it's quality!

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 12/3/2019

2002 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was one of the best purchases I have made in a long time. I was looking at the 1550NEX but decided on this one for the bigger screen, and it was worth the extra money. This model also has Android Auto, but I have an iPhone so I use the Apple Carplay feature, which is definitely the best thing since sliced bread. Having my iPhone interface on a nearly 7in screen in my dash is next level convenience. I would love to have the wireless Carplay, but I just couldn't afford to spring for the 4500NEX. I prefer to buy nice used cars and add the features I want, and this was the perfect addition to my 2002 Explorer. d

Pros: Apple Carplay Bluetooth Extra long mic cord Super easy to install with the factory adapter Multiple color schemes and customizable backgrounds

Cons: Notta one fam

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 12/2/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it. Great with android auto.

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, KS on 12/2/2019

2004 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great and is exactly what I wanted!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Eudora, AR on 12/2/2019

2008 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works great dash kit did not fix well

Pros: Good quality radio more than expected

Cons: The dash kit does not fit good has gap on top just don't like the way it fit

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Murphysboro, IL on 12/2/2019

1998 GMC Sierra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in '98 GMC Siera. Tight, but it does fit in dash. This unit is right at the limit of the size I'd want in this truck. Some minor dash cutting is required on the dash cover and in the dash to allow additional room for wiring. Sound, screen, and operation of the unit is great. I combined with a small 4 channel amp, which is almost a requirement with any speakers. I mainly bought this unit so I could add hands free Android Auto operation to my truck. I really like it so far. Android Auto seems very responsive, intuitive, and easy to use on this unit. Touch screen works well, and the resolution of the screen is good enough that even small text is easily readable.

Pros: Good screen. Responsive. Quick android auto features. Great sound.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Flowery Branch, GA on 12/2/2019

2001 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit into a Toyota MR2 Spyder convertible. The sound quality is great, but I bought it primarily for the Android Auto function. The first thing I tried was making a call while driving with the top down. My callers said that they could not hear wind or exhaust noise. 100% happy.

Pros: Sounds great. Android Auto functions work well.

Cons: The mounting instructions sent to me were for a single DIN unit, not a double DIN. The kit was correct though.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Boca Raton, FL on 12/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, very easy to use Apple car play works perfectly. Gives my 30 year old car a modern feel.

Pros: Great sound, features, easy to use. Apple car play.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Head unit that plays CDs while on Andoid Auto simultaneously

Crutchfield customer from Cypress, TX on 12/1/2019

2010 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good DVD/CD player with Android Auto. This is one of the few units that can play CDs containing music files (either MP3 or traditional .wav) SIMULTANEOUSLY while you are navigating on Andoird Auto (AA). The unit will mute music when Android Auto Google maps provide audio commands. If you are searching for a head unit which plays CDs while navigating on Google maps on AA, this is a good unit.

Pros: The unit can plays CDs while on Andoid Auto simultaneously

Cons: The unit may get a bit hot in longer duarion operation.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing Product

Crutchfield customer from Portsmouth, VA on 12/1/2019

2001 GMC Sierra 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product ! Works great with Alexa auto for a complete hands free experience! What a truly great product to face lift my 2001 GMC Sierra to a modern vehicle !

Pros: Easy install

Cons: No negatives I can think of

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Greensboro, NC on 12/1/2019

2004 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is ideal for my situation. Easy to install, easy to use, interfaces seamlessly with my phone, and sounds great.

Pros: Apple car play, factory sub woofer compatible, DVD player, HD radio.

Cons: Apple car play doesn't work with Bluetooth.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mishawaka, IN on 11/28/2019

2010 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Huge improvement over my old stereo. The sound quality is solid, and the equalizers are easy to switch between. The entire UI is easy-to-use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kennewick, WA on 11/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Looks factory and Android Auto works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I should have known better...

Crutchfield customer from The Colony, TX on 11/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace my Pioneer 4200NEX that had a catastrophic software failure after 18 months. I already had the harness, line output converter and camera installed so I figured it would just be easier to stay with Pioneer. Big mistake. I purchased this unit believing I could use the weblink app (check reviews on Google Play store) and use my Waze. I found out that this feature was discontinued by Pioneer this year but it is still on the Crutchfield website. Weblink is, however, great at using up your battery life on your phone.

Pros: The sound quality is better than on the 4200.

Cons: App functionality, no Waze

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bentonville, AR on 11/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Thanks Crutchfield for helping us decide on which receiver would work with front and rear cameras. Plus it was on sale. We are very happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

No one tops Pioneer!

Crutchfield customer from Gatesville, NC on 11/18/2019

2009 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tons and tons of features. Super clear video resolution. Paired my phone to it in less than three min. Pioneer quality that I love! Didn't know it but I can even check vehicle states on the screen!! Temp, rpm, speed.... all that I can check from my radio! Perfect addition.

Pros: Perfect

Cons: None as of yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great bang for the buck!

Crutchfield customer from Sullivan, MO on 11/14/2019

2013 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Improved the sound of the stock speakers, backup camera looks great, still learning all the functions but so far extremely happy with this unit. Knocked off a star because the tiny volume button is a pain for my fat fingers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Pip from Kent, WA on 11/13/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this to replace a Jensen VX7528, which was nothing short of a headache (the Jensen, not the installation.) Installation was smooth. The Metra Axxess ASWC-1 recognized it right away, and steering wheel controls were back on line! The radio sounds good, the controls are intuitive, and it pairs with Bluetooth quick and easy. The start-up time is a wee slow, but not terrible. However, Android Auto would not work. I installed the app on my compatible phone, plugged it into the radio, and a message popped up on the head unit asking me to download and install Weblink. After installing that, weblink worked, but did not offer access to the same suite of apps that Android Auto was supposed to, namely Google Maps and Waze. I shrugged it off, as it was not among the primary reasons I chose this unit. The next day, I decided to check Pioneer's site for a possible firmware/software update, and, lo, there it was. After installation of the update, Android Auto works like a champ, and I love it! Minus 1/2 star for Crutchfield not providing a link for this update (maybe it's here, but it's not prominent, as it should be), and for shipping a unit with outdated firmware. I like it so much, I'm debating putting in my other car. Here's the other minus 1/2 star: When I did the fit for my other car (a newer Toyota), I am told the USB port in my car will still work with CRUX SWRTY-61N adapter. But beware! The description for CRUX SWRTY-61N states Android Auto is not

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Moyock, NC on 11/13/2019

2004 Ford Econoline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome Radio! Tons of features and quick too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

The Sony stereo is probably better.

Aaron from BUDA, TX on 11/12/2019

2012 Volkswagen Golf

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It works which I'm glad for, but the touch screen is screwy and will register your touch at different places on the screen other than where your finger is sometimes. It's also delayed when playing audio with Bluetooth. Very annoying.

Pros: Works

Cons: Bad touch recognition Audio delay.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, SC on 11/12/2019

2010 Honda Element LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Works with wifes iphone and my samsung s9+ with 4.9 something software

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 11/12/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great product

Crutchfield customer from Gray, LA on 11/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product has all the options you might need

Pros: Nicely laid out

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Sounds awesome in a Wrangler JK with Alpine Sound!

Jerry from Swansea, MA on 11/11/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio works well in a Jeep Wrangler with Alpine Sound! If you have a JK with Alpine Sound you will be pleased. The Crossover adjustments work with front, back , and subwoofer. You the the Maestro RR with the latest firmware.. it works. I thought I was hearing things because my AVH4200NEX that failed, probably from the bi-weekly shock of going off road only adjusted the front speaker crossover.. the Alpine amp did the rest. But this time... wow. I actually thought I was hearing things. It sounds great! I got the AVH-2550NEX because I wanted the option to play my CDs too. I don't have my entire music collection ripped to FLAC yet. If you ever heard FLAC on a tuned sound system you would never go back. I listen to Rock, Blues, Bar Room Boogie.. that genre. I have the Bass and Bass Drum hitting hard and not booming. I've got the midrange tuned to the point you can tell if it's Fender Statocaster, Gibson Les Paul, or a Fender Showmaster. Harmonica.. wow. Lead vocals are clear! Horn section amazing! I play tenor saxophone and blues harp so I am fussy when it comes to sound. This headunit sounds great. Here's some installation tips for those of you who want to install this in a JK. You will need to make a notch in the front inside of the Metra mount kit. You need to do this so the radio will mount flush in the dash bezel. You can't see the notch because it's on the inside. On the headunit disable Uconnect bluetooth, program the B

Pros: Integrates well in a Wrangler JK, You can tailor the sound to your taste. Carplay and Android Auto works great. I only use Android Auto when I need the GPS. Otherwise I prefer to use the USB port for either my iPOD or 240GB SSD containing my FLAC encoded music collection

Cons: cooling fan is a little louder than most systems, but when on the road you don't hear it. I'd rather have the amp run cooler than overheat!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Island Park, NY on 11/10/2019

2005 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

quesnel

jonathan from quesnel on 11/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this unit for 3 weeks now and I cannot get the Android auto to work.. I'm pretty gadget savvy.. it's not me and to see there's at least a million other people online with the same problem this is just Bull! have always bought Pioneer but buying this head was a mistake!

Pros: I love how you can adjust each speaker and crossovers and Sub individually that's awesome but

Cons: cannot hear other caller on Android auto. many others with same issue and no fix

Crutchfield response on 11/19/2019
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this product from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing works great

Crutchfield customer from Flat Rock, MI on 11/7/2019

2004 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is just amazing, speakers sound better, car play works flawlessly, Bluetooth works great, best part is the fitment, it fits so nicely that you can't really tell it isn't factory. If you are sick of the factory battery draining radio on your 2004 Ford truck, switch to this radio and make your truck feel like it's brand new with all of the features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great Stereo

Crutchfield customer from Oak Creek, WI on 11/5/2019

2012 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best inexpensive Android Auto and Apple Carplay head unit with a CD slot.

Pros: Both Android Auto and Apple Carplay compatible

Cons: Gets angry with Carplay sometimes Can't resize reverse camera field of view, so it cuts off the top of the image.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Shoreline, WA on 11/5/2019

2016 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This AVH head unit has worked well and the harness and other accessories are really great. For my install the Microphone cable is a little short. I wanted to install it up on the head liner in the center. However the cable wouldn't reach forcing me to install it on the left hand side of the driver. It could be my routing but I wanted the cable to be out of the way of the peddles and their mechanisms.

Pros: Good Value Android Auto works great Easy to install

Cons: The buttons are small and you have to really look at them when making changes to volume and such. Without steering wheel controls its a distraction.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Salem, AL on 11/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade for stock system. More than enough power. Steering wheel controls work great. Android auto works through USB port on console.backup camera picture is clear in daylight and at night.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Tarpon Springs, FL on 11/4/2019

2012 Chevrolet Malibu

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very elegant unit. Impressed with the features and flexibility of the unit. Great products and great technical support. I also like the site which makes recommendations and fitment for Installing peripherals.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Greenfield, IN on 11/3/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo does everything I want ready to finish the audio in my Wrangler with amps and speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very disappointed

Scott from Anderson, SC on 10/29/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this unit based on features, price and ratings. The unit I received was a piece of junk. This thing had a mind of it's own. Numerous features never worked properly beginning with Android Auto. My coworker bluetoothed his iphone and was playing his music within 10 seconds. This unit would not show my GPS from the phone to the screen. My music would be shown on the screen but no sound. While trying to listen to FM radio this unit kept going back to bluetooth mode. It would not play music from my ipod. Sometimes the screen froze and this is the 2nd Pioneer unit I have installed and the clock does not stay accurate. After setting the clock it was slow by 20min only 2 days later. Based on ratings I got the lemon of the group. Non the less I won't buy another Pioneer car stereo. I replaced this with a Kenwood.

Pros: Speakers have more power to them. Stereo does sound better.

Cons: Android auto doesn't work, ipod would not play, unit was always trying to change modes. Lots of bluetooth connectivity issues.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Good unit for Carplay with a few drawbacks

Crutchfield customer from Frederick, MD on 10/21/2019

2004 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to replace a four year old Pioneer AVH-4000NEX that failed (stuck on boot screen, apparently with a corrupted memory). The 2550NEX offers improved Carplay functionality over the old unit, and I like the fixed screen (rather than the rotating faceplate of the old unit). Buttons on the left side are larger than the previous unit and easier to operate. Fits well in the dash of my 2004 Honda CRV. Unlike the older unit, the 2550NEX has a glossy plastic screen (like a Palm Pilot from the 1990s). Functionally, it's fine, but it is a little glossy in daylight and feels cheap compared to contemporary phones and tablets. With my iPhones, I use the USB/lightning connector exclusively rather than the Bluetooth. Audio quality through the mic (mounted just behind the steering wheel on the steering column) is good even with the car's background noise. Replacing my old Pioneer with the new one was very easy as the wiring is identical. Remote, mic, wiring harness are the same. My only long-term concern is reliability, as my previous Pioneer failed after four years.

Pros: Carplay functionality with iPhone over USB/Lightning is solid Good audio quality for phone calls Volume and transport controls are large enough for adult-sized fingers

Cons: Display material is functional but looks and feels cheap (plastic film, not glass) Long term reliability?

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

I should have bought this years ago

Crutchfield customer from Worthington, OH on 10/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Any unresponsiveness or goofy behavior I've noticed has been either the fault of my phone being slow or of some specific apps on my phone interacting in weird ways with Car Play. It's great being able to stream music from my phone instead of burning CDs all the time! Think I'll have to go back to using contacts instead of wearing glasses so I can see the maps clearly (my car has it sit quite low in the dash, and my glasses do not cover my peripheral vision).

Pros: Has everything I'd want: HD radio, Car Play, CD playback Sounds great

Cons: Startup takes a few moments. This is especially obnoxious when you turn off your car for a few minutes while waiting and then turn it back on and the accessories circuit reboots.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Fantastic experience

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 10/10/2019

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this!! Much better than the factory installed one that we replaced it with, and the price was great! The technical support from Crutchfield was OUTSTANDING!! I am a 51 year old woman with absolutely no experience doing this and with their help took apart the entire dashboard and replaced it myself! Highly recommend!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, CT on 9/29/2019

2005 Volkswagen Touareg

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great product does all i need it to do

Pros: easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Nice head unit

Justin from SHAVERTOWN, PA on 9/25/2019

2011 Dodge Nitro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice head unit with lots of options. Easy to install and sounds great. The install kit makes it a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Dual Volume Adjustment is Great

Crutchfield customer from Inwood, WV on 9/22/2019

2010 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2010 Mustang, love the look and it is easy to use. The features are great, the ability to adjust the volume of the gps and music individually is a must have if you travel.

Pros: All the features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Needville, TX on 9/16/2019

2011 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

improved the sound of the stock speakers dramatically. Still learning the radio but very impressed with it.

Pros: Sound Options Ease of use The crunchfield directions helped a lot.

Cons: Hardly any directions for operating the radio or installation.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Guest from Shelton, CT on 9/16/2019

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Unit worked great for a while. The it started randomly switching modes, from radio, to aux, to podcast, etc. At first is was rare, but as time goes by I can't listen to anything for more than 5 minutes or so, then the unit goes nuts. I rechecked the wire harnesses, and they are solid. On the other hand, the bluetooth connection to my phone has worked flawlessly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX in a 2010 Sonata

Crutchfield customer from Florence, AZ on 9/16/2019

2010 Hyundai Sonata

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in a 2010 Sonata. The radio is an upgrade, sound wise, from the factory radio. I am using it with Android Auto. I have installed a backup camera. The ability to adjust the lines is not as convenient as it could be. Buying from Crutchfield gives you the mounting kit for the car, included in the price. Also I bought an open box unit which was perfect. Note, the mounting kit needed spacers behind the mounting bezel to get the bezel where it should be in regard to the dash. Just had to remove it to get it flush.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome radio

Crutchfield customer from Campbellsburg, KY on 9/4/2019

2012 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product very happy with the unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from New City, NY on 9/2/2019

2016 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit. Love the car play.

Pros: Car play and features. Sounds great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Middle of the road

Crutchfield customer from Boise, ID on 8/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ive had it a few weeks so this is an initial review. Overall it is a good unit and most of the touchscreen commands are intuitive. One big downer is I live out west and radio is hampered by distance and mountains. The reception is poor. I knew going in it had weaker reception than other units but I am surprised at how much better my stock unit was. The other reviewers we not kidding about the small size of the buttons on the side for adjustment. The touch screen does take care of most of that. Wonnecting to the backup camera/ reverse wire was a severe pain with me finding the real answer to the wire color on fords f150 forum (green and yellow at the top of the fuse box on the passenger side). I hope to add to this after a few months.

Pros: Clear screen ,intuitive

Cons: Radio reception

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Apple Carplay intergration.

James from Rougemont, NC on 8/21/2019

2018 Kia Soul

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in 2018 Kia Soul. Excellent radio with all the features I needed with Apple Carplay integration.

Pros: fast boot-up and lots of options

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, NY on 8/19/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the platform. In Spotify mode I was slightly turned off when I couldn't adjust the volume using the car and only phone phone which I thought was weird. Maybe that's just user error. Everything else works great . Also you only have 6 presets for each audio mode. Most platforms have a scrolling function to have more but not this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

2012 Impreza Owners Beware

Jon from Portland, OR on 8/12/2019

2012 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hate to leave a review not based solely on the performance/quality of the product, but here I am. I'm pretty disappointed with the installation of this stereo as it relates specifically to my car (2012 Impreza Sedan). Due to the vagaries of my specific installation, the mounting bracket and trim make it so that the stereo is recessed into the dashboard by about 3/8". It looks bad. It's also very annoying that it makes using the physical control buttons along the left-hand side difficult. Not impossible, but pretty cumbersome - especially while driving. Steering wheel controls help of course, but they can't do everything. On one hand, it's no doubt very difficult (if not logistically impossible) for Crutchfield to keep up with every detail of how each product looks and interacts with every car. On the other hand, it is their core competency. And after speaking to two local car stereo installers, I have come to find out that it's a known issue with this stereo/car combo. So that makes me even more dissatisfied with the fact that I wasn't warned ahead of time on this potential recess issue. I most certainly would have opted for a different stereo had I known ahead of time. The stereo itself seems to work well, but it's only been a day since the install was completed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Mchenry, IL on 8/11/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After reading many reviews decided to install this head unit. It has all I need satellite adaptable if you like. very intuitive easy install with SWC active. Great sound with original equipment speakers and sub. 2010 Tacoma with JBL.

Pros: Way better than the original Head unit with phone and sound quality

Cons: No satellite but who needs the extra expense anyway?

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I love it

Crutchfield customer from Duncan, SC on 8/8/2019

2000 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This may be my favorite radio yet. I was a little hesitant in ordering it because I really loved the AVH-2440, but as usual, Pioneer continues to amaze me. I installed this in my 2000 Dodge Dakota (yes, it was an interesting install). I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great all around head unit at a reasonable price.

Pros: Everything

Cons: No tilt screen like its predecessor

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Alton, IL on 8/5/2019

2012 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio lots of features

Pros: Great sound easy to use

Cons: Screen has no contrast settings

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good unit with very bad glare.

Crutchfield customer from Irving, TX on 8/4/2019

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Would give this a higher review. However the glare in the glass makes extreamly dificult to see details especailly the backup cam. Ordered some anti glare screen protectors will see if that helps resolve. I did not see the functional ability to adjust the brightness of the unit. Overall no other major issues with the unit after a day of driving.

Pros: Pandora control workes well. Overall controls are good.

Cons: Display Highly reflective and makes use in daylight very difcult.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Streator, IL on 7/22/2019

2015 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

so far so good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Marietta, GA on 7/22/2019

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit to replace the stock radio in my 2007 FJ Cruiser. Installation was a breeze using the ready harness.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Marion, NY on 7/21/2019

2004 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product easily installed and setup was a breeze.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Laurice C from Mobile, AL on 7/20/2019

2005 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this head in a 2005 Acura TL along with a iDatalink Maestro ADS-MSW Universal Steering Wheel Control. I also installed a reverse camera. This head made me feel like I was in a new car. The blue tooth connects to two phones and works perfectly. I love the Android auto. I now have navigation with either Waze GPS or Google Maps. The sound is excellent. I would definitely purchase from Crutchfield again and I plan to install one of these in my son's Honda Accord.

Pros: Easy install after I took the dash apart to remove the old head. Plenty of connections and love the reverse camera.

Cons: With my LG G5 phone the head will only connect to Android Auto if the phone is connected before the head is powered on. Not sure if this is the same with all Androids.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great unit for the price

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 7/19/2019

2017 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit with help from Simon on Crutchfield's site. I was new to the whole aftermarket equipment scene, and really didn't have an idea as to what all was needed and such. The head unit itself works as intended for the most part. I'm having minor issues with my parking sensors at this time, and not sure if it's the head unit itself or the Maestro module that interfaces with my vehicle. I love having apple car play. My OEM unit was prior to Toyota adding it to their head units, and honestly, Entune is a nightmare. I didn't install this unit myself, that is out of my comfort zone, so I can't weigh in on how easy it is to install this. It does look really good though, I have the color close to matching the rest of my interior lighting, I still have my backup camera functionality, and now I have the ability to play CD's and DVD's. I'm not sure how I feel with having all the controls on the left side, but the system is very responsive. It has a remote that I haven't used yet, but will put it in my back seat's center console so when I have people in the back, they can control it without having to distract me. I updated the firmware, which it took me a moment to figure out (Make sure your parking break is engaged, or the radio won't allow you to update it). I will say, things sound differently, so I am still playing with EQ settings, and am going to be adding a subwoofer here in a few weeks, because the bass feels flat. I was a little disappointed that I was not

Pros: Lots of features Easy to use

Cons: Interface with vehicle is a tad bit buggy Firmware update nerfed transitions between screens

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 7/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver, just didn't fit my car. A little to big.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Virginia Beach, VA on 7/14/2019

2012 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use, looks great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but could use some improvements

Crutchfield customer from Denver, NC on 6/27/2019

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Solid improvement over the factory unit that came in my Tundra. It's nice having Bluetooth and Apple CarPlay support however there are some issues. Apple CarPlay and the USB port are a bit finicky. I'm using a direct high quality cable but I get audio drop outs and CarPlay disconnects periodically. Also, the iHeartRadio app will often not display. It works in the back ground and will play whatever Chanel was previously selected but the screen will be blank and no way to change the streaming channel. I admit this may not have anything to do with the head unit. Lastly, the audio quality through CarPlay isn't as good as through Bluetooth. This is true for music on my device as well as through streaming.

Pros: Better than factory unit

Cons: Apple CarPlay is flaky

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Smithtown, NY on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is great. Just what I was looking for. Love being able to use the apps right off the phone. Sound is crisp and loud. Installation was very easy.

Pros: Easy to use. Lots of available apps. Love having waze for navigation.

Cons: HD radio signal problems.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome. Could be better.

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley, CA on 6/25/2019

2011 Honda CR-Z

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got a screen based unit so I could click fewer times between modes. Still requires plenty of clicks and requires looking as well. Some big buttons and maybe a knob would be a nicer interface. Also sometimes doesn't boot and always takes a minute to get going.

Pros: All the bells and whistles. Love the car play feature

Cons: Buttons too small, could use more mechanical interface

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 6/22/2019

2010 Nissan Rogue

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent reciever, just plug in and go. Removal and installation took less than an hour. Looks and sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Meade, MD on 6/20/2019

2011 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The radio works well with Apple play. The only drawback I have is there is no graphic equalizer and all apps from pioneer are not compatible with iOS.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Great Value

Christopher from Malta, NY on 6/17/2019

2013 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This receiver is a great value. It was a very easy install and set up. The menu's and initial set-up are very intuitive and user friendly. Operation of the system is very user friendly as well. Android auto is excellent. The remote is also a huge bonus. Sound quality from the HD radio tuner is mediocre at best, not as great as the OEM. However, when streaming music from your phone the quality is significantly better. The touch buttons are all very large and easy to use, and it is very easy to navigate through menus on the fly. The reason this does not get 5 stars from me is the lag. It lags on start up, it lags switching to android auto, and when switching between different apps. It has also (rarely) frozen on start up and not booted up at all until I re-start the car. All-in-all a good value stereo if you are looking for an OEM upgrade and android auto on a budget.

Pros: Easy to use, android auto

Cons: Lag / Slow response

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great upgrade to Tundra Factory Radio

Crutchfield customer from Fresno, CA on 6/17/2019

2017 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with this head unit. CarPlay works great and install was a breeze with the Crutchfield ready harness and iDatalink Maestro.

Pros: Easy install. Improves stock speaker sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

New pioneer avh 2550 nex

Crutchfield customer from Crestview, FL on 6/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

With a small amount of help from tech support I was able to install it easily. Everything I've tried so far works as it should, I've a lot of options left to try. A gift of a backup camera has so far stumped me, l believe it's me not the unit. I may need to get new speakers to optimize sound quality, but I'll wait a few weeks to see. So far so good thanks to Rocky and a little tech support. I'll be back in the future for any new equipment I need. Thanks,Fred

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer radio

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 6/11/2019

2010 Ford F-150 FX4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product came fast and works great! Pioneer radios never fail best radios on the market and great price

Pros: Has android auto and apps

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, MD on 6/11/2019

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I wanted. Works better than I could imagined it would. Connects with no problem. Voice chat is fantastic . Very happy with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A lot of bang for your buck!

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 6/10/2019

2012 Ford Expedition EL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great upgrade. Looks clean and works prefect.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 6/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to my 2014 Toyota Tacoma.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Delta, UT on 6/10/2019

2012 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product very much enjoy

Pros:

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Litchfield Park, AZ on 6/9/2019

2012 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Night and day difference from stock harmon radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Choice

Crutchfield customer from Gold Canyon, AZ on 6/3/2019

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have an "03 Silverado with BOSE audio system and was skeptical that all functionality, such as steering wheel controls would be retained and whether installation would become a nightmare. I was VERY impressed that the installation went smoothly and all functionality remained (except auto volume increase as speed increases) per the original BOSE system. The adapters prepared by Crutchfield to address the BOSE system and the Pioneer unit suggested, made installation completely plug & play. I would recommend Crutchfield, and my Advisor Doc, to anyone planning an upgrade

Pros: Ease of installation and retention of original functionality

Cons: "chime" unit not impressive

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 6/2/2019

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to install, good sound. Oakley was available and had answers to all my questions. Overall good experience.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Shreveport, LA on 6/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I fine that this product is a very good Pioneer AVH-2550NEX work outstanding fix with no problem to worry about I will recommend to buy it for replacement dash system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 5/28/2019

2004 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use. Very configurable. Lighter than I thought it would be.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like so much bought a 2nd one

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 5/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice. After I pit one in my 2011 F150, I ended up buying a 2004 Mustang GT convertable. Bought 1 for it also.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from China, TX on 5/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Radio works as intended. Better sound then the factory stero. Screen response is a little slow but overall does what it says.

Pros: Works great with OBDII system

Cons: Touch screen slow

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 5/19/2019

2008 Audi TT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I was looking for in a new head unit for my 08 Audi TT. Android auto, bluetooth w/mic and equalizer to customize sound quality. Also, my wife will be able to hook-up her iPhone.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

they guysss!!!

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

just want to say how easy you guys make this happen .... Thanks for the sopport ....

Pros: plug and play

Cons: no cons so far.... this guys make it so easy!!!!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chicago, IL on 5/16/2019

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit so far...have had it installed for two weeks. HD radio is awesome as is car play. Big improvement in sound for my JBL system in my 2006 Toyota 4Runner Limited.

Pros: Improved sound, HD radio and lots of great features.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

no rear channel audio

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 5/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

well crutchfield has been great, very good support staff. However, the pioneer does not work correctly. I along with crutchfield have tried to no avail to get the rear channel working in my 06 charger.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/9/2019

2018 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding quality and features. Apple carplay is a must. Works great!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great unit, a tiny bit too big for the metra kit

Crutchfield customer from Lannon, WI on 5/2/2019

2014 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit sounds amazing once I set it up in my 14 Toyota Tacoma. I primarily listen to music from my USB and I like that it has a tone balance so all of the music is relatively the same loudness. The Android Auto is ok. I got the maestro unit so all of my functions of the truck still work. I have yet to see the Android on my screen yet, but the map directions and texts come through the speakers fine. I am still learning. I don't have Apple, so I don't think my screen will evel look like the one pictured. Now, I had a few negatives. 1. Android Aoto requirs a direct connection to the phone. That cable cannot be connected through the factory USB port under the dash, so you have to keep the cable in the glovebox, That is dumb. The cable I need, the TOYUSB-2, is just a few bucks, and I think I will get it to use my USB port for my music and screw Android Auto. Everything else it does is just great. During installation, my installer informed me that the Metra kit for the Double Din 92-8235, is just a bit too small for the head unit to fit through. We used an older kit for the 2012 and older dash, and while the head unit fit now, it looks terrible in the truck. The Metra kit I was sent is also a dull black one. I returned that and just received a proper glossy black unit. Now, we will have to grind some material out of the new kit's opening by hand, as this Pioneer is a little bit oversized. This issue from Pioneer was annoying and a big loss of time and money. Hope we fix it.

Pros: Fantastic sound, does everything I wanted.

Cons: Face is a bit too big for DD opening so kit has to be modified, Android auto must be connected, not BluTooth. Installation was NOT a breeze.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sacramento, CA on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This pioneer really puts out a nice sound. I love the internal equalizer. I installed it in my 1968 Mustang fastback That has been featured in a few magazines so I am very picky of what I choose to put in it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Stereo , lacks contrast

Mike from Colonial Heights, VA on 4/28/2019

2005 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo. I purchased this one for the Android Auto. I was disappointed that the contrast is not as good as the 1400 NEX. It may seem like a small thing but the deep blacks give it a MUCH better look. If the 1440NEX had android auto, I would of definitely bought that instead.

Pros: Its a Pioneer :) Great sound. Android Auto.

Cons: Screen contrast

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Aiken, SC on 4/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

little hard to see when wearing sunglasses

Pros: works great

Cons: little hard to see when wearing sunglasses

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Better sounding subaru

Crutchfield customer from Newbury, NH on 4/24/2019

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

We had a basic radio in our forester with crappy Bluetooth performance , the pioneer radio was a great upgrade. Apple car play was the driver of our decision as it works so well with this head unit. Sound is excellent and ability to tailor the sound makes the Subaru sound better than we expected. I also recommend getting the parking break override to open up all features even when driving

Pros: Great sound and upgrade

Cons: Little pricey

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Osprey, FL on 4/20/2019

2004 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The pioneer radio was great. What's even better is the support from crutchfield. Thanks for all the help.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jonesboro, AR on 4/14/2019

2003 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for the upgrade to our lacking OEM head unit in my wifes car. Easy to use. Plenty of features. Wife loves Apple car play and the accessibility.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mcdonough, GA on 4/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit. Great performance . I do not use my outdated factory Nav system any more.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Ken from Canyon lake, Ca on 4/12/2019

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What a great upgrade from my old factory unit and very easy to install. Android auto, bluetooth, hands free calling just to name a few. Originally, I was going to take my truck to a stereo shop to purchase a system and have them install it but ended up buying from Crutchfield instead. Glad I did. First of all, their customer service is top notch! Great communication and fast shipping. The ready harness is a huge plus as well. Thank you Crutchfield! I'll be back

Pros: Android auto, bluetooth, hands free calling

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bryant, AL on 3/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well fits perfect looks factory Ready harness plugged up perfect and saves a lot of time worth every penny.put it in granddaughter car at 16 years old she loves it also add back up camera.Really nice..now for the people at Crutchfield boy how nice and professional this crew is top of the chart .I will say a big thank you to jay and Linsey for all their help and patience they had with me appreciate them so much I would never buy anywhere else.Thank you at Crutchfield for having some wonderful people on your team

Pros: Perfect fit back up camera perfect always got Crutchfield help worth everything . You can call anytime and good help and advise and free.Cant asked for anything better

Cons: None that I can find

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great radio exceeding my expectations.

Crutchfield customer from Birmingham, AL on 3/28/2019

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Works really well with android auto and my note 8 when connected via wired usb. HD radio is so clear. It is like listening to a CD. Radio is more than I had imagined and exceeded my expectations. No negatives.

Pros: Android auto, HD radio, DVD, backup camera

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 3/27/2019

2015 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My first impression was the screen is smaller than I expected. I replaced a 8 inch stock head unit with this 6.8inch Pioneer. But the screen is clear and bright (after setting the dimming to a higher value). It is taking some getting used to. The unit will bluetooth pair to any phone that gets into the car. So while it supports 2 bluetooth connected phones, when both are in the car it creates problems ie; which phone is streaming the audio. I need to figure out how to stop the unit from auto-bluetooth pairing other than setting my phone to not search. When using Android auto through the usb cable things work pretty well, but still takes some getting used to. For example how to we select what we are listening to when auto-android is running. I know this is not the Pioneers problem, but still a issue for us using the unit. All in all I think we traded one set of headaches with the stock head unit for another set headaches with this unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 8 found this helpful

Very pleased

Crutchfield customer from New Smyrna, FL on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with the purchase. Brought my very basic stock versa to life. Android auto was a feature that really interests me and it has met all my expectations. Look forward to getting the subs and amp hooked up next week. As a kid i always looked through crutchfield magazines and picked out what i would get if i ever had the money. As an adult its really cool to be able to look on crutchfield's site and get what i want. I must say I am beyond happy with the purchase and the crutchfield customer service is amazing. They made everything very easy as i opted to but the pioneer over a cheaper double din i originally ordered. Didn't have to jump through hoops or eat shipping or anything. Everyone i spoke with treated me like family and they have a lifetime customer based off of the staff alone. Great people that were very helpful through installation. Again if your debating on dins like i was youll be happy with this pioneer. I sure am. Thanks crutchfield!

Pros: Brought factory speakers to life and this has tons of options. Android auto is a game changer.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Brian from Berea, Ohio on 3/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is awesome. The amount of tuning you can do is amazing and really helps you get the sound you are wanting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect!

Matthew from Colonial Heights, VA on 3/20/2019

2006 Toyota Sienna

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife has a newer car with Android Auto that works perfectly, this works perfectly too. I was able to connect the USB extender thru the back and then put a USB-C cable attached to it. My phone is an Essential Phone running the latest Android version and without touching the phone, in Car Mode, I was able to send a text and get a phone call. Absolutely a game changer when trying to keep your hands on the wheel and pay attention to driving. Recommended by Nemo

Pros: Android Auto, Spotify and driving hands free, subwoofer connections, Nice EQ choices without being too many options,

Cons: Navigation is extra but I use Android Auto anyways, power off is a scroll down selection although you can drag it to the top of the menu if you want.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent System At A Great Value

Matthew from Douglasville, GA on 3/18/2019

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent system at a great value. Installed in my 2001 Miata, replacing the original Bose sound system. A perfect upgrade! I now have BlueTooth, Satellite Radio, Android Auto and Back Up Camera functioning and could not be more pleased. Installation process was straight forward with no difficulties. Clear image has been easily read even in a convertible with the top down on a sunny day. Sound is clean and crisp. User interface is intuitive and easy to learn.

Pros: Easy Install Good imaging Clear Sound Full Array of Features

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Thomasville, NC on 3/9/2019

2016 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Great replacement for entune premium unit in 2016 4Runner limited . Looks factory with kit purchased. Apple CarPlay and WebLink was a great upgrade. Plays video through lightning connection. Has worked flawless, just as other Pioneer CarPlay I have had in my 17 Tacoma for the past 2 year.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great picture, Great sound!

Justin from Frederick, MD on 2/25/2019

2015 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this radio for the purpose of CarPlay but it gives so much more. It gave me the ability to keep my car features and give me more. It has a great display with clear images. The sound quality that comes from this radio is incredibly clear although it is paired with my pioneer amp and kicker speakers.

Pros: Big display CarPlay Android auto

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP