Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
Connect ID #
426 236 246 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-W4500NEX

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-W4500NEX

136 reviews
View this product

Not bad actually

Crutchfield customer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit that is very full featured. Could be a little better when it comes to ease of use for the end user especially regarding Bluetooth and tbh a bit overpriced imho.

Pros: Features, sound quality and aesthetics

Cons: Sometimes drops Bluetooth connection for speakerphone and a bit overpriced

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth the money

Crutchfield customer from Strasburg, PA on 9/13/2021

2013 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To many safety features.. enough power to run factory speakers . Didn't work with my steering wheel phone feature

Pros: Enough power for factory speakers

Cons: No mute. No turn off display. Small display.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, OH on 9/12/2021

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

fit my vehicle very nice !!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Manti, UT on 9/12/2021

2020 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is an awesome head unit!! Easy to use. Sounds amazing. I would highly recommend or even buy again.

Pros: Wireless apple car play is great.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Massapequa, NY on 9/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome unit , plenty of options, very user-friendly, customer service is the best hands down..????

Pros: Wireless carplay and android auto, display, features, user-friendly, easy hookup, customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Travis from Cyrus, MN on 9/7/2021

2010 Chevrolet Traverse

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works well with Wireless CarPlay, which is what we purchased it for. Functions are seamless and relatively easy to use. The graphics are a little clunky to go through the main screens.Really enjoy the updated vehicle info screens.

Pros: Wireless connection with full functions Integrated car details

Cons: Clunky graphics on main interface screens

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overpriced and glitchy.

Drp from NJ on 9/6/2021

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can't get this stereo to work right. It was glitchy at first, weird error box constantly popping up in bottom left corner but not able to click on it for info, it would freeze up, steering wheel controls work on and off with the maestro rr installed. After weeks of frustration I call cs...8 hours troubleshooting this setup on Saturday on and off the phone with customer service who was super helpful but I still can't figure out why this isn't working. After connecting wires as I should have done things were better. I lost steering wheel controls but the stereo seemed to be working perfectly. After 2 days of driving my jeep I realize it's not working perfectly. Freezes up, still no steering wheel controls. Volume buttons beep sometimes when using them and other times they don't. I cant understand what's wrong. I have reset the radio multiple times as well as reflashed the maestro multiple times and still not working. I will be returning all of it including parts that I purchased because Crutchfield suggested they were needed...but they weren't. (Making install a little more confusing with unnecessary parts) $933.98 that I want to just smash with a baseball bat haha

Pros: Android auto wireless connection when it worked

Cons: No steering wheel controls, error messages, freezes up, buttons not working randomly, inconsistent overall, glitchy

Crutchfield response on 9/7/2021
DRP contacted our Tech Support team for help. They'll either help her get the receiver working correctly or help her return it for an exchange or refund. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 8/10/2021

2004 Infiniti G35

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent, sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

100 percent satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Sprngfld Gdns, NY on 8/8/2021

2012 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing product! Easy installation and beautiful fitment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Morton, IL on 8/8/2021

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Love it

Rick from CIRCLE PINES, MN on 8/1/2021

2020 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This deck does everything my 71000NEX does and more, plus it's way faster. Wireless airplay is cool but I hate how it kicks in on every message when im playing off USB. So I just use airplay when it's plugged in now. It plays all the videos that the 7100 had on it and I can send the videos to my rear screens. Im very happy with this deck

Pros: MP4 video playback send videos to rear screens apple car play wired and wireless

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wonky.

Michael J from PASADENA, MD on 6/25/2021

2017 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This started off amazing. After a few months, the Sirius receiver completely died and I tried swapping out new antenna from Sirius that didn't help. Now, after a year and a half, looks like a software glitch has broken it some more and of course it's no longer in warranty so that'll cost another few hundred to fix I'm sure. Beyond that, I loved the wireless android auto feature. There were occasional glitches where my car wouldn't connect or the steering wheel controls wouldn't work, but a quick "turn off the car and try again" sometimes worked. A little frustrating.

Pros: Wireless Android Auto

Cons: Glitchy

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Common Issue With SD Card Failure / Boot Loop

Henry from San Francisco on 6/22/2021

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

To be clear, Crutchfield has been nothing but great in their tech support response. The issue is purely with Pioneer and the device. If you search online for "Pioneer NEX boot loop" you will realize it is unfortunately common for these units to brick around the ~1 year mark. The fix is to disassemble the unit to access and replace the factory sd card with a new image file. Unfortunately, before you can even undertake this moronic exercise, you need to source the image file. The least Pioneer could do is acknowledge the issue and provide an option to send you a replacement sd card which would circumvent the turnaround time for having them repair it themselves. Instead, people are resorting to paying some guy in Russia for a replacement sd card. Either way, there is no quick repair option for what is a simple external device / software issue. Perfect timing for this summer's road trip!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Seems to get worse over time

Crutchfield customer from Ft Riley, KS on 6/22/2021

2007 Subaru Impreza WRX STi

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing started out GREAT. However the Android Auto (wireless) has continued to get worse with each use. There's no way to shut power off to the unit without shutting my truck off and opening the door. The center button only puts the unit to sleep. I'm not sure what is interfering with the head unit connecting to my phone (Note 9+) but it just gets worse. Also if AA isn't connected and I open the menu in the bottom left , tap my phone, and try to connect it NEVER works. I also continuously get a pop up when I first start my truck saying GPS NOT CONNECTED. That's happened since day 1. I bought and plugged in a GPS puck for that radio and it still happens (which I could care less about other than the pop up because IF AA actually connects it uses my phone anyway). o The EQ is alright. Took some tinkering but I was able to make it sound good enough. o The external USB plug in never recognizes my IPOD no matter how many times I have tried. o The radio leave a bit to be desired. It had a hard time finding stations.

Pros: o Android Auto Wireless o Bluetooth o Integrated with steering wheel controls for google assistant

Cons: o Android Auto Wireless connection is weak and sometimes nonexistent o External USB won't play IPOD

Crutchfield response on 7/6/2021
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Charleston, SC on 6/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit. Easy to use, good quality. Great recommendation.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Wimauma, FL on 6/7/2021

2015 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent Head unit, a great upgrade to the base radio. We now have all of the modern techs in a late model car.

Pros: Sounds great, Easy to install, Lots of modern tech

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Calvin from Morgan Hill, CA on 6/6/2021

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lasted less than 2 years. It was always giving me problems from the start with carplay. It would crash every time when using maps and now it won't even power on. Stay clear!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wireless Android Auto

Crutchfield customer from Garfield, NJ on 6/3/2021

2009 Mazda CX-7

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent radio. Works perfectly. Bought for wireless Android Auto. It switches on right away when me or my wife sit in the car. Install took a little bit doing it myself, but the end result is great! Installed with back up camera. Works as advertised. Would recommend!

Pros: Advanced features. Wireless Android Auto is awesome. No issues.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

The Best of the Best

Crutchfield customer from Rio Rancho, NM on 6/3/2021

2004 GMC Yukon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit does everything you could want and then some, with its multiple inputs and outputs it's highly customizable and one of the few on the market that still has HDMI input. Only 3 complaints: 1: Cannot pass HDMI through to rear seats 2: Does not allow separate rear and front seat audio (e.g. if you have rear displays only and audio running through the car speakers you can get separate front and rear audio) if your monitors have their own audio you can get around this issue. 3. You have to manually turn the backup lines on every time you put it in reverse. Otherwise a perfect unit.

Pros: Countless inputs and outputs

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Love the wireless carplay

Kevin from Mount Airy, MD on 6/2/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very easy to use. Install took a while but the wireless CarPlay is what sold me. You won't be disappointed.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Add another$100

Jon from Valrico, FL on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer fail! Got stuck in boot loop after 15 months. Was told it was a corrupt internal SD card. Gonna have to be removed and disassembled to install new card. It is possible to do yourself but I gotta buy a card online for $50 or spend another $100 to get it from a pioneer retailer. Pretty sad for a pioneer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Broke after 14 months.

Stephen from NORRISTOWN on 4/25/2021

2016 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked well enough. Had connection issues at the same point on my drive to work every day and would drop android auto. Then after 14 months. It quite completely out of nowhere and just stopped functioning. There's no real fix now except buying another one.

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: Questionable manufacturing quality and reliability

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Eric K. from Delaware, OH on 4/19/2021

2007 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this into my 2006 Acura RSX Type S and it came out amazing. Looks really good with the dash kit I also purchased from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 1 found this helpful

It works...sort of.

Crutchfield customer from HOLLAND, MI on 4/11/2021

2015 Subaru Outback

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a stock 2015 Subaru Outback stock head unit with this. We took a road trip from Michigan to Georgia looking forward to using the new stereo. It didn't go well. -The unit will randomly reboot itself. Particularly when using Android Auto. -The HD radio kicks in and out like crazy if the unit can't maintain a solid connection to the station. Extremely annoying when your music starts and stops. -The unit is extremely finnicky when switching from an Android phone to an iPhone via wireless. There were times when we were unable to switch between my wifes phone and my own. -The bluetooth connection worked...but only when the phone was within about 6 inches of the unit. Otherwise, it would occasionally pop up a poor connection warning. Keeping the phone in my pocket caused occasional issues. -I purchased the USB connection cord from Crutchfield to connect to the dual USB jacks in the center console of the Outback. These work for charging, but apparently you need a completely different wiring setup to get a hardwired connection to a phone. -The device does self dim when the headlights are turned on, but it really doesn't dim very much. It's still pretty bright when driving in the middle of nowhere with minimal outside light. I am planning on returning the Pioneer, and getting something that doesn't have HD so it doesn't jump between HD and analog, something that works better with the wired USB, and something that allows more bluetooth distanc

Pros: Maestro connection to steering wheel works well, and provides some nice vehicle info on the NEX screen Bright, easy to see screen

Cons: HD radio jumps back and forth to analog frequently Can't easily switch wirelessly from Android to iPhone Limited bluetooth range/connection issues Reboots randomly USB wired connection not working with Subaru Outback dual USB plug Dimming doesn't dim enough User interface seems overly complicated

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Memphis, TN on 3/31/2021

2008 Honda Element EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had it installed for about a week now, and I love it. I didn't see in the instructions that the GPS antenna has to be installed for carplay to work. After trying for a while, I figured it out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Wireless connectivity

Crutchfield customer from Maryville, TN on 3/28/2021

2007 Chevrolet Monte Carlo

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my third Pioneer head unit that I have purchased from Crutchfield over the last 10 years. Each has been a step up and each one exceeded my expectations. The AVH-W4500NEX was everything I expected. The main selling point for me was the wireless connectivity with my phone. The only negative I have to say was that it requires Android OS 9.0 or higher. I called the help line and asked that specific question and was told that my S7 Active would work. It did work wired but I ended up calling the help line a second time and that was when i found I would have to update my phone

Pros: Wireless interface with Android is great

Cons: Be aware that you have to have an Android phone they is running OS 9.0 or higher. the S7 Active and not be upgraded

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kutztown, pa on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Impressed, features, sq

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 3/25/2021

2006 GMC Envoy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not bad for the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Easthampton, MA on 3/16/2021

2015 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Using the android auto with my Samsung galaxy s20 ultra. Love it. Can use waze Google maps or the built in navigation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

3rd time's a charm?

Crutchfield customer from Colebrook, NH on 3/14/2021

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Time will tell. This is my 3rd pioneer unit. First one lasted 3ish years, 2nd one 2ish. Only explanation for my obvious insanity is switching it out is quick and easy. If this ones dead in 2 years I'm done, I promise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Camden, NC on 3/8/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fits perfect in my 2013 Jeep, factory speaker sound great with this headset.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Quick arrival, looks good

Crutchfield customer from Potosi,%20MO on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Shipping is was very quick. Looks like a quality piece but won't know for at least 6 months

Pros: We'll see when it's installef

Cons: Should have come with a trim ring at least

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, RI on 3/8/2021

2004 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio overall. Occasionally has Bluetooth connectivity issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Gulf Shores, AL on 3/7/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgrade over Android based head unit. The radio is super easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Bryan from BIG LAKE, MN on 3/3/2021

2011 Lexus ES350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit! Love the wireless car play!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Summit Point, WV on 3/1/2021

2005 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very happy with my new system. Will be happier once I figure out all the features. It is a HUGE upgrade over the standard system I had. Works flawlessly!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic business

Crutchfield customer from River Vale, NJ on 2/26/2021

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great customer service - very friendly. Fantastic range of products and the shipping was super fast. For me the icing on the cake is the follow up service - absolutely top class business

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from Los Alamos, NM on 2/21/2021

2018 Subaru Crosstrek

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice stereo. Has wireless carplay. Plenty loud and quality sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Tampa, FL on 2/20/2021

2013 Hyundai Elantra GT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio, really like the wireless Android Auto. Instructions a little vague but crutchfield helped.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

where is GPS?

Christopher from San Ramon, CA on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio receiver. Only wished it came with GPS mapping app. Providing the GPS antenna fooled me into thinking it came with GPS, and did not realize I have to use my phone GPS app.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Guest from Brandon,MS on 2/5/2021

2008 Chevrolet Silverado

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's a great product love the wireless CarPlay but don't like that the mirroring doesn't work for iPhone. ????

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 1/23/2021

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the head unit. Wireless CarPlay is a game changer!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Riley, KS on 1/23/2021

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything works great only thing I'm confused about is why it comes with a GPS antenna if it just uses the GPS function from your phone via CarPlay.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

James Alan from MINERAL SPRINGS, NC on 1/23/2021

2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Well now. Crutchfield was 100% on helping me pick EXACTLY what I needed. This deck sounds amazing to the stock radio.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cambridge, OH on 1/22/2021

2018 Jeep Renegade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, has alot of features. I got it for the Android auto, haven't had any issues with it at all. It's awesome having the maps and your phone right on the radio rather than fumbling around with phone holders trying to see the small screen.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Crutchfield Rocks! Oh and the Stereo is AWESOME too!

Crutchfield customer from Kearney, NE on 1/13/2021

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the life of me, I can't imagine why anyone would buy car audio products anywhere but Crutchfield. I received my product (with everything I needed for the installation because their website walks you through everything you need for your specific installation) and I have to say I'm impressed with both the product and the customer service. I had to call twice during my installation, both times were for reasons I should have been able to figure out on my own, but they were so gracious in their assistance. Never once did they make me feel even slightly incompetent for asking what I know now to be silly questions. The stereo is beautiful and intuitive. It has a ton of features and the wireless Carplay makes it worth every penny. The best thing is that it worked perfectly on the very first try. Buy with confidence. Even if you've never installed a stereo in your life, Crutchfield makes it possible for anyone. I couldn't be happier with the product or with Crutchfield.

Pros: Straight-forward installation and wireless Carplay.

Cons: It's not cheap but I'm a firm believer in getting what you pay for. I feel like this stereo stands up to its price tag.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get this one

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/30/2020

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is awesome.. flat out. Wireless Apple CarPlay works flawlessly and I haven't had any issues so far. I ordered the gloss black trim kit and the head unit almost looks factory. I opted to have everything installed by a professional due to the previous owner's wiring choices. All in all, if you're looking for a solid unit, look no further.

Pros: Solid unit, boots fast, Wireless CarPlay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Carmel, IN on 12/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good display and easy menus. Great buy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cloverdale, VA on 12/16/2020

2017 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

received next day have not installed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Unimpressed

Guest from Charlestown, RI on 12/14/2020

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want to pay for features that you can not use then purchase this HU!! I purchased this unit for screen mirroring and to watch utube. I can not do either. If you are using a Maestro RR idatalink then you no longer have the option for screen mirroring due to the fact that you are using the rcas that are required for the hdmi adapter cable. The rca to hdmi adapter cable is something extra you need to mirror. The hdmi cable provided will only do sound but the hdmi icon stays greyed out even though the hdmi cable provided is plugged in. You use Iweblink in order to watch utube. Iweblink remains greyed out. The system itself has an awful lag time and the iphone takes longer than the stock radio to connect. You can hear almost a full verse in a song by the time it switches songs when you press skip. Overall quality of sound is worse than stock and it is drastically reduced when using Bluetooth. All other features work. The only Pro I received from this unit is that I now have Apple CarPlay. Installed in 2015 Tundra 1794 Ed w/ JBL. I haven't done a review on something in many years but felt the need to for this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cabo Rojo, PR on 12/13/2020

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the second AVH I buy in the past three years but it is my thirtieth car radio...by far the best head unit I've ever had!

Pros: Still with the removable faceplate for theft protection.

Cons: Would like an additional dimming control for nightime use.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX in 2018 Highlander

Crutchfield customer from Willington, CT on 11/11/2020

2018 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love my new Pioneer car radio. Substantially better than the oem which came with my 2018 Highlander and the installed radio visually blends flawlessly with the dashboard. Installation went very smooth thanks to provided directions, UTube videos and a couple calls to Crutchfield tech support when I had questions. I now have Apple CarPlay and still maintain steering wheel controls.

Pros: Great sound, Apple CarPlay, visual dash integration and maintaining steering wheel controls and back up camera.

Cons: One thing I miss is the oem showed a compass in front of the dash and when using navigation, the next upcoming turn was displayed. This is the only shortcoming I miss.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fishkill, NY on 11/8/2020

2017 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my 2017 Accord. Has all the new bells and whistles I was looking for!

Pros: Fits perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Practice makes perfect!

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CA on 11/4/2020

2012 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation was easy as advertised, but the initial setup for this unit seemed to be a little more of a headache than i thought. The radio is pretty straight forward but Android auto was somewhat of a nightmare to initialize. Im am no expert radio installer but this seemed to take a little longer than expected to pair device and the head unit menu is not as user friendly as i expected. Pioneer could of spent more time on the lay out and controls. What i mean is that you have to have owned a complicated radio before this unit to understand how to use it because the instructions make it seem more straight forward than it actually is. I would recommend buying this now that i am getting the hang of it.

Pros: Nice sound, ease of install

Cons: Menu layout needs work, initial setup not good!

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Punta Gorda, FL on 11/3/2020

1995 Toyota T100

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Product is Awesome! Still learning all the features relative to this device. This product was installed into a 1995 Toyota t100 ( with 320k ) , brought this old girl up to speed in this technical era. I love the option to remove the screen and secure it else where when you are not using it. Again this is Awesome!! A little pricey BUT you get what you pay for with this particular item. One thing I cannot answer is how long it will last, only time will tell.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless apple car play

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 11/1/2020

2014 Dodge Grand Caravan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed and great value. Easy to set up, bought it for the wireless apple car play, and has been working flawlessly. Phone automatically connect when I get in the van, no issue with connection. Very nice screen, responsive and clear. Sound have been vastly improved over stock van radio.

Pros: Wireless apple CarPlay Beautiful clear screen Various options for sound

Cons: None sonfar

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dundee, IL on 10/29/2020

2010 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am enjoying the radio. There are a few ways that I would change the user interface (especially in a car) but that is always the way I am when I first use a new device. My only grip is that the radio only comes with a thin "quick start" manual rather than the complete 157 page instruction manual (only available as a PDF). I like to have a copy in the glove compartment.

Pros: Nice bright display. Good sound quality.

Cons: Can take several clicks to move from one function to another. Not good when driving!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Internal SD card fails.. beware!

Jason from La Verne, CA on 10/27/2020

2009 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Enjoyed this unit at first until it failed to boot up due to the cheap sd card pioneer decided to use! Had to repair myself for $50 or pay pioneer $200 as I was 6 months out of warranty.. regardless one would expect it to last longer than 1.5 years!

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: Cheap internal SD card fails!

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Manchaca, TX on 10/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Paul D from BOSSIER CITY, LA on 10/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good receiver, but should not be listed as a fit for Jeep Liberty. The screen needs to motor down to open, and as installed by instructions it fits flush in the dash and cannot open. So all of the functions that require the screen to open (CD, DVD, memory card, remove face) cannot be utilized.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Riverton, UT on 10/3/2020

2019 Nissan Sentra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy install! Took me a first time installer about 3 hrs and I love every minute of it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Very pleased - GREAT radio

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 7/20/2020

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am VERY pleased with the W4500NEX. My phone is sync'ed as soon as the radio comes on and CarPlay is ready to go. So much better than the hunk of junk Uconnect that came in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler. No issues at all with the radio, nor the cabling that came from Crutchfield.

Pros: Smooth operation, extremely fast connection to the iPhone

Cons: None so far!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Fantastic!

James from MADISON, AL on 7/14/2020

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit! This does everything I hoped to do and then some. The display is very clear, looks like an ipad display.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Norwalk, CA on 7/8/2020

2006 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is awesome! Being able to mirror my Note 10+ to the screen so everyone can watch non-dvd movies is great. The detachable screen gives me peace of mind when parking in unknown areas where shady characters might not have any respect for other people's property. And Crutchfield put together an install and accessory package that's saved me quite a bit of money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kellyville, OK on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect head unit! Just what I was looking for!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Radio

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this radio based on key features and price. Wireless Android was a must. Once set up, it worked just like I expected. The SD card memory slot was also a key feature so I won't need to use CDs. Great idea. The sound is good. The Master Sheet needed some supplemental instructions and Nicole provided instructions that were spot on. Thank you Nicole. Great radio. Very happy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

So easy to install

Crutchfield customer from Centreville, VA on 6/16/2020

2014 Mazda CX-5

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great to a point. The wires were labeled clearly, hooking it up to the PAC RP4-MZ11 was really easy. The backup camera using the AXXESS AX-MAZCAM-6v was super easy and it worked without issue although the night camera is a bit grainy. The stereo works incredibly for what it is. There's an issue with Android auto and pixel phones working through the USB. We were able to get it to work wirelessly after updating the phone. Also, you can't mirror through iPhone or pixel, but that's a phone OS not working with mirrorlink. Also, some more info that I may have just missed when reading about it, it connects CarPlay/android auto through its own WiFi and it uses its own Bluetooth for text/call. That all being said, I love it!

Pros: Wires are well labeled, instructions are clear, everything worked perfectly with the correct harnesses

Cons: Has some limitations for certain phone brands

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bella Vista, AR on 5/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a wonderful source unit! It has all the features I was looking for and many that I haven't thought of. Excellent sound and picture quality. I love the huge screen!

Pros: So many features!

Cons: A bit pricey, but you usually have to pay more for cool stuff!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great sound

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 5/16/2020

2014 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. A little difficult to maneuver, but very learnable. Remote control has many features not applicable.

Pros: Sound, features, wireless CarPlay.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to maneuver, remote control

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 4/29/2020

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works good so far

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very impressed

Tad from Cleveland, NC on 4/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had purchased a Kenwood unit of similar stature, and just unsatisfied with performance - crashing, lagging, etc. I was assured that it was not common for the unit (which I'm sure was true, Kenwood makes great products as well) but I ended up going with the Pioneer and couldn't be happier. Very intuitive and a lot of similarities to my old AVIC -D3 model. This unit is very responsive even when being pretty demanding through different sources. Handles my ipod classic just fine with no special cables - 6000+ flac tracks. Connects to android auto wirelessly with little to no issues, sound is very clear. Very happy. Crutchfield is an amazing company eager to stand behind their products and had this unit to me within 2 days. And gave me 14 days to return the Kenwood to make sure I was happy. You can't beat their customer service time and time again.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

AVH-W4500NEX RESULT in 2011 CAMARO

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, OH on 4/20/2020

2011 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Just installed this AVH-W4500NEX in the 2011 Camaro and the results are EXCELLENT. Pioneer and Crutchfield made the job extremely easy with the addition of the Master Sheet Installation instructions included with my purchase. The feature-rich receiver is and does more than I could have dreamed I needed. Added a back-up camera (also Pioneer) for a perfect combination of sound and sight.

Pros: Head unit installed easily into the RadioPro5 center plate and the back-up camera is nearly invisible. Installation was easy and only took a couple of hours with wires following stock pathway.

Cons: None...

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Puyallup, WA on 4/19/2020

2017 Subaru BRZ

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

All stock buttons work and backup camera, Xbox in the glove box on HDMI, Movies on DVD, and wireless Apple Carplay, what more could you want! Ran the after market mic to the stock location and installed behind the stock trim! Perfect install super clean look!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer makes the best head units

Crutchfield customer from Apo, AE on 4/2/2020

2007 Volkswagen GTI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome stereo with everything you need for a great setup. six 4 volt preouts, 13 band eq, SD card slot, etc...

Pros: Great for people who want a nice stereo setup

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Terrible execution, lousy Android Auto experience

Nate from Tucson, AZ on 4/1/2020

2003 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've used a few Pioneers in my day, and this is one of the worst ever. From the top, the touchscreen is super slow to respond, if it does at all. And once it does, you often end up pressing something other than what you intended. Calibration is a joke. The screen does, thankfully, tilt upward if your deck is low in the car, but it only has a few customizable points. HD radio reception is pretty poor with given antenna. This split port business with Apple only working on one USB port and Android working only on port two is pathetic. Screen is detachable but such a PAIN to get it back on that it's not worth the time. My deck is recessed about ¼ inches in the dash and it's rather hard to line up. Android Auto is a whole different slew of problems. This deck insists on using wireless Android Auto, which does not play well with my S8 plus. Even if I tell it to forget the wifi network that the deck adds to your phone (without permission), it will come back and try to use it. I keep getting errors that the connection is not strong enough even with the phone 1 inch away from the deck. Checked for firmware updates but no such luck for this model. RIP. Avoid and go with a capacitive touch screen of another brand.

Pros: Screen size, good sound

Cons: Everything else. Terrible interface, poor touch screen, non-existent Android Auto

Crutchfield response on 4/6/2020
Nate, we're sorry you're having issues with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

11 of 15 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/3/2020

2013 Nissan Frontier SV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Head unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Covington, VA on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great head unit. Why would you not get wireless Apple car play. Nav is overrated and with phones having that no brainer. Learning more short cuts, just a great unit. S/b in your mind when getting dd unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Pflugerville, TX on 2/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Answered all my questions. Matched competitor price, arrived promptly, works great!!

Pros: All the features you need! Easy to install. Great sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Allentown, PA on 2/20/2020

2013 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio, excellent functionality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Head Unit 9/10

Jason from Grovetown on 2/12/2020

2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice head unit that works great for Apple play. I'm having some issues getting the miracast to work but I will figure it out. I like being able to access all of my music, select apps, podcasts, and audiobooks on the radio. Installation was easy for me, but I'm familiar with electronics. I'm a little disappointed that I cannot add custom backgrounds to the stereo, an option my 10yr old factory Uconnect will do. I decided after installing that my factory speakers needs to to be upgraded. This pushes harder than factory so my old speaker cannot handle the oomph. Oh, get a socket style USB so you can do a clean install on the USB attachments for Android/Apple play

Pros: Apple Play

Cons: Non-customizable background

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Great, but quirky

Crutchfield customer from Suwanee, GA on 2/12/2020

2012 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I primarily use the wireless Apple CarPlay feature with this unit, so I don't really have any opinion on the Pioneer-made interfaces on this unit. They seem fine. But this unit is quirky, and I don't know if it's Pioneer's fault or Apple's. First, about 2 minutes after booting, the screen goes black and displays a message saying "No paired phones found", then goes away all by itself, yet the wireless CarPlay continues to function properly (this is more of an annoyance than a problem). Second, the unit occasionally goes to a black screen while navigating through the Apple wireless CarPlay, and will not respond to any input at all. When that happens, the only way I have found to reset the unit is to shut off the engine, open the door, then close the door and restart the engine (this is because my car maintains power to the stereo even after the key is turned off and removed, until the door is opened). It is extremely annoying to have to do this a couple of times a week. As of yet, Pioneer has not offered any firmware updates to this model, but I've told them about it through email (with NO response from them, mind you). On the positive side, it was easy to install (with the Maestro RR and the MUS1 dashboard kit), the climate controls work great (courtesy again of the Maestro RR iDataLink), and it looks great in my 2012 Mustang. Overall I love it, despite its quirks. The wireless Apple CarPlay interface works fantastic. And oh yeah, it SOUNDS great!

Pros: Looks and sounds great. Wireless Apple CarPlay is fantastic, nice to not have to plug in a USB cable for CarPlay. Boots from a cold start in about 15 seconds. The ability to angle the screen is a big plus.

Cons: Annoying "No paired phones found" message 5 minutes after booting (even though wireless CarPlay continues to work just fine). More than occasional locking up on a black screen, necessitating a reset of the unit. Lackluster Pioneer email support. No firmware updates yet released for this unit (as of this writing 02/12/2020).

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

11 of 12 found this helpful

Installed on JK 2018

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 2/9/2020

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Head Unit, it has a lot of sources to play. Very easy to connect trought Wireless Apple Car play. Perfet fit for any car.

Pros:

Cons: Sometimes the Subwofer output is not working and need tho switch off the Head unit. Kind of reseting the unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Clark, NJ on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding head unit! Wireless Apple Car Play works seamlessly! The addition of SiriusXM tuner was simple and works great! It's only been in the car for a week but proves to be awesome in every aspect.

Pros: Easy to navigate, wireless Apple Car Play as well as Android Auto, customizable colors to match your dashboard illumination, pigtails with RCA jacks instead of the RCA jacks on the frame of the unit helps to install all the wires! Crutchfield's excellent customer service and tech support proves time and time again why they're to go to company for so many years!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great Deck

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/31/2019

2001 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been installed for about a week. So far extrememly happy with it. It immediatly sounded better than my old Kenwood. Love the Apple Carplay integration. It works great with my iPhone 7. Installation was fairly easy with Crutchfield's Ready harness. The hardest part was running the mic cable and GPS unit through the dash back to the head unit. Overall very satisfied with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great All-around Unit

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 12/29/2019

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it works well and operates as it should. Scrolling up and down within the menus can be bit slow and glitchy at times but overall it works very well. Android Auto interface isn't as clean as I was expecting but that is likely an Android thing more than a Pioneer thing. I have also noticed that the "shuffle" feature doesn't seem to be on the ball when rifling through some 4000+ songs on a USB flash drive. After about two weeks of casual listening it has hit the same hand full of artists several times while leaving others completely untouched and repeating the same song within 10 songs. This may be the fault of my USB flash drive but time will tell as I purchased a new flash drive and will be giving it a try soon. Long story short, this is a good unit for the money and so far I'm happy with it.

Pros: Lots of customization, easy to understand controls, intuitive menu layout

Cons: Screen a bit slow at times, Android Auto interface could use some improvement, USB flash drive "shuffle" that might not be up to the task of sorting through an entire library.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/28/2019

2011 Honda Accord EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A solid and reasonably intuitive unit. Wireless Apple Car Play is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Port Tobacco, MD on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid sound system and easy to install. Extremely pleased with the purchase and recommendation from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the quality I would expect from Pioneer

Kyle from Buda on 12/23/2019

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 9th pioneer reciever and the only one would not recommend. Issues ive had with this receiver are finger prints bad on screen. screen mirroring will not work with galaxy s8 or s9+. Ive tried hdmi and usb. Overall user interface is not easy for a novice user.

Pros: None

Cons: Unable to get screen mirroring to work. Used multiple hdmi and usb cables and Galaxy s8 and s9. Android auto will not auto connect or stay connected half the time. User interface not easy for novice users. FM antenna not as good as my factory receiver. Hard to clean and keep screen clean due to finger prints.

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
Kyle, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/18/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2016 Rav4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/17/2019

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo with all the features!

Pros: Detachable face, independent subwoofer volume control, HDMI input, DVD remote controls

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very exciting - serious upgrade in my listening experience

Crutchfield customer from Needham Heights, MA on 12/17/2019

2005 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice does everything I need, excellent display and fit my vehicle perfectly. Very happy. Pioneer is always a good choice. I've only just started to explore and experience this unit - I am concerned about reviews I have read that suggest the Android Auto does not work consistently. However I purchased this unit since the majority of reviews were very positive and I have confidence Crutchfield will stand by its products

Pros: Install was fairly basic and the Crutchfield support and directions were great. Price was solid and the touchscreen + double din size fit seemlessly in my old 2005 Honda CRV workhorse

Cons: Tentative Android Auto function - nothing else at the moment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/16/2019

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, works well with multiple iPhones, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5/5

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/15/2019

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic head unit. It's great having wireless Apple car play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

New Pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Paint Lick, KY on 12/14/2019

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice multimedia head unit. Wireless CarPlay was worth the upgrade

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 12/13/2019

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this unit after using it for a few weeks the only negative thing I have to say is the location of the detachable face slider is too far beneath the unit. Mine is installed flush with the dash and this button is impossible to reach. Thankfully you can make the unit fold open to detach the face but the problem is you have to slide the button to reattach it also. I had to take a credit card and slide the button while trying to reattach it. Pain in the butt. Really defeats the purpose of having a detachable face. Mine is installed in a Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 6 found this helpful

Great service and experience

Crutchfield customer from Newark, TX on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield staff were super helpful in guiding me to the correct install package I needed. Price was same locally, but support staff, install package, and free shipping set them apart?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Edmonds, WA on 12/10/2019

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fairly easy to install, works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/10/2019

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was as advertised. The sound is great. The unit was all that I was expecting and the Crutchfield Support made installation much easier. Now I need new speakers!

Pros: Easy touch screen operation. Great sound and features.

Cons: It comes with a GPS antenna that took time to figure out. After I installed it, it serves no function, An additional wire connection was needed to get the unit to function on the key accessory position. There is no mention of this in the Pioneer or Crutchfield instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent CarPlay Unit

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 12/8/2019

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, Carplay works great, backup camera works great. Sound is great, reception is great. Touchscreeen is the best I have seen, works even with light gloves on. Menu and controls work well and are easy to understand. Installation with custom Crutchfield Cable was super easy. They also have answered all my questions about other connectivity needed to utilize CarPlay.

Pros: Everything just works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from La Crescenta, CA on 12/3/2019

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great prpduct so far. Was simple to install thanks to crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A few hiccups initially, but worth it.

SMC from Texas on 12/1/2019

2011 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first time installing an aftermarket audio component into any vehicle, but happily, I was able to successfully install this head unit and get it working as expected after a few hiccups. This install was performed in a 2011 Hyundai Sonata GLS using an iDataLink Maestro unit. Initially, I ran into the problem of having poor AM reception after installing the unit. After some troubleshooting steps and a couple of calls to Crutchfield, we concluded that I needed to take the powered antenna wire (solid blue in my case) and tap that into the amp. turn-on (blue/white) wire going between the head unit and Maestro. After doing that, I got good reception for local AM stations, and the lone HD radio station in my town was a lot more stable in terms of staying on the digital feed. The other hiccup I ran into initally had more to do with Android Auto more so than with this head unit itself, I think. I kept having "Android Auto Connection is Poor" errors pop up on my head unit's screen after initial installation. On further research, I read many complaints online on how buggy Android Auto can be, and the workarounds people have had to go through to keep AA connected and working as it should. After changing some settings on my Galaxy S10, AA has connected consistently and stayed stable for me at least for the time being. We'll see what the future holds. Aside from the initial snags, I've been quite pleased with this head unit! Great set of features for the price!

Pros: -Good set of features for the price. Haven't yet added a backup camera, but it's nice to know that option's available if I wish to install it. -Screen has good level of brightness -Android Auto, despite its flaws, offers a pretty good interface for navigation, phone calls, and interacting with various music apps. -HD radio offers a noticeable improvement in sound quality for my town's NPR station.

Cons: -I find myself missing a physical volume knob more than I thought I would. -Most of the time, the screen is very responsive to touch input, though on occasion, it takes a couple of taps to register. I suppose this has to do with this having a resistive touch screen vs capacitave.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Another GREAT Pioneer !!

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, TN on 11/28/2019

2001 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT in dash BIG screen ENTERTAINMENT CENTER - makes my old Tundra seem like a brand new truck. Hands free EVERYTHING makes it really convenient - install was easy thanks to Crutchfield's instructions they include - setup and running in no time ! My second Pioneer big Touch screen radio and they both are fantastic !! Thanks Crutchfield !!!!!!!!!

Pros: Easy to install - easy to add back up camera and navigation system too -Touch screen is PERFECT !! Great sound even without amp on stock speakers ( coming soon) GREAT MEDIA CENTER !! And Crutchfield always makes installing equipment EASY !!

Cons: None that I've seen - Pioneer is ALWAYS GREAT !!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Matt from GAITHERSBURG, MD on 11/8/2019

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was on a 2018 Ram 2500, with the idatalink. This is my 2nd time installing an android auto head unit. The other being in a 2014 Subaru. Pros - The idatalink has its own connector for this head unit and all of my factory settings on my old uconnect 5.0 were available on this head unit. Including those for my factory air suspension. - The tilt screen is a nice touch and its something I wish I had on my earlier head unit install. - Back up camera works when in reverse and you can manually run it. - wireless Android auto worked for my GS8. - No splicing was needed when I ordered the crutchfield pre-wired harness. Cons - None About the negative reviews - Wireless Android auto worked fine on my 2 year old phone. Its not the head units fault if people have old phones. It does take about 15 seconds to connect, but you can use the usb if you want it to be faster. - Loading of the radio was not slow, or at least not any slower the the factory andriod auto in my other car. - Install varies from car to car, for my Ram it was relatively straight forward.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Top Quality Head Unit!

Aaron from Montclair, VA on 11/4/2019

2019 Toyota 86

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this into a 2019 Toyota 86 GT to replace the awful stock radio (Seriously, 2005-era nav unit? Who thought this was a good idea?), and it fit perfectly. Paired up with the Subaru OEM "AV Escutcheon" spacers, it almost looks like it came stock with the car. Loving the fact that I have a CD player, along with being able to retain my stock AUX and USB ports with the optional adapters. The ReadyHarness is a perfect add-on, and makes everything literally plug and play. Also, wireless Android Auto is a godsend for those that don't like draping USB cables everywhere, AND it supports my Galaxy S9+ out of the box! Highly recommended! The only cons that I can find about the unit is that from time to time, on loading a song, it skips VERY slightly (small pause), but not enough to cause issue, and I've had the occasional "poor connectivity" message while using Android Auto in wireless mode. But otherwise, not really anything to knock a star for. It's a nice radio.

Pros: Fast interface, great customization. Sounds good, even on stock speakers.

Cons: Occasional audio hiccups, usually when loading a song for the first time. Wireless Android Auto connectivity can be spotty at times.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, but is it just me or does the screen grainy? Especially when Apple CarPlay is on?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 7 found this helpful

Better than Tom Brady

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 10/20/2019

2007 GMC Sierra 2500/3500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is legitness

Pros: I'm the coolest kid around. The features are cool too.

Cons: People get mad when I say they can't touch it ??

Crutchfield response on

3 of 14 found this helpful

Impressive functions, great sound but the buttons are not great.

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 10/11/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2018 Toyota Tacoma to replace the Entunes Premium stock system, which fails in many ways, including lack of Android Auto, which I use in our other car and which I like a lot, but this system is better because I can use it wireless! I have been using it for a couple weeks and it is a great unit. Sound is better than stock unit. Android Auto, mirroring phone and keeping car functions with Idatalink Maestro work good. I do not love the volume buttons which are to small and not soft. Also, the buttons to change screens are not obvious to remember what they do, because they are so tinny. Some times I have to push a couple to find the one I want. Overall is a very impressive system that has pretty much all the features you may expect. Even the Sirius XM display for satellite radio is much better than the stock radio. The only downside are the physical buttons that are not as good as the stock radio, which were big, clear and soft to use. Installation could have been very challenging because of the multiple components that have to be installed, such as Idatalink maestro unit, the satellite radio unit, antenna adapters, etc., But the Crutchfield technical support is as impressive as always and the readymade harness saved me form having to splice or solder even one wire. It was pretty much plug and play.

Pros: Functions, sound, wireless android auto, flexibility. Great for demanding users.

Cons: Buttons are too small and sticky.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless Android auto finally works

Joe from South Bend, IN on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can finally give this receiver five stars! After many many many months of waiting Android auto Wireless is now available with my Galaxy S10 Plus! That was one of the key features that I bought this unit for. However I was sad to learn that it did not not support my phone. I bought the additional unit to retain my steering wheel controls in my GMC Sierra and I have had no problems whatsoever.

Pros: Everything works like it's supposed to now.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Scott from Asheboro, NC on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great! I'm happy that everything works as it should due to the issues I've had with kenwood recently.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A charter member of the "not ready for prime time" players

Charles T from EDGEWOOD, TX on 9/11/2019

2016 Scion iM

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Display The information is smartly organized and attractively displayed. The screen is adequately bright for daytime operation but the glare can be severe if your car's interior or your passenger's clothes are highly reflective. The one HUGE negative here is the screen is still ungodly bright at night. I don't understand why owners aren't able to dim the display all the way to off if they wish. This is a major negative that needs to be addressed in a future firmware update. CarPlay The WiFi connection that wireless CarPlay relies upon crashes with predictable regularity. I now run it exclusively USB tethered and it runs smoothly that way. The battery charge icon for my iPhone is rarely displayed and the phone does not charge so be prepared to arrive at your destination with a depleted battery. I use an Apple USB cable. . Crutchfield tech support has done what they can and involved Pioneer tech support. Pioneer, for their part, just shrugged their shoulders. Not the kind of tech support they should be offering for a nearly $1000 stereo.

Pros: The display information is smartly organized and attractively displayed. Screen is bright enough for most all daytime operations. Lots of features. Quick boot up. Intuitive controls.

Cons: Unreliable WiFi connection makes wireless CarPlay unusable. USB is required. Pioneer tech support absolutely not interested in resolving the issue. Not a wise investment.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 27 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 9/8/2019

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Installation documentation was clear and easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Horrible radio reception

terry from Salina, KS on 9/6/2019

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If it weren't for fact that I already have this unit installed, I would take advantage of the 60 money back guarantee. I paid couple hundred extra for this unit because it was one that had ready harness available and I wanted android auto wireless. I did not know that my phone would not be compatible . When calling tech support to try to get phone to connect wirelessly, was informed by tech that my phone was not supported and that it says it on web page. Turns out it says it on "Overview" page, but you have to click "Keep Reading" in order to see caution to check for compatible phones. I took several days studying this and several receivers before I selected this one. I think that this sentence could be more up front warning those who are thinking they can connect wirelessly to andoid auto before making over $1000 puchase total. Not to mention that previous tech I talked to mentioned nothing about certain phones not being compatible. Also, the reception for radio station sucks. I mean really SUCKS. This is the absolute WORST stereo for picking up radio stations I've ever had. My conversation with the tech today acknowledged that Pioneer has horrible reception and added that if that is something I need, then I need to look into another receiver like a Kenwood or a JVC. Would have been nice to know that before I spent total of 2 weeks waiting for delivery and the time it took for the install.

Pros:

Cons: Better check android auto wireless requirments first if you are wanting andoid auto wireless. A $50 car stereo can pick up more stations with more clarity than this joke of a unit.

Crutchfield response on 9/10/2019
Terry contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

19 of 26 found this helpful

Great Radio.

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, MA on 9/2/2019

2006 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. The wireless carplay works flawlessly for me. I also wired in a mount so have best of both worlds. Sound quality is great, and the features are really good. Only two minor issues prevent me from giving it 5 stars. 1) The volume control is really teeny blade, so not always easy to mess with when you are driving. 2) On a related note the automatic loudness compensation feature doesn't seem to actually work, which matters to me since I'm in a convertible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Saluda, VA on 8/13/2019

2012 Honda Accord EX-L

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best looking unit for a 8th gen Accord! Does everything I was hoping for. Maestro rr will wire up but no harness for 2012 exl

Pros: Expandable with pre amp outputs and 2 camera inputs

Cons: Takes a few times to get used to navigating to unit but easy once your used to it

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

A couple of small issues but very solid overall.\

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well with CarPlay Wireless, as others have mentioned it does not seem to support Android Wireless on any non-Google devices (Bluetooth works fine). The head unit can take a bit to boot up and I have had a time or two where the steering wheel controls did not work at first. Overall if you want wireless CarPlay, this the unit for you. Install was fairly straight forward and worked without modifying my Toyota RAV4 (2017). Way way way better than the factory head unit.

Pros: Fits without modification Wireless CarPlay Steering Wheel Controls are retained

Cons: Slow to boot sometimes Integration Kits do not come with factory USB and GPS antenna cables (I bought separate to retain both)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, NH on 8/6/2019

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the unit overall but there are definitely issues that need to be fixed via a firmware update someday. 1. Using the seek button for the next station is not affected by the levels picked. In other words, hitting station up or down just goes to the next number: 95.1 to 95.3 to 95.5. I want it to jump to the next "good" station. Also, a "long" select just jumps to the next preprogrammed station. 2. Automatic Sound Level does not do anything no matter what mode is selected. 3. If you are in FM1 and select BSM to program your 6 stations with the strongest frequencies, it works. However, if you have manually coded stations and then switch to FM2 to use BSM, it overwrites the FM1 stations also. BSM should only populate the FM band you select, AND, it should not repeat any stations you have in the other FM band. I would like to keep FM1 manually programmed for my home stations and use the BSM with FM2 during long trips to capture and update local stations. 4. I hooked up the supplied USB cable but when I connect my iPhone7, it does not get recognized. 5. I have tried to update the password for the unit but the manual shows some buttons the don't exist on my screen. 6. Overall User Interface could use some minor changes to make the front screen friendlier. 7. Apple CarPlay has frozen or dropped out a couple times but it's not real bad.

Pros: Solid construction, nice screen with pretty good response. My 2007 Toyota 4Runner had a really crappy radio - I mean really bad. Just adding this stereo vastly increased the sound response even with the stock speakers. It also picks up a LOT more stations.

Cons: Lots of capabilities seem to need some refinement. Hopefully a firmware update is coming in the future.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Tacoma Entune upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, MA on 8/3/2019

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chose this unit to upgrade and add Apple Car Play my 2016 Tacoma. Install was plug and play thanks to Crutchfield's OEM adapter harness kit. The unit is definitely an upgrade to the Entune HU. Planning to upgrade speakers and add an amp as next step. Android Auto also works well with my Wife's phone.

Pros: Plug and play install. Retained all steering wheel functions and factory backup camera. Wireless Apple Car Play and Android Auto.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer Has Serious Apple CarPlay Issues

Blair from Portland, OR on 7/21/2019

2007 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me tell you about my experience so far with Pioneer products. This is the second Pioneer head unit that I have bought in the span of about a month. Both head units have problems. It started first with the Pioneer MVH-1400 NEX. It worked for about a week. I loaded a custom background image to the screen and it worked. Then I got an error message when I tried to change the image. Pioneer told me that I should return the unit to them since likely another problem would arise. Then Apple CarPlay completely cut out all audio yet the screen and buttons stayed illuminated. So I returned it. A week later I decided to splurge on the Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX. Apple CarPlay worked the few times I would ever use it. (I'm the type of audiophile who hooks up my audio to a chain as follows---->(Source- AUX) Audioquest Golden Gate 3.5mm>Audioquest Dragonfly Red>Audioquest Jitterbug>Lightning to USB 3 Adapter>iPhone) So needless to say as far as audio quality goes, using Apple CarPlay is not high on my priority list. It sounds way worse than a legitimate wired connection. The Apple Carplay on this unit plays for awhile and then just cuts out and the screen goes completely black. The colored buttons still stay lit and they beep when touched yet the screen just freezes and remains black. Pioneer told me that since they just released this unit that we are the guinea pigs to test this unit. :) So I would not be very surprised if Pioneer is forced to release a firmware update to this issue soon...

Pros: -When functioning this is a great head unit, probably a 4/5 head unit (-1 Stars to 3/5 for how unreliable Pioneer units are Just In my own personal experience -It has a DETACHABLE FACE... This is a must for security reasons, all car stereos should be detachable in my opinion -It has all the other extra options like a 2nd USB port for Android Auto, AUX connection, a CD/DVD drive, an SD memory card slot. Great background image and splash screen customization, nice key color option, you name

Cons: -Wireless Apple CarPlay new technology is very flawed and is not perfected yet. An advisor warned me over the phone about this issue. He told me to wait a year or two before going ahead and purchasing one of these wireless Apple Carplay head units, but at the time I really needed a new head unit installed in a hurry so I still ended up buying it. -A pretty obvious Pioneer quality control issue. I love the head unit when it works properly, but I may be forced to look elsewhere on this one...

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/16/2019

2014 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

At last!

Crutchfield customer from Champaign, IL on 7/13/2019

2004 Saturn ION 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty cool upgrade over my 5-year old Pioneer 2600-BT. The installation is a snap with the supplied mounting kit. Having wireless CarPlay is really awesome...for 5 years I'd been struggling with the way the old unit sorts artists vs the way the iPhone and iPod sort them, but no more! There's a little bit of a learning curve navigating between the various native Pioneer interface screens and the CarPlay interface, but I'm getting slicker with it in time. All in all, I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ultimate Multimedia Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 7/10/2019

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After few weeks of searching for the most suitable multimedia unit for my car and after the assistance of Crutchfield's tech advisor Marshall I decided to go ahead and buy this model. It was 100% plus covering everything i needed, The only missing thing in this unit is the capacitive touch screen.. anything else is there . Multi input sources, DVD CD player, Fully wireless apple car play and android auto and will cover any need even for future upgrades, for example if i want to install rear screens, camera or optional sound speakers. Even if i want to use a gps system it can be done either by using google maps via apple car play from my cell phone or just hooking up the optional gps map module . It can combine two Bluetooth cell phone too . I'm so pleased with it . The WebLink added even more features to be enjoyed with. Separate remote controller is there too. It's so handy for the back seaters if rear displays installed . Although the touch screen is not capacitive but i'm fully satisfied with it because of it's fast response not to mention the other huge features that will let you forget about the capacitive option . I can say that i'm only using about 1/3 of the entire features available yet stunned with what this head up unit brings to me . Honestly it exceeds high end luxury cars oem head units by far . I noticed this when compared to the OEM head up units that comes preinstalled on the relatives Lexus and Mercedes cars

Pros: Detachable screen. Remote Control. Weblink compatible.

Cons: Not equipped with Capacitive touch screen .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 7/10/2019

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio. Easy to use and the features are great. I have it hooked up to the iPad that's in my dash.

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

David from Las Vegas, NV on 7/10/2019

2013 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this installed for about 3 months now and I'm very happy with my purchase. I installed it with 2 amps, all new speakers and a sub. This receiver really drives the system well and has all the features I could ever want. Sounds customization is great, wireless CarPlay has been flawless, and the 7" screen is awesome. I was skeptical about the resistive touchscreen but it has been great. Super responsive. I also didn't realize it played DVDs until I installed it, so that was a nice surprise. The ability to set a custom background is a nice feature. Overall I'm really loving this receiver. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase it again.

Pros: Large responsive screen Wireless CarPlay Color & background/splash screen customization

Cons: Screen only has one dimmer setting. Would be nice if there were a few more options. UI isn't the greatest. Can be a little repetitive/sluggish trying to change certain settings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome product

Crutchfield customer from Plant City , FL on 7/9/2019

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product easy to install and love the features.

Pros: Connectivity/ wireless CarPlay / sound quality

Cons: Sometimes a little slow to start up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall good features

Brian from Portland, OR on 7/5/2019

2009 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall have had this radio in for almost 2 years now. It was an easy install in my 2007 Ridgeline, and looks good. The system overall is easy to use. Hooked up Sirius, and put the antenna under the dash, not sure that was the best spot for it but it works for the most part. I like the apple car play and Android auto. My only gripe is that the Car play will freeze up from time to time, not sure if that is an issue with the stereo or the iPhone, but it takes it down 1 star for me.

Pros: Car Play, Andriod Auto

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Kevin from Martinsburg, WV on 7/1/2019

2015 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this installed and still working with getting use to all the options. But love the unit and all the functions. Nice sound and plenty of options to fine tune the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bluffdale, UT on 6/25/2019

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't quite a universal fit, but looks and works great after getting it installed.

Pros: Looks great Functions perfectly

Cons: Wasn't quite a universal fit and required some minor adjustments to install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 6/24/2019

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Love the CarPlay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

2015 Wrangler Install

Crutchfield customer from Palatine, IL on 6/10/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward install on a 2015 Jeep Wrangler with no real surprises. As a person who doesn't pay much attention to audio equipment generally, the biggest surprise to me was that even this higher-end unit still has pretty low resolution and a plain old clunky user interface. That said, it works as advertised, sounds good, and looks nice in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Great Radio for its price range.

Crutchfield customer from Neillsville, WI on 6/10/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, plenty of quality volume with stock speakers. Installed in 2013 F-150 along with the K150 dash kit. Had to enlarge the opening on the dash panel for the radio to fit which is the reason for my 4 star review of the dash panel kit. With the dash kit and Maestro I was able to keep my steering wheel controls. My only complaint is that the apple car play wireless and Ford Sync did not want to work together so I disabled the ford sync on my phone and installed the microphone that came with the head unit. The apple car play is fantastic. Completely satisfied with the head unit.

Pros: Great sound and function for the price point.

Cons: Radio front was too large to fit through opening on the F-150 dash panel kit without modification.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Scottsburg, IN on 6/2/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my husband for his Tundra and he is in love with it. He had it installed in like an hour. He did have to order a few other things (not sure what they were) but very simple to put in. All of the buttons on steering wheel incorporated well with installation worth no issues. Back up camera looks clearer now with the new screen! Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

DOES NOT FIT 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK

Josh from Poway, CA on 5/25/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DOES NOT FIT a 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK without Alpine audio upgrade. The instructions the supplied say to cut part of the plastic on the dash and to remove the metal bracket (pictured). Cutting the plastic isn't needed, and removing the metal bracket isn't possible without risk of breaking the dash since there are no metal supports to mount the radio to. The dash is plastic. The only support is the metal bracket that they say should be removed. See pictures for measurements. Tech support was great, but the sales support was the worst I've ever encountered. They were so afraid of a lawsuit that they kept repeating that I needed to follow the INCORRECT INSTRUCTIONS and refused to listen to the fact that the instructions weren't meant for a 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK.

Pros: Can't list any because it wouldn't fit to even try

Cons: Does not fit. The Jeep has a "double" din, but isn't the standard double din size.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

10 of 41 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Guest from Temecula, CA on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great sound quality. Not as user friendly as previous head units that I've had but once you learn it becomes second nature. The backup camera turns on almost immediately which is a huge plus. Apple CarPlay takes 15-20 seconds to start up and sometimes has issues with pandora. The wireless screen mirror only works with certain android phones so with iPhone I have to use the hdmi but is great quality with that. All in all though it is a great head unit. I had the ILX-107 and this one is my preferred choice hands down.

Pros: Great display, quick rear view camera

Cons: Startup time for Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Verify tilt screen clearance before locking it down.

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 4/29/2019

2008 Porsche Cayman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit and very responsive screen...just be sure that the front of the unit clears the double din bezel otherwise the tilt screen will not open.

Pros: Feature Rich with many add-on options.

Cons: Tilt screen has tight bezel clearances requiring some modification to the bezel for it to clear.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/20/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit and wireless carplay and iDatalink. Crutchfield is my go to and came through when the unit face was scratched by replacing it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

TOP