Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

8 reviews
View this product

Best Flip up Android Auto Option, not the best Android Auto stereo

Jason from Dana Point on 10/29/2019

2009 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The segment of flip up android auto stereos is pretty slim. The device is pretty nice and integrated well with my 2009 Lexus ES 350. I love the fact that I can press the talk command on the steering wheel and have android auto listen. Perfect. Flip up mechanism works well and boot up times are pretty fast. I have two issues with this head unit. I do not really listen to music often- I listen to audiobooks via Audible. For whatever reason, I get small blips in the audio. I tried different cables and that didnt fix it. I use the same exact phone and tried the same cord in my 2018 Expedition and Audible is fine via Android Auto. Audible is fine on any other device such as a Bluetooth speaker connected to the phone or headphones. Not a deal breaker but annoying. Secondly, the screen is not great. It pales in comparison to the screen in my 2018 Expedition. Resolution is low, colors are off, and it is not sharp. It also can be somewhat non-responsive. Also, I feel it is a little expensive for what it is. In the end, I am happy with the purchase. I no longer want to trade my car in and this has given it a fresh experience for me to keep it around a bit longer.

Pros: Android Auto, flip up, good accessories and integration, fast boot times

Cons: mediocre screen, not super responsive at times, audible app issues, expensive for what it is

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Herbert from Patoka, IN on 8/29/2019

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

i have a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire very pleased with with the radio. I got the radio with the Sirius kit and pre-made wireing harness. It was very easy to install. I did have to call Technical assistance for a couple issue on installing the back-up camera but they were very polite and helpful they were very helpful from the beginning of the sales to the end of the installation. The radio is of good quality sound and you can use your IPhone to display GPS maps and music and other apps. I love the way the screen folds up and disappears great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 8/20/2019

2003 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Maintains the original look but adds big screen and carplay. love it.

Pros: discrete. Original Look. inexpensive carplay

Cons: not all the bells the higher end radios have.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great upgrade for a 2003 Eurovan.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/19/2019

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had been waiting for this unit for a while and it did not disappoint me. I have a 2003 Eurovan with a single DIN slot but wanted to be able to take advantage of CarPlay and add a rear view camera. I had already upgraded to a Pioneer DEH-X6700BS and the installation of this unit was a breeze since the harness was identical. The unit is working very well. The flip out screen is solid and does not move when using the touch screen.

Pros: Easy installation. Great performance. CarPlay and a back up camera monitor for a single DIN slot

Cons: Shiny black plastic faceplate would be better in matte. Unit protrudes about 1 inch from the dash. Two center air vents are blocked by the display when extended. Having the option to drop down instead of just up would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 7/14/2019

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing stereo, easy install

Pros: Android auto with Waze control on screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect fit in a TJ Wrangler.

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 6/2/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's exactly what I ordered. I took a leap of faith trusting the description and function without ever hearing or seeing the Pioneer. I didn't want anything complicated especially in a Jeep. This radio is perfect especially since it fit the stock opening. The sound is incredible and offers a built in eq. I'm totally satisfied.

Pros: Exact fit. Easy installation. Offers a lot of sound options for a basic unit.

Cons: Doesn't play video from iPhone (that I've found so far), will block the two center vents when open.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 5/10/2019

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Surprisingly good. I wanted to get apple play and this works really well. The Crutchfield harness was spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Roselle, IL on 4/29/2019

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The AVH-3500NEX replaced a double din in my 2014 Challenger (Uconnect) and so far it has been awesome. My preference is the flip out type and it was the right choice. Excellent features including CarPlay which works well. HD radio would have been a nice addition. When the unit is closed it is unassuming and serves as a theft deterrent. Would recommend this unit to anyone who prefer the flip out type.

Pros: Flip out type Bluetooth CarPlay Clean Interface and Navigation Powerful output

Cons: No HD Radio stations

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

TOP