Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-W4500NEX

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

DVD receiver

MFR # AVH-W4500NEX

54 reviews
View this product

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Clark, NJ on 1/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Outstanding head unit! Wireless Apple Car Play works seamlessly! The addition of SiriusXM tuner was simple and works great! It's only been in the car for a week but proves to be awesome in every aspect.

Pros: Easy to navigate, wireless Apple Car Play as well as Android Auto, customizable colors to match your dashboard illumination, pigtails with RCA jacks instead of the RCA jacks on the frame of the unit helps to install all the wires! Crutchfield's excellent customer service and tech support proves time and time again why they're to go to company for so many years!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Deck

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/31/2019

2001 Toyota Land Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Been installed for about a week. So far extrememly happy with it. It immediatly sounded better than my old Kenwood. Love the Apple Carplay integration. It works great with my iPhone 7. Installation was fairly easy with Crutchfield's Ready harness. The hardest part was running the mic cable and GPS unit through the dash back to the head unit. Overall very satisfied with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great All-around Unit

Crutchfield customer from Burnsville, MN on 12/29/2019

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far it works well and operates as it should. Scrolling up and down within the menus can be bit slow and glitchy at times but overall it works very well. Android Auto interface isn't as clean as I was expecting but that is likely an Android thing more than a Pioneer thing. I have also noticed that the "shuffle" feature doesn't seem to be on the ball when rifling through some 4000+ songs on a USB flash drive. After about two weeks of casual listening it has hit the same hand full of artists several times while leaving others completely untouched and repeating the same song within 10 songs. This may be the fault of my USB flash drive but time will tell as I purchased a new flash drive and will be giving it a try soon. Long story short, this is a good unit for the money and so far I'm happy with it.

Pros: Lots of customization, easy to understand controls, intuitive menu layout

Cons: Screen a bit slow at times, Android Auto interface could use some improvement, USB flash drive "shuffle" that might not be up to the task of sorting through an entire library.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/28/2019

2011 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A solid and reasonably intuitive unit. Wireless Apple Car Play is a great feature.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great system

Crutchfield customer from Port Tobacco, MD on 12/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very solid sound system and easy to install. Extremely pleased with the purchase and recommendation from crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not the quality I would expect from Pioneer

Kyle from Buda on 12/23/2019

2011 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is my 9th pioneer reciever and the only one would not recommend. Issues ive had with this receiver are finger prints bad on screen. screen mirroring will not work with galaxy s8 or s9+. Ive tried hdmi and usb. Overall user interface is not easy for a novice user.

Pros: None

Cons: Unable to get screen mirroring to work. Used multiple hdmi and usb cables and Galaxy s8 and s9. Android auto will not auto connect or stay connected half the time. User interface not easy for novice users. FM antenna not as good as my factory receiver. Hard to clean and keep screen clean due to finger prints.

Crutchfield response on 12/31/2019
Kyle, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from N Chesterfld, VA on 12/18/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great in my 2016 Rav4.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 12/17/2019

2017 Nissan Titan

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo with all the features!

Pros: Detachable face, independent subwoofer volume control, HDMI input, DVD remote controls

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very exciting - serious upgrade in my listening experience

Crutchfield customer from Needham Heights, MA on 12/17/2019

2005 Honda CRV LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice does everything I need, excellent display and fit my vehicle perfectly. Very happy. Pioneer is always a good choice. I've only just started to explore and experience this unit - I am concerned about reviews I have read that suggest the Android Auto does not work consistently. However I purchased this unit since the majority of reviews were very positive and I have confidence Crutchfield will stand by its products

Pros: Install was fairly basic and the Crutchfield support and directions were great. Price was solid and the touchscreen + double din size fit seemlessly in my old 2005 Honda CRV workhorse

Cons: Tentative Android Auto function - nothing else at the moment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Silver Spring, MD on 12/16/2019

2008 Hyundai Santa Fe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit, works well with multiple iPhones, easy to use

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

5/5

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 12/15/2019

2018 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic head unit. It's great having wireless Apple car play.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

New Pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Paint Lick, KY on 12/14/2019

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice multimedia head unit. Wireless CarPlay was worth the upgrade

Pros: Wireless carplay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Odessa, TX on 12/13/2019

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really like this unit after using it for a few weeks the only negative thing I have to say is the location of the detachable face slider is too far beneath the unit. Mine is installed flush with the dash and this button is impossible to reach. Thankfully you can make the unit fold open to detach the face but the problem is you have to slide the button to reattach it also. I had to take a credit card and slide the button while trying to reattach it. Pain in the butt. Really defeats the purpose of having a detachable face. Mine is installed in a Jeep Wrangler

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great service and experience

Crutchfield customer from Newark, TX on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield staff were super helpful in guiding me to the correct install package I needed. Price was same locally, but support staff, install package, and free shipping set them apart?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Edmonds, WA on 12/10/2019

2007 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product, fairly easy to install, works perfectly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cumming, GA on 12/10/2019

2006 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything was as advertised. The sound is great. The unit was all that I was expecting and the Crutchfield Support made installation much easier. Now I need new speakers!

Pros: Easy touch screen operation. Great sound and features.

Cons: It comes with a GPS antenna that took time to figure out. After I installed it, it serves no function, An additional wire connection was needed to get the unit to function on the key accessory position. There is no mention of this in the Pioneer or Crutchfield instructions.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent CarPlay Unit

Crutchfield customer from Fairbanks, AK on 12/8/2019

2004 Ford F-350

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit, Carplay works great, backup camera works great. Sound is great, reception is great. Touchscreeen is the best I have seen, works even with light gloves on. Menu and controls work well and are easy to understand. Installation with custom Crutchfield Cable was super easy. They also have answered all my questions about other connectivity needed to utilize CarPlay.

Pros: Everything just works

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from La Crescenta, CA on 12/3/2019

2018 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great prpduct so far. Was simple to install thanks to crutchfield

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A few hiccups initially, but worth it.

SMC from Texas on 12/1/2019

2011 Hyundai Sonata GLS

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This was my first time installing an aftermarket audio component into any vehicle, but happily, I was able to successfully install this head unit and get it working as expected after a few hiccups. This install was performed in a 2011 Hyundai Sonata GLS using an iDataLink Maestro unit. Initially, I ran into the problem of having poor AM reception after installing the unit. After some troubleshooting steps and a couple of calls to Crutchfield, we concluded that I needed to take the powered antenna wire (solid blue in my case) and tap that into the amp. turn-on (blue/white) wire going between the head unit and Maestro. After doing that, I got good reception for local AM stations, and the lone HD radio station in my town was a lot more stable in terms of staying on the digital feed. The other hiccup I ran into initally had more to do with Android Auto more so than with this head unit itself, I think. I kept having "Android Auto Connection is Poor" errors pop up on my head unit's screen after initial installation. On further research, I read many complaints online on how buggy Android Auto can be, and the workarounds people have had to go through to keep AA connected and working as it should. After changing some settings on my Galaxy S10, AA has connected consistently and stayed stable for me at least for the time being. We'll see what the future holds. Aside from the initial snags, I've been quite pleased with this head unit! Great set of features for the price!

Pros: -Good set of features for the price. Haven't yet added a backup camera, but it's nice to know that option's available if I wish to install it. -Screen has good level of brightness -Android Auto, despite its flaws, offers a pretty good interface for navigation, phone calls, and interacting with various music apps. -HD radio offers a noticeable improvement in sound quality for my town's NPR station.

Cons: -I find myself missing a physical volume knob more than I thought I would. -Most of the time, the screen is very responsive to touch input, though on occasion, it takes a couple of taps to register. I suppose this has to do with this having a resistive touch screen vs capacitave.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Another GREAT Pioneer !!

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, TN on 11/28/2019

2001 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

GREAT in dash BIG screen ENTERTAINMENT CENTER - makes my old Tundra seem like a brand new truck. Hands free EVERYTHING makes it really convenient - install was easy thanks to Crutchfield's instructions they include - setup and running in no time ! My second Pioneer big Touch screen radio and they both are fantastic !! Thanks Crutchfield !!!!!!!!!

Pros: Easy to install - easy to add back up camera and navigation system too -Touch screen is PERFECT !! Great sound even without amp on stock speakers ( coming soon) GREAT MEDIA CENTER !! And Crutchfield always makes installing equipment EASY !!

Cons: None that I've seen - Pioneer is ALWAYS GREAT !!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Matt from GAITHERSBURG, MD on 11/8/2019

2018 Ram 2500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install was on a 2018 Ram 2500, with the idatalink. This is my 2nd time installing an android auto head unit. The other being in a 2014 Subaru. Pros - The idatalink has its own connector for this head unit and all of my factory settings on my old uconnect 5.0 were available on this head unit. Including those for my factory air suspension. - The tilt screen is a nice touch and its something I wish I had on my earlier head unit install. - Back up camera works when in reverse and you can manually run it. - wireless Android auto worked for my GS8. - No splicing was needed when I ordered the crutchfield pre-wired harness. Cons - None About the negative reviews - Wireless Android auto worked fine on my 2 year old phone. Its not the head units fault if people have old phones. It does take about 15 seconds to connect, but you can use the usb if you want it to be faster. - Loading of the radio was not slow, or at least not any slower the the factory andriod auto in my other car. - Install varies from car to car, for my Ram it was relatively straight forward.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Top Quality Head Unit!

Aaron from Montclair, VA on 11/4/2019

2019 Toyota 86

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed this into a 2019 Toyota 86 GT to replace the awful stock radio (Seriously, 2005-era nav unit? Who thought this was a good idea?), and it fit perfectly. Paired up with the Subaru OEM "AV Escutcheon" spacers, it almost looks like it came stock with the car. Loving the fact that I have a CD player, along with being able to retain my stock AUX and USB ports with the optional adapters. The ReadyHarness is a perfect add-on, and makes everything literally plug and play. Also, wireless Android Auto is a godsend for those that don't like draping USB cables everywhere, AND it supports my Galaxy S9+ out of the box! Highly recommended! The only cons that I can find about the unit is that from time to time, on loading a song, it skips VERY slightly (small pause), but not enough to cause issue, and I've had the occasional "poor connectivity" message while using Android Auto in wireless mode. But otherwise, not really anything to knock a star for. It's a nice radio.

Pros: Fast interface, great customization. Sounds good, even on stock speakers.

Cons: Occasional audio hiccups, usually when loading a song for the first time. Wireless Android Auto connectivity can be spotty at times.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Richmond, VA on 11/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system, but is it just me or does the screen grainy? Especially when Apple CarPlay is on?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Better than Tom Brady

Crutchfield customer from Dracut, MA on 10/20/2019

2007 GMC Sierra 2500/3500 Classic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is legitness

Pros: I'm the coolest kid around. The features are cool too.

Cons: People get mad when I say they can't touch it ??

Crutchfield response on

2 of 11 found this helpful

Impressive functions, great sound but the buttons are not great.

Crutchfield customer from Santa Fe, NM on 10/11/2019

2018 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this in my 2018 Toyota Tacoma to replace the Entunes Premium stock system, which fails in many ways, including lack of Android Auto, which I use in our other car and which I like a lot, but this system is better because I can use it wireless! I have been using it for a couple weeks and it is a great unit. Sound is better than stock unit. Android Auto, mirroring phone and keeping car functions with Idatalink Maestro work good. I do not love the volume buttons which are to small and not soft. Also, the buttons to change screens are not obvious to remember what they do, because they are so tinny. Some times I have to push a couple to find the one I want. Overall is a very impressive system that has pretty much all the features you may expect. Even the Sirius XM display for satellite radio is much better than the stock radio. The only downside are the physical buttons that are not as good as the stock radio, which were big, clear and soft to use. Installation could have been very challenging because of the multiple components that have to be installed, such as Idatalink maestro unit, the satellite radio unit, antenna adapters, etc., But the Crutchfield technical support is as impressive as always and the readymade harness saved me form having to splice or solder even one wire. It was pretty much plug and play.

Pros: Functions, sound, wireless android auto, flexibility. Great for demanding users.

Cons: Buttons are too small and sticky.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Corpus Christi, TX on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wireless Android auto finally works

Joe from South Bend, IN on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I can finally give this receiver five stars! After many many many months of waiting Android auto Wireless is now available with my Galaxy S10 Plus! That was one of the key features that I bought this unit for. However I was sad to learn that it did not not support my phone. I bought the additional unit to retain my steering wheel controls in my GMC Sierra and I have had no problems whatsoever.

Pros: Everything works like it's supposed to now.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Scott from Asheboro, NC on 9/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's great! I'm happy that everything works as it should due to the issues I've had with kenwood recently.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

A charter member of the "not ready for prime time" players

Charles T from EDGEWOOD, TX on 9/11/2019

2016 Scion iM

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Display The information is smartly organized and attractively displayed. The screen is adequately bright for daytime operation but the glare can be severe if your car's interior or your passenger's clothes are highly reflective. The one HUGE negative here is the screen is still ungodly bright at night. I don't understand why owners aren't able to dim the display all the way to off if they wish. This is a major negative that needs to be addressed in a future firmware update. CarPlay The WiFi connection that wireless CarPlay relies upon crashes with predictable regularity. I now run it exclusively USB tethered and it runs smoothly that way. The battery charge icon for my iPhone is rarely displayed and the phone does not charge so be prepared to arrive at your destination with a depleted battery. I use an Apple USB cable. . Crutchfield tech support has done what they can and involved Pioneer tech support. Pioneer, for their part, just shrugged their shoulders. Not the kind of tech support they should be offering for a nearly $1000 stereo.

Pros: The display information is smartly organized and attractively displayed. Screen is bright enough for most all daytime operations. Lots of features. Quick boot up. Intuitive controls.

Cons: Unreliable WiFi connection makes wireless CarPlay unusable. USB is required. Pioneer tech support absolutely not interested in resolving the issue. Not a wise investment.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 15 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lakewood, CO on 9/8/2019

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as expected. Installation documentation was clear and easy to follow.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Horrible radio reception

terry from Salina, KS on 9/6/2019

2019 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If it weren't for fact that I already have this unit installed, I would take advantage of the 60 money back guarantee. I paid couple hundred extra for this unit because it was one that had ready harness available and I wanted android auto wireless. I did not know that my phone would not be compatible . When calling tech support to try to get phone to connect wirelessly, was informed by tech that my phone was not supported and that it says it on web page. Turns out it says it on "Overview" page, but you have to click "Keep Reading" in order to see caution to check for compatible phones. I took several days studying this and several receivers before I selected this one. I think that this sentence could be more up front warning those who are thinking they can connect wirelessly to andoid auto before making over $1000 puchase total. Not to mention that previous tech I talked to mentioned nothing about certain phones not being compatible. Also, the reception for radio station sucks. I mean really SUCKS. This is the absolute WORST stereo for picking up radio stations I've ever had. My conversation with the tech today acknowledged that Pioneer has horrible reception and added that if that is something I need, then I need to look into another receiver like a Kenwood or a JVC. Would have been nice to know that before I spent total of 2 weeks waiting for delivery and the time it took for the install.

Pros:

Cons: Better check android auto wireless requirments first if you are wanting andoid auto wireless. A $50 car stereo can pick up more stations with more clarity than this joke of a unit.

Crutchfield response on 9/10/2019
Terry contacted our Customer Support team and exchanged for another receiver. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.

12 of 14 found this helpful

Great Radio.

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, MA on 9/2/2019

2006 Porsche 911

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. The wireless carplay works flawlessly for me. I also wired in a mount so have best of both worlds. Sound quality is great, and the features are really good. Only two minor issues prevent me from giving it 5 stars. 1) The volume control is really teeny blade, so not always easy to mess with when you are driving. 2) On a related note the automatic loudness compensation feature doesn't seem to actually work, which matters to me since I'm in a convertible

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Saluda, VA on 8/13/2019

2012 Honda Accord

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best looking unit for a 8th gen Accord! Does everything I was hoping for. Maestro rr will wire up but no harness for 2012 exl

Pros: Expandable with pre amp outputs and 2 camera inputs

Cons: Takes a few times to get used to navigating to unit but easy once your used to it

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

A couple of small issues but very solid overall.\

Crutchfield customer from Nolensville, TN on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works very well with CarPlay Wireless, as others have mentioned it does not seem to support Android Wireless on any non-Google devices (Bluetooth works fine). The head unit can take a bit to boot up and I have had a time or two where the steering wheel controls did not work at first. Overall if you want wireless CarPlay, this the unit for you. Install was fairly straight forward and worked without modifying my Toyota RAV4 (2017). Way way way better than the factory head unit.

Pros: Fits without modification Wireless CarPlay Steering Wheel Controls are retained

Cons: Slow to boot sometimes Integration Kits do not come with factory USB and GPS antenna cables (I bought separate to retain both)

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, NH on 8/6/2019

2007 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I like the unit overall but there are definitely issues that need to be fixed via a firmware update someday. 1. Using the seek button for the next station is not affected by the levels picked. In other words, hitting station up or down just goes to the next number: 95.1 to 95.3 to 95.5. I want it to jump to the next "good" station. Also, a "long" select just jumps to the next preprogrammed station. 2. Automatic Sound Level does not do anything no matter what mode is selected. 3. If you are in FM1 and select BSM to program your 6 stations with the strongest frequencies, it works. However, if you have manually coded stations and then switch to FM2 to use BSM, it overwrites the FM1 stations also. BSM should only populate the FM band you select, AND, it should not repeat any stations you have in the other FM band. I would like to keep FM1 manually programmed for my home stations and use the BSM with FM2 during long trips to capture and update local stations. 4. I hooked up the supplied USB cable but when I connect my iPhone7, it does not get recognized. 5. I have tried to update the password for the unit but the manual shows some buttons the don't exist on my screen. 6. Overall User Interface could use some minor changes to make the front screen friendlier. 7. Apple CarPlay has frozen or dropped out a couple times but it's not real bad.

Pros: Solid construction, nice screen with pretty good response. My 2007 Toyota 4Runner had a really crappy radio - I mean really bad. Just adding this stereo vastly increased the sound response even with the stock speakers. It also picks up a LOT more stations.

Cons: Lots of capabilities seem to need some refinement. Hopefully a firmware update is coming in the future.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Tacoma Entune upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Bellingham, MA on 8/3/2019

2016 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Chose this unit to upgrade and add Apple Car Play my 2016 Tacoma. Install was plug and play thanks to Crutchfield's OEM adapter harness kit. The unit is definitely an upgrade to the Entune HU. Planning to upgrade speakers and add an amp as next step. Android Auto also works well with my Wife's phone.

Pros: Plug and play install. Retained all steering wheel functions and factory backup camera. Wireless Apple Car Play and Android Auto.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer Has Serious Apple CarPlay Issues

Blair from Portland, OR on 7/21/2019

2007 Acura 3.2TL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me tell you about my experience so far with Pioneer products. This is the second Pioneer head unit that I have bought in the span of about a month. Both head units have problems. It started first with the Pioneer MVH-1400 NEX. It worked for about a week. I loaded a custom background image to the screen and it worked. Then I got an error message when I tried to change the image. Pioneer told me that I should return the unit to them since likely another problem would arise. Then Apple CarPlay completely cut out all audio yet the screen and buttons stayed illuminated. So I returned it. A week later I decided to splurge on the Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX. Apple CarPlay worked the few times I would ever use it. (I'm the type of audiophile who hooks up my audio to a chain as follows---->(Source- AUX) Audioquest Golden Gate 3.5mm>Audioquest Dragonfly Red>Audioquest Jitterbug>Lightning to USB 3 Adapter>iPhone) So needless to say as far as audio quality goes, using Apple CarPlay is not high on my priority list. It sounds way worse than a legitimate wired connection. The Apple Carplay on this unit plays for awhile and then just cuts out and the screen goes completely black. The colored buttons still stay lit and they beep when touched yet the screen just freezes and remains black. Pioneer told me that since they just released this unit that we are the guinea pigs to test this unit. :) So I would not be very surprised if Pioneer is forced to release a firmware update to this issue soon...

Pros: -When functioning this is a great head unit, probably a 4/5 head unit (-1 Stars to 3/5 for how unreliable Pioneer units are Just In my own personal experience -It has a DETACHABLE FACE... This is a must for security reasons, all car stereos should be detachable in my opinion -It has all the other extra options like a 2nd USB port for Android Auto, AUX connection, a CD/DVD drive, an SD memory card slot. Great background image and splash screen customization, nice key color option, you name

Cons: -Wireless Apple CarPlay new technology is very flawed and is not perfected yet. An advisor warned me over the phone about this issue. He told me to wait a year or two before going ahead and purchasing one of these wireless Apple Carplay head units, but at the time I really needed a new head unit installed in a hurry so I still ended up buying it. -A pretty obvious Pioneer quality control issue. I love the head unit when it works properly, but I may be forced to look elsewhere on this one...

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 7/16/2019

2014 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome head unit!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

At last!

Crutchfield customer from Champaign, IL on 7/13/2019

2004 Saturn ION 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty cool upgrade over my 5-year old Pioneer 2600-BT. The installation is a snap with the supplied mounting kit. Having wireless CarPlay is really awesome...for 5 years I'd been struggling with the way the old unit sorts artists vs the way the iPhone and iPod sort them, but no more! There's a little bit of a learning curve navigating between the various native Pioneer interface screens and the CarPlay interface, but I'm getting slicker with it in time. All in all, I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Ultimate Multimedia Receiver

Crutchfield customer from Nashua, NH on 7/10/2019

2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After few weeks of searching for the most suitable multimedia unit for my car and after the assistance of Crutchfield's tech advisor Marshall I decided to go ahead and buy this model. It was 100% plus covering everything i needed, The only missing thing in this unit is the capacitive touch screen.. anything else is there . Multi input sources, DVD CD player, Fully wireless apple car play and android auto and will cover any need even for future upgrades, for example if i want to install rear screens, camera or optional sound speakers. Even if i want to use a gps system it can be done either by using google maps via apple car play from my cell phone or just hooking up the optional gps map module . It can combine two Bluetooth cell phone too . I'm so pleased with it . The WebLink added even more features to be enjoyed with. Separate remote controller is there too. It's so handy for the back seaters if rear displays installed . Although the touch screen is not capacitive but i'm fully satisfied with it because of it's fast response not to mention the other huge features that will let you forget about the capacitive option . I can say that i'm only using about 1/3 of the entire features available yet stunned with what this head up unit brings to me . Honestly it exceeds high end luxury cars oem head units by far . I noticed this when compared to the OEM head up units that comes preinstalled on the relatives Lexus and Mercedes cars

Pros: Detachable screen. Remote Control. Weblink compatible.

Cons: Not equipped with Capacitive touch screen .

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 7/10/2019

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this radio. Easy to use and the features are great. I have it hooked up to the iPad that's in my dash.

Pros: Everything

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

David from Las Vegas, NV on 7/10/2019

2013 Kia Optima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've had this installed for about 3 months now and I'm very happy with my purchase. I installed it with 2 amps, all new speakers and a sub. This receiver really drives the system well and has all the features I could ever want. Sounds customization is great, wireless CarPlay has been flawless, and the 7" screen is awesome. I was skeptical about the resistive touchscreen but it has been great. Super responsive. I also didn't realize it played DVDs until I installed it, so that was a nice surprise. The ability to set a custom background is a nice feature. Overall I'm really loving this receiver. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase it again.

Pros: Large responsive screen Wireless CarPlay Color & background/splash screen customization

Cons: Screen only has one dimmer setting. Would be nice if there were a few more options. UI isn't the greatest. Can be a little repetitive/sluggish trying to change certain settings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome product

Crutchfield customer from Plant City , FL on 7/9/2019

2016 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome product easy to install and love the features.

Pros: Connectivity/ wireless CarPlay / sound quality

Cons: Sometimes a little slow to start up

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall good features

Brian from Portland, OR on 7/5/2019

2009 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall have had this radio in for almost 2 years now. It was an easy install in my 2007 Ridgeline, and looks good. The system overall is easy to use. Hooked up Sirius, and put the antenna under the dash, not sure that was the best spot for it but it works for the most part. I like the apple car play and Android auto. My only gripe is that the Car play will freeze up from time to time, not sure if that is an issue with the stereo or the iPhone, but it takes it down 1 star for me.

Pros: Car Play, Andriod Auto

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Kevin from Martinsburg, WV on 7/1/2019

2015 Ford Escape

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got this installed and still working with getting use to all the options. But love the unit and all the functions. Nice sound and plenty of options to fine tune the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bluffdale, UT on 6/25/2019

2012 Chrysler 200

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't quite a universal fit, but looks and works great after getting it installed.

Pros: Looks great Functions perfectly

Cons: Wasn't quite a universal fit and required some minor adjustments to install.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mobile, AL on 6/24/2019

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great! Love the CarPlay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

2015 Wrangler Install

Crutchfield customer from Palatine, IL on 6/10/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Straightforward install on a 2015 Jeep Wrangler with no real surprises. As a person who doesn't pay much attention to audio equipment generally, the biggest surprise to me was that even this higher-end unit still has pretty low resolution and a plain old clunky user interface. That said, it works as advertised, sounds good, and looks nice in the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Radio for its price range.

Crutchfield customer from Neillsville, WI on 6/10/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sounds great, plenty of quality volume with stock speakers. Installed in 2013 F-150 along with the K150 dash kit. Had to enlarge the opening on the dash panel for the radio to fit which is the reason for my 4 star review of the dash panel kit. With the dash kit and Maestro I was able to keep my steering wheel controls. My only complaint is that the apple car play wireless and Ford Sync did not want to work together so I disabled the ford sync on my phone and installed the microphone that came with the head unit. The apple car play is fantastic. Completely satisfied with the head unit.

Pros: Great sound and function for the price point.

Cons: Radio front was too large to fit through opening on the F-150 dash panel kit without modification.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Scottsburg, IN on 6/2/2019

2016 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this for my husband for his Tundra and he is in love with it. He had it installed in like an hour. He did have to order a few other things (not sure what they were) but very simple to put in. All of the buttons on steering wheel incorporated well with installation worth no issues. Back up camera looks clearer now with the new screen! Very happy with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

DOES NOT FIT 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK

Josh from Poway, CA on 5/25/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This DOES NOT FIT a 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK without Alpine audio upgrade. The instructions the supplied say to cut part of the plastic on the dash and to remove the metal bracket (pictured). Cutting the plastic isn't needed, and removing the metal bracket isn't possible without risk of breaking the dash since there are no metal supports to mount the radio to. The dash is plastic. The only support is the metal bracket that they say should be removed. See pictures for measurements. Tech support was great, but the sales support was the worst I've ever encountered. They were so afraid of a lawsuit that they kept repeating that I needed to follow the INCORRECT INSTRUCTIONS and refused to listen to the fact that the instructions weren't meant for a 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK.

Pros: Can't list any because it wouldn't fit to even try

Cons: Does not fit. The Jeep has a "double" din, but isn't the standard double din size.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 30 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Guest from Temecula, CA on 5/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall great sound quality. Not as user friendly as previous head units that I've had but once you learn it becomes second nature. The backup camera turns on almost immediately which is a huge plus. Apple CarPlay takes 15-20 seconds to start up and sometimes has issues with pandora. The wireless screen mirror only works with certain android phones so with iPhone I have to use the hdmi but is great quality with that. All in all though it is a great head unit. I had the ILX-107 and this one is my preferred choice hands down.

Pros: Great display, quick rear view camera

Cons: Startup time for Apple CarPlay

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

Verify tilt screen clearance before locking it down.

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 4/29/2019

2008 Porsche Cayman

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent unit and very responsive screen...just be sure that the front of the unit clears the double din bezel otherwise the tilt screen will not open.

Pros: Feature Rich with many add-on options.

Cons: Tilt screen has tight bezel clearances requiring some modification to the bezel for it to clear.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer AVH-W4500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, KY on 4/20/2019

2004 Mazda RX8

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the unit and wireless carplay and iDatalink. Crutchfield is my go to and came through when the unit face was scratched by replacing it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

TOP