Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
Connect ID #
671 816 441 4
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-3500NEX

64 reviews
View this product

Great Proud t

Rocky from Oceanside, CA on 11/23/2022

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great item, overall satisfied with its performance 10 of 10.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Michael from Romulus, NY on 9/5/2022

2003 Chevrolet Corvette

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this in a C5 (2003) Corvette. I wanted Bluetooth/handsfree, more music options, and a backup camera. Removal of the old radio and installation of the new one was very straightforward. There was a very slight hiccup with two connectors being mistakenly swapped, but tech support quickly figured that out (they were awesome). Then came the backup camera installation. That process took over 5 hours and involved removal of about half the interior components (including the passenger seat) and some exterior pieces to allow routing of the cable/wiring. More tedious than complicated, but not for the faint of heart. Now that everything is done and buttoned back up, I am very pleased with the results. The new stereo works great, the sound is excellent even with factory speakers, and it has all the capabilities for which I had been looking.

Pros: Crutchfield! They had all the bits and pieces, clear instructions, and great tech support. I have worked with them before, and they continue to be the best.

Cons: Removal of the rear radio support bracket (I ended up using a cold chisel and cutting the welds that held it in place). Routing the cables for the backup camera.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great system!

Melissa from Holden, MO on 8/7/2022

2008 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The radio was easy to install and it sounds amazing with many features!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Crutchfield service

Keith from Powder Springs, GA on 8/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I haven't even opened the package yet but i read description & reviews & have owned mostly all of the pioneer stereos ! I bought it so i wouldn't have to cut my deck in my old school classic car. But i took one star because of high price! Other stars are for Crutchfield service & speedy delivery! I literally received my package in two days from date of purchase!

Pros: Just what i needed

Cons: Price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Jon from Bryn Mawr, CA on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works pretty well. I like the fact that I can listen to it with the screen tucked away.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

William from Traverse City, MI on 3/21/2022

2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great improvement over the stock system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Thumbs up for the Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Christopher from Moore , OK on 3/20/2022

2002 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I waited awhile before posting this review. I installed this Pioneer AVH-3500NEX in my 2002 Chrysler Town and Country LX. The touch sensitivity and response of the screen is good. All standard apps/menu items function. Using Android Auto, took some time for me to figure out how to work with my Samsung Galaxy S21+. Found out days later that my aftermarket cable I was connecting to my phone was preventing Android Auto to stay connected. Simple fix was just to use the OEM Samsung cable.

Pros: Does everything you want.

Cons: This unit does not support wireless Android Auto. Wished the picture quality was HD, visually looks like 720 picture. Priced a little higher than I would have liked to payed.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Kim from Salt Lake City, UT on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm enjoying all the features my new radio has. The cost was great especially after I looked into the dealer cost. I'll always come here to get any sound systems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Best ever!

Leiragmal D from Saipan, MP on 2/15/2022

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything my husband ever wanted for such a long time. Everything worked great and he is more than happy. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Single Din

Josh from Durango, CO on 2/1/2022

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Well designed for single din openings. Everything as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cottageville, SC on 1/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent performance radio. Loaded with features. easy to use. Video screen is easy to see, even from off angle. Touch screen is very friendly / responsive. Very pleased with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great!

Sharon from Fallbrook, CA on 1/8/2022

2014 Volkswagen Beetle

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I replaced a fairly new unit with the Pioneer and I absolutely LOVE my new unit. It works perfectly and I really love the large buttons and it works with my backup camera. I would definitely recommend this product to others.

Pros: None

Cons: ALL

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

I love Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Madison, AL on 12/27/2021

2012 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love my radio so far. Due to the holidays, I haven't driven much to try it, but the little I've tried so far has been pleasant. George and Carl were very professional, knowledgeable, helpful, and incredibly patient. They stayed on the phone with me for several hours, walking me through the installation process. I love Crutchfield!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent entertainment upgrade

Ken from Wenatchee, WA on 12/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great solution for those who want a touchscreen receiver in a single DIN dash. Easy to adjust angle of deployed screen. When powered down low profile look less tempting to the smash and grabbers. Lots of customizable setup options. A little pricey ( the reason for a one star downgrade) but best choice for my 2004 vehicle which now has a system equal to my 2019 luxury SUV.

Pros: Many features. Relatively large screen for a single DIN opening. Apple car play. Aux. video input and backup camera input.

Cons: Only the price

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Ruston, LA on 12/21/2021

2001 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so good. It does everything it should and nothing it shouldn't. ??

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from El Paso, TX on 12/20/2021

1995 Jaguar XJ6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice operation of highs and lows just what I was looking for a very nice design for Dash

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Perfect match for 96 Volvo 850 GLT

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, VA on 12/12/2021

1996 Volvo 850 GLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this for 96 Volvo 850 GLT wagon. It had the stock double DIN radio with working CD player and tape deck. I wanted an updated receiver with CarPlay capability. After reviewing the Pioneer AVH-3500NEX, I knew right away I wanted a single DIN receiver to allow another pocket to put my phone while connected to the unit. Once I installed the receiver, I was more than satisfied with both the finished look, with screen up as well as retracted, and the functionality of the receiver. I highly recommend the Pioneer AVH-3500NEX for anyone wanting to update an early model car to hands free phone use as well as multi-source music flexibility regardless if they have single or double DIN. See finished pictures for screen up and retracted. The camera flash does not do this justice. It looks magnificent during daylight and night driving as it has auto-dimming capability on the screen. Touchscreen makes navigating the menu options a breeze. The manual buttons below the DVD / CD slot are intuitive as well, whether the screen is up or retracted. Pioneer got this one RIGHT!!

Pros: Touchscreen Hands free calling CarPlay compatibility Great for both single and double DIN space.

Cons: Would like a few more background options for the home screen and the source screen while screen is up.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from North Las Vegas, NV on 12/12/2021

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pretty slick unit, hope it lasts with the constant retraction of the monitor screen upon shutdown.

Pros:

Cons: Didn't install as easy as hoped for.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Single-DIN Stereo!

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A good unit that's pretty solid for doing what I wanted it to do--Apple CarPlay, a CD player (I travel and still get CDs at some vacation locations), and hands-free phone connectivity. Also, despite it's information to the contrary, it does work with my iPod Classic! It's also a bonus that it's a single DIN size; my Sprinter RV has a double DIN capacity, and the dashboard kit Crutchfield sent with it gives me an extra cubby-hole in the dash--always a plus for an RV! Also, the Crutchfield help was amazing! When I phoned to place my order, I asked for what I thought would be a "unicorn"--a stereo with CD capability, Apple CarPlay, and a knob for the volume control--a solid score on all three!!

Pros: -DVD/CD Player -Hands-free phone -Apple CarPlay/Android -Does play iPod Classic and newer -Sirius-Ready -Good audio controls for fader/balance and EQ without too many steps into the menu -Large 7" touch screen in 1-DIN size -Motorized screen is stealth when turned off -Included remote

Cons: -Only 14 Watts RMS per channel

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Athens, GA on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love that it adds some modern amenities to a 20+ year old vehicle! If only it had wireless CarPlay, it would be the perfect choice!

Pros: Easy to use, simple install, compact, large screen, responsive interface

Cons: No wireless CarPlay

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Fancy pop out screen.

Brooks from DEPOSIT, NY on 12/1/2021

2008 Pontiac G6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's fancy and full of software and features. sound quality is weak unless plugged in to aux no surprise there. But Bluetooth dose control pandora and spotify. Touch screen feels cheap so do the buttons like a thin film of plastic feel to it. responds well to touch. Haven't watched any dvds or got hooked up to backup camera.

Pros: Bluetooth works for Android no cable.every hook up possibly

Cons: Expensive, SQ is sub par, all hook up'a are on the back.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Do Not Buy if Using CarPlay

Crutchfield customer from Sunnyvale, CA on 11/14/2021

1997 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

CarPlay is one of the advertised feature of this unit, yet it works so unreliably on newer iPhone models. It connects flawlessly every single time to my 11 Pro, but I've tried with my 12 Pro, as well as others' 12 mini, 12 Pro Max etc. and it rarely works. It simply won't connect. Sometimes it connects but then as soon as I press play or switch apps it disconnects. But again, I switch back to my 11 Pro and it always works. I've seen others expressing the same issue, and others saying it works but I'm assuming they have an older phone. To make matters worse, it seems that Pioneer has not released a firmware update in years despite this being a current model. I had an AVH-3300NEX before this with the same issue. Pioneer support also has ignored my support ticket. Until they can release a firmware update to fix this issue, I'm going to have to rate this product at one star as without CarPlay, it basically does what any $20 radio can do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 11/17/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.
Customer review photo

14 of 15 found this helpful

Great value

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 10/22/2021

2005 Scion xB

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Has several fab features. i wish the documentation was better with telling you things like what "Auto Flap" means. The only other issue is the fm reception. This unit replaced a 16 (or more) year old stock Pioneer unit and the fm reception was noticably better. I really like that you do not need to open it to play music.

Pros: Andriod auto and apple carplay with a volume knob!

Cons: fm reception seems weak

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Arroyo Grande, CA on 10/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great one din unit

Crutchfield customer from Washington, DC on 10/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got an AVH-3500NEX to replace a dated and malfunctioning AVH-7500BT. Had to rewire the wiring harness as Pioneer redesigned the back side of the unit over the years, and in doing so changed the shape of the harness to head unit connector. However, it turned out that that was a fairly simple task accomplished relatively easily after a few youtube tutorials on wiring car stereos and how to use a butt clip wire splicer. After this, unit slid in easily and looks great. I love the carplay as it makes everything work together really well and seamlessly. Car play worked out of the box and the siund quality is as good as it was with my previous pioneer. I would definitly recommend this one din device for vehicles with limited dash space and you want to have a rear camera as well as mapping capabilities and carplay.

Pros: One din

Cons: One din

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Anacortes, WA on 10/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far very good. Easy install in 1998 Ram RV Van. Great sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 10/10/2021

2006 BMW Z4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So happy Crutchfield emailed me to let me know the radio was now available for purchase. We love how it looks in our 2006 Z4

Pros: The style :)

Cons: n/a

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/20/2021

1990 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very power radio. Love the built in EQ

Pros: Everything a pro with this radio

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A mixed bag

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 9/15/2021

2005 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

With the help of a custom loom from Crutchfield, the basic wiring went smoothly. What wasn't smooth was wiring a reverse light signal. The Crutchfield help line told me to tap in to a harness under the hood but didn't have adequate information or photos to help me find it. The radio showed a fit on some sites but not on others. Crutchfield said no fit, but it went right in. I think it would fit any full size single din application. I was looking forward to the colorful icons shown in the ad's and on the box. Too bad! Those are apparently for Apple Car Play. Android Auto is dull and generic. Overall, a nice feature packed radio with poor online documentation and virtually no printed documentation beyond the space install and quick start guides. Even with the faults, I would recommend this item

Pros: Packed with features Fits where others won't

Cons: Poor documentation Lack of adequate support

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Review of my Advisor and the Pioneer equipment I purchased..

Crutchfield customer from Acton , CA on 9/11/2021

2004 Hyundai XG350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Your Advisor, Sonny, researched this unit for me and suggested it would be an ideal replacement for another brand that failed. It was sold out when we talked, but as soon as it became available I logged on and bought it. I couldn't be happier! It is a great unit and Sonny was fantastic to work with. He is a great asset to your organization!! Keep up the great work!

Pros: Fantastic quality and superb service.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Best Single DIN Option I have Seen

Crutchfield customer from Walnut Creek, CA on 9/8/2021

1999 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this in my 1986 MB 560 SL and I like it so much I ordered another for my 1999 MB E320 Wagon. Both the AM and FM receivers' reception are equal to a factory receiver, something most after market's don't do. The screen is bright and can be read even with the top down. Bluetooth connectivity is flawless and the noise cancelling works well enough that I can have a hands free phone conversation on the freeway with the top down. To allow the screen to extend properly I did leave the chassis out a little and fabricated a little plastic trim to cover it up. Options for single DIN are limited and I think this is the best available.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneen

Crutchfield customer from Elgin, SC on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

James from Reston, VA on 5/25/2021

1995 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Even though they say it doesn't fit in a 95 Chevy Tahoe it fits and looks good.

Pros: Looks like a plain radio when off so you are less likely to have some one break in and steal your radio.

Cons: Wish it was easier to switch cables out to jump back and forth from Android chargers and apple chargers.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Trying Modernize Older Cars

Khris from Morris Plains, NJ on 4/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This Pioneer is excellent up grade radio for single din cars however it does lack certain features such as the Navigation why show an image indicating that Navigation on the display? 2nd Issues is the camera system it only comes with a dedicated back up rear input, and no front dedicated camera input instead if you looking to do the front camera input you need to use the A/V source input. Which sucks because I could use this features to display aftermarket gauges on the screen with older cars with OBD1 setup it does not have features like OBD2 of datalink that gives u more details. Overall I believe Pioneer can improve on this particular receiver. I have installed this unit on my 93 Mazda Rx7, I like this receiver because it's not large screen like the 10 inch type that's out there. In addition I can tilt it to get to my A.C controls or close it completely and the unit still plays music. I would have given this unit a 5 star but it's lacking a features which supposed be a mid level unit.

Pros: Single, Touch Screen, Hide away features while unit still on playing music.

Cons: No Dedicated Front Camera Input, Navigation. Rear Mini Rear Jack and USB input.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great radio. Impressive equalizer. I liked everything about it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 12/12/2020

1990 Mercedes-Benz 300SL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great unit. easy set uo for anyone with basic understanding of wireing

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 5 found this helpful

Incredible unit!

Crutchfield customer from Fort Mc Coy, FL on 12/7/2020

2004 Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit is incredible! It's going in a 2004 vehicle (Mercedes SLK320) and that car will suddenly have all the same toys my new Tacoma has (with the satellite radio add on, which is free and super easy to hook up, and an internet bought rear view camera). It's going to take weeks to figure everything out, but I love that kind of stuff. Highly recommend if you're looking to really upgrade your vehicle and are stuck with a single DIN dash.

Pros: With the proper add-ons can do everything the new electronics in new cars can do. Perfect for single DIN dashes upgrades.

Cons: Going to take a while to figure everything out!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

A great upgrade from a factory radio with no touchscreen

Jeffery from New Baltimore, MI on 9/7/2020

2009 Lincoln MKZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this radio for my niece. Since I was going to install it I had to learn how to operate it and learn the basics with it. The wiring harness I had to get for the specific vehicle was kind of intimidating because this is my first time installing a touchscreen style radio/modern radio in a somewhat newer car. After reading the 2 manuals to make sure it was matching the colors, it was a breeze. Turning the radio on in the car for the first time is pretty cool. Once the screen is popped up, the menu is pretty easy to navigate. I was able to set it up fairly quickly. The Apple Car Play is one of the reasons why I purchased this for my niece. I don't want her to look at her phone while driving. If she wants to listen to her Spotify or Pandora, she can easily swipe for it and press the touchscreen. Plus the Google maps app shows up so if she needs directions, it'll verbally tell you where to go and shows it but obviously it's on the touchscreen. The incoming text read to you is pretty cool. I texted her (by voice command) and it was 100 percent accurate. I only had to press the SEND button a couple times because the voice command didn't pick up on that. No big deal because that feature works also. My sister and brother in law got trained on the radio. They found it easy to use.

Pros: Apple Car Play, USB port, Bluetooth, easy to use

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

CarPlay feature very unreliable.

GCP from NYC on 7/15/2020

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is very finicky when it comes to Apple CarPlay. That's a problem for me because CarPlay compatibility is the primary reason I bought it. I never know if it's gonna see my phone or not when I plug it in. If I need to make a quick pit stop, I dread unplugging my phone from it when everything is working because there's a less than 50/50 shot CarPlay will resume next time I plug it in. Screen quality leaves something to be desired. Colors are over-saturated and the adjustments can't help with that. Skip song button is awkward to hit next to main knob and doesn't feel nice compared to the other mechanical buttons. Every time you adjust volume a panel appears w volume sliders that obscures about 1/3 of the screen. Super annoying and unnecessary. Can't find a way to hide it. Doesn't seem to work with Bluetooth steering wheel remotes. Bluetooth is reliable.

Pros: Good sound quality. Fine tune equalizer and speaker settings. Screen folds away which attracts less attention. Icon layout and backgrounds are customizable to an extent.

Cons: CarPlay very unreliable. WebLink very unreliable. Weird button configuration. Not compatible w Bluetooth remotes. Screen quality is lacking.

Crutchfield response on

24 of 33 found this helpful

The best CarPlay universal

Crutchfield customer from Carolina, PR on 7/15/2020

2005 BMW X3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

In perfect conditions, great sound and display

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Walter from Hopatcong, NJ on 7/7/2020

2010 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this produ

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 9 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Seabrook, NH on 6/26/2020

1984 Buick Riviera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome. Great sound and looks great too.

Pros:

Cons: Does extend out a bit into the dash

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Fits the bill

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 6/23/2020

1997 BMW 3 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, the only issue I have is if you install in a convertible the glare in screen is really bad. I have a wrangler with similar Apple car play and that screen doesn't have near the glare as this one.

Pros: Easy install, easy to use controls

Cons: Glare from screen in open top vehicle.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fergus Falls, MN on 6/21/2020

2001 Dodge Ram

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Osterville, MA on 6/18/2020

1999 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pioneer radios never let you down. Installed in a older Mercedes that couldn't have a double din screen. This worked out perfect easy install. Great features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Awesome radio

Crutchfield customer from Jackson, WI on 6/14/2020

1994 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great system. Tons of features. Love the large screen. Bought with a back up camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 6/9/2020

2000 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice unit. Pretty simple to install. Had a little help from Gage in Technical Support. Very helpful.

Pros: Adaptive to all levels of media

Cons: Display Shakes a little when open on a rough road.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great for '02 Merc

John from Newport News, VA on 6/8/2020

2002 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put this in my '02 Mercedes E320 W210 because I wanted something as unobtrusive as possible with all the modern loot. The OE head unit is honestly, trash. And, most single DIN head units seem to be built to turn your car dash into the DJ station at a club. I knew I'd need a compromise and Pioneer brought it. The AVH-3500NEX is a fantastic addition and it made a massive, and I do mean massive, difference in my Merc's sound system. This has a built in sound set-up program and EQ customization app that worked beautifully for my car. The touch screen works great and cycles up when you start your car and down when you shut it off. Additionally, deploying and stowing the screen is a one-touch deal. That was important for this car as it blocks the HVAC controls when out. I found a great unit for my needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

pioneer avh-3500nex

Crutchfield customer from Ontario, CA on 5/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

overall very satisfied. I wish the screen could tilt to different positions though. I installed this in a 1973 VW Bus. I had to do some slight modification to where the unit fits in. I have all the tools and knowledge to do it. It was no problem. They don't recommend or say it won't work with the type of ignition switch that is stock in this car. It requires a switch with a ACC position. The bus only has off, on and start. with some electrical knowledge was able to make it work..

Pros: love the features,

Cons: only set up to work with modern car ignition switches. Not recommended for cars that don't have a ACC position on the switch. Instructions could be a little more informative. Dummy it up. make it a little more in detailed and explicit. I haven't installed a stereo in a car since probably the late 70's. I'm very mechanical and was able to figure it out. Having access to the internet to view peoples install videos helped..

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Londonderry, NH on 5/25/2020

2002 Porsche Boxster

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install. Clean design. Works with or without screen deployed. Love the real volume knob. The factory harness adapter was key and well documented. Apple CarPlay only works when plugged directly into the usb which could have been more clearly defined in the online specs. Bluetooth only supports phone and music streaming, not the complete CarPlay features.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

1997 Ford Mustang GT

Guest from Little Ferry, NJ on 5/15/2020

1997 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1997 Ford Mustang GT Radio looks great and sounds good

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Sussex, NJ on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent products and service

Pros: Easy to use instructions and great online service

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jacksboro, TN on 5/3/2020

2012 Dodge Truck 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product, easy interface.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Seriously Top Flight

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 2/28/2020

1996 Dodge Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am not a car guy (a Psychologist) but I watched YouTube videos, and put in my new Pioneer AVH-3500NEX myself. I also hooked up a back up camera to it. I took my time after studying YouTube videos, and then step-by-step I went to work. I was a bit puzzled as to how and where to hook up the green wire to my emergency brake. However I called and talked to a tech at Crutchfield. He asked me to take pictures, so I did and sent them to him, and we figured out which wire to attach. My vehicle is a 96 Dodge 2500 4x4 Diesel 5-speed manual so I had to connect my backup camera to my backup light. I have to tell you, that the radio looks amazing, it works perfectly, the sound is fantastic, and it automatically syncs to my iPhone 11S Max with CarPlay.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 10 found this helpful

Great option for cars with single DIN

Scott from Palmyra, NJ on 1/30/2020

2014 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had this installed in my Fiat 500 Abarth and WOW, what an upgrade. The lack of features in the Abarth drove me absolutely insane. This unit really blew me away, though. With the limited dash space in the Abarth this was the only real option that would make me happy. Wiring was tough in the tight space, but once everything was put together I was ecstatic. Steering wheel controls worked great with the accessories sold through Crutchfield, the screen was really responsive and the default UI wasn't bad-- however I did mostly just use Apple CarPlay 99% of the time.

Pros: I actually liked being able to tuck the screen away during dark nights.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Hill, AR on 1/27/2020

2007 Freightliner M2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I put this unit in a little 2007 Peter bolt 335 truck it fit with no problems and sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Best Flip up Android Auto Option, not the best Android Auto stereo

Jason from Dana Point on 10/29/2019

2009 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The segment of flip up android auto stereos is pretty slim. The device is pretty nice and integrated well with my 2009 Lexus ES 350. I love the fact that I can press the talk command on the steering wheel and have android auto listen. Perfect. Flip up mechanism works well and boot up times are pretty fast. I have two issues with this head unit. I do not really listen to music often- I listen to audiobooks via Audible. For whatever reason, I get small blips in the audio. I tried different cables and that didnt fix it. I use the same exact phone and tried the same cord in my 2018 Expedition and Audible is fine via Android Auto. Audible is fine on any other device such as a Bluetooth speaker connected to the phone or headphones. Not a deal breaker but annoying. Secondly, the screen is not great. It pales in comparison to the screen in my 2018 Expedition. Resolution is low, colors are off, and it is not sharp. It also can be somewhat non-responsive. Also, I feel it is a little expensive for what it is. In the end, I am happy with the purchase. I no longer want to trade my car in and this has given it a fresh experience for me to keep it around a bit longer.

Pros: Android Auto, flip up, good accessories and integration, fast boot times

Cons: mediocre screen, not super responsive at times, audible app issues, expensive for what it is

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Herbert from Patoka, IN on 8/29/2019

2005 Chrysler Crossfire

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

i have a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire very pleased with with the radio. I got the radio with the Sirius kit and pre-made wireing harness. It was very easy to install. I did have to call Technical assistance for a couple issue on installing the back-up camera but they were very polite and helpful they were very helpful from the beginning of the sales to the end of the installation. The radio is of good quality sound and you can use your IPhone to display GPS maps and music and other apps. I love the way the screen folds up and disappears great radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 13 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Palmetto, FL on 8/20/2019

2003 Subaru Baja

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Maintains the original look but adds big screen and carplay. love it.

Pros: discrete. Original Look. inexpensive carplay

Cons: not all the bells the higher end radios have.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great upgrade for a 2003 Eurovan.

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 7/19/2019

2003 Volkswagen Eurovan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had been waiting for this unit for a while and it did not disappoint me. I have a 2003 Eurovan with a single DIN slot but wanted to be able to take advantage of CarPlay and add a rear view camera. I had already upgraded to a Pioneer DEH-X6700BS and the installation of this unit was a breeze since the harness was identical. The unit is working very well. The flip out screen is solid and does not move when using the touch screen.

Pros: Easy installation. Great performance. CarPlay and a back up camera monitor for a single DIN slot

Cons: Shiny black plastic faceplate would be better in matte. Unit protrudes about 1 inch from the dash. Two center air vents are blocked by the display when extended. Having the option to drop down instead of just up would have been nice.

Crutchfield response on

21 of 23 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Miamisburg, OH on 7/14/2019

2001 Dodge Dakota

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing stereo, easy install

Pros: Android auto with Waze control on screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Perfect fit in a TJ Wrangler.

Crutchfield customer from Metairie, LA on 6/2/2019

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's exactly what I ordered. I took a leap of faith trusting the description and function without ever hearing or seeing the Pioneer. I didn't want anything complicated especially in a Jeep. This radio is perfect especially since it fit the stock opening. The sound is incredible and offers a built in eq. I'm totally satisfied.

Pros: Exact fit. Easy installation. Offers a lot of sound options for a basic unit.

Cons: Doesn't play video from iPhone (that I've found so far), will block the two center vents when open.

Crutchfield response on

16 of 16 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Highland Park, IL on 5/10/2019

2000 Porsche 911 Carrera

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Surprisingly good. I wanted to get apple play and this works really well. The Crutchfield harness was spot on.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-3500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Roselle, IL on 4/29/2019

2014 Dodge Challenger

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The AVH-3500NEX replaced a double din in my 2014 Challenger (Uconnect) and so far it has been awesome. My preference is the flip out type and it was the right choice. Excellent features including CarPlay which works well. HD radio would have been a nice addition. When the unit is closed it is unassuming and serves as a theft deterrent. Would recommend this unit to anyone who prefer the flip out type.

Pros: Flip out type Bluetooth CarPlay Clean Interface and Navigation Powerful output

Cons: No HD Radio stations

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound