Contact us
Close contact box

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-1500NEX

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Digital multimedia receiver (does not play CDs)

MFR # DMH-1500NEX

88 reviews
View this product

Expectations Exceeded

Crutchfield customer from Monroe, GA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The DMH-1500NEX exceeded my expectation. I installed the unit in my 2004 Ram 1500 and it is performing flawlessly. After the install, I expected the learning cure to be steep, but within a hour or so I had everything set up and I was using Apple CarPlay like a pro. I am in no way an Apple guru, but once I downloaded the user manual and followed a few simple steps, I was easily able to get things working. The sound is great and working through the touch menus is intuitive. I have installed many car stereos over the years in personal vehicles. I have never had one perform so well, look so professional (as good as any factory job), and blow me away with its simple and effective user interface. The back-up camera display is also crystal clear! I love it!

Pros: User friendly and intuitive control menus Excellent sound Terrific display Apple CarPlay works perfectly

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 12/14/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Super easy to install, works great in our 2001 Toyota Landcruiser. Apple Car Play and Android Auto integration is awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Poplar Grove, IL on 12/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Haven't bought an aftermarket stereo since I was a teenager, long time ago. This thing is really cool, does everything it says very well. I would recommend this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, MA on 12/13/2019

2013 Honda Fit Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Easy install and very easy to navigate all of the options and features

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mundelein, IL on 12/12/2019

2008 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A very good refresh for my 2008 Honda Civic. This brings my car into the present times. Apple Carplay is a game changer. The reason for 4 stars rather than 5 - the stock operating system (not Carplay) is a tad clunky to initially pick up. It is not at all intuitive. Other than that, though, this is a phenomenal unit for a phenomenal price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Elizabeth, CO on 12/12/2019

2001 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Phil from Shelley, ID on 12/10/2019

2006 Dodge Ram 3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It sounds great with my stock speakers. The menu system is easy to navigate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Brooksville, FL on 12/9/2019

2007 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great upgrade to my 07 F250. The apple car play works great and the hands free is clear. Crutchfield pre wired the head unit and the install went smooth ,all steering wheel controls were retained.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome

Crutchfield customer from Malvern, AR on 12/9/2019

2004 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a awesome set up! The advisors are great so far this system is waiting to be installed after Christmas because it is a Christmas present

Pros: Perfect in everyway

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great stereo

Crutchfield customer from West Palm Beach, FL on 12/8/2019

2019 Honda Civic

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo, great Apple CarPlay and Android interface, it's cool that you can connect two different phones on Bluetooth. Nice responsive touchscreen. I wish the booting time is a little shorter. Overall a great radio. One other issue I have with this stereo, although I didn't do much research, is that the reverse assist lines on the backup camera view show only if you press them when you reverse, and even if you adjust then to your camera view, next time you backup they dissapeared! You have to do all process again. This is ridiculous to do everytime you backup. Hopefully this has a fix. I'll do some more research.

Pros: CarPlay, Media player interface, screen resolution, color adjustment

Cons: Backup camera lines assist.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Leander, TX on 12/8/2019

2014 Volkswagen Passat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound and ease of use. Ewsy to see day or night. Nide to be able to match interior lighting.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Michael from MARION, IL on 12/5/2019

2018 Ford F-150 XL

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this to replace the factory 4.2" stereo in my 2018 F150 and have CarPlay. Even though the stereo and install items weren't cheap, I still saved thousands over the truck model that had CarPlay as an option. Install went good with the Idatalink Maestro and dash kit. Sounds great and all my needed phone functions work from the stereo and steering wheel controls. And I'm not trying read them from my tiny Iphone screen. The only drawbacks I have seen so far are losing my outside temp and that Google Maps resets my trip when I stop to get my morning soda when I shut off the truck.

Pros: Sounds Great! Love the Apple CarPlay. Nice display.

Cons: Lost my outside air temp display. Google maps starts the trip over instead of continuing it when I shut the truck off. Could be the stereo or it might just be CarPlay.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 12/5/2019

2006 Nissan Frontier

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing upgrade. Recently had a much cheaper BOSS head unit that I purchased from Crutchfield. It simply does not compare to the pioneer. Definitely worth the extra money. Stock speakers sound better, sub hits harder, and I'm thrilled with Apple Carplay. Now all I need is a back up camera and I will be 100% satisfied with it. It could use some updates but I'm not worried about it. Customer service was amazing in helping me find the parking break and reverse light wire and helping me pick out the best receiver for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from West Monroe, NY on 12/5/2019

2006 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

great unit most of all great people great service

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Moorhead, MN on 12/4/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really nice unit for the price and looks great in my vehicle. The Apple Car play is the best thing ever!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better Than Expected!

Crutchfield customer from Baldwin, WI on 12/3/2019

2008 Mazda 3

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I recently purchased a 2008 Mazda 3 knowing that I'd upgrade the radio. After quite a bit of research, I decided to get this Pioneer DMH-1500NEX because it had Car Play, a good size screen, and very good ratings on several sites. Here's what I like about it: 1) The screen is big, bright, and responsive. It's great at night and during the day (even with sunglasses on!). 2) The UI is pretty good. It didn't take me long to figure out how to use it and customize my settings. 3) The BT connection works very quickly with my iPhone XR - and it works well for playing audio from my phone, including Spotify and Audible. 4) The Car Play is great! 10 stars!!! I love how I can listen to and send messages hands-free. It's perfect! 5) The installation was easy with the wiring kit I purchased from Crutchfield. It took me around an hour to put it in - I did have to Google a few things specific to the Mazda 3. 6) It works great with the reverse camera I had from a different car. 7) The sound is much better from this radio than the factory radio that was in my Mazda before. Anyway, I really don't have much negative to say about this radio, especially since I got it for a great sale price. It doesn't have CD/DVD, but that's fine with me. Also, the display screen that is used for while playing BT is a little bland or plain, but that's not a big deal. Anyway, If I had to recommend a great CarPlay radio in this price range, I'd for sure recommend this one!

Pros: -Clear, Bright Responsive Screen -Apple Car Play works perfectly! -The BlueTooth connection also works well -Sounds great!

Cons: The BlueTooth screen could be a bit more exciting/colorful. Didn't come with a detailed manual

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice big screen

Crutchfield customer from Kailua, HI on 12/3/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Not sure why you would want a glossy bezel. Buttons are impossible to discern, you just have to know what they are. Seems very deep for what it is and barely fit in the hole. Other than that it's good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great upper end without the price

Crutchfield customer from Chanute, KS on 12/3/2019

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Works great with android auto, also hooked in backup camera and easy with clear picture. The crutchfueld ready harness makes it sooo easy!

Pros: Android and apple links, bluetooth

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 12/2/2019

2001 Ford F-150

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio is perfect exactly what I was looking for

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product at the Right Price!

Crutchfield customer from Fishersville, VA on 11/27/2019

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound, responsive head unit that has met all of my expectations! Apple play and integration with steering wheel controls and driver info screen is spot on!

Pros: Works great with car accessories, easy to use and program. Make sure to get the premade wiring harness to simplify this installation!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great ..great....stereo

Rob from Hutchinson, MN on 11/26/2019

2008 Ford Explorer

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

OK...seriously....I actually went to the Crutchfield website to make review on this Pioneer receiver and the stellar after purchase help that I needed to complete my install . This Pioneer receiver just rocks! Crutchfield steps above and beyond anyone when you need help....I mean it....Besides the fact that this car stereo is truly wonderful, the guys at Crutchfield in tech support totally supported me with my problems and concerns without making me feel like an idiot....I talked to them 3 times with different problems and they totally walked me through the whole process.....This is the ONLY place to by your Audio gear! Rob from Minneapolis

Pros: Everything

Cons: Slight tweak with wiring harness

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

installing a pioneer as a pioneer

Crutchfield customer from Newtown, PA on 11/21/2019

2004 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy to install utilizing the tech support from crutchfield. called several times and each time call was impressed with the level of service. well done!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Tacoma upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Ojai, CA on 11/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit! CarPlay and Spotify and phone charging all in one.

Pros: Car play, Google, Siri, everything you want!

Cons: For a true upgrade you must pair this with an amp. Not really a con just the truth. More power = better sound.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great!

Crutchfield customer from Maine on 11/5/2019

2015 Honda Fit EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking into a Kenwood radio vs this pioneer. I've always been a pioneer radio guy so I decided to stay with pioneer. I have a sub and amp that I had installed into my factory radio and when installing this pioneer it is a huge difference in loudness and power. Music sounds much better. I like everything about it but a few things. Still a great radio. Though the price to install this is expensive. However the idata mistro is the way to go. Makes it so much easier to install your self.

Pros: Big screen Different themes Different colors Sound (equalizer) Apple car play

Cons: Needs more themes. Maybe through an update would be nice. No HD radio. Really? For the price of $379!!! Extra usb would be nice Camera view options. (Changing the view to help parking)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

1500 Nex

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 10/31/2019

2003 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had an issue with receiver, called Crutch field staff, great people there took care of problem ASAP!!

Pros: Highly recommend

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent with work arounds

Dave from Eagle River, AK on 10/26/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I install the DMH-1500NEX into a 2013 F-150 XLT with iDatalink Maestro and the K150 panel. I chose to retain Sync to maintain and enhance my steering wheel controls. I also used the Crutchfield pre-wired harness. Pros: Radio boot quickly -- about 12 seconds, sound quality is great, Apple Car Play is awesome. Cons: iDatalink and Sync have some conflicts--both fight for control of the phone causing you not to be able to hear the incoming call, but they can hear you. Crutchfield customer service (which is awesome) called iDatalink for me with a recommendation to reflash the module and choose not to retain Sync--which would cause a loss of steering wheel controls and was the reason I chose the equipment. I was able to use a work around--answer the phone with Car Play and problem is solved--which required me to install the supplied mic. I now have the factory mic and the supplied mic both installed--depending on how I call using Car Play or Sync. Installation was easy but merging the instructions from multiple sets could leave you guessing at times. Customer Service was superb with working out the kinks. The pre-wired harness assumes your backup camera is wired to the radio, but mine goes to the review mirror. The prewired harness was ineffective hear, but the excellent support sent me diagrams where I could pick it up in the drivers kick panel. I now have back up cam in the mirror and the display. Overall, exceptionally happy!

Pros: Fast booting, good sound, excellent with OBD 2 connection. Apple Car Play is exceptional. Easy to navigate the menu options. Good interface with Sync with work arounds. Pre-wired harness is a must and worth the $$. Overall, the best upgrade I have ever done for the vehicle.

Cons: Idatalink Maestro and Sync fight for control of the phone even when programmed correctly following all instructions. Needed to install the provided microphone and figure out how to work around it. Merger of the K150, iDatalink and Crutchfield instructions can cause confusion, but is workable. Pre wired harness assumes the backup camera is in the dash, which is not my case, it's wired to the mirror.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

8 of 8 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Liz from Anaheim, CA on 10/21/2019

2011 Nissan Xterra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is absolutely fantastic! I upgraded from my stock radio/CD player unit to this. I was looking for something that would sync with Android Auto and be backup camera capable, and this does this very well. The install instructions were clear and easy to follow - both the unit itself and the Crutchfield included ones. I also bought the ready harness, which made everything ridiculously easy - both the install and the cable management. Connection from my phone to the unit is almost instantaneous, no compatibility issues with the backup camera I bought, and the audio is incredibly clear. I knew anything I bought would be a serious upgrade from what I had, but it feels like I have a new car. Shout out to the ready harness - well worth the extra $!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Upgrade old stereo to a double din modern recievet

Crutchfield customer from Saint Paul, MN on 10/16/2019

2003 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like it Good value for the money. HD radio 100 dollars more with the next model and I would do that upgrade if I could do it again

Pros: Price and Apple car

Cons: No hd radio

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent head unit !

Crutchfield customer from Castalin Spgs, TN on 10/15/2019

2013 Honda Civic SI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This thing is awesome! I thought my last receiver was good until I got this. Everything works flawless. Car play is awesome as well!

Pros: Car play , and 13 band eq.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A+

Crutchfield customer from Joelton, TN on 10/10/2019

2006 Ford Mustang

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome receiver! Definitely the easiest pairing I've had to do. (iPhone) And once paired, it automatically connects and plays once you start the car.

Pros: Easy to navigate. Sound quality is amazing

Cons: Doesn't have fade setting for front to back volumes.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Heflin

jason from Heflin on 10/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought an alipne... huge mistake! This pioneer works perfect! Great features, you dont have to do the e brake dance to access simple features, and best of all...android auto works perfectly! Never will buy a alpine reciever again! Thanks crutchfield for working with me and having an awesome return policy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

So impressed I bought TWO!

Crutchfield customer from Jax Bch, FL on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My wife and I have Android 10 phones. We purchased a new Jeep Wrangler with a factory stereo and wanted to upgrade to something with a back up camera and one that would communicate best with our our phones. This stereo did all we expected and more. I liked it so much that I replaced my older pioneer AVH-X5500BHS with this same unit so I now have two!

Pros: Android Auto Sound quality User Friendliness

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bartlett, TN on 10/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Head unit is great! Just wish it would integrate to the existing microphone in the truck so that i don't have to run an additional mic wire. Also sometimes it just doesn't come on... not sure why, I've double checked all the wiring. Then I'll turn the truck ignition off and back on and it will come on..... But all in all it's a fantastic unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from New Gloucester, ME on 9/29/2019

2013 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice unit. Easy to install. Sounds great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Suffolk, VA on 9/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent receiver! Very intuitive and easy to navigate and customize. Use of Apple CarPlay is awesome! I added the Boyo license plate rear camera to bring my 2005 F150 into the modern era and couldn't be happier! Only thing I wish Pioneer would do is give us the option to keep the parking assist lines on at all times instead of having to turn them on each time I back up. Not a deal breaker at all but just a wish.

Pros: Easy to set up Easy to use Intuitive Clean looks

Cons: Inability to keep parking assist lines on at all times.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hudson, OH on 9/28/2019

2014 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio love the options

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Floral Park, NY on 9/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound, both for music and phone calls. Ability to use Apple CarPlay for Waze and having text messages read aloud is a huge safety improvement. My wife is thrilled with me for making her car way better than it was before.

Pros: Very good sound, Apple CarPlay integration is awesome, good radio reception, easy to install and program.

Cons: No HD radio and can't turn off the screen like on my other Pioneer unit. Also I don't think the Pioneer mic I have for customizing the sound works with this unit.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Woodside, NY on 9/22/2019

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good Head unit for the price. Looks & performs excellent. Carplay works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Walker, LA on 9/21/2019

2013 Ford F-150 FX2

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it with the new updated Android Auto. It sounds great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Item

Crutchfield customer from Rosemead, CA on 9/20/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Better than what I expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Kingston, PA on 9/18/2019

2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Always been a fan of Pioneer equipment. Again, they didn't disappoint. Very happy with the looks and all the features it has.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good intro level aftermarket head unit.

Crutchfield customer from Greer, SC on 9/17/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far, it is great. Easy to use interface, connected simply without errors. Seems like it is price competitive. Would like it to be cheaper, but that is just the way of the world.

Pros: solid entry level, price competitive.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mooresville, NC on 9/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very bullet proof. I was worried because I've never got Android Auto to work well in rental cars. This unit, however, has performed flawlessly

Pros: Great integration w/F150 Crutchfield support staff

Cons: Requires add on satellite

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good but not Great

Crutchfield customer from Crofton, MD on 9/12/2019

2007 Cadillac Escalade

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a good receiver for the price and does everything I expected. Apple CarPlay is the reason I upgraded my factory navigation system and it works great. I took away one star because I don't find the user interface to be all that user friendly. It's definitely not intuitive. Also, I purchased the Maestro module to keep all of the factory controls including SiriusXM. The problem is that the Pioneer unit doesn't recognize that SiriusXM is an available input option...I assume this is because I don't have a tuner plugged directly into the unit...it goes through the Maestro module. I can still access SiriusXM by selecting "Car Sources" and then selecting SiriusXM, but it's kind of annoying that I can't just hit the SiriusXM icon (it's grayed out on the main screen).

Pros: Apple CarPlay Good sound

Cons: User interface

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Very satisfied

Crutchfield customer from Moulton, AL on 9/11/2019

2009 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent head unit for the $. It was the perfect choice for me. Easy install! Love the I data Maestro!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Murrieta, CA on 9/9/2019

2013 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product with integrated functionality.

Pros: Responsive Many options

Cons: Menus can be a little difficult to navitage.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great deck

Crutchfield customer from Waikoloa, HI on 9/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great stereo. Sound is great. Apple CarPlay is awesome. Talk button got stuck a few times which makes Siri go crazy. Very distracting when driving and trying to use Google Maps. But I think I got that under control and am happy with the product.

Pros: Apple CarPlay is super awesome - and the reason I bought this.

Cons: The talk button got stuck and so Siri would turn on repeatedly. Also, the screen would be totally black and no matter what I press, it would not come on. I had to turn the car off and then back on and it came on.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 9/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great pioneer with all the features you'd need but without the cd/dvd player the screen is a little bigger and very clear. Quite an upgrade from my 3 yr old unit. Car play is awesome, I don't know if I'd want to be without that feature now. Great bargain for the price.

Pros: Car Play, Great 7" screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Millersburg , OH on 9/3/2019

2007 Ford Five Hundred

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice stereo. Improves sound from factory speakers. Did run into a snag during installation, but called Crutchfield and they instructed on correct connection. Thanks Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great radio

Crutchfield customer from Garden Grove, CA on 9/3/2019

2007 Toyota Prius

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. I bought it for the apple CarPlay and it works very great.

Pros: Apple CarPlay and sound

Cons: I haven't noticed any

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Disappointing menus

Bob from Milford, CT on 9/3/2019

1998 Honda CRV

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced original radio in 1998 Honda CR-V so a big change... no clue how to use the FAVORITES feature.. Can't get the pinch to adjust screen map to work like on iPhone... have to dump out of radio to get into CarPlay and vice versa by using a tiny front panel main menu button instead of on screen option - SO obviously very displeased on controls and lack of clear directions in owner's manual but the sound is very good, Unit does plays iPhone and iPods well whendidectly attaches.. no CarPlay cia Bluetooth only when line connected!

Pros: Improved sound quality over old OEM radio

Cons: Horrible menu controls and terrible owners manual

Crutchfield response on 9/4/2019
Bob, we're sorry you're disappointed with your receiver. If you purchased this from Crutchfield, feel free to contact our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 3 found this helpful

I like this radio!

Crutchfield customer from Swanton, VT on 8/30/2019

2014 Subaru Forester

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have always liked Pioneer radios. Excellent features for the price. This model has a nice screen with good touch sensitivity - not too much or to little. Important when you are driving. Airplay works well. If this car is sold with the radio (most likely) then Android users will be able to make use of it also.

Pros: Good value for price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer Multi-Media Unit

Crutchfield customer from Murphy, NC on 8/19/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The unit was installed in a 08 Mustang. So far all is good. The screen does do too well with my prescription glasses - but that has happened with my other devices and GPS units. The unit improved the sound of the factory system. I use android auto and an iPod and both work well. I took advantage of the Crutchfield pre-wiring service. Get it - Saved quite a bit of time and worked perfect. Support from Crutchfield was very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Jack from Lemon Grove, CA on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great receiver for price. Bluetooth is crystal clear and I love the apple car play

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Palm Harbor, FL on 8/14/2019

2012 Mazda CX-9

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pioneer radio installed easily and looks like it came from the factory.

Pros: Finish is perfect for the Mazda and you can set the color scheme to match all the other buttons.

Cons: Only con was you can't invert the backup cam (at least not that I found). Not a huge deal but notable.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

needed an upgrade

Crutchfield customer from bealeton va on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just picked this unit up two weeks ago for my 04 chevy silverado 3500. was in need for upgrade. so far so good. apple car play is a nice feature to have. I haven't had a chance to really learn how everything works. wasn't hard to install either.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Road Trip!

Donald from Lawton, OK on 8/12/2019

2011 Honda Ridgeline

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I finally updated my 2011 Honda Ridgeline and brought it into the 21st century by installing this awesome Pioneer DMH-1500NEX head unit. And boy am I glad I did! A week after installation, my family and I went on a 2000 mile road trip and we were entertained all the way to the beach and back. The Apple Carplay was great with our choice of map apps like Waze and Google maps that made the trip safe and enjoyable. The 7" screen was so easy to see, even from the back seat. I haven't upgraded my stock speakers yet but this head unit made the stock speakers sound really good with plenty of power to spare. So if you are looking for an awesome car stereo and don't need to play CD's or DVD's then you will love this Pioneer DMX-1500NEX . Thanks Crutchfield!!

Pros: Fit my needs perfectly.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Milton, DE on 8/11/2019

2014 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice radio. We have now purchased 4 Pioneer car stereo units for use in VW TDI's. We really like the Apple Car Play compatibility. All these units were installed in 2009 and up VW TDI's for three primary reasons; 1st they allow hands free phone use with iPhones, 2nd when connected via USB with lightening cable Apple maps and Google map are on radio screen. and 3rd when installed with Maestro Rr unit with the OBD2 port connected CEL codes are displayed which is critical when driving VW turbo diesels.

Pros: Apple car play. Enables onscreen navigation with iPhone and OBD2 code reading with Maestro Rr unit. .

Cons: additional adapter required to retain back up camera function

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Rochester, MN on 8/11/2019

2009 Toyota Venza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent upgrade for my 10 y/o Toyota. Sounds & works great. Added a wired backup camera which is a great safety feature.

Pros: Had to call for Crutchfield tech support twise. As always, it was prompt, courteous, very knowledgeable, AND solved my issues. Thanks!

Cons: The Maestro interface module made for a more complex install, but worth it to continue using the steering wheel controls.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Product

Crutchfield customer from Monument, CO on 8/10/2019

2006 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced my factory radio in my 2006 Tundra with the Pioneer DMH-1500NEX. I enjoy the CarPlay interoperability! The DMH-1500NEX controls are intuitive, and its capabilities marvelous. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Renton, WA on 8/10/2019

2006 Honda Pilot

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in my grandsons 2006 Pilot. He loves it, especially the Apple Car Play. Easy to install, looks like factory original.

Pros: Easy to install Apple CarPlay

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

doesn't have all the bells and whistles but good base carplay unit

Crutchfield customer from Laconia, NH on 8/9/2019

2016 Volkswagen Jetta

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good radio for my needs. The installation was straightforward and adding the backup camera works very well. Apple car play is a little finicky but that may be more about Apple carplay. (I have an OEM VW that works fine with the same cable and phone). The screen resolution is not the best, but good enough for a car radio. I wish the home screen could be customized a little more.. clock size and position/ reduced clutter etc.

Pros: Carplay / Android auto, Datalink with OBD integration, color customization to match dash/car interior

Cons: screen resolution, minimal home screen customization

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Upgrade

Crutchfield customer from Asheboro, NC on 8/4/2019

2000 Ford Excursion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this receiver. I was searching for something that wouldn't break the bank and found this. The app functions are great because I am able to use it as a GPS with WAZE and maps. I also upgraded and got the back up camera and Satellite radio. It was an instant upgrade sound wise compared to the factory radio without upgrading the speakers which is next. I installed this in a 2000 Excursion which took some fitting but it has been well worth it. I have a Kenwood unit in another car ant the display on this Pioneer is much more visible during the day. It was a great improvement overall.

Pros: Sound, App available, display

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Can't beat quality/price

Crutchfield customer from Philadelphia, PA on 7/29/2019

2009 Ford E Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good unit, it does everything you can hope for. I hocked two cameras and the sound for the Dvd and everything does what is suppose to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Bowie, MD on 7/24/2019

2013 Ford F-150 STX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Technical and Customer Support was A+

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dexter, GA on 7/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for 2017 Toyota Camry easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Perfect Fit!

Crutchfield customer from Bend, OR on 7/22/2019

2007 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installation of this unit was very straightforward in my 2007 Toyo Tacoma access cab. The Ready Harness made it even easier by reducing the time I would have needed to wire it in. Once I attached the green wire for Android Auto, my phone connected quickly and all components worked great. The dash kit worked great with two minor issues; I would have preferred metal brackets rather than plastic, and the slot for the emergency flasher switch was a bit tight and needed to be worked a little so the switch would not stick. It sounds great with my stock speakers, but will be replacing those today with Kenwood speakers from Crutchfield. Overall, this unit fits perfectly and looks like it could have been stock. Again, I highly recommend the Ready Harness, unless you are quite comfortable and knowledgeable about wiring.

Pros: Great fit, great sound, easy to install in my truck. Works great with the new iPod Touch Version 7.

Cons: Attaching the green wire for the Android Auto was a pain, it's time they treat people like adults and not require this wire.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from New Sharon, IA on 7/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice features. Like the overall quality of the unit. Apple carplay is fantastic!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Russellville, AR on 7/20/2019

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio and price

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Wellsville, NY on 7/16/2019

2018 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lost my ambient air temp and compass bearing from the stock unit. Radio a little buggy Sometimes the music volume doesn't come back after using voice commands

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

DMH-1500NEX - 2012 F250

Jerry from Fort Bragg, NC on 7/14/2019

2012 Ford F-250

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Installed in a 2012 F250 with factory Sync CD radio. The factory radio was terrible, specifically because every time you started the truck you had to tell it to play Bluetooth. You could work through a dozen menu items to turn on Bluetooth, or you could enable voice commands and usually by the 3rd or 4th "BLUETOOTH AUDIO!", the radio would connect to your Bluetooth device. After a year of that, enough was enough. After reading hundreds of reviews, I settled on the Pioneer DMH-1500NEX, with the Maestro adapter and vehicle specific harness. After spending a couple hours splicing together the radio harness to the adapter harness, I was able to pull the factory radio, and hook everything up without any major issues. Of note, the installation kit provided by Crutchfield has tabs that have to be ground off. My dremel came in handy for that task. That dremel also helped me fabricate a slot for a USB port. I elected to retain sync, integrated through Maestro, so I picked up a USB 3.1 flush mount port that I tied into the back of the radio to enable Android Auto. The radio itself is okay. Frankly I was hoping for something more. The sound is fine, and it's infinitely adjustable and uses my factory sub/amp. It's the user interface (UI) that I find to be really lacking. The radio also doesn't start sometimes if the truck is too hot after being parked in the North Carolina sun for too long. Bluetooth works perfectly though, and so does Android Auto.

Pros: Maestro integration of steering wheel controls Maestro ability to custom program steering wheel controls Sound quality Bluetooth reliability Android Auto compatibility (you have to use the right cable)

Cons: User interface is not intuitive at all Radio doesn't start if the truck interior is too hot Disclaimer screen at every startup Slow start up USB port on the rear of the receiver is low amp, definitely not 3.1 Fair amount of glare produced by the screen

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

9 of 9 found this helpful

Apple CarPlay in an 86 Toyota Pickup!

Crutchfield customer from Concord, NC on 7/11/2019

1984 Toyota Pickup

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio. Easy to install, high function. Imagine having all this technology in a truck that was born around the time the Apple Macintosh was introduced! Ancient history. The radio drops right in, plug and play. Of course, a lot of the function goes unutilized. For example, there are no steering wheel buttons on my truck. Nor is there a backup camera -- though I could install one. But I can use Spotify, any of the various navigators (Waze, Apple Maps, Google Maps), the phone, iTunes. There is no phone or talk button, but it is easy enough to say, "Hey Siri" and get complete access to everything that includes. I put the mic on the steering column. Pickup is quite good there.

Pros: Easy install (Crutchfield's guidance notwithstanding). High function device in an antique car. Pretty cool.

Cons: It's a bit pricey! Crutchfield's guidance says that this radio will not fit in my truck. I knew not to believe them. Any Double-DIN radio will fit. Simply remove the space-filling cubby and you have a Double-DIN-size opening.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best Media Player I've Owned

Crutchfield customer from Saint Charles, IL on 7/5/2019

2013 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this media player. I love Pioneer, too, and this is my second Pioneer head unit. I chose this unit for the Apple CarPlay and for the AutoEQ. For the uninitiated all NEX , Pioneer units have an auto equalization feature that tunes the speakers based on the sound profile generated using an external mic. It'll adjust the speaker distances for you without having to breakout the measuring tape. Anyway. The unit is great. CarPlay is functional. The boot up time is less than 10 seconds and the reverse camera screen pops up with practically no delay - even while the system is still booting, I can see the reverse camera. I can't recommend this unit enough. I don't miss CDs. Waze works better than Garmin or factory navigation. Music fidelity is exceptional. Also, the clarity of the screen is fantastic. For a resistive screen, it easily passes for a 4K capacitive screen.

Pros: -CarPlay is great. -Fast boot up -AutoEQ -Reverse camera keeps factory parking assist lines. (Only tested on RAV4 2013.)

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 7/4/2019

2013 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I actually love this radio everything works how it should except for the back up camera for some reason it just shows a blacked out screen whenever I shift into reverse, I thought the unit itself may be defective so I plugged my old camera to it and it actually worked meaning it's a wiring issue and not the actual unit so I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking to upgrade their stock radio just make sure the wiring is good

Pros: Nice size , screen very responsive, love the apple car play

Cons: None really just make sure Crutchfield gets the wiring correct

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsburg, PA on 6/17/2019

2005 Lincoln Navigator

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great radio for the price. Tons of features and loving android auto

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2016 Subaru WRX

Stephen from Hackettstown, NJ on 6/13/2019

2016 Subaru WRX STI

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced the OEM hu on my 16 WRX and gotta say, HUGE improvement. Having no experience with stereo installation, my father and I got it done in about 3 hours. Cuts out randomly for about a second, but I feel like that's something else. Highly recommend the ready harness service.

Pros: Android Auto, quick response and smooth controls.

Cons: Phone has to be connected via USB to really get full use.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from North Bethesda, MD on 6/6/2019

2014 Subaru Legacy

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced the factory stereo in my Subaru with this unit and it works great. Install was easy with the supplied harnesses. Crutchfield customer service was awesome, especially when helping me realize my 2014 actually had a 2015 radio installed (completey not Crutchfields fault). Highly recommend the stereo and will be back to Crtuchfield in the future.

Pros: Android Auto, highly customizable interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Randy from Marion, IA on 6/4/2019

2006 Dodge Durango

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Plenty of features. Must plug iphone in to utilize Apple Carplay. Still syncs well using only bluetooth for pandora and podcasts.

Pros: Reverse camera input, bluetooth, Apple Carplay

Cons: Sirius module not included, need Maestro module to connect to steering wheel controls, I had to call in for support because the wiring harness that was prewired had two plugs backwards (I did get refunded the wiring fee)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Catasauqua, PA on 6/2/2019

2002 Nissan Maxima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit to replace the factory one in my Maxima and I couldn't be happier. With the installation kit it looks like it came with it in there. Apple Car Play works great too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Unit, Easy to Install! 2006 Toyota Matrix.

Laura from Atlanta, GA on 5/28/2019

2006 Toyota Matrix

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My dad helped me install this unit. He easily connected the wires, which just required attaching all the same colors to each other. We took off the old radio brackets and attached those and the new mounting brackets from the kit to the new unit and popped the whole thing back into the area where the old radio was located. New unit looks great installed and love all the features it came with. It's given new life to my 2006 Toyota Matrix. Crutchfield was also really helping answering all the project questions I had prior to purchasing the unit. Definitely recommend!!

Pros: Easy to install Great sound quality Hooks up to iphone easily So far no issues at all

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Monticello, MN on 5/28/2019

2000 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Wonderful buy again

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome headunit

Crutchfield customer from Methuen, MA on 5/21/2019

2015 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Everything I expected from pioneer everything works as should

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: Wish it had a volume knob instead of buttons but not a big deal if you use your steering wheel controls

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Works great!

Crutchfield customer from Pennsauken, NJ on 5/13/2019

2010 Ford Edge

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This radio replaced my Pioneer 4400. THis radio was super easy to install. The Andriod Auto integration was simple. This gives you standard EQ and 2 custom EQ's. Overall a really good radio at a really good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Huntington on 5/11/2019

2005 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great!! everything works fine on my 2005 4runner with JBL synrh.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from W Valley City, UT on 5/7/2019

2001 Ford Expedition

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best dbl din I have purchased. love this one.

Pros: amazing sound quality, easy to use interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great unit

Crutchfield customer from Katy, TX on 5/6/2019

2004 Toyota Sequoia

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I chose this unit for Apple Car play and the connection is great. So far Siri hears me and responds very well. The large screen is bright and you can customize colors and background. Time will tell if the buttons will last . I installed this in Toyota Sequoia and bought the harness. Installation was simple after I got help from tech support. They helped me match up two wires that were not accounted for in the instruction.

Pros: Large screen

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

centerville

Nick from centerville on 4/24/2019

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far so good. Had some bad experiences with 2 other apple car play decks. Before I got this one I had the sony xav ax 1000, the software worked well but I had an issue with the screen, it had some discoloring. I returned that for the alpine ilx w650 , I would not recommend this unit, it was very buggy and glitchy I even updated the software and siri still would glitch and sometime turn off right away and cause you to reactivate siri which got annoying. Then finally I was blessed with the pioneer. Works seamlessly, its fast no lag, siri works great. I love how you can change the theme and colors of buttons and the fact that it has physical buttons as apposed to the touchscreen buttons on the alpine. So far I am impressed with it and will give an update if my feelings change. Crutchfield's customer service was A+ throughout all of my returns and made the process simple and easy! Will be sure to use them again for any of my car audio needs.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 11 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-1500NEX

Crutchfield customer from Montgomry Vlg, MD on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit, good quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

TOP