Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
Connect ID #
236 294 184 3
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?
Please enter your US phone number.  

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Digital multimedia receiver — does not play CDs

MFR # DMH-C2550NEX

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Digital multimedia receiver — does not play CDs

MFR # DMH-C2550NEX

60 reviews
View this product

Great bass. Great Radio

Noah from Muskegon on 2/22/2021

2008 Jeep Liberty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best radio I've ever bought. I had Crutchfield wire it and I just installed it my self. The dash kit for it is kind of cheap with some bad instructions but everything else went good. The second I turned on the radio it sounded a lot better and even better after I adjusted the 13 band equalizer. It has many features, I installed the backup camera myself and a 5 channel amp and then it sounded even better with a subwoofer in the back. Without the sub the bass was really good and when I showed a demo to people they loved it and asked if I put the amp in yet. Comes with a microphone and everything you need when you order it from Crutchfield.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Blue Springs, MO on 2/16/2021

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Stereo is awesome. Install was pretty intense but for some one who doesn't do this all the time it was worth it.

Pros: Great radio

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Omaha, NE on 12/28/2020

2001 Chrysler Town and Country

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Good unit. Great instructions. Takes a little finesse to install, but overall it just works.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Service

Crutchfield customer from Onalaska, WI on 12/7/2020

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield made this soooo easy. I love the radio, and after selecting the radio i wanted, Crutchfield pointed me to all of the hardware and wiring connections that I needed. When i opened the box, i was thinking that there were things that i'd have to return. just seemed like too much. I plugged it all in, and it worked. Everything that was sent was used and it was more work to take the dashboard off than it was to install the stereo.

Pros:

Cons: The radio takes longer to boot up than what I would prefer. It would be nice if the backup camera engaged immediately.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Mike from BUDD LAKE, NJ on 11/11/2020

2012 Kia Sorento

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

1/1,000,000 defective unit, not worth the 2 months with a hole in my SUV. After this is rebuilt better than factory condition, most definitely going to flip it for something more reliable. PS- Firmware updates = unreliable product(s).

Pros: Looks great as a center piece!

Cons: USB on the back of the unit is as good as dead.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Williamsburg, VA on 8/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio. No complaints at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Don't waste your money.

Crutchfield customer from Spirit Lake, ID on 8/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought this unit because it said it supports Android Auto. Didn't work well at all in the area I live in. Very spotty connection in marginal cell phone reception zones, would constantly drop out. Screen washes out in direct sunlight.

Pros: Good tactile switches

Cons: Poor Android Auto Poor screen in sunlight

Crutchfield response on 8/20/2020
We're sorry you're having issues with your receiver and Android Auto. If the problem continues, please just reach back out to our Tech Support team. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

3 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Redwood City, CA on 8/18/2020

2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Definitely NOT plug and play . A lot of added stuff is needed to install this in the Jeep and the directions are not that good . Looks like you have to flash an item and on top of it all there's no back up camera . Probably best to wait till something better comes out for the JL. In all honesty it's still in the box and I'm contemplating returning it .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 8/20/2020
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the receiver installed and working correctly, or help him return it for an exchange or refund.

6 of 9 found this helpful

Just what I needed for a custom install, but more accessories needed

Toolboxjesse from Detroit Suburbs, MI on 7/29/2020

2003 Toyota MR2 Spyder

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have a 2003 Toyota MR2 Spyder that has the radio mounted low- in front of the stick shift and below the climate controls. This is not a great location for navigation as it takes one's eyes off the road. There is a component called a NavPod that was available only for the Japanese market for this car that replaces the storage compartment on the top center of the dash. It is not 2-Din sized as it's not that deep of a pocket. Those who have been able to source them have installed Android tablets or 7" monitors but I was looking for a better solution with SXM, HD Radio, Android Auto and Apple Carplay. The Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX fit the bill precisely! However the RGB cable that is attached to the single-din receiver was only about 14" and not long enough to reach from the old radio location to the top of the dash. In my research I discovered there is an available 59" long extension cable for the RGB cable. I also discovered that you can order this cable alongside a 59" extension for the power harness so the receiver can be mounted much further away than I initially planned. I now have the receiver mounted under the passenger seat and the display up high in the line-of-sight and I love it! This unit even offers the ability to interface with Amazon Alexa with a screen-mirroring app Pioneer offers. I am still wrapping up minor install steps but I am very happy with this product!

Pros: Great modular product to fit in a non-standard location that is too small for a 2-din box

Cons: Video cable is quite short and the extension costs alot.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Excellent option for Tacoma SR

Crutchfield customer from West Chester, OH on 7/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent for my 2019 Tacoma SR. Easy to install and has great sound for the Access Cab.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Also disappointed

Ian from Concord, NC on 7/15/2020

2001 BMW 7 Series

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this unit because of the modular setup. I was replacing a Pioneer DEH-P800PRS which is still a wonderful sounding unit but of course it's old school. Am I disappointed!!! Sound quality is most important to me but this is not an SQ unit. The bass response is loud, bloated, and out of control. I am using a tri amp active crossover setup and try as I might, I could not get it to sound even close to the sound quality I've grown accustomed to from the older Pioneer. I've noticed it could be a bit buggy at times also since after turning it off sometimes it would not immediately turn back on. Radio reception was also lacking. I did not even bother with it's other functions since the audio quality is poor so I cannot comment on them. This will be a return.

Pros: None from my point of view

Cons: Poor audio quality

Crutchfield response on

5 of 10 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 7/14/2020

2012 Ford F-550

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love this unit always been a fan of pioneer and for the abuse this takes in my work truck its holding up amazingly

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Risingsun, OH on 4/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Amazing

Pros: Apple play

Cons: No hdmis

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sidney, MT on 4/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had to remake the screen mount to avoid cutting the dash

Pros: Looks good and works very well

Cons: No issues other than screen mounting

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Griffith, IN on 3/30/2020

2016 Ford F-250 Super Duty

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the stereo except for one feature. I carry two phones. One is an Apple and one is a Samsung. Well, I use the Apple Iphone for Apple Carplay while driving and the stereo won't leave my Samsung connected for Bluetooth talking. It gives you a warning that Samsung will be disconnected whenever I connect the Apple Iphone

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Castle Rock, CO on 3/16/2020

2010 Honda CRV EX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Loving it. Almost everything I wanted.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Datsun 510

Crutchfield customer from Torrance, CA on 3/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The people and products at Crutchfield are fantastic. My advisor Trish walked me thru the process. I have an older car that I am restoring and only certain models of stereo and speakers would fit in the car. She was very very knowledgable and helpful. Crutchfield has many products to choose from and I was able to fulfill my needs. I thank Trish and Crutchfield for their help.

Pros: everything

Cons: nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cartersville, GA on 2/29/2020

2019 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love it! I put this in a 2019 Tacoma and it looks great. I wish I had a photo to attach. I added the idatalink maestro to keep steering wheel controls and it all went together flawlessly.

Pros: SeriusXM, WebLink, CarPlay and android auto. Too many things to mention. Just buy it. You won't regret it.

Cons: Non that I can think of.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hellertown, PA on 2/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Overall, good system so far. I only dock it a star cause my previous 2300 died, forcing me to get this one. The nice part is that Pioneer hasn't changed their connections, so this was a plug and play replacement. My only wish was that the screen was just bigger to take up the space. The buttons on the side are mostly useless and could be put on the screen. Other than that, I have this setup with Polk speakers, Maestro for steering wheel controls and Android Auto. I will say, AA is finicky at times. Since I switch to the Pixel it has been better but still has its hiccups.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Great Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Sparks, NV on 2/20/2020

1999 Jeep Cherokee

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced an older Sony unit in my 1999 Jeep Cherokee for the CarPlay and bluetooth capabilities. I chose this unit because of the modular mounting option. I didn't have to cut a bunch of the duct work behind the deck to make it fit. Combining this unit with the Metra install kit made the installation seamless. I took this opportunity to add SiriusXM and a backup cam as well. As some others have mentioned, I wish the screen was slightly higher resolution, but having never had a screen before I'm still quite pleased with it. Overall it is very easy to use and although I have only had it for 2 weeks it is very intuitive to use. It's a good thing it is intuitive because the directions are terrible. You're better off looking up videos on YouTube to figure out how some things work.

Pros: Easy installation, touch screen, great sound, easy to use

Cons: Instructions are terrible

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 2 found this helpful

Perfect for GMC/Silverado trucks

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 1/30/2020

2016 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this unit. I needed CarPlay and Bluetooth phone capabilities and they both work flawlessly. I put this in a 2016 Silverado and wanted something that I could install without modifying my dash. This unit fits perfectly without modifying the inner dash. The radio replaces the factory radio like it was meant to be there. The screen mounts to the dash kit with some minor modifications. I didn't have to modify any factory components. I can put this truck back stock if I need to. With the crux interface my backup camera works just fine. I couldn't be happier with no factory modifications. It's very difficult to find aftermarket radios for the GMC/Silverado trucks and this it what you need. When I install an amp to the unit I plan on making a YouTube video so others can learn about this easy install without all the dash cutting. I highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting to upgrade a gmc/silverado truck. I was blown away how easy it really was. Cheers

Pros: CarPlay and hands free calling 31 band eq and sound quality Auto delay with seat position choice Bluetooth music sound quality is way better Front camera capable

Cons: Phone has to be connected for CarPlay Remote just sucks (I've owned a lot of pioneer units with lots of different remotes and they all worked, this one doesn't)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Sparta, NJ on 1/25/2020

2012 Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

easy install , nice sound , love teh Carplay

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Meh

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 1/19/2020

2013 Acura TSX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The screen quality is lacking for sure. I've heard that 480 is the standard for these devices but come on... We're in 2020 and 720/1080 wasn't already the STANDARD???? It is a nice device that generally works (android auto). After using it fairly extensively in the last week I keep running into software issues that are Android Auto related. Yesterday for example, my spotify kept cutting out (and staying out) when google maps was also running.

Pros: Cheapish. Functional. Touch Screen works well.

Cons: Steering wheel adapter does not work with this despite setting it up as instructed. Screen resolution is poor. No cable management options provided. Android Auto is buggy AF

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Jasper, AL on 1/9/2020

2014 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Entune Nav system died in my 2014 Toyota Rav4 and Toyota wanted around $2000 to replace it. I decided to do it myself with the help of Crutchfield. I used to install stereos and amps for my friends back in high school when you had to splice wires and figure it all out manually. I have never installed a car sound system as easy as this new one. The reason it was so easy is how Crutchfield matches your car to your new Stereo with the harness adapters from Crux and/or Maestro. I removed my dead Entune system, popped in the new one, turned the key forward and everything worked the first time. I was shocked. Even the remote steering controls(Vol Up/Vol Down/Mute, etc..) worked. Plus, the dash adapter cover was a razor sharp fit. This thing looks factory. As for the Pioneer, It gives me many more features that my factory system didn't have. The screen is clear, backup camera feed is very clear. This system is loaded with features. I use Android Auto and I didn't even have to install the included mic for google assistant. My phone is the mic and outputs its response through the car speakers. The mastersheet instructions were exact. Thank you Crutchfield!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Cameron, NC on 1/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really pleased with the unit. The sound is great and the install was very easy. Needed assistance to connect antenna booster. Support tech service was very helpful in fixing this problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

2016 Subaru WRX

King from Wichita, KS on 12/26/2019

2016 Subaru WRX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great head unit that have all the features I wanted. I would get the scosche dash kit instead of the metra dash kit. The Metra dash kit for the 2016 Subaru WRX did not fit

Pros: Great aftermarket head unit for the price

Cons: The Metra dash kit for the 2016 Subaru WRX did not fit. Had to buy the Scosche dash kit to finish the install

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

No Rear Entertainment connection

Earl from Oklahoma City on 11/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased unit 10/7/2019 after being told by an online Rep it would work for my application. When I called Crutchfield I received assistance getting the unit working with the exception of the rear entertainment system in my 2015 Highlander. I was advised prior to purchase that the "the idatalink module maintains the rear seat entertainment system..so that should all continue to function as it does now". The rep had to reach out and get more information. After about 3 days with no feedback I reached back out to the rep via email and I still have not heard back. With that said...if you have a rear DVD system in your vehicle it will not work with this head unit to provide sound through the JBL sound system at least not with what is sent using the Maestro adapters purchased from Crutchfield. Also, after a recent road trip we also noticed the radio gets a great signal in town but get just outside of town and nothing but static. I am guessing I need to go out and purchase an antenna amp to help with signal. Another cost to add to this purchase. In the end the interface works fine and you can make and take calls hands free and use Siri/Google to text while driving if needed. I don't know the specifics, but am curious as to why there is no way to use existing Mic instead of running a wired mic through your vehicle that stands out like a sore thumb. Spotify works great for streaming regardless if you have your phone wired or using bluetooth.

Pros: Great interface easy to use

Cons: No connection for rear entertainment

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Archie, MO on 10/20/2019

2000 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Awesome radio! Wish you could change the background to whatever instead of just basic stuff

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mostly good

Crutchfield customer from Cincinnati, OH on 9/18/2019

2015 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really like the stereo. Installation was a snap. Initially the screen is not nearly bright enough in sunlight. The menus are not intuitive and the manual was no help. After two days, I was able to find my way though and make the adjustments to brighten this enough. I wish the screen had more of a matte finish to reduce some of the daylight glare. Ideally, the installation kit would have allowed for a way to angle the display to match the contour of the dash like the factory stereo did. This is the next best thing.

Pros: Easy installation

Cons: Too much glare on too dim screen.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great radio, bad instructions

Bruce from Stirling, NJ on 8/30/2019

2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JK)

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX is a great head unit and terrific upgrade to the stock jeep radio. We did a self install on a 2018 Wrangler JK and for the most part it was easy to do. There are a few significant details about this install that caused us some grief. Our install was with the Maestro unit (iDatalink Maestro ADS-MRR Interface Module) to maintain steering wheel controls and car data along with the Crutchfield custom adapter cable and the Brandmotion backup camera. First, the custom adapter cable is a must. It reduces install time significantly. The Brandmotion requires video, ground, and power connections. Best to run video and ground from the camera to the head unit. Don't pull from a tail light. Power lead is available at the head unit side to tie it into the head unit power. You will need extra wire for the ground line. When connecting the Maestro, I used velcro to attach it on top of the head unit and keep it in place. The instructions say connect the unit via the W/R port on the head unit but with Pioneer it goes into the AUX port. The video cable from the backup camera goes into the BROWN connector not yellow. We trimmed the metal mounting plate inside the dash by cutting off the bottom half with a hack saw. It was preventing the unit from sitting flush with the dash. Its needed for the factory radio but not an aftermarket one. To use carplay you need access to the USB port on the back of the radio. Run and extension cable somewhere (purchased separately).

Pros: great replacement for stock jeep radio, easily fits into space, works well with Jeep steering controls when integrated, easy to use, self install fairly easy

Cons: instructions stink. Pioneer has a few quirks to install properly...see my review. adapter brackets are a pain to install properly.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Just What I Needed

Crutchfield customer from Delray Beach, FL on 8/29/2019

2016 Toyota RAV4

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed this unit in my 2016 RAV4 XLE which had an "upgraded" factory radio, but not JBL. It was a good radio, but never worked well with my iPhone. This Pioneer radio was an excellent upgrade at a reasonable price. The Apple CarPlay works great, especially with the Maps App. The controls take some getting used to, but anyone who can use a smart phone can figure it out. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Pros: Nice big and bright screen.

Cons: I wish I could have used my factory microphone, but I guess none of these replacement radios are able to do that for some reason.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Hood River, OR on 8/26/2019

2013 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great system and OUTSTANDING support from the Crutchfield team especially Mac !! Thank you !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

2008 4-Runner

Crutchfield customer from Delano, TN on 8/21/2019

2008 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

excellent receiver. I had to contact Crutchfield 2 times, and both times they where extremely helpful

Pros: easy to install, excellent sound, easy to use with phone

Cons: instructions could be more informational

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What An Upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Port St Lucie, FL on 8/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

What an upgrade from the OEM radio in my 2003 F-150! Crutchfield technical assistance was spot-on during installation. The unit looks great and sounds great. I use Android Auto and the set up was step-by-step per the instructions. Many of the functions are intuitive. Time for a long road trip!

Pros: Intuitive functions. Crutchfield technical assistance. Appearance.

Cons: Lack of built-in navigation app

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

A must have upgrade. HD Radio sounds great.

Stephen from Central, SC on 7/31/2019

2011 Toyota Tacoma

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very pleased with this head unit. I replaced the original radio and after the install it feels like a new car.

Pros: Perfect fit as stated by Crutchfield. Sound quality is awesome. HD Radio is worth the investment.

Cons: Must wire to the parking brake to access the radio's full functions.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dallas, TX on 7/21/2019

2011 Chevrolet Cruze

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I order the Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX for my 2011 Chevy Cruze but I chage my mind and I installed in my wife's 2011 Chevy Equinox and paired with an iDatalink Maestro RR, programed for the chevy Cruze so far it works really good

Pros: Apple CarPlay and Great sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great Upgrade in Jeep JK

Crutchfield customer from Herriman, UT on 7/16/2019

2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Fantastic stereo. Great upgrade from Uconnect Mopar system. Installed in 2014 Jeep Wrangler that had Alpine system. Immediate and noticeable improvement in sound quality. The Jeep stereo actually sounds great now. Louder, clearer, more defined music. Apple car play works perfectly, I can actually justify my Apple Music subscription now. Get the full install kit from Crutchfield, and pay for the ready harness service. Worth every penny. And if your putting this in a Mopar with Uconnect, tell the Maestro to ignore Uconnect, just use Siri.

Pros: Actual Technology in your Jeep Improved sound Apple CarPlay Easy to use and learn Looks like factory install

Cons: None. Huge improvement over stock system

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 7/14/2019

2012 Nissan Altima

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love it! Easy controls, customizable look and so many functions.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Marana, AZ on 7/9/2019

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 2500/3500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great product and great customer service!

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Catonsville, MD on 7/3/2019

2004 Toyota Highlander

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the radio but wish a operations book came with it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Spring, TX on 7/1/2019

2009 Ford Taurus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very cool and new design still a tad bit glitchy but new firmware is on its way out

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Poor Bluetooth

Crutchfield customer from Jacksonville, FL on 6/28/2019

2012 Toyota 4Runner

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I give 4 stars because the bluetooth is fairly weak compare to OEM radio that was installed. I used to be able to control my phone walking around the car up to 10 ft, now if I step out of the car it is lost and blanks out if in my pocket.

Pros: Nice controls over all audio sections and touch screen.

Cons: Poor bluetooth

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Easy install

Crutchfield customer from Littleton, CO on 6/27/2019

2007 GMC Savana

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit was easy to install. I installed it in a motorhome. The face is is on the front of the dash tilted up. Apple play is awesome.

Pros: Apple play is great, ability to put face where I want and main unit tucked away inside dash.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Really nice option for F-150.

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, CO on 6/26/2019

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

So far very happy. Everything works as expected, interface is intuitive and responsive. The immediate positive change from stock sound is refreshing. I chose the option to get car information via odb connector and am super excited that I did. Information shown and gauges can be customized. Pricey though thoroughly enjoying it. Stock speaker quality is not so good in the car so my judgment on sound quality is something I can not do fairly. I think speakers are next to swap. This was a replacement for stock stereo in 2012 F-150. I also got idatalink module to keep functionality of steering wheel controls and little LCD above the receiver. I had the harness prewired by Crutchfield. Installation was simple, all connectors were unique so no mistaking what connects to where, thank you Crutchfield. idatalink needed programming, so do that first, then download the installation guides idatalink flash app gives you, they have wiring diagrams to use.

Pros: Light weight, responsive touch interface

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Love the Pioneer. Would buy again.

Crutchfield customer from Shelton, WA on 6/20/2019

2015 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really love this deck. Having both Android Auto and Apple Carplay was a must in our mixed technology family and the Pioneer delivered. I never wanted navigation in my 2015 Toyota Camry due to the poor quality of Toyota navigation and the lack of support for the stock Toyota deck including one of the worst microphones I have ever used. This Pioneer allowed me to ditch the old Toyota system and provided a major upgrade to the car. Even with stock speakers, this Pioneer deck made driving this car fun again. Packed full of options/settings, this deck has something for everyone.

Pros: Apple Carplay/Android Auto ability, great sound, easy to navigate, tons of options.

Cons: For my car its not technically a con, but you cant use the stock microphone on a newer car, at least for my 15 Camry.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Dundee, IL on 6/18/2019

2002 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great unit for any double-DIN application. Touch screen is simple and very responsive. I chose this unit because I wanted rear cam capability, wireless remote control, and didn't want CD/DVD playback. This head unit delivered in all aspects and at a great price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Gary from San Mateo, CA on 5/29/2019

2001 GMC Sierra 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was not sure how this radio will sound in my truck 02 gmc 1500. The sound is out standing. The radio does stand on it own. I am glad I did the upgrade. Yep I am still learning how the system works and understanding.

Pros: Now I can talk on the phone hands free. And I love the Appleplay system and now I can really for once enjoy the music.

Cons: It is a bit of work to install. But it sure did turn out nice after completed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from San Antonio, TX on 5/26/2019

2011 Ford Focus

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Install this into a 2011 Ford Focus. So far it works really well. No issues at all. Apple CarPlay is awesome. Well worth the money. Highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Receiver!

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 5/22/2019

2011 Ford F-150 XLT

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Really happy with this head unit in 2011 Ford F-150. Bought some Polk speakers to go with it and I'm not disappointed what so ever. Learning new functionality each day I get in my car. Very happy with the performance and car play is seamless. Just make sure to connect the green wire to your parking brake switch!

Pros: Performance, touchscreen very reactive

Cons: I wish instructions were better, have to download actual manual from Pioneer website which is a drag. Pioneer's Installation instructions are minimal

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Noisy fan, needs bigger volume buttons

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, CO on 5/20/2019

2012 Ram 1500

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice stereo - I wanted something that integrated nicely with both android and iphones & it does that really well. Using it for Google Maps & Music is great - no longer need a dashboard/windshield mount. Sound quality is excellent, touchscreen is accurate, displays well, and the whole thing looks good. Few peeves tho - the fan is noisy enough to hear & that really annoys me. Also the volume buttons are tiny - it's really easy to accidentally press the touchscreen or an adjacent button when you're trying turn it up/down.

Pros: Great sound, excellent Android & iPhone integration.

Cons: Fan is noisy. Tiny volume controls.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Crutchfield customer from Blythewood, SC on 5/19/2019

2011 Chevrolet Camaro

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I haven't had much time to explore all of this unit's functions since having it installed, but so far I'm impressed the features that I've used (Android Auto, Bluetooth connectivity, EQ and display customization.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Like so much bought a 2nd one

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 5/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Have one I installed in my 2011 F150... got a 2nd one for my 2004 Mustang GT Convertable

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Installed Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX in a 1997 Tahoe

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 5/4/2019

1997 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The fit of the unit was not close to perfect. There should be exact set up info for attaching the brackets to the unit so it fits the particular vehicle perfectly. The flimsy plastic accessory face plate was a waste of time. Did not work at all. Should have been made of metal. The speaker mounting kit was not correct and discarded. Figured out how to mount without accessory kits. The insert to create a pocket where the CVD player had been, did not fit and had to be modified. If they say it fits, should it not?

Pros: Works ok so far. Radio that is. Have not tried Apple Play yet. The wiring harness made it easy to install.

Cons: Is there not a way to turn down the brightness for night driving? Probably is but I will have to figure it out. Manuals and instructions are of no help. Materials sent with unit have type font size too small to read! You are on your own to figure it all out. Sure you can call but customer should be given info in a more helpful way. Have not figured out what to do with two wires that went to brakes and trans.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 7 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Howard from Newbury Park, CA on 5/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is the 4th or 5th item I have bought from Crutchfield. I really like the Pioneer receiver but the service at Crutchfield is the reason I keep returning. I can't say enough about the expert and most friendly help when I call the sales department or impeccable tech support. I am a lifetime customer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

'16 Jeep Wrangler Install

Crutchfield customer from Danvers, MA on 4/17/2019

2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I installed the Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX in my '16 Jeep Wrangler and I couldn't be happier! This unit is a MAJOR upgrade from the factory head unit. Apple CarPlay works seamlessly with my Iphone. Having Spotify and Waze integrated is also a huge plus for me. All the features are very intuitive, easy to maneuver, and customizable. I added the iDatalink Maestro ADS-MRR module + iDatalink HRN-RR-CH1 Factory Integration Adapter and was able to retain all of my factory settings including steering controls (I deleted Uconnect because Pioneer has a way better interface via Siri). Lastly the Pioneer unit is very compact and that's really important because there is very little space to work with in a Wrangler. I was able to install the Pioneer along with all the wiring that goes with the Masetro and had room left over. This radio is a must for Jeep owners!!

Pros: Apple CarPlay, Siri, Waze, Spotify, features very easy to use and customizable. Unit is compact for installation in tight spaces.

Cons: NONE

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

22 of 22 found this helpful

Great upgrade for 1st Generation Chevy Cruze owners!

Joel from O Fallon, MO on 4/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This head unit easily replaces the factory system without the need for modifications. Paired with an iDatalink Maestro RR, this system even displays & controls the same configuration menus as the original hardware. The only downside is that the factory radio controls in the center console do not work with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Excellent radio with Apple Car Play, Webkit support, and digital radio

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 4/8/2019

2015 Mazda 6

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought this because I wanted an Apple Car Play stereo that supports Webkit apps like Waze and Spotify. I bought this one instead of the DMH-C1500NEX because of the digital radio support, which is great in large cities. Both features are working well for me, and I'm a happy buyer. The radio pops up a nag screen every time it starts, but the backup camera comes on right away, and if you ignore the nag screen it goes away. Bluetooth works great. This is a great stereo, but the Crutchfield Tech Support experience is what makes it worth buying here. I had two minor issues when I was installing that were both my fault, but Crutchfield Tech Support walked me through both over the phone very politely in native English. Two thumbs up!!

Pros: Crutchfield Support!!!

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Great upgrade from factory radio...

Cesar from Midlothian, VA on 4/7/2019

2007 Toyota Tundra

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Massive upgrade from factory radio. Relatively easy Bluetooth connectivity; took a little bit longer to connect via Android Auto, but once connected, worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great Sound

Iceman from Shawnee, OK on 3/24/2019

2015 Lincoln MKC

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have installed several car receivers from Crutchfield and have not been more pleased than I am with this one. I only had a couple of questions on the install, but with the awsome tech support they were both answered quickly. This unit was installed in my wife's mustang with the Mach 500 system. The sound is unreal . Way better than the unit before. Sounds better than the factory unit. She loves the Apple Car Play so much I can't keep her out of the car.

Pros: All the features. Sound. Great screen. Fast response when selecting things on the screen.

Cons: No wireless Apple Car Play. This is not that big of a deal.

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Pioneer DMH-C2550NEX

Paul from Fairhaven, MA on 3/18/2019

2009 Subaru Impreza

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Pioneer has done a great job with this radio. The tuner is exceptional it gets radio stations I didn't even know existed, and the clarity is so crisp. Be sure to buy from Crutchfield, their customer service and return policy Is by far the best in the industry that is why I buy From Crutchfield only. I had a problem with a Radio that I bought from Crutchfield, a few months had passed by, I called them up they sent me a brand new radio replacement I sent the old one back and I am satisfied. What a breeze installation was because I ordered the ready harness just plug it in easy as it could get.

Pros: Apple CarPlay is very responsive the tuner is the best I've ever used. This head unit is awesome!

Cons: There are none

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

TOP