Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
832 102 621 3

Call center hours

Connect ID #
832 102 621 3
Chat
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

We're sorry, chat is not available at this time. Please visit our Support page to find the help you need.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-800-955-9091

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Please enter a question  
Please select an email topic.  

Looking for tech support?
Please call us at 1-800-955-9091

Need help now?
Call an advisor: 1-888-955-6000

Please enter your name.  
Please enter your US phone number.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter an email.  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

Crutchfield call centers are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Works with select Pioneer receivers with Auto-EQ

MFR # CD-MC20

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Works with select Pioneer receivers with Auto-EQ

MFR # CD-MC20

64 reviews
View this product

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Charles from SURPRISE, AZ on 1/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are purchasing a Pioneer head unit that can use this mic for fine-tuning the equalizer, buy it. It worked well for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Not a one step fix

Crutchfield customer from Redlands, CA on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This microphone is a good starting point for quickly getting your system sounding the way you want it to. That said, it is not a one-step method of tuning everything to satisfaction (at least it wasn't for me). I found that the time alignment was spot on and some of the other settings were close to what they are now that I am done tinkering, but I had to continue making little adjustments over the course of two weeks (I have a pretty good ear and I have to listen to a wide range of music to get things exactly dialed in). If you know what you are doing and are willing to put in a little extra time, I think that this microphone is a little bit expensive for what it contributes to the tuning process, but every installation is different and perhaps this will be more useful for you than it was for me.

Pros: Potentially quickly-found starting point

Cons: Does less than might be desired for the price

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, AR on 12/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a Christmas present. Will be installed after Christmas will update then

Pros: Perfect

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Rio Grande City, TX on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The microphone helped me set up the listening position as well as time alignment and auto equalizer in my vehicle quick and easy .

Pros: Easy set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Extra money is time saved for quality audio

Crutchfield customer from South River, NJ on 10/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the tool that made it all come together. If anybody says in their review useless they are either an audiophile or incompetent. This device plugs in and sets your sound quality to a premium level. Remember audiophile or incompetent. Buy it if you are neither of those two and you will know it was money well spent. Tweak tour radio yourself and then plug it in and let it do its thing. Or just plug it in. I have a Pioneer AVH-W4400, with 4 Polk db652, and two Kickers for tweeters.

Pros: Easy to use Priced accordingly Excellent sound after using

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Umm...

Crutchfield customer from Waleska, GA on 8/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It helps with the timing of the stereo to wherever you want the sound in the car. Front left, right, both front seats or all four. That being said, the equalizer part is up to you. There are no directions! They should however be in your manual you got with your head unit. Every radio is different. Mine happens to plug in from the front.

Pros: Helps with the timing of your stereo.

Cons: Directions tell you how to dispose of the microphone.... Really Pioneer!!!! That's the best you could do???

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Works great fo MCACC setup

Crutchfield customer from Fort Collins, CO on 8/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used this to set up MCACC on a Pioneer VSX-52 stereo receiver. It worked like a charm. The setup is complete and sounds excellent. Definitely worth the few bucks to get a nice receiver set up right.

Pros: Replaces Pioneer MCACC mic perfectly.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pro or Not....

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

You need this anyway...who wants to sit and measure? It will improve your staging tremendously....GET IT!!!

Pros: If your head unit can utilize this...it's the cheapest way to improve the sound in your system

Cons: don't be cheap...lol

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Arlington, TX on 5/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Total waste of money, after performing Auto EQ, the sound was horrible, I turned it off and adjusted everything manually to get the sound balanced.

Pros: None

Cons: $20 wasted

Crutchfield response on 5/29/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your mic. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

Automatic EQ for the Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dayton, OH on 5/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this microphone for the automatic EQ feature of my Pioneer AVH-W4400NEX head unit. Unfortunately, the instructions of how to perform automatic EQ in the manual for the AVH-W4400NEX are missing necessary steps. I was eventually able to figure out how to make it work, but I am experienced professional with over 30 years experience in this field. The average user would be stymied, I am afraid. Once I got it to work, it was nice, but did not provide a great deal of improvement over the manual EQ I had done prior to using it.

Pros: Allows automatic EQ with Pioneer head units that support it

Cons: Instructions faulty and missing necessary steps, which makes it difficult for the average user

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Eagle Point, OR on 4/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Helps set speaker volume to your vehicle. Works well

Pros: Sets up the speaker volume nicely

Cons: Have to set up every time you change music or turn off radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Anthony from Marlton, NJ on 3/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used it to optimize the sound in my 2000 Camaro SS. The factory settings on my Pioneer AVH-2440NEX were not satisfactory. Even with the advanced settings, I was not happy. My previous Kenwood that was several years old even sounded better. I followed the instructions and once completed, the sound was so improved that it was literally night and day. I have to say, I was initially not very optimistic about the microphone's ability but the price was right so I bought it. If done correctly you will be impressed.

Pros: Price Ability Multiple uses

Cons: Had to pull the stereo out to access the input

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Every bit worth the $$$

Rob from Lexington, TN on 12/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Made all the difference in the world, been out of the stereo world for awhile. I won a Pioneer AVH2300NEX couple years ago, it made it come alive !!

Pros: System is nice and clear, no guess work for me. Very crisp !!

Cons: Can't leave it plugged in, don't know about anyone else's ride, but a 13 Silverado is a pain!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

A necessary component

James from Roscoe, IL on 11/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the unfortunate experience of making a misstep in my car stereo upgrade, so I have the honor of being able to hear 3 different stereo setups in my own car within the last month. What that has taught me is: 1) Crutchfield service is awesome and 2) Pioneer audio eclipses Sony in every possible respect. I was already floored by the difference my new Pioneer H/U made, but once I setup the Auto EQ with this little guy I was amazed at just how much better it is. It really makes such a huge difference in the staging and balance of the speakers and sub that its *almost* a shame that it isn't included with the H/U to begin with. At an additional $20, though, I can't really complain. If you care about getting you system setup just right, you need this. For proof, just flip the Auto EQ setting on/off while you're listening to your favorite band, you'll see what a difference it makes.

Pros: -Cheap -Great results

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Steven from Cookeville, TN on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The product is an excellent choice. Getting it from crutchfield was a great idea. The price was the lowest I could find and it arrived earlier than expected. You just can't beat Pioneer or Crutchfield.

Pros: Everything works as it should. The price is the best. The arrival time was very fast.

Cons: I can't find any cons at al.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Everett from Norristown, PA on 9/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Takes the work out of guessing. A good tool to have

Pros: Pretty accurate

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, WI on 8/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected. No issues

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Does what it says

Dustin from Marietta, GA on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked as expected

Pros: Simple to use

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Win Lose Situation

Bryan from Jamaica, NY on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered this just to try it out and see how it really worked, it worked amazing in my 09 Maxima running a avh4800bs set in network mode running 2 12s for bass, 8 10s for mids and 8 baby bullet tweeters for the heights it tunned the crossover points and slopes, eqs perfectly but then when it came to tuning the stock bose system with a avh1500dvd in my qx4 it made it distort after volume 15 but with auto eq off it makes it all the way up to 29. Its a win lose with it but it definitely is capable of making the perfect starting point to start your tuning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great mic

Randy from Carrollton, GA on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It worked great my system sounds amazing, the front stage is where it should be

Pros: It worked as advertised

Cons: Absolutely none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Brian from Port Washington, WI on 5/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The microphone worked great, just as described.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from San Juan, PR on 4/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ayuda mucho pero al final en mi opinión siempre hay que hacer uno que otro ajuste. Pero esto es audio y para todos no es lo mismo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

JOHN from Kent, WA on 3/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great, as described. Gave a good baseline for the settings.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Eagan, MN on 3/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

An easy way to get your EQ set up to adjust for your cars frequency response.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great way to get started - especially for center stage

William from San Antonio, TX on 2/25/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a pretty cool tool for finding the center stage in your vehicle. It makes the music sound like you are in the front row at a concert, which is the goal in car audio. The crossover and eq does a fair job of getting the sound right and is a good starting point. You will likely need to do some fine tuning afterward. It completely took out the subwoofer and set it's speaker level at -10. I like a little more bass in my music so I was disappointed with the results there. I do recommend this product for those who want a quick tuning of their system. For the high-end audiophiles, it might be best to stick with RTA. I have set one of my custom eq settings to match this setup and the other for the setup that I did with the RTA. This gives me the option to change the settings based on the music and number of passengers in the vehicle. I think most people will be pleased with this product. And for the price, it is definitely worth checking out.

Pros: Great product to find center stage. Great price. Auto eq results are a good starting point for fine tuning.

Cons: I was a little disappointed that it set my subwoofer level so low.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20

Ron from Cullowhee, NC on 12/23/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

avh-4200nex. Useless. Had to fix what it broke. All the settings that It changed where wrong. Cheap mic or gimmick. sets speaker distances wrong. lowers bass, raises treble to distortion. wasted my Crutchfield points on this

Pros: none

Cons: It cost money.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Canoga Park, CA on 12/22/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Adjusted my avh-x4800 to sound a bit better than my original eq settings.

Pros: Adjust your eq settings to sound better

Cons: Should of came with the stereo

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 6/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After plugging the mic in and running the auto EQ I had some pretty decent balance between four speakers and the sub. I had to adjust the passenger side front speaker up a little. The EQ settings were horrible. I manually reset the EQ based on my listening/hearing style. The crossover was set to turn off the high pass filter on my front speakers. That caused some major clipping problems so I turned the HPF back on. The bass was set to cut off at 100...I changed that to 80. All in all, it was close but I had to tweak what it did. It is now just about where I had it set before using the auto EQ feature. Honestly...these setting can be done by ear much better. But if you're not good at setting these things manually this will get you close.

Pros: Easy for novice to get better sound out of their system.

Cons: Not close enough for audiophile.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Get the most from your audio.

John from Fairfax, VA on 5/26/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I got this microphone to use with the auto equalizing function of my new Pioneer head unit. I wasn't sure about the purchase. It didn't cost a lot but the only reason was for the auto-eq. I'm glad I did. The difference in sound quality is tremendous. The unit sets not only the frequency curves, balance and fader but also sets the time delay from the various speakers. I am not aa audiophile and could not have done it myself.

Pros: Easy to use. Matched to the head unit.

Cons: You only use it once in a while.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Should be included with head unit.

Chris from Hickory, NC on 5/11/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works like it's supposed to but should come included with head units that have the AutoEq feature. That's the reason for only 2 stars.

Pros: Works as intended.

Cons: Pricey add on purchase. Should come included with supported head units.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 9 found this helpful

Not Impressed.

Ken from St Clair Shores, MI on 4/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not really impressed with this. Used it on a 4200NEX in a 2008 Ram 1500 Crew Cab. It helps with tuning the sound within your vehicle, but the mics ability to detect timing is off. I've ran the AutoEQ measurement test several times, from the same location, with different results every time. It gets my door speakers and tweeters somewhat close to the actual measurement in relation to the mic, but my subs are literally right behind me, underneath the back seats in a Thunderform box. It places them almost three times the distance away from where they actually are, This is where I discovered that my subs timing was being measured at 127" away. This would put them half way into the bed of my truck, and it also does something weird to the phase of the subs. It decided it needed to inverse the phase, which sounded like garbage, and even after I put it back to "in phase" it sounded bad. Putting in the real measurement, which was 48", made a world of difference in sound, and gave me the correct phase as well. I went back and manually measured all the speakers, which were only a few inches off from the mic measurement, and it made it sound a bit better. So overall, I would recommend to get it to be able to tune the head unit's sound to your vehicles interior, but manually measure your speakers in relation to your listening position to get the best sound. I also feel this mic should have been included with head unit I purchased. Expensive one time use item.

Pros: Tunes the head unit's sound to your vehicles interior.

Cons: Expensive for basically a one time use item, doesn't accurately measure timing. Should be included with radio

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Hermiston, OR on 4/16/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

System i bought already had speaker these are junk to my stereo shop.. dont need

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 4/18/2017
Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

0 of 11 found this helpful

Do not hesitate. BUY!

Mike from Humboldt, TN on 4/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you are considering the purchase of this option? Add it to the cart. Easy to use and the sound after setup is a major improvement.

Pros: Easy use and setup. Major sound improvement.

Cons: Should be included with stereo.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from San Diego, CA on 3/19/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I use this on my 4200 NEX and it worked great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

perfect sound for $20

Jim from Tewksbury, MA on 2/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this item from Crutchfield and it works incredible. Set my crossover and speaker levels to perfection for this item is well worth it. It made my focal flax sing like never before.

Pros: easy to use,cable long enough to reach back seat.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Folsom, CA on 1/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Used the mic to calibrate the sound on my nex8200 in a 2004-2008 F150. Definitely helped balance out the sound and easy to use.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Worth it!

Crutchfield customer from NC on 1/25/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

At first glance, you might not think the price would be worth a 1-time use item; however, you'd be wrong... this made a huge difference in sound quality on just stock speakers, and as you upgrade speakers or add subs, you'd also have an opportunity to retune your unit. Both points made this a very worthwhile purchase for me!

Pros: Makes significant improvement in sound quality

Cons: Might not be economical for some considering investment value.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

John from Worcester, MA on 1/1/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked great for setting my auto EQ on my Pioneer unit.

Pros:

Cons: Should come with the Pioneer unit if you ask me.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Worth the Cost

Justin from Virginia on 12/26/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this to do Auto EQ on a AVH X3800BHS head unit. The process took about 10 minutes and made a noticeable difference in the sound.

Pros: Super easy to use

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cord too short

Crutchfield customer from Oceanside, CA on 12/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A little over-priced for the simple product that you get. And the cord is way too short to be used in the manner intended. (Another 10' minimum, is necessary to reach my actual listening area/seat.

Pros: Simple. Dummy proof use.

Cons: Cord way too short. Too costly for what you get.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Bedford, TX on 11/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Huge Sound for a small price!!!

Joey D from Chicago, IL on 10/10/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a Pioneer AVH-4200NEX head unit and four Infinity Kappa 62.11i, 6 3/4 inch door speakers. The microphone was extremely easy to use. Turn the "source off" from the home menu, go to settings, audio, scroll down to the bottom. Underneath where it says "timing" then "eq," it'll say "timing and auto eq not measured." Click that, the screen will go flat and you insert the 3.5mm male end of the mic. Sling the extremely long chord so the mic hangs down in the middle of your drivers seat head rest. Press your listening position and press start. It'll then count down from ten. GET OUT OF THE CAR!!! It'll measure white noise and tapping sounds from each and all speakers. For about 3 minutes. Then you're all done. Remove the mic and press the home button. Super easy process. Do it at night in a quiet garage with your engine and HVAC OFF. I didn't think it made a difference at all and was bummed UNTIL, I turned off the auto eq and was amazed by the difference. It measured the accoustics of my car and each speaker PERFECTLY. I have a 2014 mid size car. It worked great in a 2013 Jeep Patriot with stock speakers. It made the speakers come alive!

Pros: BUY IT! For the price and the incredible sound I got, it's a no brainer. Don't get rid of it after one use either. If anything changes, like my head unit going bad after 3 months, you'll have it to do again. Not a problem though. It's extremely easy!!!!

Cons: A little surprised Pioneer didn't just include this with the head unit. You're already paying top dollar for a stereo and the mic is only $25. You don't pay extra for the Bluetooth mic......

Crutchfield response on

14 of 14 found this helpful

Simple to use and great results!

LBSypher from Hardy, VA on 9/12/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The microphone was really simple to use to get my Pioneer AVH-4200NEX tunes in perfectly. However, it did take me a minute to figure out that I needed to have the parking brake engaged to get the automatic tuning feature to become available.

Pros: Worked great in my 2008 Subaru Impreza STI with my Pioneer AVH-4200NEX!

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Really makes a difference

Ghaith from Sacramento, CA on 8/23/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I personally believe that this microphone should come with the stereo standard but I'll put that point aside. There was a noticeable improved difference in the sound quality when compared before and after the Auto EQ setup with my Pioneer 4200 nex. The process was easy and took only a couple of minutes.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

JR from Memphis on 4/4/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like others have said, it's Pioneer's mic for measuring Time Alignment, etc. if you want automatic TA, you need this. I'm glad I bought it as the auto TA from my new AVH-4200 really does help to create and shape a decent sound stage. It's not perfect but it does make a BIG difference in the sound. Use auto TA, and EQ your cabin to a flat response and you will have a very decent sound stage w/o tons of fiddling.

Pros: Enables auto TA

Cons: Should come with the NEX units

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Brief review

DP82 from upper marlboro, MD on 3/16/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A necessary tool to use for auto adjusting sound in a given space through the receiver's guide.

Pros: Plug and play simplicity!

Cons: Cord too short, needed an extension.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Expensive, But Worth It

Kevin from albuquerque, NM on 3/9/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Auto-EQ and don't look back

Pros: Auto-EQ makes the price more than worthwhile

Cons: Expensive

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Not really sure it's worth it

Joe from hendersonville, NC on 2/21/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really don't know if this thing is doing much of anything. Sure the head unit goes through all of the sounds and looks as though it's setting stuff up. Although I have to admit I don't hear much of a difference in the sound, it could be just me.

Pros:

Cons: The fact that they aux plug is on the back of the unit means that you have to pull the dash apart in order to redo the set up, just not easy.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 10 found this helpful

Great Microphone!

Kyle from Texas on 1/17/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Past car stereo experience I learned to purchase microphones while offered with head units before they become extinct! This microphone made a HUGE difference in sound quality on our AVH-4100NEX!! Very impressed and results were rather close given several separate tries (meaning the mic is rather precise). I would advise picking this up for your Pioneer car AND home stereo final tuning; its well worth it!!!

Pros: Repeatable results and simple to use. Can be used on both car and home receivers by Pioneer

Cons: none!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Works well

Mike from Andover, Kansas on 1/7/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Ordered the CD-MC20 Microphone to use with the Auto EQ feature on my Pioneer AVIC-5100NEX. The microphone and feature worked as expected. There is a definite improvement over the stock and personal settings I initially applied by ear after receiving the mic and running the Auto EQ feature. This microphone and Auto EQ will do a better job tweaking the system than the majority of users will be able to do manually. I would recommend unless you plan on using an external processor, an RTA, etc. Apart from that after running the Auto EQ feature you can still make adjustments to the user adjustable settings such as the built in EQ, crossover, time alignment, speaker levels, etc. So if you don't like the results that Auto EQ applies, it will at least provide you with a good baseline, and then the ability to further tweak the unit's settings.

Pros: Balances and equalizes the sound better that most will be able to do on their own.

Cons: None, works as expected

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

I was skeptical but it works!

West Coaster from California on 6/9/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I used this with a Pioneer AVIC-8000NEX. Luckily, the head unit has a jack for it near the CD slot in front, so I didn't have to remove the radio and connect it to the rear. I ran the Auto-EQ tests and at first, I didn't think much of the results. A few days later, I found where I could turn off the Auto-EQ settings. I was floored to hear the difference! Without it, my factory speakers sounded fuzzy, with a fair amount of distortion. With it, they actually sounded decent. I'm sure that they're not as good as speakers from Crutchfield, but they're OK until I get the money to upgrade them. Note: With the AVIC-8000NEX, you have to find and press the buttons on the screen while it's tilted all the way up. In full sunlight, they're hard to see, so running the tests took more time than it should have. Next time, I'll park in the shade.

Pros: Made my factory speakers sound decent.

Cons: I wish that I could run its tests with the engine on and the interior fans running. That would be more of a "real-world" test.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Good tool

Basic user from Ca on 5/5/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Worked good. Helped dial in my sound for my listening.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Had to have the radio out to plug in the mic

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

awesome

P from Bulverde, TX on 4/14/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy and awesome

Pros: Easy and great

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Mic is good but Pioneer RTA system isn't

Bullitt5094 from Houston, TX on 1/16/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'm sure the microphone is fine but I have Pioneer head units in two cars that utilize their automatic RTA systems. After performing the RTA in both cars, they sounded awful. I used a test CD and did the set-up manually and it sounded MUCH better. I wouldn't waste your money on the microphone. The best car automatic RTA system I've used is Alpine's system. It works very well.

Pros: Mic works

Cons: The Pioneer RTA system you attach it to is stupidly bad.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

A Must-Have item

MarkAfterDark from Uxbridge, MA on 1/12/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Okay, first, the documentation doesn't state that the process begins with the unit "off" but with accessory power turned on. I finally found a youtube video stating that the unit needs to be off. I installed my AVH-X3500BHS in my '07 Santa Fe yesterday. The sound quality was much better going through the factory component speakers, but the bass was muddy, highs harsh and mids were nothing to get excited about. I stretched a fleece headband around the top of the headrest and dropped the mic through into place at the center of the headrest and started the process. Afterward, the unit was quite insistent that I unplug the mic before I can continue. Fortunately, I left the dashboard storage off so I could reach behind and unplug the mic. The results were amazing. even the factory speakers now sound decent. They do not sound like $500 Focals, but they sound decent. The bass is tightened up and the highs are smooth. Now I can turn the music up without ear fatigue.

Pros: Creates a smooth response curve and does what only an expensive audio analyzer could normally do.

Cons: The big one is the documentation. It took some time and research to get the "Auto EQ" function to light up. These are more considerations than cons: If you prefer "Boom & Sizzle" this is not the product for you. This creates tight bass and very smooth mids and highs. The response curve is not suitable for analog FM and analog stations sound flat.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Simply Awesome

Taylor from Morristown, NJ on 7/11/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I hve Focal KRX2 6.5 in my front doors. I am a bit of a newb when dealing with car stereo. I was having a problem tuning my system. The tweeter was overwhelming the music with harshness. I purchased the Pioneer CD-MC20 from Crutchfield, plugged the microphone into the Pioneer deh-80prs and the difference is AMAZING!!! No more tweeter harshness. The speakers sound spectacular now. Don't hesitate to purchase...especially if you are not sure about all the settings and the intricate programming of a car stereo head unit. Be sure to hang the mic midway on the driver's headrest.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer CD-MC20 Microphone

Crutchfield customer from Mission Viejo, CA on 4/19/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Easy to use, surprised how wild the EQ settings came out. Also, wonder how much they change when the vehicle is in motion rather than sitting in my quiet garage.

Pros: Simple to use

Cons: None that I can think of

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Setup made simple!

Onurneez from Goodyear, Az on 3/26/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This mic is pretty awesome! Perfect for getting your stereo to sound perfect in your car. Very easy to use, just plug in and push a few buttons on the stereo and let it take it from there.

Pros: Ease of use, price, and quality.

Cons: Should be included with all Pioneer stereos equipped with auto EQ.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Didn't get to try it.

Crutchfield customer from Indianapolis, IN on 3/9/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this speaker to "optimize" the sound of the new Pioneer TS-A1675R speakers and Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS head unit, but I still haven't figured out how to get the Auto-equalize function on my head unit to work... So I'm just going to give 3-stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 23 found this helpful

Used for Auto EQ on Pioneer AVH P8400BH

wudbuchr from West Tennessee on 2/24/2013

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I guess that it did what it was designed to do but did not improve the sound to my ear. After using this to set up the Auto EQ, I was not happy with the audio curve. I prefer to manually adjust the audio to suit my ear. I hadn't considered using the Auto EQ setting as a baseline, but will try it again and see if that improves the audio.

Pros: Small May save some manual adjustment time

Cons: muffled the rear speakers too much attenuated higher frequencies

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Used for Auto Eq of AVH-P3400BH

GaryV from Breaux Bridge, Louisiana on 12/18/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works as advertised. Didn't sound like I thought it would. A little hollow and tinny. I will work on Custom equalization for my own ears. I do like having a "correct" baseline to work from.

Pros: Does it's job, still worth the money.

Cons: You must hook up wire from head unit to parking brake or system thinks it's moving and will not proceed. Grounding wire also works.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice idea - simple to do

ChuckE from Saratoga, CA on 11/22/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wasn't sure if this would make a difference in my truck but I am thrilled that I bought it and used it to improve the sound quality. A "must do"!

Pros: Works very well, very easy to use.

Cons: Should be standard equipment with the receiver - it makes such an improvement.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wonderful

Aaron from Vacherie, LA on 1/21/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This takes the guess work out of adjusting the EQ manually. Simply connect the microphone and let the head unit do the work. Made a drastic improvement in the quality of the music versus the preset EQ. Makes your listening position feel like center stage. I have factory speakers and now I cannot wait to get my aftermarket speakers and sub to complete my system. Bottom line; the best $30 I ever spent.

Pros: Fool proof.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Worth every Penny

Z from VA on 3/13/2011

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

If you want a noticalby better sound with more body and depth get this. It takes just minutes to get the optimal sound vs fiddling with the manual eq. Bottom Line: Get it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

25 of 30 found this helpful

TOP